Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16292294, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior application do not disclose at least “a cost of the item” as disclosed in the current application. Therefore, the current application has the priority of 03/04/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “receive an identifier associated with a recipient from a user and an identification of an item for shipment to a physical address associated with the recipient; determines whether the identifier associated with the recipient is stored in association with recipient location information; determines whether permission associated with the recipient identifier permit initiation of a shipment transaction by the user; when the identifier is stored in association with recipient location information and the permission , permit the shipment transaction: retrieves the recipient location information associated with the identifier without communicating the physical address of the recipient to the user; and calculates a shipping cost and a sales tax amount for shipment of the item based on the retrieved recipient location information; when the identifier is not stored in association with recipient location information: transmits a notification to the recipient requesting registration with the address exchange platform; and upon receipt of recipient registration information and determination that the permission permit the shipment transaction, retrieves the recipient location information and calculates the shipping cost and the sales tax amount..”
The limitations above, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of initiating a shipping transaction without revealing the recipient address which is a certain method of organizing a human activity. That is, the method allows for commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim a controller; a memory coupled to the controller, wherein the memory stores program instructions executable by the controller; wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the controller: provides an application programming interface (API)… wherein the API is configured not to receive a physical address of the recipient from the user” and “permission settings”. Each of the additional limitations is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements, alone or in combination, are nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception on a general computer.
Dependent claim 2 is/are also directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because they further narrow the abstract idea described in relation to claim 1 without successfully integrating the exception into a practical application (“wherein the application programming interface (API) is configured not to receive a physical address of the recipient from the user during the shipment transaction” is recited at a high level of recitation which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception in a computer environment) or providing significantly more limitations.
Dependent claim 3 is/are also directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because they further narrow the abstract idea described in relation to claim 1 without successfully integrating the exception into a practical application (“permission settings” is recited at a high level of recitation which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception in a computer environment) or providing significantly more limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noures (US 2009/0089185) in view of Ruff (US 2014/0195626), and Scipioni (US 2013/0254068).
As per claim 1, Noures discloses an address exchange platform comprising:
a controller; a memory coupled to the controller, wherein the memory stores program instructions executable by the controller ([0013] The process is a computer system/service that gives a party (a consumer or a business) the convenience to send a physical item(s) to another party (an individual or a business) using the receiving party's email address/public identifier or the receiving parties' email addresses/public identifiers (if there are multiple receivers) without the need to know the shipping/mailing address of the receiver (or at least the full shipping/mailing address).);
wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the controller:
receive an identifier associated with a recipient from a user and an identification of an item for shipment to a physical address associated with the recipient (fig. 2, paragraph 75, “The sender may also choose/purchase an item(s) from a physical business store and manually writes/enters/specifies the email address/public identifier (or email addresses/public identifiers if there are multiple receivers) of the receiver (either self or others) who will receive the chosen/purchased item(s) as well as other necessary info, with this the business store (or any other third party) may take care of submitting the email address/public identifier of the receiver as well as other necessary info electronically to the computer system. [0077] The computer system automatically identifies the receiver's physical shipping/mailing address from the submitted email address/public identifier (and potentially other info)...[0079] The computer system automatically notifies/informs the business and/or a delivery entity with the order details (details of item(s) to be delivered) and delivery details in order to process the delivery/deliveries.”),
determines whether the identifier associated with the recipient is stored in the memory in association with recipient location information; when the identifier is stored in association with recipient location information: retrieves the recipient location information associated with the identifier without communicating the physical address of the recipient to the user ([0067] The system uses the submitted email address/identifier to look up the actual mailing/delivery address of the receiver from the receiver's profile stored in the database(s) and electronically notifies a delivery entity (such as a delivery courier, ordinary mail services, a business, business store, etc) about the details of the transaction including the actual delivery address of the receiver.);
when the identifier is not stored in association with recipient location information: transmits a notification to the recipient requesting registration with the address exchange platform; and upon receipt of recipient registration information, retrieves the recipient location information ([0068] The system electronically notifies the receiver (sends an email to the receiver using the email address/public identifier specified by the sender) to create a profile (where the actual delivery address is specified), If the receiver doesn't have a profile in the system and before the delivery can be made. In the meantime the delivery entity doesn't make the delivery and may keep inquiring the system electronically to check whether it is able to get the actual delivery address of the receiver. After a predetermined period of time if the actual delivery address of the receiver still can't be obtained by the system for any reasons including a lack of the receiver's profile then the system flags the transaction as "cancelled" in the database(s), electronically notifies the delivery entity to cancel the delivery and notifies the sender about the cancellation electronically and/or by mail. [0069] The system electronically notifies the receiver to check the current delivery address and update it if necessary If the receiver's profile already exists in the system, it may also allow the receiver to cancel the delivery if necessary. [0070] The system continues to electronically keep the delivery entity up to date with the most recent delivery address as specified in the receiver's profile stored in the database(s) before the delivery is made and flags the transaction as "complete" after it gets electronically notified by the delivery entity that the physical item(s) is delivered.).
However, Noures does not disclose but Ruff discloses provides an application programming interface (API); wherein the API is configured not to receive a physical address of the recipient from the user (abstract, “A sender may identify a user with whom the sender desires to interact using a public identifier associated with the user. The interaction server may coordinate the desired interaction without revealing private information, such as information about private user resources (e.g., personal contact information, personal payment information, personal data, etc.).”,[0018]… The interaction request may be received at the interaction server via one or more of a plurality of methods, such as an application interface, email, SMS, phone calls, IM, web service, API, a request to process postal mail, and the like. [0020] A user may register a public address with the interaction server. The address may be in a variety of forms, such as a string including numbers, letters, and/or other symbols or characters. The user may use the public address as a single, unique public identifier to which multiple types of interaction--email, SMS, IM, phone, postal mail, etc. --are addressed. The interaction server may receive interaction requests, such as communication requests, and route them to user resources, such as client devices or physical addresses designated by the users (the case of physical postal mail is described below). The client devices/locations may be identified by private addresses and/or users running proprietary applications. The private addresses may include information not visible to the sender of the interaction, such as email addresses, telephone numbers, screen names, postal addresses, social media addresses, and the like… [0096] As an additional functionality, the interaction server may store usernames and passwords for a plurality of websites, online accounts, and/or the like. When a user visits a webpage, a form-filler may automatically fill the username and password into a login form on that webpage. Alternatively or in addition, a website may implement an application programming interface (API) through which the interaction server may authenticate the user.” Ruff discloses that an interaction request may reach the server through a “web service, API”. It discloses that the request is addressed to a public identifier associated with the intended recipient”).
determines whether permission settings associated with the recipient identifier permit initiation of a shipment transaction by the user and when the permission settings, permit the shipment transaction: ship the package to the recipient ([0075] For a user to receive physical "blind" mail or a "blind" package (where the sender does not know the postal address of the receiver) that did not originate as an electronic message, the item may be addressed to the user's public address and sent to a central processing location. A bar code, QR code, and/or the like may be used to facilitate routing. Once the item is received at the central processing location, the sender is authenticated, and the rules for the intended recipient allow receipt of the item from that sender, the interaction server may be queried for the postal address of the intended recipient and the item may be mailed or shipped to its final destination. Thus, "blind" mailing of physical items may be achieved, whereby the sender need not know the recipient's actual postal address, and the receiver need not divulge it. Alternatively, a mailing or shipping provider, such as the US Postal Service, may be provided with tools and/or access to the interaction server to authenticate senders and retrieve address information for receivers. Thus, the shipping provider may provide seamless blind mailing service, negating the need for items to be mailed or shipped twice (first to a central processing location and then to the final destination).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitations above as taught by Ruff in the teaching of Noures, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
However, Noures in view of Ruff does not disclose but Scipioni discloses calculates a shipping cost and a sales tax amount for shipment of the item based on the retrieved recipient location information ( 0024] FIG. 1 starts off after the gift giver has already selected an item. Actions for selecting the item are described in more detail with respect to FIGS. 6-9. The gift giver has selected a green sweater, which is shown in thumbnail image 102. Interface 100 provides the price as well as an indication that taxes and shipping may apply. Buttons 110 and 120 allow the gift giver to select between a conventional purchase and a gift purchase. The present description focuses on the gift purchase and, therefore, does not describe in detail the conventional purchase option. [0028] In some examples, the physical address of the recipient may affect the total price of the item. For instance, the physical locations of the gift giver, the merchant, and/or the recipient may affect the amount of shipping cost and/or the amount of taxes that are added to the cost of the item itself. In this embodiment, the application keeps track of the total cost, including taxes and shipping, in order to complete the transaction. In one example, the merchant or payment service may calculate the shipping based on the recipient's address without immediately sharing that information with the giver while the giver is selecting the item. Knowledge of the recipient's zip code is usually good enough to calculate tax and shipping for a gift.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitations above as taught by Scipioni in the teaching of Noures in view of Ruff, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, Noures does not explicitly discloses but Ruff discloses wherein the application programming interface (API) is configured not to receive a physical address of the recipient from the user during the shipment transaction (.[0074] Users' private addresses may include one or more postal addresses. Users may wish to receive postal mail without divulging an address and/or a broadcaster may wish to send postal mail without having to gather or maintain a database of addresses. A sender may transmit an electronic message to the interaction server intended as postal mail for one or more recipients without the sender possessing the postal address of the recipient(s). The interaction server may determine postal addresses for the intended recipient(s). If the interaction request specifies a zone for the recipient(s) and/or sender, the interaction server may determine the appropriate "to" and/or "from" address and other branding, labeling, etc. to use to send the item (e.g., choosing a work address or a home address). The interaction server may comprise one or more apparatuses configured to print the message, print correctly addressed envelopes with proper postage, and stuff the envelopes for mailing. The interaction server may allow the sender to select first class postage, priority postage, overnight postage, or the like. The one or more apparatuses may also be configured to label and/or stuff envelopes and/or boxes for physical goods that are received by the blind mailing service. In an embodiment, the interaction server may send blind mail without using an apparatus by transmitting or otherwise providing access to all necessary information to a third party for fulfillment. [0075] For a user to receive physical "blind" mail or a "blind" package (where the sender does not know the postal address of the receiver) that did not originate as an electronic message, the item may be addressed to the user's public address and sent to a central processing location. A bar code, QR code, and/or the like may be used to facilitate routing. Once the item is received at the central processing location, the sender is authenticated, and the rules for the intended recipient allow receipt of the item from that sender, the interaction server may be queried for the postal address of the intended recipient and the item may be mailed or shipped to its final destination. Thus, "blind" mailing of physical items may be achieved, whereby the sender need not know the recipient's actual postal address, and the receiver need not divulge it. Alternatively, a mailing or shipping provider, such as the US Postal Service, may be provided with tools and/or access to the interaction server to authenticate senders and retrieve address information for receivers. Thus, the shipping provider may provide seamless blind mailing service, negating the need for items to be mailed or shipped twice (first to a central processing location and then to the final destination)… 0096] As an additional functionality, the interaction server may store usernames and passwords for a plurality of websites, online accounts, and/or the like. When a user visits a webpage, a form-filler may automatically fill the username and password into a login form on that webpage. Alternatively or in addition, a website may implement an application programming interface (API) through which the interaction server may authenticate the user.)(please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 3, Noures does not disclose but Ruff discloses wherein retrieval of the recipient location information and calculation of the shipping cost and the sales tax amount occur only when the permission settings associated with the recipient identifier permit initiation of the shipment transaction ([0075] For a user to receive physical "blind" mail or a "blind" package (where the sender does not know the postal address of the receiver) that did not originate as an electronic message, the item may be addressed to the user's public address and sent to a central processing location. A bar code, QR code, and/or the like may be used to facilitate routing. Once the item is received at the central processing location, the sender is authenticated, and the rules for the intended recipient allow receipt of the item from that sender, the interaction server may be queried for the postal address of the intended recipient and the item may be mailed or shipped to its final destination. Thus, "blind" mailing of physical items may be achieved, whereby the sender need not know the recipient's actual postal address, and the receiver need not divulge it. Alternatively, a mailing or shipping provider, such as the US Postal Service, may be provided with tools and/or access to the interaction server to authenticate senders and retrieve address information for receivers. Thus, the shipping provider may provide seamless blind mailing service, negating the need for items to be mailed or shipped twice (first to a central processing location and then to the final destination))(please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale).
However, Noures in view of Ruff does not disclose that the calculation of the shipping cost and the sales tax amount occur only when the permission settings permit initiation of the shipment, but Scipioni discloses calculation of the shipping cost and the sales tax amount once the recipient location information is retrieved 0024] FIG. 1 starts off after the gift giver has already selected an item. Actions for selecting the item are described in more detail with respect to FIGS. 6-9. The gift giver has selected a green sweater, which is shown in thumbnail image 102. Interface 100 provides the price as well as an indication that taxes and shipping may apply. Buttons 110 and 120 allow the gift giver to select between a conventional purchase and a gift purchase. The present description focuses on the gift purchase and, therefore, does not describe in detail the conventional purchase option. [0028] In some examples, the physical address of the recipient may affect the total price of the item. For instance, the physical locations of the gift giver, the merchant, and/or the recipient may affect the amount of shipping cost and/or the amount of taxes that are added to the cost of the item itself. In this embodiment, the application keeps track of the total cost, including taxes and shipping, in order to complete the transaction. In one example, the merchant or payment service may calculate the shipping based on the recipient's address without immediately sharing that information with the giver while the giver is selecting the item. Knowledge of the recipient's zip code is usually good enough to calculate tax and shipping for a gift.)(please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale).
Conclusion
OMAR . ZEROUAL
Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/OMAR ZEROUAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629