DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oohata et al. (US 2003/0011377 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oohata et al. teaches an illuminator repairing device configured for repairing an illuminator, comprising:
a laser (see position of laser in figure 12) positioned on a first side of a substrate (43) away from a second side (top portion of 43) of the substrate (43), and configured to irradiate and melt an adhesive block (48) from the first side (bottom side surface of 43), thereby releasing a light emitting diode (LED) (42; see paragraph [0076] where light emitting diodes 42 are separated) from a corresponding connecting pad (46;figure 8) of a plurality of connecting pads (see figure 8), wherein the corresponding connecting pad (46) is attached to the second side (top portion of 43) via the adhesive block (48);
a repairing module (49) positioned on the second side (top portion of 43) of the substrate (43), and configured to remove the LED (42) released from the corresponding connecting pad (46); and
a positioning module (56) electrically connected to the laser (see laser in figure 12) and the repairing module (49; see paragraph [0100] where repairing device is disclosed), and configured to align the laser on the first side (bottom side surface of 43) and the repairing module (49) on the second side (top surface of 43) with the corresponding connecting pad (46;figure 8) from the first side and the second side of the substrate (43), respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 1, further comprising a supporting platform (see paragraph [0090] teaches mounting a chip for repair) configured to secure the illuminator between the laser (see laser in figure 12) and the repairing module (49).
Regarding claim 3, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 2, wherein the supporting platform (see paragraph [0090] teaches mounting a chip for repair) is further configured to expose each the first side (bottom side surface of 43) and the second side (top portion of 43) of the substrate (43).
Regarding claim 4, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 1, wherein the laser (see figure 12) is configured to irradiate the adhesive block (48) through the substrate (43) made of a transparent material (see paragraph [0091] where transparent material is disclosed).
Regarding claim 5, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 1, wherein the laser (see figure 12) is further configured to irradiate the adhesive block (48) through a second well (see figure 13 where multiple wells formed by opening for LEDs 42a are positioned), the second well penetrates the substrate (43) and communicates with a first well (see figure 13) defined in the corresponding connecting pad (46).
Regarding claim 6, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 1, wherein the repairing module is further configured to bond a replacement LED (42a) to the corresponding connecting pad (56) after removing the LED (42) .
Regarding claim 7, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 6, wherein the repairing module is further configured for to provide a bonding material (adhesive layer 63) to the corresponding connecting pad (56) before bonding the replacement LED (42a; see paragraph [0086] where adhesive 63 is melted by irradiation of infrared rays or laser beam to bond the light emitting diode 42)).
Regarding claim 8, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 1, wherein the repairing module comprises at least one of a grasping head, a vacuum sucker (see paragraph [0084] where vacuum suction is disclosed), or an adhesive probe.
Regarding claim 9, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 1, wherein the laser comprises a carbon dioxide laser (see paragraph [0079] where carbon diode laser is disclosed) or a fiber laser.
Regarding claim 10, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 1, wherein the positioning module (56) comprises a control device configured to cause the laser (see laser in figure 12) to move and align with the repairing module (49).
Regarding claim 11, Oohata et al. (US 2003/0011377 A1) teaches the illuminator repairing device of claim 10, wherein the control device is a mechanical arm or a transmission mechanism (see paragraph [0084] where mechanical parts for peeling light emitting diode 42 from holding member 54 is disclosed).
Regarding claim 12, Oohata et al. teaches a illuminator repairing method of repairing an illuminator, comprising:
irradiating an adhesive block (48) with laser light from a first side of a substrate 43) to melt the adhesive block (48), wherein a corresponding connecting pad of a plurality of connecting pads (46; shown in figure 8) is attached to a second side (top portion of 43) by the adhesive block (48);
releasing a light emitting diode (LED) (42) from the corresponding connecting pad (46; figure 12); and removing the LED (42) from the corresponding connecting pad (46).
Regarding claim 13, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 12, further comprising controlling the laser (see paragraph [0088] where controlling the laser beam is disclosed) to irradiate the adhesive block (48) through the substrate made of a transparent material (see paragraph [0093] where the substrate is made from a transparent glass).
Regarding claim 14, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 12, wherein irradiating the adhesive block (48) comprises irradiating the adhesive block (48) through a second well (see figure 14 where multiple wells formed by opening for LEDs 42a are positioned) penetrating the substrate (43) and communicating with a first well defined in the corresponding connecting pad (46;figure 8).
Regarding claim 15, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 12, further comprising controlling the laser to irradiate (paragraph [0088] discloses controlling laser beam) the adhesive block (48) without melting the substrate (43) and the plurality of connecting pads (46;figure 8).
Regarding claim 16, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 12, wherein irradiating the adhesive block (48) and removing the LED (42) are performed simultaneously (see paragraph [0078] where irradiating adhesive block and removing LED 42 is disclosed).
Regarding claim 17, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 12, further comprising: before irradiating the adhesive block (48), locating the LED (42) and aligning the laser (see where laser light emitting toward 48 in at least figure 12) with the adhesive block (48).
Regarding claim 18, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 12, further comprising: before irradiating the adhesive block (48; figure 12), securing the illuminator on a supporting platform (see paragraph [0090] teaches mounting a chip for repair) between a laser (see figure 12 where laser light emits toward a surface of 43) and a repairing module (see paragraph [0100] where repairing device is disclosed), such that the first side and the second side of the substrate (43) are exposed by the supporting platform (see figure 12).
Regarding claim 19, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 12, further comprising: after removing the LED (42), bonding a replacement LED (42a) to the corresponding connecting pad (46).
Regarding claim 20, Oohata et al. teaches the illuminator repairing method of claim 19, further comprising: before bonding the replacement LED (42a), providing a bonding material (45) to the corresponding connecting pad (46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oohata (US 6,770,960 B2) teaches a substrate, an adhesive and light emitting diodes that are irradiated by a laser and released from the substrate.
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875