DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2026; 01/28/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. (Note: rejection applies to subsequent dependent claims).
Claim 16 recites the limitation " wherein the plurality of touch electrodes include a second opening hole”, however there is no prior recitation of a first opening hole as implied by this limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (US 2023/0209883).
As to Claim 1, Ji et al. discloses A display device comprising: a substrate (fig.9, substrate 100; para.0116);
a plurality of pixels disposed on the substrate (fig.1,3A,4,9-11; display layer 200 include pixel circuits PC1a, PC1b; para.0057, 0067, 0074, 0117,0129) ;
an encapsulation portion disposed on the plurality of pixels (fig.4,9; encapsulation layer 300; para.0090,137);
a plurality of touch electrodes disposed on the encapsulation portion (fig.4-6,9; input sensing layer 400 include touch electrodes 410,420; para.0092,0097-0100,0102,0140); and
a black matrix disposed on the plurality of touch electrodes (fig.4,9; optical function layer 700 may include light blocking layer 710 that may be a black matrix; para.0094, 0147),
wherein the plurality of touch electrodes (fig.8,11,17; para.0099-0101) include:
a plurality of first opening holes configured to expose the plurality of pixels (fig.3, 8, 11, holes H2 overlapping opening OP2 corresponding to emission area of the OLED in area SD2; para.0075-0076, 0106; fig.16-17) , and
a second opening hole larger than each of the plurality of first opening holes (fig.3, 8,11 hole H1 overlapping opening OP1 corresponding to emission area of OLED in area SDA1 expose pixel electrode); para.0079, 0106-0107; fig.16-17).
As to Claim 2, Ji et al. discloses wherein the plurality of touch electrodes are disposed to overlap the black matrix (fig.9, blocking layer 710 (black matrix) overlap conductive lines ML1 (para.009- mesh pattern of touch electrode 410 and 420 may include conductive line ML1, ML2); para.0114)
As to Claim 3, Ji et al. discloses wherein each of the plurality of first opening holes exposes one pixel among the plurality of pixels, and some of the plurality of first opening holes have different sizes from each other (fig. 3A,8,11A; holes H2 defined for pixel electrodes PX1,PX2, PX3 in area SDA2 are of different sizes and area SDA2, and holes H1 defined for pixel electrodes in area SDA1 are different sizes, and holes corresponding to pixel groups in areas SDA1 and SDA2 are different from each other; para.0078-0079,0109).
As to Claim 5, Ji et al. discloses wherein the plurality of touch electrodes include: a plurality of first touch electrodes arranged in a first direction (fig.5-6, touch electrodes 410; para.0098); and a plurality of second touch electrodes arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction (fig.5-6, touch electrodes 420, para.0098).
As to Claim 6, Ji et al. discloses wherein the second opening hole is disposed in each of the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes (fig.,8,11,17; para.0099-0100).
As to Claim 7, Ji et al. discloses wherein a total area of the second opening hole in the one of the plurality of touch electrodes is smaller than a total area of the plurality of first opening holes in the one of the plurality of touch electrodes (fig.8,11, 17; total area of a hole H1 (area SDA1) is smaller than a total area of the plurality of holes H1 (area SDA2); para.0075,0078).
As to Claim 8, Ji et al. discloses a mesh pattern disposed in the second opening hole, wherein the mesh pattern is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of touch electrodes (fig.5-6, para.0099-0101,0111-0112,0166).
As to Claim 13, Ji et al. discloses wherein a total area of the second opening hole in one of the plurality of touch electrodes is greater than or equal to a total area of the plurality of first opening holes in the one of the plurality of touch electrodes (fig.8,11,16-17; total area of hole H1 in area SDA1 is greater than total area of holes H2 in area SDA2; para.0075,0078-0079).
As to Claim 14, Ji et al. discloses wherein a shape of the second opening hole in one of the plurality of touch electrodes corresponds to a shape of the one of the plurality of touch electrodes (para.0106-0107,0159-0160).
As to Claim 15, JI et al. discloses wherein the second opening hole in the one of the plurality of touch electrodes has a quadrangular shape, while the one of the plurality of touch electrodes has a quadrangular shape (para.0106-0107,0159-0160).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ji et al. (US 2023/0209883) in view of Lius et al. (US 20230056178).
Ji et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the second opening hole exposes more pixels than each of the plurality of first opening holes.
Lius et al. discloses wherein second opening hole exposes more pixels than each of the plurality of first opening holes (fig.1, mesh opening 18c may overlap a plurality of light emitting units or subpixels or it may overlap one subpixel; para.0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ji et al. with the teachings of Lius et al, such that opening hole H1 overlap a plurality of light emitting units or subpixels (as disclosed by Lius). The motivation being to improve the transmittance of the display region.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ji et al. (US 2023/0209883) in view of Na et al. (US 2019/0212847).
As to Claim 9, Ji et al. does not expressly disclose an auxiliary electrode disposed to overlap the second opening hole
Na et al. discloses an auxiliary mesh electrode that may overlap and be electrically connected to touch electrode (figs.1-2, para.0073,0078-auxiliary mesh electrodes 210, 220 may overlap and electrically connect to some touch electrodes 102,101 respectively; figs.15-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ji et al. with the teachings of Na et al., the motivation being to reduce resistance of the touch electrode and thus improve the RC delay of the device.
As to Claim 10, Ji et al. in view of Na et al. disclose a bridge electrode connecting the plurality of second touch electrodes (Ji-fig.6, para.0098,0101-connection electrodes 421; Na-fig.1-2- connection pattern 112; 15-16; touch electrodes 501 include mesh pattern 510 and connection patterns 512; para.0123), wherein the auxiliary electrode is disposed on a same layer as the bridge electrode (Ji-fig.6-connection electrode 421 and touch electrodes 41,420; Na-para. 0078; para.0130, auxiliary electrode 610 may be disposed on same layer as touch electrode 501).
As to Claim 11, Ji et al. in view Na et al. disclose a first touch insulating layer disposed on the encapsulation portion (Ji-fig.9, touch insulating layer 401,403,405; para.0102); and a second touch insulating layer disposed on the bridge electrode and the auxiliary electrode (Na-fig.2; pra.0070), wherein the bridge electrode electrically connects the plurality of second touch electrodes (Na-para.0068), and wherein the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the touch electrode formed with the second opening hole by a through hole disposed in the second touch insulating layer (Na-para.0073,0078-0079,0085-0086).
As to Claim 12, Ji et al. in view Na et al. disclose wherein the auxiliary electrode has a mesh shape (Na-fig.1-2,15; para.0076, 0081, 0132).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ji et al. (US 2023/0209883) in view of Choe (US 2014/0110674).
As to Claim 16, Ji et al. discloses A display device comprising: a plurality of pixels disposed on a substrate (fig.1,3A,4,9-11; substrate 100, display layer 200 include pixel circuits PC1a, PC1b; para.0057, 0067, 0074, 0117,0129);
an encapsulation portion disposed on the plurality of pixels (fig.4,9; encapsulation layer 300; para.0090,137);
an auxiliary electrode disposed on the encapsulation portion;
a touch insulating layer disposed on the auxiliary electrode (fig.9-touch insulating layers 401,403,405; para.0102);
a plurality of touch electrodes disposed on the touch insulating layer (fig.4-6,9; touch electrodes 410, 420; para.0092,0097-0102, 0140); and
a black matrix disposed on the plurality of touch electrodes (fig.4,9; optical function layer 700 may include light blocking layer 710 that may be a black matrix; para.0094, 0147),
wherein the plurality of touch electrodes include a second opening hole exposing the auxiliary electrode (fig.3,8,11,17; para.0099-0102,0106; opening holes H1, H2 overlapping openings OP1, OP2 respectively, exposing pixel electrode).
Ji et al. discloses where the touch electrodes may be of a mesh pattern including holes (H1,H2) corresponding to openings OP1, OP2 that expose pixel electrodes.
Ji et al. does not expressly disclose an auxiliary electrode disposed on the encapsulation portion; wherein the plurality of touch electrodes include a second opening hole exposing the auxiliary electrode
Choe discloses an auxiliary electrode (fig.1, auxiliary electrode 310; para.0034) disposed on the encapsulation portion (fig.1, encapsulation substrate 300; para.0034). As depicted in fig.1, the auxiliary electrode overlaps the light emitting device 210 and may be formed of a transparent material (para.0039).
The combination of JI et al. in view of Choe, each element would have performed the same function as it did separately. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would yield predictable results, in particular the configuration claimed and the opening of touch electrodes exposing the auxiliary electrode, as well as the claims that depend therefrom
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ji et al. with the teachings of Choe, such that an auxiliary electrode is disposed on the encapsulation layer and the openings corresponding to the light emitting areas that expose the pixel electrodes would also expose the portion of the auxiliary electrode that overlaps the light emitting area. The motivation to improve reliability of the organic light emitting display.
As to Claim 17, Ji et al. in view of Choe disclose wherein the plurality of touch electrodes further include a plurality of first opening holes that expose each of the plurality of pixels, and wherein a size of the second opening hole is larger than a size of each of the plurality of first opening holes (Ji-fig.3, 8, 11, holes H2, H1 expose pixel electrodes of the corresponding light emitting area, and holes H1 may be larger than H2; para. 0078-0079, 109).
As to Claim 18, Ji et al. in view of Choe do not expressly disclose wherein the auxiliary electrode further includes a plurality of third opening holes that expose each of the plurality of pixels, and wherein a size of each of the plurality of third opening holes are larger than the size of one of the plurality of first opening holes.
However, Ji et al. discloses where the touch electrodes and connection electrodes may mesh conductive mesh pattern which may include holes overlapping opening corresponding to the light emitting area, where the holes may be of different sizes and shapes (para.0099, 0106-0109). Choe discloses where the shape of the auxiliary electrode may vary (para.0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of JI et al. in view of Choe, such that the auxiliary electrode may have a conductive mesh pattern having opening holes of differing sizes and/or shape (as disclosed by Ji), since in doing so would not have modified the operation of the device, yielding predictable results.
As to Claim 19, Ji et al. in view of Choe disclose wherein each of the plurality of first opening holes exposes one pixel among the plurality of pixels, and wherein some of the plurality of first opening holes have different sizes from each other (Ji- fig. 3A,8,11A; holes H2 defined for pixel electrodes PX1,PX2, PX3 in area SDA2 are of different sizes and area SDA2, and holes H1 defined for pixel electrodes in area SDA1 are different sizes, and holes corresponding to pixel groups in areas SDA1 and SDA2 are different from each other; para.0078-0079,0109).
As to Claim 20, Ji et al. in view of Choe disclose wherein a shape of the second opening hole corresponds to a shape of the auxiliary electrode (Ji- para.0106-0107,0159-0160; Choe-para.0043).
Conclusion
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627