DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the originally filed specification and claims [December 30, 2025].
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims provide the limitation indention with periods instead of semicolon separation. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards non-eligible subject matter.
In terms of Step 1, claims 1-10 are directed towards one of the four categories of statutory subject matter.
In terms of Step 2(a)(1), independent claim 1 is directed towards, “the electric energy management module calculating total energy consumption of each of the electric vehicles based on a driving distance, a vehicle energy consumption rate, and charging condition of each of the electric vehicles. the carbon credit calculation module calculating a carbon emission amount based on the driving distance and the total energy consumption, and converting the carbon emission amount into at least one of the carbon emissions credits. the carbon credit transaction module, based on an identity of each of the carbon emission credits, performing matching with a trading counterparty, generating a transaction contract, and subsequently performing electronic signing, so as to transfer the identity of each of the carbon emission credits to the trading counterparty”. The claim is describing a commercial interaction/business relation in terms of carbon emission calculation to determine a carbon credit trading/transaction. As such, claim 1 is directed towards an abstract idea under the certain method of organizing human activity grouping.
Step 2(a)(II) considers the additional elements in terms of being transformative into a practical application. The additional elements of claim 1 are, “An electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system, comprising: a server having a central processing module, the central processing module being informationally connected to a smart analysis module, a carbon credit database, and an energy database, wherein the carbon credit database stores a plurality of carbon emission credits. a transaction platform being informationally connected to the server and a rental station, the rental station being equipped with a plurality of electric vehicles, and the transaction platform having an electric energy management module, a carbon credit calculation module, and a carbon credit transaction module. an energy storage cabinet being informationally connected to the server, electrically connected to a plurality of renewable energy power grids, and configured with a charging device, an electric energy storage device, and an electric power meter monitoring module that are electrically connected to each other”. The additional elements are with respect to the server, modules, and other computer elements, as well as the storage cabinet connected to the server. The additional elements (computer elements, modules, and charging cabinet) are described in the originally filed specification [14-17] and figure 1. The additional elements are merely describing generic technology to implement the abstract idea. The additional elements are not describing a technical improvement, but rather utilizing generic technology for the carbon emission credit transaction. As such, claim 1 is not directed towards additional elements that are transformative into a practical application. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2(b) considers the additional elements in terms of being significantly more than the identified abstract idea. The additional elements of claim 1 are, “An electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system, comprising: a server having a central processing module, the central processing module being informationally connected to a smart analysis module, a carbon credit database, and an energy database, wherein the carbon credit database stores a plurality of carbon emission credits. a transaction platform being informationally connected to the server and a rental station, the rental station being equipped with a plurality of electric vehicles, and the transaction platform having an electric energy management module, a carbon credit calculation module, and a carbon credit transaction module. an energy storage cabinet being informationally connected to the server, electrically connected to a plurality of renewable energy power grids, and configured with a charging device, an electric energy storage device, and an electric power meter monitoring module that are electrically connected to each other”. The additional elements are with respect to the server, modules, and other computer elements, as well as the storage cabinet connected to the server. The additional elements (computer elements, modules, and charging cabinet) are described in the originally filed specification [14-17] and figure 1. The additional elements are merely describing generic technology to implement the abstract idea. The additional elements are not describing a technical improvement, but rather utilizing generic technology for the carbon emission credit transaction. As such, claim 1 is not directed towards additional elements that are significantly more than the identified abstract idea. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 2-5 are further describing additional elements beyond those identified above. The dependent claims are directed towards, “wherein the smart analysis module derives an energy consumption pattern based on the total energy consumption and performs data optimization based on data from the carbon credit database and the energy database”, “wherein the renewable energy power grids are configured to perform conversion to provide alternative energy, and to transmit the alternative energy to the electric energy storage device, and the charging device, using the alternative energy transmitted to the electric energy storage device, performs optimized charging on each of the electric vehicles”, “wherein, during a process of the optimized charging, the electric power meter monitoring module measures voltage, current, and power, and the electric energy management module adjusts at least one charging parameter of the charging device based on the voltage, the current, and the power”, and “wherein the server has a rental management module informationally connected to the central processing module, the rental management module being configured to perform rental start and end time calculation, rental fee calculation, contract generation, and transaction detail recording”. The additional elements are further describing the modules, charging, server, and power grid elements. The additional elements are described in the originally filed specification [14-17, 22-23, and 25] and figure 1. The additional elements are merely describing generic technology to implement the abstract idea. The claims are not describing technical improvements and thus are generic technology to implement the carbon credit transaction system. Therefore, claims 2-5 are not directed towards additional elements that are significantly more or transformative into a practical application. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
In terms of Step 2(a)(1), independent claim 6 is directed towards, “A method for using an electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system, the method comprising: renting an electric vehicle. a vehicle energy consumption calculation operation for analyzing a driving distance, a vehicle energy consumption rate, and charging condition of the electric vehicle, and calculating total energy consumption. a carbon credit calculation operation for calculating a carbon emission amount based on the driving distance and the total energy consumption of the electric vehicle, converting, by the carbon credit calculation module, the carbon emission amount into at least one carbon emission credit according to at least one carbon market rule, and causing the at least one carbon emission credit to be stored; a carbon trading operation for, after the at least one carbon emission credit is obtained from the carbon credit database by a carbon credit transaction module, performing a carbon emission credit matching operation based on a quantity and an identity of the at least one carbon emission credit, performs matching with a trading counterparty; performing a transaction confirmation and signing operation, wherein the carbon credit transaction module, generates, based on the identity of the at least one carbon emission credit, a transaction contract for electronic signing by the trading counterparty; and then performing a transaction execution operation, wherein, upon completion of the electronic signing, the identity of the at least one carbon emission credit is transferred to the trading counterparty”. The claim is describing a commercial interaction/business relation in terms of carbon emission calculation to determine a carbon credit trading/transaction. As such, claim 1 is directed towards an abstract idea under the certain method of organizing human activity grouping.
Step 2(a)(II) considers the additional elements in terms of being transformative into a practical application. The additional elements of claim 6 are, “an electric vehicle rental operation for connecting, using a user-side device, to a transaction platform and after a rental management module is executed, by an electric energy management module, an artificial intelligence (AI)-based energy consumption analysis operation for deriving, by a smart analysis module, an energy consumption pattern of the electric vehicle based on the total energy consumption, and performing, by the smart analysis module, data optimization based on data from a carbon credit database and an energy database; by a carbon credit calculation module, on a blockchain platform or a carbon credit trading platform”. The additional elements are with respect to the server, modules, and other computer elements, as well as the storage cabinet connected to the server. The additional elements (computer elements, modules, database, blockchain, and platform) are described in the originally filed specification [14-16 and 24-25] and figure 1. The additional elements are merely describing generic technology to implement the abstract idea. The additional elements are not describing a technical improvement, but rather utilizing generic technology for the carbon emission credit transaction. Further, the additional elements of claim 6 provide AI analysis. The AI analysis is described in the originally filed specification [21]. The specification does not provide or describe a specific AI model or technique, but rather utilizing the term AI for analysis operations. As such, the AI is merely generic analysis techniques utilized as a tool to implement the carbon credit transaction. As such, claim 6 is not directed towards additional elements that are transformative into a practical application. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2(b) considers the additional elements in terms of being significantly more than the identified abstract idea. The additional elements of claim 6 are, “an electric vehicle rental operation for connecting, using a user-side device, to a transaction platform and after a rental management module is executed, by an electric energy management module, an artificial intelligence (AI)-based energy consumption analysis operation for deriving, by a smart analysis module, an energy consumption pattern of the electric vehicle based on the total energy consumption, and performing, by the smart analysis module, data optimization based on data from a carbon credit database and an energy database; by a carbon credit calculation module, on a blockchain platform or a carbon credit trading platform”. The additional elements are with respect to the server, modules, and other computer elements, as well as the storage cabinet connected to the server. The additional elements (computer elements, modules, database, blockchain, and platform) are described in the originally filed specification [14-16 and 24-25] and figure 1. The additional elements are merely describing generic technology to implement the abstract idea. The additional elements are not describing a technical improvement, but rather utilizing generic technology for the carbon emission credit transaction. Further, the additional elements of claim 6 provide AI analysis. The AI analysis is described in the originally filed specification [21]. The specification does not provide or describe a specific AI model or technique, but rather utilizing the term AI for analysis operations. As such, the AI is merely generic analysis techniques utilized as a tool to implement the carbon credit transaction. As such, claim 6 is not directed towards additional elements that are significantly more than the identified abstract idea. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 7-10 are directed towards additional elements beyond those identified above. The claims are directed towards, “wherein, in the vehicle energy consumption calculation operation, the electric energy management module calculates electric energy consumption according to speed, a load, and road condition of the electric vehicle during driving, dynamically adjusts the vehicle energy consumption rate, and obtains the total energy consumption by summing driving energy consumption, charging energy consumption, and standby energy consumption of the electric vehicle”, “wherein, in the AI-based energy consumption analysis operation, the smart analysis module adjusts the energy consumption pattern based on weather conditions”, “wherein, after completion of the AI-based energy consumption analysis operation, an optimized charging operation is subsequently performed, wherein a plurality of renewable energy power grids performs conversion to provide alternative energy and causes the alternative energy to be stored in an electric energy storage device, and a charging device, using the alternative energy stored in the electric energy storage device, performs optimized charging on the electric vehicle”, and “wherein, in the optimized charging operation, during a process of the optimized charging, the electric power meter monitoring module measures voltage, current, and power, and the electric energy management module adjusts at least one charging parameter of the charging device based on the voltage, the current, and the power”. The additional elements are described in the originally filed specification [14-17, 21-23, and 25]. The additional elements are merely describing generic technology. In terms of the AI analysis, the analysis adjustment is merely providing an idea of a solution. There is no specific technical implementation or description but rather an idea of any way to accomplish the adjustment based on the analysis. As such, the claims are not directed towards additional elements that are significantly more or transformative into a practical application. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claimed invention is describing an abstract idea without additional elements that are significantly more or transformative into a practical application. Therefore, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101 for being directed towards non-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al [2024/0144261], hereafter Lu, in view of Igata et al [2019/0156408], hereafter Igata.
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses an electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system, comprising: a server having a central processing module, the central processing module being informationally connected to a smart analysis module, a carbon credit database, and an energy database, wherein the carbon credit database stores a plurality of carbon emission credits. […] and the transaction platform having an electric energy management module, a carbon credit calculation module, and a carbon credit transaction module (Fig 1A, 2B, 2D, and paragraphs [91-99]; Lu discloses the server and other computer elements to implement the carbon credit system.).
the electric energy management module calculating total energy consumption of each of the electric vehicles based on a driving distance, a vehicle energy consumption rate, and charging condition of each of the electric vehicles (Fig 1B and paragraphs [58-61]; Lu discloses electricity management in terms of the vehicle processor providing consumption levels for the vehicle based on charge, consumption, and time and amount of travel (interpreted as distance).).
the carbon credit calculation module calculating a carbon emission amount based on the driving distance and the total energy consumption, and converting the carbon emission amount into at least one of the carbon emissions credits (Fig 1B and paragraphs [56-61]; Lu discloses carbon credits including based on consumption.).
the carbon credit transaction module, based on an identity of each of the carbon emission credits, performing matching with a trading counterparty, generating a transaction contract, and subsequently performing electronic signing, so as to transfer the identity of each of the carbon emission credits to the trading counterparty (Paragraphs [95-100 and 169-171]; Lu discloses a smart contract and blockchain-based confirmation for the carbon credit transaction.).
an energy storage cabinet being informationally connected to the server, electrically connected to a plurality of renewable energy power grids, and configured with a charging device, an electric energy storage device, and an electric power meter monitoring module that are electrically connected to each other (Paragraphs [59-62, 77, and 101-106]; Lu discloses the grid and other connected elements to charge the vehicle including renewable sources and metering to each other for the vehicle to charge.).
Lu discloses the above-enclosed electric vehicle carbon credit system, however, Lu does not specifically teach a transaction platform with a rental station;
Igata teaches a transaction platform being informationally connected to the server and a rental station, the rental station being equipped with a plurality of electric vehicles (Fig 1, 2, and paragraphs [32-50]; Igata teaches a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and chargers for a plurality of electric vehicles.),
Lu teaches an electric vehicle carbon credit system, however, Lu does not specifically teach a rental station for a plurality of vehicles.
Igata teaches a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and charging station for a plurality of electric vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the electric vehicle carbon credit system of Lu the ability to include a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and charging station for a plurality of electric vehicles as taught by Igata since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 1,
Lu further teaches wherein the smart analysis module derives an energy consumption pattern based on the total energy consumption and performs data optimization based on data from the carbon credit database and the energy database (Paragraphs [171-176]; Lu teaches utilizing a machine learning model and analysis on the data for the energy consumption and transaction elements. This falls within the interpretation of data optimization based on the originally filed specification [15].).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 1,
Lu further teaches wherein the renewable energy power grids are configured to perform conversion to provide alternative energy, and to transmit the alternative energy to the electric energy storage device, and the charging device, using the alternative energy transmitted to the electric energy storage device, performs optimized charging on each of the electric vehicles (Paragraphs [102-106]; Lu further discloses the charging including alternative sources.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 3,
wherein, during a process of the optimized charging, the electric power meter monitoring module measures voltage, current, and power, and the electric energy management module adjusts at least one charging parameter of the charging device based on the voltage, the current, and the power (Paragraph [82-88]; Lu teaches adjusting the charging station elements based on the power and other electrical metering elements.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 1,
Igata teaches wherein the server has a rental management module informationally connected to the central processing module, the rental management module being configured to perform rental start and end time calculation, rental fee calculation, contract generation, and transaction detail recording (Figs 1-3 and paragraphs [66-73 and 80-86]; Igata teaches the rental system including fee calculation and other aspects.).
Lu teaches an electric vehicle carbon credit system, however, Lu does not specifically teach a rental station for a plurality of vehicles.
Igata teaches a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and charging station for a plurality of electric vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the electric vehicle carbon credit system of Lu the ability to include a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and charging station for a plurality of electric vehicles as taught by Igata since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6, Lu discloses a method for using an electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system, the method comprising:
a vehicle energy consumption calculation operation for analyzing, by an electric energy management module, a driving distance, a vehicle energy consumption rate, and charging condition of the electric vehicle, and calculating, by the electric energy management module, total energy consumption (Fig 1B and paragraphs [58-61]; Lu discloses electricity management in terms of the vehicle processor providing consumption levels for the vehicle based on charge, consumption, and time and amount of travel (interpreted as distance).).
an artificial intelligence (AI)-based energy consumption analysis operation for deriving, by a smart analysis module, an energy consumption pattern of the electric vehicle based on the total energy consumption, and performing, by the smart analysis module, data optimization based on data from a carbon credit database and an energy database (Fig 1B and paragraphs [56-61]; Lu discloses carbon credits including based on consumption. The system further includes machine learning [172-176] in terms of the transaction elements.);
a carbon credit calculation operation for calculating, by a carbon credit calculation module, a carbon emission amount based on the driving distance and the total energy consumption of the electric vehicle, converting, by the carbon credit calculation module, the carbon emission amount into at least one carbon emission credit according to at least one carbon market rule, and causing, by the carbon credit calculation module, the at least one carbon emission credit to be stored in the carbon credit database (Paragraphs [95-100 and 169-171]; Lu discloses a smart contract and blockchain-based confirmation for the carbon credit transaction.);
a carbon trading operation for, after the at least one carbon emission credit is obtained from the carbon credit database by a carbon credit transaction module, performing a carbon emission credit matching operation, wherein the carbon credit transaction module, based on a quantity and an identity of the at least one carbon emission credit, performs matching with a trading counterparty on a blockchain platform or a carbon credit trading platform; performing a transaction confirmation and signing operation, wherein the carbon credit transaction module, generates, based on the identity of the at least one carbon emission credit, a transaction contract for electronic signing by the trading counterparty; and then performing a transaction execution operation, wherein, upon completion of the electronic signing, the identity of the at least one carbon emission credit is transferred to the trading counterparty (Paragraphs [95-100 and 169-171]; Lu discloses a smart contract and blockchain-based confirmation for the carbon credit transaction.).
Lu discloses the above-enclosed electric vehicle carbon credit system, however, Lu does not specifically teach a transaction platform with a rental station;
Igata teaches an electric vehicle rental operation for connecting, using a user-side device, to a transaction platform and after a rental management module is executed, renting, using the user-side device, an electric vehicle (Fig 1, 2, and paragraphs [32-50]; Igata teaches a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and chargers for a plurality of electric vehicles.).
Lu teaches an electric vehicle carbon credit system, however, Lu does not specifically teach a rental station for a plurality of vehicles.
Igata teaches a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and charging station for a plurality of electric vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the electric vehicle carbon credit system of Lu the ability to include a similar electric vehicle system that specifically teaches rental station and charging station for a plurality of electric vehicles as taught by Igata since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method for using the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 6,
Lu further teaches wherein, in the vehicle energy consumption calculation operation, the electric energy management module calculates electric energy consumption according to speed, a load, and road condition of the electric vehicle during driving, dynamically adjusts the vehicle energy consumption rate, and obtains the total energy consumption by summing driving energy consumption, charging energy consumption, and standby energy consumption of the electric vehicle (Paragraphs [59-62 and 69-76]; Lu discloses the calculation of consumption and adjusting the vehicle consumption based on speed and other parameters. The analysis further includes summing and consumption totals for the carbon credit determination.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method for using the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 6,
Lu further discloses wherein, in the AI-based energy consumption analysis operation, the smart analysis module adjusts the energy consumption pattern based on weather conditions (Paragraphs [104]; Lu discloses weather elements for consumption and energy transfer for the vehicle/charging station.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method for using the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 6,
Lu further discloses wherein, after completion of the AI-based energy consumption analysis operation, an optimized charging operation is subsequently performed, wherein a plurality of renewable energy power grids performs conversion to provide alternative energy and causes the alternative energy to be stored in an electric energy storage device, and a charging device, using the alternative energy stored in the electric energy storage device, performs optimized charging on the electric vehicle (Paragraphs [102-106]; Lu further discloses the charging including alternative sources.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method for using the electricity-based carbon credit aggregation and conversion system of Claim 9,
Lu further discloses wherein, in the optimized charging operation, during a process of the optimized charging, the electric power meter monitoring module measures voltage, current, and power, and the electric energy management module adjusts at least one charging parameter of the charging device based on the voltage, the current, and the power (Paragraph [82-88]; Lu teaches adjusting the charging station elements based on the power and other electrical metering elements.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kesava [2025/0238810] (electric vehicle carbon credit);
/ANDREW CHASE LAKHANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629