DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated June 11, 2026 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1 and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 13-17 have been cancelled. Claims 21-25 have been added. Claims 1-12 and 18-25 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250016700, hereinafter, “Cheng”) in view of Zhou et.al. (WIPO (PCT) Patent Application Publication, WO2025207593A1, “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches:
A wireless communication method, comprising (Cheng: [0046] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 of access procedure associated with intra-frequency measurements under schemes in accordance with implementations of the present disclosure …):
receiving, by a terminal device, first information from a network device, wherein the first information indicates a plurality of periodicity configurations for receiving synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks (SSBs) (Cheng: [0045] The UE in RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) may perform the intra-frequency measurements when the UE receives the measurement configurations via RRC messages from the network node. The measurement configurations may include SSB-based measurement timing configuration 1 (SMTC1) and SMTC2 … [0046] ... The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms or a value larger than 20 ms … the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message ... Fig. 3).
Although Cheng teaches the UE receiving measurement configurations which may include SSB-based measurement timing configuration 1 (SMTC1) and SMTC2, that may include periodicity, Cheng does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the terminal device, third information in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct adjustment of a periodicity for receiving an SSB; and
receiving, by the terminal device since a first instant after receiving the third information, an SSB based on the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, wherein a time interval between the first instant and the third information is pre-agreed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches:
receiving, by the terminal device, third information in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct adjustment of a periodicity for receiving an SSB (Zhou: [0409] In existing technologies, for network energy saving, a base station may dynamically update/change/adapt the SSB periodicity of the cell, e.g., by a DCI or a MAC CE, instead of RRC messages ... The base station may indicate, e.g., by the DCI/MAC CE, one of the multiple SSB periodicity values to be used for the network energy saving. In an example, when there is a small number of wireless devices operating in the cell, or when the wireless device(s) in the cell do not require frequent downlink/uplink time/frequency synchronization with the base station (e.g., when the wireless device(s) is static not moving, or when the wireless device(s) are ambient internet of things (A-IoT) devices)), the base station may reduce SSB periodicity and indicate the reduced SSB periodicity [i.e., third information] by the DCI/MAC CE.); and
receiving, by the terminal device since a first instant after receiving the third information, an SSB based on the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, wherein a time interval between the first instant and the third information is pre-agreed (Zhou: [0418] One or more example embodiments comprising transitioning/adapting/changing/updating, by a wireless device between a first SSB periodicity (for RLM/BFD) and a second SSB periodicity [i.e., third information] (for RLM/BFD) when the wireless device supports a DCI/MAC CE-based SSB periodicity adaptation and/or the wireless device receives the DCI/MAC CE indicating the SSB periodicity adaptation. When the wireless device transitions (on the same active BWP of the cell) between the first SSB periodicity and the second SSB periodicity, due to the SSB periodicity adaptation indicated by the DCI/MAC CE, for each SSB of RLM/BFD RSs, the wireless device uses an evaluation period determined [i.e., time interval] based on the second SSB periodicity [i.e., pre-agreed based on received periodicity (third information)] from the time of transition [i.e., since a first instant of receiving an SSB] ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cheng to include the features as taught by Zhou above in order to provide network energy saving. (Zhou, ¶ [0409]).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of periodicity configurations comprises one or more periodicities (Cheng: [0045] The UE in RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) may perform the intra-frequency measurements when the UE receives the measurement configurations via RRC messages from the network node. The measurement configurations may include SSB-based measurement timing configuration 1 (SMTC1) and SMTC2 … [0046] ... The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms or a value larger than 20 ms … the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
the plurality of periodicity configurations are associated with different SSB bursts (Cheng: [0048] In one implementation, the UE may receive a specific SMTC on top of SMTC1 and SMTC2. The specific SMTC may include periodicity, offset, duration, cell IDs, SSB-ToMeasure (i.e., a bit map for transmitted SSB in an SSB burst set) for the long-periodicity cells.).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein periodicities in the periodicity configurations associated with the different SSB index groups are different (Cheng: . [0046] ... The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms or a value larger than 20 ms … the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein different periodicity configurations in the plurality of periodicity configurations comprise periodicities having an integral multiple relationship (Cheng: [0046] ... The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms [i.e., integral multiple of SMTC2 periodicity] or a value larger than 20 ms … the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
receiving, by the terminal device, second information from the network device, wherein the second information indicates a target periodicity to be activated in a plurality of periodicities, and the plurality of periodicities are periodicities in different periodicity configurations (Cheng: [0046] ... The UE may receive SMTC1 from the network node via RRC message. The SMTC1 is the first SMTC used as the primary measurement timing configuration. The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms or a value larger than 20 ms. In addition, the UE may receive SMTC2 [i.e., second information] from the network node via RRC message. The SMTC 2 is the secondary SMTC. The SMTC2 may include periodicity and pci-List. The periodicity in SMTC2 may be shorter than the periodicity in SMTC1. The pci-List is used to indicate target cell identities (IDs) for SSB-based measurement. In order to maintain the serving cell, the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message.).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the second information is received during a cell configuration of the terminal device, and the cell configuration comprises one or more of the following:
cell access,
cell handover, or
adding a secondary cell (Cheng: [0061] The UE may receive access to the LP cell from the network node via RRC. The access may be a HO message via Reconfiguration WithSync, an SCell addition message via SCellConfig, or a DC addition message via RRCReconfiguration. For example, the UE may receive another or updated SMTC or MG for the LP cell. The SMTC or MG may be carried in the HO, SCell addition, or DC addition messages. The SMTC or MG may include periodicity, offset, and duration parameters. The periodicity of SMTC or MG may be set to 160 ms or a value greater than 20 ms.).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the target periodicity is associated with the terminal device (Cheng: [0046] ... In addition, the UE may receive SMTC2 [i.e., second information] from the network node via RRC message. The SMTC 2 is the secondary SMTC. The SMTC2 may include periodicity and pci-List. The periodicity in SMTC2 may be shorter than the periodicity in SMTC1. The pci-List is used to indicate target cell identities (IDs) for SSB-based measurement. In order to maintain the serving cell, the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message.).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
when there is SSB transmission in a second time interval since the third information, a time interval between the first instant and a last SSB transmitted in the second time interval is equal to an integer multiple of the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, and the first instant is a 1st instant that satisfies an integral multiple relationship after the second time interval (Cheng: [0074] The UE in the camped state may receive SIB4. SIB4 contains cell re-selection information for inter-frequency cell re-selection. The cell re-selection information for inter-frequency cell re-selection may include interFreqCellReselectionInfo. The SIB4 may provide the SMTC and SMTC2-LP. The SMTC may indicate periodicity, offset, and duration, and the SMTC2-LP may provide pci-list and periodicity longer than the periodicity of the SMTC. For example, the periodicity may be set to 20 ms for SMTC and set to 160 ms for SMTC2-LP. In an example, a new SMTC may be provided for network energy savings. The new SMTC may include periodicity, offset, duration, pci-list, ssb-ToMeasure, and flags to enable new cell reselection and symbol demodulation procedures. The periodicity may be set to a value greater than 160 ms. [0075] In RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE, the UE may determine whether to set up the SMTC configuration based on SIB1, SIB2, and SIB4. In the SMTC windows, the UE may perform SSB-based measurement to detect the LP cell.).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
when the periodicity obtained after the adjustment is less than the periodicity before the adjustment, the time interval between the first instant and the last SSB transmitted before the third information is equal to an integer multiple of the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, and the first instant is a 1st instant that satisfies an integral multiple relationship after the third information (Cheng: [0046] ... The UE may receive SMTC1 from the network node via RRC message. The SMTC1 is the first SMTC used as the primary measurement timing configuration. The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms or a value larger than 20 ms. In addition, the UE may receive SMTC2 from the network node via RRC message. The SMTC 2 is the secondary SMTC. The SMTC2 may include periodicity and pci-List. The periodicity in SMTC2 may be shorter than the periodicity in SMTC1. The pci-List is used to indicate target cell identities (IDs) for SSB-based measurement. In order to maintain the serving cell, the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches:
A wireless communication method, comprising (Cheng: [0046] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 of access procedure associated with intra-frequency measurements under schemes in accordance with implementations of the present disclosure …):
transmitting, by a network device, first information to a terminal device, wherein the first information indicates a plurality of periodicity configurations for receiving synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks (SSBs) (Cheng: [0045] The UE in RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) may perform the intra-frequency measurements when the UE receives the measurement configurations via RRC messages from the network node. The measurement configurations may include SSB-based measurement timing configuration 1 (SMTC1) and SMTC2 … [0046] ... The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms or a value larger than 20 ms … the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message... Fig. 3).
Although Cheng teaches the UE receiving measurement configurations which may include SSB-based measurement timing configuration 1 (SMTC1) and SMTC2, that may include periodicity, Cheng does not explicitly teach:
transmitting, to the terminal device, third information in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct adjustment of a periodicity for receiving an SSB; and
transmitting, to the terminal device since a first instant after receiving the third information, an SSB based on the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, wherein a time interval between the first instant and the third information is pre-agreed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches:
transmitting, to the terminal device, third information in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct adjustment of a periodicity for receiving an SSB (Zhou: [0409] In existing technologies, for network energy saving, a base station may dynamically update/change/adapt the SSB periodicity of the cell, e.g., by a DCI or a MAC CE, instead of RRC messages ... The base station may indicate, e.g., by the DCI/MAC CE, one of the multiple SSB periodicity values to be used for the network energy saving. In an example, when there is a small number of wireless devices operating in the cell, or when the wireless device(s) in the cell do not require frequent downlink/uplink time/frequency synchronization with the base station (e.g., when the wireless device(s) is static not moving, or when the wireless device(s) are ambient internet of things (A-IoT) devices)), the base station may reduce SSB periodicity and indicate the reduced SSB periodicity [i.e., third information] by the DCI/MAC CE.); and
transmitting, to the terminal device since a first instant after receiving the third information, an SSB based on the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, wherein a time interval between the first instant and the third information is pre-agreed (Zhou: [0418] One or more example embodiments comprising transitioning/adapting/changing/updating, by a wireless device between a first SSB periodicity (for RLM/BFD) and a second SSB periodicity [i.e., third information] (for RLM/BFD) when the wireless device supports a DCI/MAC CE-based SSB periodicity adaptation and/or the wireless device receives the DCI/MAC CE indicating the SSB periodicity adaptation. When the wireless device transitions (on the same active BWP of the cell) between the first SSB periodicity and the second SSB periodicity, due to the SSB periodicity adaptation indicated by the DCI/MAC CE, for each SSB of RLM/BFD RSs, the wireless device uses an evaluation period determined [i.e., time interval] based on the second SSB periodicity [i.e., pre-agreed based on received periodicity (third information)] from the time of transition [i.e., since a first instant of receiving an SSB] ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cheng to include the features as taught by Zhou above in order to provide network energy saving. (Zhou, ¶ [0409]).
Regarding claim 21, Cheng teaches:
An apparatus, comprising (Cheng: [0106] FIG. 20 illustrates an example communication system 2000 having an example communication apparatus 2010 and an example network apparatus 2020 in accordance with an implementation of the present disclosure ... Fig. 20):
at least one processor; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising (Cheng: [0110] In some implementations, communication apparatus 2010 may also include a transceiver 2016 coupled to processor 2012 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, communication apparatus 2010 may further include a memory 2014 coupled to processor 2012 and capable of being accessed by processor 2012 and storing data therein … [0111] ... Processor 2012 may perform an SSB-based measurement …. Processor 2012 may perform an access procedure ... Fig. 20):
receiving first information from a network device, wherein the first information indicates a plurality of periodicity configurations for receiving synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks (SSBs) (Cheng: [0045] The UE in RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) may perform the intra-frequency measurements when the UE receives the measurement configurations via RRC messages from the network node. The measurement configurations may include SSB-based measurement timing configuration 1 (SMTC1) and SMTC2 … [0046] ... The SMTC1 may include periodicity, offset and duration. In order to detect the LP cell, the periodicity in SMTC1 may be set to 160 ms or a value larger than 20 ms … the periodicity in SMTC2 may be set to 20 ms or a value smaller than 20 ms. SMTC1 and SMTC2 may be included in a measurement configuration (e.g., measConfig) from the network node via the RRC message... Fig. 3).
Although Cheng teaches the UE receiving measurement configurations which may include SSB-based measurement timing configuration 1 (SMTC1) and SMTC2, that may include periodicity, Cheng does not explicitly teach:
receiving third information in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct adjustment of a periodicity for receiving an SSB; and
receiving, since a first instant after receiving the third information, an SSB based on the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, wherein a time interval between the first instant and the third information is pre-agreed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches:
receiving third information in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct adjustment of a periodicity for receiving an SSB (Zhou: [0409] In existing technologies, for network energy saving, a base station may dynamically update/change/adapt the SSB periodicity of the cell, e.g., by a DCI or a MAC CE, instead of RRC messages ... The base station may indicate, e.g., by the DCI/MAC CE, one of the multiple SSB periodicity values to be used for the network energy saving. In an example, when there is a small number of wireless devices operating in the cell, or when the wireless device(s) in the cell do not require frequent downlink/uplink time/frequency synchronization with the base station (e.g., when the wireless device(s) is static not moving, or when the wireless device(s) are ambient internet of things (A-IoT) devices)), the base station may reduce SSB periodicity and indicate the reduced SSB periodicity [i.e., third information] by the DCI/MAC CE.); and
receiving, since a first instant after receiving the third information, an SSB based on the periodicity obtained after the adjustment, wherein a time interval between the first instant and the third information is pre-agreed (Zhou: [0418] One or more example embodiments comprising transitioning/adapting/changing/updating, by a wireless device between a first SSB periodicity (for RLM/BFD) and a second SSB periodicity [i.e., third information] (for RLM/BFD) when the wireless device supports a DCI/MAC CE-based SSB periodicity adaptation and/or the wireless device receives the DCI/MAC CE indicating the SSB periodicity adaptation. When the wireless device transitions (on the same active BWP of the cell) between the first SSB periodicity and the second SSB periodicity, due to the SSB periodicity adaptation indicated by the DCI/MAC CE, for each SSB of RLM/BFD RSs, the wireless device uses an evaluation period determined [i.e., time interval] based on the second SSB periodicity [i.e., pre-agreed based on received periodicity (third information)] from the time of transition [i.e., since a first instant of receiving an SSB] ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cheng to include the features as taught by Zhou above in order to provide network energy saving. (Zhou, ¶ [0409]).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
wherein the first information is received during a cell configuration of the terminal device, and the cell configuration comprises one or more of the following:
cell access,
cell handover, or
adding a secondary cell (Cheng: [0061] The UE may receive access to the LP cell from the network node via RRC. The access may be a HO message via Reconfiguration WithSync, an SCell addition message via SCellConfig, or a DC addition message via RRCReconfiguration. For example, the UE may receive another or updated SMTC or MG for the LP cell. The SMTC or MG may be carried in the HO, SCell addition, or DC addition messages. The SMTC or MG may include periodicity, offset, and duration parameters. The periodicity of SMTC or MG may be set to 160 ms or a value greater than 20 ms.).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the plurality of periodicity configurations are associated with the terminal device, and wherein the first information is carried in:
radio resource control (RRC) signalling (Cheng: [0046] ... The UE may receive SMTC1 from the network node via RRC message ... In addition, the UE may receive SMTC2 from the network node via RRC message ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Cheng further teaches:
there is an integral multiple relationship between a periodicity for receiving an SSB and a periodicity for transmitting an SSB by the network device (Cheng: [0078] SSB can be configured with a periodicity of 160 ms. However, MIB is always transmitted on the broadcast channel (BCH) with a periodicity of 80 ms and the repetitions of MIB may be made within 80 ms. In addition, when the SSB period is 160 ms, the MIB only changes content every 160 ms due to the 4 least significant bit (LSB) system frame number (SFN) bits are outside the MIB payload.).
Claims 5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng-Zhou in view of Jung et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250141644, hereinafter, “Jung”).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, Cheng-Zhou discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Cheng-Zhou does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first information indicates a number of periodicities of continuous reception of SSBs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches:
wherein the first information indicates a number of periodicities of continuous reception of SSBs (Jung: [0079] Additionally, wireless communication at the UE includes any one or combination of: receiving an indication of a plurality of SSB transmission periodicity values, where each subset of SSBs within the burst of SSBs is configured with a SSB transmission periodicity value of the plurality of SSB transmission periodicity values, and where each of the one or more system information transmission repetition periodicity values corresponds to a respective SSB transmission periodicity value of the plurality of SSB transmission periodicity values; receiving the indication of the one or more system information transmission repetition periodicity values as an implicit indication based on the plurality of SSB transmission periodicity values ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cheng-Zhou to include the features as taught by Jung above in order to support adaptive communication of system information. (Jung, ¶ [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416