DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are examined.
Claim 18 is cancelled.
Claim 21 is newly added.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous claim objections, drawing objections, specification objections, and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections; therefore, the objections and rejections are withdrawn.
The amendments to the claims do not overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections; therefore, the rejections are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 11-15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gunther (WO 2025/218590 A1, priority filing to CN Application 202410144504.6, Publication CN 118596553 A, used for citation, an English machine translation was previously provided).
Regarding claim 1, Gunther discloses three-dimensional printing apparatus (¶ [0006] – a 3D printer), comprising:
a load-carrying member (¶ [0068] – nozzle body 2) having a first limiting portion (¶ [0086] – first positioning hole 241, second positioning hole 242); and
a storage device (¶ [0086] – base 5) configured to store the load-carrying member (¶ [0086] – multiple nozzle bodies 2 suspended on 5 via second positioning structure 51) and comprising a fixed base (¶ [0086] – a plurality of nozzle fixing positions 51 on base 5 provided with a second positioning structure) and a mounting member (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure comprising first positioning pin 511, second positioning pin 512);
wherein the mounting member is movably disposed on the fixed base (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; when the positioning pin 511, 512 is inserted into the positioning holes 241, 242, the positioning pins would slightly shift or move so as to position the nozzle body and base) and has a second limiting portion (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure includes first positioning pin 511, second positioning pin 512) configured to engage with the first limiting portion (¶ [0086] – first positioning hole 241 is engaged with first positioning pin 511; second positioning hole 242 is engaged with the second positioning pin 512); and
the mounting member is configured to, when an interference occurs between the first limiting portion 241, 242 and the second limiting portion 511, 512 (¶ [0086] –241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the hole and pin are engaged, an interference would occur if they are misaligned), move relative to the fixed base following movement of the first limiting portion, from a first position to a second position, to adjust a position of the second limiting portion (¶ [0086] –241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; when the positioning pin 511, 512 is inserted into the positioning holes 241, 242, the positioning pins would slightly shift or move at an angle relative to base 5 so as to position the nozzle body and base), so as to align and then engage the position-adjusted second limiting portion with the first limiting portion (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage).
Regarding claim 3, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second limiting portion 511, 512 is configured to engage with the first limiting portion 241, 242 in a nested manner (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512) along a preset direction (annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset direction); and the mounting member is configured to, when the interference occurs between the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion, undergo a positional change relative to the fixed base along a preset plane following movement of the first limiting portion along the preset plane (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged and when they abut to each other so that “an interference” occurs, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage); and the preset direction is perpendicular to the preset plane (annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset plane).
Gunther FIG. 13-14
Regarding claim 7, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 3, wherein the fixed base has a first restricting portion (¶ [0086] – first positioning pin 511, second positioning pin 512) configured to restrict a range of movement of the mounting member (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure) relative to the fixed base (¶ [0086] – on base 5) along the preset plane(¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage with the pin “restricting” movement of the nozzle body with its hole; annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset plane).
Regarding claim 11, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 3, wherein the storage device further comprises a second restricting portion (¶ [0086] – second positioning pin 512) connecting the fixed base (¶ [0086] – on base 5) and the mounting member (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure) to prevent the mounting member from detaching from the fixed base along the preset direction (¶ [0086] – 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the hole would prevent the pin from detaching from the base along the preset direction; annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset direction).
Regarding claim 12, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the fixed base has a first restricting portion (¶ [0086] – first positioning pin 511) configured to restrict a range of movement of the mounting member (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure) relative to the fixed base along the preset plane (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage with the pin “restricting” movement of the nozzle body with its hole; annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset plane).
Regarding claim 13, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 12, wherein the load-carrying member has a first mounting portion (¶ [0094] – second magnet 243 of the nozzle body 2), the mounting member has a second mounting portion magnetically attracted (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure includes first magnet 513) to the first mounting portion, and the load-carrying member is fixed to the mounting member through magnetic attraction (¶ [0086, 0094] – first magnet 513 is attracted to the second magnet 243) between the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion (¶ [0086] – fixing the nozzle body 2 to the base 5).
Regarding claim 14, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 3, wherein at least one of the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion has a guiding surface at an end (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure comprising first positioning pin 511, a second positioning pin 512; nozzle body provided with a first positioning hole 241 a second positioning hole 242,; FIG. 9 and 14 depicts 511, 512, 241, and 242 with guiding surfaces, where an end of the pin would be the tip and an end of the hole would be the deepest part of the hole) along the preset direction (FIG. 9 and 14 depict the preset direction), the guiding surface intersects with the preset direction (the depicted “end” is perpendicular and intersects with the preset direction), and the guiding surface is capable of assisting in changing a position of the second limiting portion along the preset plane when the interference occurs between the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “change position” and “align” to engage with the pin).
Annotated Gunther FIG. 9 and 14
Annotated Gunther FIG. 9 and 13
Regarding claim 15, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the load-carrying member is provided in a plurality (¶ [0086] – multiple replaceable nozzle bodies 2), the mounting member extends along a first direction (FIG. 13-14 depicts the second positioning structure extends along a first direction), the second limiting portion is provided in a plurality (FIG. 13-14 depict multiple second positioning structures where the nozzles are suspended, therefore there are multiple sets of positioning pins 512, 511), the plurality of second limiting portions are arranged at intervals along the first direction (FIG. 13-14 depict the nozzles are arranged at intervals along the first direction, therefore, the sets of positioning pins are arranged at intervals), and the plurality of second limiting portions correspond one-to-one and engage with the first limiting portions of the plurality of load-carrying members (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512); and each of the first limiting portions comprises a plurality of first limiting sub-portions (¶ [0086] – nozzle body 2 is provided with a corresponding first positioning hole 241, a second positioning hole 242; 241, 242 are sub-portions and the combination compose the limiting portion), each of the second limiting portions comprises a plurality of second limiting sub-portions (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure includes a first positioning pin 511, a second positioning pin 512; 511 and 512 are sub-portions and the combination compose the limiting portion), the plurality of first limiting sub-portions are configured to correspond one-to-one and engage with the plurality of second limiting sub-portions (¶ [0086] – nozzle body 2 is provided with a corresponding first positioning hole 241, a second positioning hole 242; 241, 242 are sub-portions and the combination compose the limiting portion), and at least two of the plurality of second limiting sub-portions are arranged at intervals along the first direction (FIG. 13-14 depict the nozzles are arranged at intervals along the first direction, therefore, the sets of positioning pins are arranged at intervals).
Annotated Gunther FIG. 13-14
Regarding claim 17, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 15, wherein a side of the load-carrying member (¶ [0086] – front cover 24) facing the mounting member is provided with a mounting surface (24 has a surface), the first mounting portion and the plurality of first limiting sub-portions are all fixed on the mounting surface (¶ [0086], FIG. 9 – first positioning hole 241, a second positioning hole 242 disposed on the inner side of the front cover 24), and the first mounting portion is fixed at a center of the mounting surface (as depicted in FIG. 9, the middle between 241 and 242 is at the center of 24), with the plurality of first limiting sub-portions arranged around a periphery of the first mounting portion (as depicted in FIG. 9, 241 and 242 are arranged around a periphery).
Annotated Gunther FIG. 9
Regarding claim 19, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the load-carrying member comprises a tool head (¶ [0068] – nozzle body 2, ¶ [0073] – nozzle 231) of the three-dimensional printing apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, 8-10, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunther (WO 2025/218590 A1, priority filing to CN Application 202410144504.6, Publication CN 188596553 A), as applied to claim 1 and 7.
Regarding claim 2, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 1. Gunther further discloses 241 is engaged with 511 and 242 is engaged with 512 (¶ [0086]). As the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage.
Gunter does not explicitly disclose wherein a range of movement of the mounting member relative to the fixed base is not less than 0.1 mm: and/or is not greater than 20 mm. However, depending on the size and proportion of the nozzle body, base, positioning holes, and positioning pins, the positioning of the positioning holes 241, 242 to the positioning pins 511, 512 shift and align in different proportional distances to engage to each other. Furthermore, it has been held that limitations relating to the size were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art and a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 4, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second limiting portion 511, 512 is configured to engage with the first limiting portion 241, 242 in a nested manner (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512) along a preset direction (annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset direction); and the mounting member is configured to, when the interference occurs between the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion, undergo a positional change relative to the fixed base along a preset plane following movement of the first limiting portion along the preset direction (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged and when they abut to each other so that “an interference” occurs, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage); and the preset direction is perpendicular to the preset plane (annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset plane).
Regarding claim 5-6, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 3 and 4, wherein a range of movement of the mounting member relative to the fixed base along the preset direction is not greater than 1 mm.
Gunther further discloses 241 is engaged with 511 and 242 is engaged with 512 (¶ [0086]). As the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage.
Gunter does not explicitly disclose wherein a range of movement of the mounting member relative to the fixed base is not greater than 0.1 mm. However, depending on the size and proportion of the nozzle body, base, positioning holes, and positioning pins, the positioning of the positioning holes 241, 242 to the positioning pins 511, 512 shift and align in different proportional distances to engage to each other. Furthermore, it has been held that limitations relating to the size were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art and a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 8, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 4, wherein the fixed base has a first restricting portion (¶ [0086] – first positioning pin 511, second positioning pin 512) configured to restrict a range of movement of the mounting member (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure) relative to the fixed base (¶ [0086] – on base 5) along the preset plane (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move relative” and “align” to engage with the pin “restricting” movement of the nozzle body with its hole; annotated FIG. 13-14 depict a preset plane).
Regarding claim 9-10, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first restricting portion has a first restricting edge (annotated FIG. 14 depict a first restricting edge of 511, 512), and the mounting member has a second restricting edge (annotated FIG. 14 depict a second restricting edge of 241, 242), the first restricting edge being capable of abutting against the second restricting edge to restrict the range of movement of the mounting member relative to the fixed base along the preset plane (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; therefore, the first restricting edge and second restricting edge would abut to restrict range of movement along the preset plane as depicted in FIG. 13-14 above);
Annotated Gunther FIG. 9 and 14
a first direction and a second direction are perpendicular to each other, and both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the preset plane (annotated FIG. 13-14 depict first and second directions perpendicular to each other and parallel to the preset plane), and
Annotated Gunther FIG. 13 and 14
claim 9 - when the mounting member moves relative to the fixed base, along the first direction, a distance variation between the first restricting edge and the second restricting edge located on the same side (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move” along the first direction a “distance variation” and “align” to engage); and/or, when the mounting member moves relative to the fixed base, along the second direction, a distance variation between the first restricting edge and the second restricting edge located (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would “move” along the second direction a “distance variation” and “align” to engage).
claim 10 - a spacing between the first restricting edge and the second restricting edge located on the same side along the first direction (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would have “spacing” along the first direction); and/or, a spacing between the first restricting edge and the second restricting edge located on the same side along the second direction (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512; as the pin and hole are engaged, the pin and hole would have “spacing” along the second direction)
Gunther does not disclose a distance variation does not exceed 10 mm or that the spacing is not greater than 10 mm or not less than 0.1 mm. However, depending on the size and proportion of the nozzle body, base, positioning holes, and positioning pins, the positioning of the positioning holes 241, 242 to the positioning pins 511, 512 shift and align in different proportional distances and spacing to engage to each other. Furthermore, it has been held that limitations relating to the size were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art and a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 16, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 2, wherein when the load-carrying member is provided in a plurality (¶ [0086] – multiple replaceable nozzle bodies 2), the mounting member extends along a first direction (FIG. 13-14 depicts the second positioning structure extends along a first direction), the second limiting portion is provided in a plurality (FIG. 13-14 depict multiple second positioning structures where the nozzles are suspended, therefore there are multiple sets of positioning pins 512, 511), the plurality of second limiting portions are arranged at intervals along the first direction (FIG. 13-14 depict the nozzles are arranged at intervals along the first direction, therefore, the sets of positioning pins are arranged at intervals), and the plurality of second limiting portions correspond one-to-one and engage with the first limiting portions of the plurality of load-carrying members (¶ [0086] – 241 is engaged with 511; 242 is engaged with 512); and each of the first limiting portions comprises a plurality of first limiting sub-portions (¶ [0086] – nozzle body 2 is provided with a corresponding first positioning hole 241, a second positioning hole 242; 241, 242 are sub-portions and the combination compose the limiting portion), each of the second limiting portions comprises a plurality of second limiting sub-portions (¶ [0086] – second positioning structure includes a first positioning pin 511, a second positioning pin 512; 511 and 512 are sub-portions and the combination compose the limiting portion), the plurality of first limiting sub-portions are configured to correspond one-to-one and engage with the plurality of second limiting sub-portions (¶ [0086] – nozzle body 2 is provided with a corresponding first positioning hole 241, a second positioning hole 242; 241, 242 are sub-portions and the combination compose the limiting portion), and at least two of the plurality of second limiting sub-portions are arranged at intervals along the first direction (FIG. 13-14 depict the nozzles are arranged at intervals along the first direction, therefore, the sets of positioning pins are arranged at intervals).
Annotated Gunther FIG. 13-14
Regarding claim 20, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the load-carrying member comprises a tool head (¶ [0068] – nozzle body 2, ¶ [0073] – nozzle 231) of the three-dimensional printing apparatus.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunther (WO 2025/218590 A1, priority filing to CN Application 202410144504.6, Publication CN 118596553 A), as applied to claim 1, in view of Drury (US 2008/0094447 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Gunther discloses the three-dimensional printing apparatus of claim 1. Gunther does not disclose wherein the fixed base has a first restricting portion, and the first restricting portion is a mounting groove disposed on the fixed base; and the mounting member is movably located in the mounting groove.
Analogous art Drury discloses printheads formed of a number of modules mounted on a chassis (Abstract).
Drury further discloses wherein the fixed base (¶ [0085] – alignment feature 10) has a first restricting portion (¶ [0085] – alignment features 10a, 10b; FIG. 1b depicts 10a and 10b forming a first restricting portion/groove), and the first restricting portion is a mounting groove disposed on the fixed base (FIG. 1b depicts 10a and 10b forming a groove on 10); and the mounting member (FIG. 1b depicts 10a and 10b forming mounting member) is movably located in the mounting groove (¶ [0095] – alignment features on the module and chassis form interference couplings, the elasticity of the alignment features enables them to be compressed, or expanded, by the complementary alignment features; as the alignment features are elastic, they would move).
Annotated Drury FIG. 1b
Gunther and Drury disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function regarding alignment of printheads/nozzles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the elastic alignment features in Drury to the positioning pins in Gunther to enable high repeatability of nozzle position (¶ [0091]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Gunther does not disclose the mounting member is movable relative to the fixed base to a second position, to adjust a position of the second limiting portion and the positioning pin are incapable of moving relative to the base.
Examiner respectively disagrees.
The claims are read under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim requires any part of the “second limiting portion” (identified as the positioning pin in Gunther) to move in relation to the base.
When the positioning holes and the positioning pins are engaged (¶ [0086]), one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood that if interference occurs when the positioning holes and pins are misaligned, the positioning pins would slightly shift or move at an angle to base so as to position the nozzle body and base. Therefore, as positioning pins would slightly shift or move at an angle, they move relative to the base as claimed.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 106426931 A discloses a filament changing device for 3D printers comprising a hanging plate and hook
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754