DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 7/1/2026 with respect to claims 1-17 in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the new limitations added to claims 1 and 9. See the rejection below of claims 1 and 9 for relevant citations found in Choi disclosing the newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2022/0240163), (hereinafter, Choi).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a method for a User Equipment (UE) (= a method for receiving system information from a base station by an electronic device, see [0132]), comprising:
the UE receives a configuration of On-Demand System Information Block 1 (OD-SIB1) for a cell (= SIBs other than SIB1 may be transmitted at the request/”on-demand scheme” of at least one electronic device in the corresponding cell, see [0108, 0115 and 0135]);
the UE starts monitoring Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for OD-SIB1 for the cell based on a timing that an indication is received when the UE receives the indication indicating system information status change of the cell and the UE acquires OD-SIB1 in response to reception of the indication (= system information may be transmitted in different schemes through different channels/PDCCH, see [0071, 0092 and 0105]; electronic device 400 may store the SIB1 message first received and, when the S1 configuration information is then changed/invalid SIB, determine that the demand for S1 has occurred, see [0135]; and device 400 which has transmitted the S1 request through message 3, may receive message 4 from the base station 401 and monitor corresponding S1 through the first arriving S1 window, see [0136 and 0089]); and
the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for OD-SIB1 for the cell based on a time window for monitoring a Random Access Response (RAR) when the UE acquires OD-SIB1 not in response to reception of the indication (= if it is identified that there is a SIB not periodically broadcasted by referring to the information included in the received SIB1 and that there is no RA resource corresponding to the S1, the device 400 may transmit message 1, in operation 940, the base station may transmit message 2, as an RAR, to device 400, see [0132, 0134 and 0089]).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Choi discloses the method, wherein the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for OD-SIB1 after the indication is received if the UE receives the indication indicating system information status change of the cell and the UE acquires OD-SIB1 in response to reception of the indication (see, [0135]).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Choi discloses the method, wherein the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for OD-SIB1 after a starting slot of time window for monitoring the RAR if the UE acquires OD-SIB1 not in response to reception of the indication (see, [0132, 0134 and 0089]).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 1, Choi discloses the method, wherein the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for OD-SIB1 after a time offset from a starting slot of time window for monitoring the RAR if the UE acquires OD-SIB1 not in response to reception of the indication (see, [0132, 0134 and 0089]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Choi discloses the method, wherein the RAR is received in response to transmission of OD-SIB1 request (see, [0132, 0134 and 0089]).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 1, Choi discloses the method, wherein the UE does not initiate a random access procedure for requesting OD-SIB1 if the UE acquires OD-SIB1 in response to the reception of the indication (see, [0128, 0130 and 0135]).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 1, Choi discloses the method, wherein the UE initiates a random access procedure for requesting OD-SIB1 if the UE acquires OD-SIB1 not in response to reception of the indication (see, [0128 and 0130]).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 1, Choi discloses the method, wherein system information status change is one or more of system information change or public warning system (PWS) notification (see, [0078; 0128 and 0130]).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses a method for a base station(= a method for receiving system information from a base station by an electronic device, see [0132]), comprising:
the base station starts transmitting Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for On-Demand System Information Block 1 (OD-SIB1) for a cell based on a timing that an indication is transmitted when the base station transmits the indication indicating system information status change of the cell(= system information may be transmitted in different schemes through different channels/PDCCH, see [0071, 0089 and 0105]; electronic device 400 may store the SIB1 message first received and, when the S1 configuration information is then changed/invalid SIB, determine that the demand for S1 has occurred, see [0135]; and device 400 which has transmitted the S1 request through message 3, may receive message 4 from the base station 401 and monitor corresponding S1 through the first arriving S1 window, see [0136 and 0089]); and
the base station starts transmitting PDCCH for OD-SIB1 for the cell based on a time window for a Random Access Response (RAR) when the base station receives OD-SIB1 request (= device 400 which has transmitted the S1 request through message 3, may receive message 4 from the base station 401 and monitor corresponding S1 through the first arriving S1 window, see [0136 and 0089]; and if it is identified that there is a SIB not periodically broadcasted by referring to the information included in the received SIB1 and that there is no RA resource corresponding to the S1, the device 400 may transmit message 1, in operation 940, the base station may transmit message 2, as an RAR, to device 400, see [0132, 0134 and 0089]).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station, wherein the cell is configured with OD-SIB1 (see, [0108 and 0135]).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station wherein the base station starts transmitting PDCCH for OD-SIB1 after the indication is transmitted if the base station transmits the indication indicating system information status change of the cell (see, [0071, 0089 and 0135]).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station wherein the base station starts transmitting PDCCH for OD-SIB1 after a starting slot of time window for the RAR if the base station receives OD-SIB1 request (see, [0071 and 0129]).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station wherein the base station starts transmitting PDCCH for OD-SIB1 after a time offset from a starting slot of time window for the RAR if the base station receives OD-SIB1 request (see, [0071; 0123 and 0131]).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station wherein the RAR is in response to reception of OD-SIB1 request (see, [0071; 0123 and 0131]).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station wherein OD-SIB1 is transmitted without OD-SIB1 request from a UE if the base station transmits the indication indicating system information status change of the cell (see, [0135]).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station wherein OD-SIB1 is transmitted in response to OD-SIB1 request from a UE if the base station does not transmit the indication indicating system information status change of the cell (see, [0135]).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned in claim 9, Choi discloses the base station wherein system information status change is one or more of system information change or public warning system (PWS) notification (see, [0078; 0128 and 0130]) (see, [0135]).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.