DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/580897, filed on 01/19/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11, 14-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " transforming, by the electronic device, the first split-screen window into the second window, " in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 9.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " wherein the sixth floating window is centrally displayed at the bottom of the second window, " in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 14.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " the fifth floating window is spaced a certain distance from the left and right sides of the first display screen, " in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellinger et al (US Pub 2018/0329550) in view of Itoh et al (US Pub 2002/0161569) and Mast (US Pat 5,619,639).
With respect to claim 1, Dellinger discloses a window interaction method, applied to an electronic device, (par 0002; discloses invention relates to electronic devices with touch-sensitive displays and, more specifically, to systems and methods for multitasking on an electronic device with a touch-sensitive display) the method comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises a first window corresponding to a first application (fig. 4A; discloses a first interface displayed on the screen for a first application; par 0256; discloses an application is displayed on a touch-sensitive display, such as the example maps application that is displayed on the touch-sensitive display 112 in FIG. 4A, and which includes a map of the United States and a search box that allows for searching for various locations using the maps application); receiving, by the electronic device, a first operation on the first interface (par 0256; discloses While the maps application is displayed, a gesture 450 is detected near an edge of the touch-sensitive display 112 (e.g., a bottom-most edge of the touch-sensitive display relative to a viewer).); displaying, by the electronic device, a second interface, wherein the second interface comprises a first split-screen window corresponding to the first application, a second split-screen window corresponding to a second application, and a first slider (fig. 4I; discloses a second interface comprises a first application window, a second application window and a border between the first application window and second application window); wherein the first application is different from the second application (par 0012; discloses a sustained interaction with the electronic device as they are able to fluidly move from accessing the dock to activating a split-view mode of operation in which the user is able to simultaneously interact with two different applications );
Dellinger doesn’t expressly disclose displaying, by the electronic device, a first floating window in response to a second operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed while hovering over the first split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window;
In the same field of endeavor, Itoh discloses system and method for interacting with graphical interfaces (see abstract); Itoh discloses displaying, by the electronic device, a first floating window in response to a second operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed while hovering over the first split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window; (fig. 11; floating window 33; par 0047; discloses he user 15 then selects the character string "Miyahira Tomohiro" in the window of FIG. 9 and clicks the right button of mouse 14 (FIG. 1). This right click causes a pop-up menu 32 to be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In pop-up menu 32, it is possible to select one of the following menu items: "Start editing translation word", "Cut", "Copy", "Paste", "Select All" and "Print". In this context, however, "Cut" and "Paste" cannot be selected as the operations specified by these menu items cannot currently be performed in the window of FIG. 9. The menu items which cannot be selected are grayed out in the actual pop-up menu 32, and are shown in italics for the sake of clarity in FIG. 10. The user 15 selects "Start editing translation word" in pop-up menu 32 of FIG. 10. The pop-up menu 32 then disappears, and a translation word editing box 33, which allows efficient translation word editing, is displayed as shown in FIG. 11.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger to incorporate the teachings of Itoh to display a floating window when user selects a portion of text in order to allow user to perform additional functions such as translate with the selected text in a quick and efficient manner; further the teachings could be applied to any number of interfaces displaying text;
Dellinger as modified by Itoh doesn’t expressly disclose the first floating window not hovering over the second split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window while displaying the first floating window, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window and not hovering over the first split-screen window;
In the same field of endeavor, Mast discloses system and method for interacting with application interfaces (see abstract); Mast discloses the first floating window not hovering over the second split-screen window (fig. 14B; discloses a first floating window 1470 on application window 1410 and not over application window 1420); displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window while displaying the first floating window, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window and not hovering over the first split-screen window (fig. 14B; discloses a second floating window 1475 displayed over second application window 1420 while first floating window 1470 is displayed over first application window 1410; col 4; lines 25-49; discloses the methodology of the present invention is to create a floating window that contains the image to be displayed and to position this window in a predetermined manner with respect to the window for the application with which the floating window is associated);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh to incorporate the teachings of Mast to display the floating windows over the application that is associated with it in order to allow user to easily identify and recognize which floating interface belongs to which application among the plurality of applications.
With respect to claim 2, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast discloses wherein the method further comprises: continuing to display the first floating window, by the electronic device, in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed floating over the first split-screen window and not floating over the second split-screen window (Mast; fig. 14B; discloses a second floating window 1475 displayed over second application window 1420 while first floating window 1470 is displayed over first application window 1410; col 4; lines 25-49; discloses the methodology of the present invention is to create a floating window that contains the image to be displayed and to position this window in a predetermined manner with respect to the window for the application with which the floating window is associated).
With respect to claim 3, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast discloses wherein the second operation is an operation on the first split-screen window, and the third operation is an operation on the second split-screen window (par 0292; discloses n FIG. 5A, two applications are displayed in a split-view mode on the touch-sensitive display 112 and a gesture 508 is detected near an edge of the display 112, the edge bordering a first application of the two applications displayed in the split-view mode; par 0294; discloses While the applications are displayed in the slide-over mode, Application 1 may still be available and responsive to user inputs (even while the video-browsing application overlays Application 1); i.e. each application window can receive user inputs).
With respect to claim 4, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast discloses wherein the first split-screen window includes a first text, the second split-screen window includes a second text, (Dellinger; fig. 4AA; discloses the displayed content may include text);
Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast don’t expressly disclose the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a first control in response to an operation on the first text, the second operation being an operation performed on the first control, the first control including a first copy option and a first translation option; displaying, by the electronic device, a second control in response to an operation on the second text, the third operation being an operation performed on the second control, the second control including a second copy option and a second translation option;
Itoh further disclose the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a first control in response to an operation on the first text, the second operation being an operation performed on the first control, the first control including a first copy option and a first translation option; displaying, by the electronic device, a second control in response to an operation on the second text, the third operation being an operation performed on the second control, the second control including a second copy option and a second translation option (fig. 10; discloses the displayed interface may include controls such as copy, translate, etc; par 00247; discloses The user 15 then selects the character string "Miyahira Tomohiro" in the window of FIG. 9 and clicks the right button of mouse 14 (FIG. 1). This right click causes a pop-up menu 32 to be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In pop-up menu 32, it is possible to select one of the following menu items: "Start editing translation word", "Cut", "Copy", "Paste", "Select All" and "Print". In this context, however, "Cut" and "Paste" cannot be selected as the operations specified by these menu items cannot currently be performed in the window of FIG. 9. The menu items which cannot be selected are grayed out in the actual pop-up menu 32, and are shown in italics for the sake of clarity in FIG. 10. The user 15 selects "Start editing translation word" in pop-up menu 32 of FIG. 10. The pop-up menu 32 then disappears, and a translation word editing box 33, which allows efficient translation word editing, is displayed as shown in FIG. 11.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast to incorporate the teachings of WANG to display a control menu such as copy, translate when user selects a portion of text in order to allow user to perform additional functions such as copy, search with the selected text in a quick and efficient manner; further the teachings could be applied to any number of interfaces displaying text;
With respect to claim 5, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast don’t expressly disclose wherein the first floating window and the second floating window correspond to a translation application, the first floating window including the first text and the translation result corresponding to the first text, and the second floating window including the second text and the translation result corresponding to the second text;
In the same field of endeavor, Itoh discloses system and method for translating text (see abstract); Itoh discloses wherein the first floating window and the second floating window correspond to a translation application, the first floating window including the first text and the translation result corresponding to the first text, and the second floating window including the second text and the translation result corresponding to the second text (see fig. 10 and 11; par 0047; discloses The user 15 then selects the character string "Miyahira Tomohiro" in the window of FIG. 9 and clicks the right button of mouse 14 (FIG. 1). This right click causes a pop-up menu 32 to be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In pop-up menu 32, it is possible to select one of the following menu items: "Start editing translation word", "Cut", "Copy", "Paste", "Select All" and "Print". In this context, however, "Cut" and "Paste" cannot be selected as the operations specified by these menu items cannot currently be performed in the window of FIG. 9. The menu items which cannot be selected are grayed out in the actual pop-up menu 32, and are shown in italics for the sake of clarity in FIG. 10. The user 15 selects "Start editing translation word" in pop-up menu 32 of FIG. 10. The pop-up menu 32 then disappears, and a translation word editing box 33, which allows efficient translation word editing, is displayed as shown in FIG. 11);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast to incorporate the teachings of Itoh to display floating window over the displayed text allowing user to quickly and efficiently translate the selected text, hence improving user work productivity and convenience.
With respect to claim 9, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast discloses further comprising: receiving, by the electronic device, a fifth operation on the first slider while displaying the first floating window and the second floating window; ceasing, by the electronic device, to display the second split-screen window and the second floating window; and transforming, by the electronic device, the first split-screen window into the second window, the first floating window into the fifth floating window, wherein the fifth floating window is centrally displayed at the bottom of the second window, and the width of the second window is greater than the width of the first split-screen window (fig. 4AF; par 0277; discloses FIG. 4AF also shows an example of a gesture (e.g., gesture 477) that may be used to dismiss an application after it has been pinned. As shown, the example gesture 477 involves a contact followed by movement of the contact towards an edge (e.g., a left-most edge of the display 112 relative to a user looking down on the display 112). In response to detecting that the gesture 477 has moved to within a predetermined distance of the edge (e.g., within 1-2 centimeters of the edge), then the pinned application is dismissed as shown in FIG. 4AG (and, in some embodiments, memory of the device 100 is updated to reflected that the video application and Application 1 are no longer pinned together).; fig. 4AG; discloses an interface for application that is in expanded form displayed on the whole display).
With respect to claim 10, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast further discloses wherein the fifth floating window corresponds to a translation application, the second window includes the first text, and the fifth floating window includes the first text and the translation result corresponding to the first text (Itoh; fig. 11; discloses a translating window 33 displayed over the text with the selected text and the translation result corresponding to the selected text).
With respect to claim 11, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast further discloses wherein the width of the second window is equal to the width of the first window (Dellinger; fig. 4E; discloses the first window while fig. 4AG discloses the second window that same width as first window).
With respect to claim 14, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast further discloses further comprising: receiving, by the electronic device, a sixth operation on the first interface; displaying, by the electronic device, a sixth floating window, wherein the sixth floating window is centrally displayed at the bottom of the second window (Dellinger; par 0257; discloses As shown in FIG. 4B, in response to detecting that the gesture 450 has traveled more than a threshold distance away from the edge (e.g., more than about 1 centimeter, but may depend on the size of the touch-sensitive display 112), a dock 408 is revealed on the touch-sensitive display as overlaying the maps application).
With respect to claim 16, Dellinger discloses an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises a memory configured to store computer instructions, and when the electronic device executes the computer instructions, (fig. 1A; device 100 comprises memory 102 connected to processing unit 104) the electronic device performs the following operations: displaying, by the electronic device, a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises a first window corresponding to a first application (fig. 4A; discloses a first interface displayed on the screen for a first application; par 0256; discloses an application is displayed on a touch-sensitive display, such as the example maps application that is displayed on the touch-sensitive display 112 in FIG. 4A, and which includes a map of the United States and a search box that allows for searching for various locations using the maps application); receiving, by the electronic device, a first operation on the first interface (par 0256; discloses While the maps application is displayed, a gesture 450 is detected near an edge of the touch-sensitive display 112 (e.g., a bottom-most edge of the touch-sensitive display relative to a viewer).); displaying, by the electronic device, a second interface, wherein the second interface comprises a first split-screen window corresponding to the first application, a second split-screen window corresponding to a second application, and a first slider (fig. 4I; discloses a second interface comprises a first application window, a second application window and a border between the first application window and second application window); wherein the first application is different from the second application (par 0012; discloses a sustained interaction with the electronic device as they are able to fluidly move from accessing the dock to activating a split-view mode of operation in which the user is able to simultaneously interact with two different applications );
Dellinger doesn’t expressly disclose displaying, by the electronic device, a first floating window in response to a second operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed while hovering over the first split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window;
In the same field of endeavor, Itoh discloses system and method for interacting with graphical interfaces (see abstract); Itoh discloses displaying, by the electronic device, a first floating window in response to a second operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed while hovering over the first split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window; (fig. 11; floating window 33; par 0047; discloses he user 15 then selects the character string "Miyahira Tomohiro" in the window of FIG. 9 and clicks the right button of mouse 14 (FIG. 1). This right click causes a pop-up menu 32 to be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In pop-up menu 32, it is possible to select one of the following menu items: "Start editing translation word", "Cut", "Copy", "Paste", "Select All" and "Print". In this context, however, "Cut" and "Paste" cannot be selected as the operations specified by these menu items cannot currently be performed in the window of FIG. 9. The menu items which cannot be selected are grayed out in the actual pop-up menu 32, and are shown in italics for the sake of clarity in FIG. 10. The user 15 selects "Start editing translation word" in pop-up menu 32 of FIG. 10. The pop-up menu 32 then disappears, and a translation word editing box 33, which allows efficient translation word editing, is displayed as shown in FIG. 11.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger to incorporate the teachings of Itoh to display a floating window when user selects a portion of text in order to allow user to perform additional functions such as translate with the selected text in a quick and efficient manner; further the teachings could be applied to any number of interfaces displaying text;
Dellinger as modified by Itoh doesn’t expressly disclose the first floating window not hovering over the second split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window while displaying the first floating window, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window and not hovering over the first split-screen window;
In the same field of endeavor, Mast discloses system and method for interacting with application interfaces (see abstract); Mast discloses the first floating window not hovering over the second split-screen window (fig. 14B; discloses a first floating window 1470 on application window 1410 and not over application window 1420); displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window while displaying the first floating window, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window and not hovering over the first split-screen window (fig. 14B; discloses a second floating window 1475 displayed over second application window 1420 while first floating window 1470 is displayed over first application window 1410; col 4; lines 25-49; discloses the methodology of the present invention is to create a floating window that contains the image to be displayed and to position this window in a predetermined manner with respect to the window for the application with which the floating window is associated);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh to incorporate the teachings of Mast to display the floating windows over the application that is associated with it in order to allow user to easily identify and recognize which floating interface belongs to which application among the plurality of applications.
With respect to claim 17, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast discloses wherein when the electronic device executes the computer instructions, the electronic device further performs the following operations: continuing to display the first floating window, by the electronic device, in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed floating over the first split-screen window and not floating over the second split-screen window (Mast; fig. 14B; discloses a second floating window 1475 displayed over second application window 1420 while first floating window 1470 is displayed over first application window 1410; col 4; lines 25-49; discloses the methodology of the present invention is to create a floating window that contains the image to be displayed and to position this window in a predetermined manner with respect to the window for the application with which the floating window is associated).
With respect to claim 18, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast don’t expressly disclose wherein the first floating window and the second floating window correspond to a translation application, the first floating window including the first text and the translation result corresponding to the first text, and the second floating window including the second text and the translation result corresponding to the second text;
In the same field of endeavor, Itoh discloses system and method for translating text (see abstract); Itoh discloses wherein the first floating window and the second floating window correspond to a translation application, the first floating window including the first text and the translation result corresponding to the first text, and the second floating window including the second text and the translation result corresponding to the second text (see fig. 10 and 11; par 0047; discloses The user 15 then selects the character string "Miyahira Tomohiro" in the window of FIG. 9 and clicks the right button of mouse 14 (FIG. 1). This right click causes a pop-up menu 32 to be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In pop-up menu 32, it is possible to select one of the following menu items: "Start editing translation word", "Cut", "Copy", "Paste", "Select All" and "Print". In this context, however, "Cut" and "Paste" cannot be selected as the operations specified by these menu items cannot currently be performed in the window of FIG. 9. The menu items which cannot be selected are grayed out in the actual pop-up menu 32, and are shown in italics for the sake of clarity in FIG. 10. The user 15 selects "Start editing translation word" in pop-up menu 32 of FIG. 10. The pop-up menu 32 then disappears, and a translation word editing box 33, which allows efficient translation word editing, is displayed as shown in FIG. 11);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast to incorporate the teachings of Itoh to display floating window over the displayed text allowing user to quickly and efficiently translate the selected text, hence improving user work productivity and convenience.
With respect to claim 20, Dellinger discloses a computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and when the computer program is run on an electronic device,((fig. 1A; device 100 comprises memory 102 connected to processing unit 104; par 0025; discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is provided. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores executable instructions that, when executed by an electronic device with a touch-sensitive display, cause the electronic device to perform the method described in any one of A1-A12) the electronic device performs the following operations: displaying, by the electronic device, a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises a first window corresponding to a first application (fig. 4A; discloses a first interface displayed on the screen for a first application; par 0256; discloses an application is displayed on a touch-sensitive display, such as the example maps application that is displayed on the touch-sensitive display 112 in FIG. 4A, and which includes a map of the United States and a search box that allows for searching for various locations using the maps application); receiving, by the electronic device, a first operation on the first interface (par 0256; discloses While the maps application is displayed, a gesture 450 is detected near an edge of the touch-sensitive display 112 (e.g., a bottom-most edge of the touch-sensitive display relative to a viewer).); displaying, by the electronic device, a second interface, wherein the second interface comprises a first split-screen window corresponding to the first application, a second split-screen window corresponding to a second application, and a first slider (fig. 4I; discloses a second interface comprises a first application window, a second application window and a border between the first application window and second application window); wherein the first application is different from the second application (par 0012; discloses a sustained interaction with the electronic device as they are able to fluidly move from accessing the dock to activating a split-view mode of operation in which the user is able to simultaneously interact with two different applications );
Dellinger doesn’t expressly disclose displaying, by the electronic device, a first floating window in response to a second operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed while hovering over the first split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window;
In the same field of endeavor, Itoh discloses system and method for interacting with graphical interfaces (see abstract); Itoh discloses displaying, by the electronic device, a first floating window in response to a second operation on the second interface, wherein the first floating window is displayed while hovering over the first split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window in response to a third operation on the second interface, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window; (fig. 11; floating window 33; par 0047; discloses he user 15 then selects the character string "Miyahira Tomohiro" in the window of FIG. 9 and clicks the right button of mouse 14 (FIG. 1). This right click causes a pop-up menu 32 to be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In pop-up menu 32, it is possible to select one of the following menu items: "Start editing translation word", "Cut", "Copy", "Paste", "Select All" and "Print". In this context, however, "Cut" and "Paste" cannot be selected as the operations specified by these menu items cannot currently be performed in the window of FIG. 9. The menu items which cannot be selected are grayed out in the actual pop-up menu 32, and are shown in italics for the sake of clarity in FIG. 10. The user 15 selects "Start editing translation word" in pop-up menu 32 of FIG. 10. The pop-up menu 32 then disappears, and a translation word editing box 33, which allows efficient translation word editing, is displayed as shown in FIG. 11.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger to incorporate the teachings of Itoh to display a floating window when user selects a portion of text in order to allow user to perform additional functions such as translate with the selected text in a quick and efficient manner; further the teachings could be applied to any number of interfaces displaying text;
Dellinger as modified by Itoh doesn’t expressly disclose the first floating window not hovering over the second split-screen window; displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window while displaying the first floating window, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window and not hovering over the first split-screen window;
In the same field of endeavor, Mast discloses system and method for interacting with application interfaces (see abstract); Mast discloses the first floating window not hovering over the second split-screen window (fig. 14B; discloses a first floating window 1470 on application window 1410 and not over application window 1420); displaying, by the electronic device, a second floating window while displaying the first floating window, wherein the second floating window is displayed while hovering over the second split-screen window and not hovering over the first split-screen window (fig. 14B; discloses a second floating window 1475 displayed over second application window 1420 while first floating window 1470 is displayed over first application window 1410; col 4; lines 25-49; discloses the methodology of the present invention is to create a floating window that contains the image to be displayed and to position this window in a predetermined manner with respect to the window for the application with which the floating window is associated);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh to incorporate the teachings of Mast to display the floating windows over the application that is associated with it in order to allow user to easily identify and recognize which floating interface belongs to which application among the plurality of applications.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellinger et al (US Pub 2018/0329550) in view of Itoh et al (US Pub 2002/0161569), Mast (US Pat 5,619,639) and Isselhardt et al (US Pub 2021/0311688).
With respect to claim 13, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast don’t expressly disclose further discloses further comprising: receiving, by the electronic device, an operation on a first region, wherein the first region the region of the second split-screen window excluding the second floating window; maintaining, by the electronic device, the first floating window unchanged; and ceasing, by the electronic device, to display the translation result corresponding to the second text;
Isselhardt discloses system and method of interacting with interfaces (see abstract); Isselhardt discloses receiving, by the electronic device, an operation on a first region, wherein the first region the region of the second split-screen window excluding the second floating window; maintaining, by the electronic device, the first floating window unchanged; and ceasing, by the electronic device, to display the translation result corresponding to the second text (par 0032; discloses the user may close the pop-up window by a mouse-click in an area of the GUI outside of the window, or by another deselection event.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast to incorporate the teachings of Isselhardt to close any floating window in an application by providing any input outside the floating window in order to allow user to quickly terminate the floating window in an application.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellinger et al (US Pub 2018/0329550) in view of Itoh et al (US Pub 2002/0161569), Mast (US Pat 5,619,639) and CHOI et al (US Pub 2021/0109653).
With respect to claim 15, Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast further discloses, the fifth floating window is spaced a certain distance from the left and right sides of the first display screen, the sixth floating window is spaced a certain distance from the left and right sides of the first display screen, and the width of the sixth floating window is equal to the width of the fifth floating window (Mast; fig. 14b: discloses the floating window 1470 is spaced a certain distance from the left and right sides of the first display screen and the floating window 1475 is spaced a certain distance from the left and right sides of the first display screen and have similar width);
Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast don’t expressly disclose wherein the electronic device is a foldable screen device, the foldable screen device includes a first display screen and a second display screen, the first display screen is foldable;
In the same field of endeavor, CHOI discloses an electronic device capable of displaying multiple windows (see abstract); CHOI discloses wherein the electronic device is a foldable screen device, the foldable screen device includes a first display screen and a second display screen, the first display screen is foldable (par 0058; discloses he electronic device may support a multi-window function capable of dividing (splitting) the display (or screen) into a plurality of regions and displaying an execution screen of another application in each region. According to various embodiments, the electronic device may be a foldable-type electronic device. The foldable-type electronic device may include a bendable flexible display viewable through the first face and an external display viewable through part of the second face.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as modified by Itoh and Mast to incorporate the teachings of CHOI to form the device as a foldable device having outer and inner larger display in order to allow user to use any display based on the need of the size of the display; further foldable device would allow user to carry the device more easily.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose further comprising: receiving, by the electronic device, a fourth operation on the first slider while displaying the first floating window and the second floating window; transforming, by the electronic device, the first split-screen window into a third split-screen window, the second split-screen window into a fourth split-screen window, the first floating window into a third floating window, and the second floating window into a fourth floating window; wherein the third floating window is displayed floating over the third split-screen window and not floating over the fourth split-screen window, and the fourth floating window is displayed floating over the fourth split-screen window and not floating over the third split-screen window; wherein the width of the third split-screen window is greater than the width of the first split-screen window, the width of the fourth split-screen window is less than the width of the second split-screen window, the width of the third floating window is greater than the width of the first floating window, and the width of the fourth floating window is less than the width of the second floating window and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as the final result would have been unpredictable. Therefore claim 6 comprises allowable subject matter.
Claims 7-8, 12 are objected for being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 6.
With respect to claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein when the electronic device executes the computer instructions, the electronic device further performs the following operations: receiving, by the electronic device, a fourth operation on the first slider while displaying the first floating window and the second floating window; transforming, by the electronic device, the first split-screen window into a third split-screen window, the second split-screen window into a fourth split-screen window, the first floating window into a third floating window, and the second floating window into a fourth floating window; wherein the third floating window is displayed floating over the third split-screen window and not floating over the fourth split-screen window, and the fourth floating window is displayed floating over the fourth split-screen window and not floating over the third split-screen window; wherein the width of the third split-screen window is greater than the width of the first split-screen window, the width of the fourth split-screen window is less than the width of the second split-screen window, the width of the third floating window is greater than the width of the first floating window, and the width of the fourth floating window is less than the width of the second floating window and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Dellinger as the final result would have been unpredictable. Therefore claim 19 comprises allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624