DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (US 2020/0066207) in view of Nishiyama (US 2024/0087535)
Regarding claim 1:
Gu discloses:
Claim 1
Gu
1. A pixel, comprising:
a first transistor which includes a first gate electrode connected to a first node, a second gate electrode which receives an emission control signal, a first electrode which receives a first power voltage, and a second electrode connected to a second node;
Fig. 1: T1; the first node is N1; the first electrode is connected to ELVDD; the second to N3. Gu does not disclose a second gate electrode which receives an emission control signal.
a second transistor which includes a gate electrode which receives a write gate signal, a first electrode connected to the first node, and a second electrode connected to a third node;
Fig. 2: T2; the write gate signal is GW[i]; the first electrode is connected to the first node N1; the second electrode is connected to a third node N2
a third transistor which includes a gate electrode which receives a compensation gate signal, a first electrode connected to the third node, and a second electrode connected to the second node;
Fig. 2: T3; the compensation signal is GC; the first electrode is connected to the third node N2; the second electrode is connected to the second node N2
a light emitting diode which includes a first electrode connected to the second node and a second electrode which receives a second power voltage;
Fig. 2: OLED; N3 and ELVSS
a first capacitor which includes a first electrode connected to the third node and a second electrode which receives a data voltage; and
Fig. 2: Cpr
a second capacitor which includes a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode which receives a third power voltage.
Fig. 2: Cst
Gu does not disclose:
wherein the first transistor includes:
“a second gate electrode which receives an emission control signal”
Nishiyama discloses:
a second gate electrode which receives an emission control signal (Fig. 6: EM(j)).
It would have been obvious to include in X the element taught by Nishiyama.
The rationale is as follows:
Gu and Nishiyama are directed to the same field of art.
Nishiyama discloses that using an emission control line allows for low gray-scale display of pixels (paragraphs 38-39) and that using a back gate reduces the number of transistors (paragraph 5). This is a known improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2:
Gu in view of Nishiyama discloses:
wherein a frame period includes:
an initialization period in which the first gate electrode of the first transistor and the first electrode of the light emitting diode are initialized (Gu Fig. 3: F1-F2; paragraph 44); a compensation period in which a threshold voltage of the first transistor is compensated (Gu Fig. 3: F3; paragraph 44); a programming period in which the data voltage is written to the first gate electrode of the first transistor (Gu Fig. 3: F4; paragraph 44); and an emission period in which the light emitting diode emits a light (Gu Fig. 3: F5; paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 3:
Gu in view of Nishiyama discloses:
wherein the write gate signal transitions from a turn-off voltage level to a turn-on voltage level in the initialization period, has the turn-on voltage level in the compensation period and the programming period, and has the turn-off voltage level in the emission period (Fig. 3: this is GW).
Regarding claim 5:
Gu in view of Yoshida discloses:
wherein the first power voltage has a low voltage level in the initialization period, and has a high voltage level in the compensation period and the emission period (Fig. 3: this is ELVDD).
Regarding claim 6:
Gu in view of Yoshida discloses:
wherein the second power voltage has a high voltage level in the initialization period and the compensation period, and has a low voltage level in the emission period (Gu Fig. 3: this is ELVSS).’
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu in view of Nishiyama, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2015/0294624)
Regarding claim 4:
Gu in view of Nishiyama discloses:
wherein the emission control signal:
has the turn-off voltage level in the programming period, and has the turn-on voltage level in the emission period (shown in Nishiyama Fig. 7, where as per paragraph 63 when SC1 is high as per period 1 it is the programming period, and EM is off at this point, and then it is turned on as per paragraph 64 for the emission period).
Gu in view of Nishiyama does not disclose:
“wherein the emission control signal transitions from a turn-off voltage level to a turn-on voltage level in the initialization period.”
Liu discloses:
wherein the emission control signal transitions from a turn-off voltage level to a turn-on voltage level in the initialization period (Fig. 3; paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Gu in view of Nishiyama the elements taught by Liu.
The rationale is as follows:
Gu, Nishiyama, and Liu are directed to have the same field of art.
Liu discloses having the emission control signal on in this period allows the transistors to be on for the initialization. This is a known improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamashita et al. (US 2011/0122324); Lee et al. (US 2018/0122298); Yoshida (US 2020/0219446).
/CHRISTOPHER R LAMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622