DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/21/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 7/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 7/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to the restriction between Inventions I and II have been fully considered and are persuasive. The restriction of Inventions I and II has been withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in Israel on 07/05/2023 and 09/14/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 304279 and 305966 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the chamber of claims 1 and 11; the two sheets and the space between of claim 2; a thermally insulating structure of claim 3; ventilation holes of claim 4; one or more disposable chambers of claim 5; a pod or container of claim 8; and a common pod of claim 9; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “wherein the structure comprising one or more chambers provided with one or more metallic members” makes it appear as if the structure comprising one or more chambers has already been introduced in the claim. Though the structure has been introduced in the claim the structure comprising one or more chambers has not been introduced. It is suggested that the claim is amended to recite -- wherein the structure is comprising one or more chambers provided with one or more metallic members--.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a long axis of the chambers" in lines 7-8. For clarity, it should be amended to recite –a long axis of the one or more chambers--.
Claim 7 recites, “The structure according to claim 1, provided with a precursor of a curable resin configured to form the foam material upon demand”. For clarity it should recite -- The structure according to claim 1, wherein the structure is provided with a precursor of a curable resin configured to form the foam material upon demand.--
Claim 12 recites, “The structure according to claim 11, provided in a kit of elements, wherein the kit comprises the folded structure, including the one or more chambers and the one or more metallic members, and means for inflating the structure with the foam material.” For clarity it should recite –The structure according to claim 11, wherein the structure is provided in a kit of elements…--.
Claim 16 recites, “The structure according to claim 11, being a support or a load bearing structure having a folded non-inflated state and an unfolded inflated state, wherein the structure comprises the one or more chambers provided with the one or more metallic members, such that in the folded non-inflated state both the one or more chambers and the one or more metallic members are folded; and wherein the folded non-inflated state is transformable into the unfolded inflated state by unfolding and causing the one or more metallic members to extend along an axis of the chambers and causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate with the foam material”. For clarity it should recite --The structure according to claim 11, the structure being a support or a load bearing structure…--.
Claim 16 recites, “to extend along an axis of the chambers” at line 7. For clarity, it should recite –to extend along an axis of the one or more chambers--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the space”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination it will be interpreted as –a space--.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the structure is configured to receive and hold one or more disposable chambers of an impervious material, said chambers being configured to comprise the foam material”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination it will be interpreted as –wherein structure is configured to receive and hold one or more disposable chambers of an impervious material, said one or more disposable chambers being configured to comprise the foam material--.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein in the unfolded inflated state”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination it will be interpreted as --wherein in an unfolded inflated state--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galloway (US 2019/0015233) in view of Anders (US 2005/0033207).
Regarding claim 1, Galloway discloses an orthopedic structure (82’, 82’’) (Fig. 94, Fig. 95) for supporting a limb in a subject ([0141]; supports leg/knee; capable of intended use), the structure having a folded non-inflated state (Fig. 94 is a non inflated state; [0108], a bladder 36 disposed between two fabric layers creates an actuator; [0108], the plastic coating 66 forms the bladder 36 and the plastic coating 66 unfolds with the fabric 42/44 thus it is implied that the plastic coating of the bladder and the fabric have folded and unfolded states; [0010], when pressurized, the actuators described herein can stiffen and take a preformed shape, which can advantageous for some bracing application; [0105], the material layer 32 has folds or pleats 34; [0105], A notable feature of a material layer 32 composed of pleats 34 is that length extension occurs through unfolding, and unfolding can require very low forces; [0107], in all configurations of the fabric-based actuator 10, the material layers 42 and 44 are stressed more than the bladder 36. When the bladder 36 is pressurized, the material layers 42 and 44 experience tension both longitudinally and circumferentially. NOTE: when the bladder is pressurized the material layers experience tension longitudinally and circumferentially thus it is implied that unfolding occurs with the material layer 42 during pressurization and it is implied that the bladder is unfolded during pressurization as it maintains gas impermeability as it unfolds implying that it unfolds as it is pressurized/inflated) and an unfolded inflated state (Fig. 95 is an inflated state; [0010]; [0105]; [0107]; [0108], NOTE: the bladder is integrated with the fabric and can stretch and unfold with the fabric and the stretching and unfolding occurs with bladder pressurization - see description above regarding unfolding occurring with pressurization) in a form of an orthopedic brace (82’, 82’’) (Fig. 94, Fig. 95), wherein the structure comprising one or more chambers (36, 66) ([0108], bladder of plastic coating 66 is a chamber) provided with one or more members (NOTE: silver plate or coat together with the fabric is a member; ([0108], coating 66 forms part of the bladder and plastic layer 66 is laminated to the inside surfaces of 42 and 44 to create an actuator; NOTE: fabric 42 is connected to the bladder; [0135], fabric 42 is plated or coated with silver and silver plate or coat is a member; NOTE: as the fabric and the bladder are connected and the fabric includes one or more metallic members so too does the bladder include one or more members via its connection to the fabric with the metallic member), such that in the folded non-inflated state both the one or more chambers and the one or more members are folded ([0108], In this approach, the plastic layer 66, which can be a thermoplastic elastomer, thermoplastic urethane, silicone, or polyurethane, can stretch and/or unfold with the fabric 42/44 while still maintaining gas impermeability or low-gas permeability; NOTE: as the plastic member [which forms the bladder] and the fabric which includes the metallic member can unfold, it is implied that they have a folded state; [0107], in all configurations of the fabric-based actuator 10, the material layers 42 and 44 are stressed more than the bladder 36. When the bladder 36 is pressurized, the material layers 42 and 44 experience tension both longitudinally and circumferentially. Bending motion corresponds to a longitudinal stretching of the first fabric layer 42 while the second material layer 44 does not undergo any transformation. Therefore, an actuator 10 that includes a first fabric layer 42 that preferentially stretches in the longitudinal direction and a second material layer 44 that is inextensible will be kinematically consistent with the motion of a bending actuator 10; NOTE: when the bladder is pressurized the material layers experience tension longitudinally and circumferentially thus it is implied that unfolding occurs with the material layer 42 which includes the member [as thus it is unfolded with the fabric] during pressurization and it is implied that the bladder is unfolded during pressurization as it maintains gas impermeability as it unfolds implying that it is pressurized/inflated as it unfolds); the folded non-inflated state is transformable into the unfolded inflated state ([0108]) by unfolding ([0108]) and causing the one or more members to snap and extend along a long axis of the chambers (Applicant’s specification at [0012], indicates, When the structure is unfolded, the flexible metal member snaps into a predetermined or predefined shape, position or orientation, and Applicant’s specification at [0041], indicate that “to snap into position” means causing the one or more metallic members to extend a long an axis of the one or more chamber; [0005]; NOTE: here, the member [fabric plus silver coat or plate] is caused to unfold via pressurization, thus extend along a long axis of the chamber thus achieving a predetermined or predefined shape, position or orientation and thus the one or more members “snap”) and causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate ([0108]; [0107], The primary function of the bladder 36 in this and other embodiments is to hold pressurized fluid [e.g., air or another gas or liquid]; NOTE: the bladder [chamber] is caused to hold pressurized fluid and unfold and thus is caused to inflate).
Galloway does not disclose causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate with a foam material.
Anders teaches an analogous orthopedic structure (2100) (Fig. 21) for supporting a limb of a subject (Fig. 21) and an analogous chamber (bag, [0070]) and causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate (Fig. 6, 612 is a filling bag with foam step/inflating; [0070]) with a foam material ([0070]; Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the orthopedic structure of Galloway that includes causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate further includes causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate with a foam material as taught by Anders in order to provide an improved orthopedic structure that facilitates the production of foam which rapidly sets and solidifies and that facilitates immobilizing portions of the body (Anders, [0046]; [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Galloway further discloses formed of at least two sheets (42, 44) of a fabric material ([0108]), the space between the at least two sheets forming the one or more chambers (36) ([0108], plastic coating on each of the fabric layers forms the chamber/bladder in between).
Regarding claim 3, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Galloway further discloses a thermally insulating structure (Applicant’s specification at [0101] indicates fabric [a part of the member] is a thermally insulating structure; Galloway discloses 44 is a fabric [0108] thus it is a thermally insulating structure) arranged between the one or more chambers and an interior portion of the structure that is configured to be adjacent to the limb (Fig. 95 shows an opening in the structure that is arranged adjacent to the knee/limb and the fabric 44 or 42 is between that opening and the chamber).
Regarding claim 4, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Anders further teaches comprising ventilation holes ([0037], vented or perforated portions), the ventilation holes configured to convey heat from a curing of the foam material ([0060], chemical processing; capable of intended use) to ambient atmosphere ([0037]; For example, bags 104 include one or more perforated or vented portions (not shown), in an embodiment, which enable gaseous by-products to be vented from the bags 104 during formation of the foam).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the orthopedic structure for supporting a limb of Galloway in view of Anders is further comprising ventilation holes, the ventilation holes configured to convey heat from a curing of the foam material to ambient atmosphere, as taught by Anders, in order to provide an improved orthopedic device that facilitates venting of gaseous by-products from the chamber during formation of foam (Anders, [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Anders further teaches wherein the structure is configured to receive and hold one or more disposable chambers ([0078], foam precursor package positioned in bag/chamber as the foam packages are insertable they are capable of being disposable) of an impervious material ([0078], package holds foam precursors thus impervious material to foam precursors until foam released), said chambers being configured to comprise the foam material (Anders, [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the orthopedic structure for supporting a limb in a subject, is configured to received and hold one or more disposable chambers of an impervious, material, said chambers being configured to comprise the foam material, as taught by Anders, in order to provide an improved orthopedic structure that facilitates combining foam precursors to fill the chamber with foam (Anders, [0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Anders further teaches the analogous orthopedic structure (2100) (Fig. 21)for supporting a limb of a subject (Fig. 21) is provided with a precursor of a curable resin ([0048]) polyurethane foam resin; per Applicant’s specification, [0067], polyurethane is a curable resin) configured to form the foam material upon demand ([0020]; capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 8, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 7.
Anders further teaches wherein the precursor is formed in a pod or container (106) ([0040], reactant container).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the precursor of the orthopedic structure of Galloway in view of Anders is formed in a pod or container, as taught by Anders, in order to substantially retain the foam in the structure (Anders, [0037]) and that facilitates combining foam precursors to fill the chamber with foam (Anders, [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 7.
Anders further teaches wherein the precursor is a pair or plurality of different materials ([0070], foam precursors; [0048], the precursors of polyurethane foam are a member of the isocyanate family including a polymeric MDI and a polyol; NOTE: the precursors are a plurality of different materials) which in combination react to form the foam ([0047], [0048]; [0070]), and wherein the different materials are separately contained within a common pod (400) ([0070], package with separator mechanism is a common pod) configured to be ruptured or cause to break ([0070], separation mechanism of package selectively breaks), to permit contact between the different materials and form the foam material ([0070], allowing precursors to combine and react, capable of intended use).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide to the orthopedic structure of Galloway in view of Anders that the precursor is a pair or plurality of different materials which in combination react to form the foam, and wherein the different materials are separately contained within a common pod configured to be ruptured or cause to break, to permit contact between the different materials and form the foam material, as taught by Anders, in order to provide an improved orthopedic device that allows a user to selectively break or deflect the separation mechanism of a common pod (Anders, [0071], [0072]).
Regarding claim 10, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 7.
Anders further teaches wherein the different materials comprise at least one isocyanate prepolymer and at least one polyol ([0070], foam precursors; [0048], the precursors of polyurethane foam are a member of the isocyanate family including a polymeric MDI and a polyol; NOTE: MDI is an isocyanate prepolymer [per Applicant’s specification [0068]] and the polyol is also taught to be a precursor).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galloway (US 2019/0015233) in view of Anders (US 2005/0033207) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farokhnia (US 2022/0387675).
Regarding claim 6, Galloway in view of Anders discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
The combination further discloses wherein the member is formed of metal ([0135], silver, conductive fabrics) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more members is/are formed of a metal or a metal alloy selected from aluminum; alloys of copper; zinc and aluminum alloys (Cu-Zn-Al alloys); copper, aluminum and nickel alloys (Cu-Al-Ni alloys); iron, manganese, silicon alloys (Fe-Mn-Si alloys); stainless steel, or brass.
Farokhnia teaches stretchable electronics (SRSA, soft robotic sensor array, [0103], [0111]) with analogous one or more metal members, wherein the one or more metal members are selected from copper ([0111],sensor traces that are copper traces).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the one or more metallic members of the orthopedic structure of Galloway in view of Anders are formed of a metal that is copper, as taught by Farokhnia, in order to provide an orthopedic structure that facilitates reducing peak temperatures (Farokhnia, [0106]).
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders (US 2005/0033207).
Regarding claim 11, Anders in an embodiment of Fig. 7, discloses a folded compact inflatable structure (700) ([0061], immobilizing device in a folded position having a foam precursor package; [0069]; Fig. 6, [0084]; foam precursor package inflates the bag) comprising a structure having one or more chambers ([0060], flexible bags) containing one or more members ([0061], reactant container), wherein the one or more chambers and the one or more members are configured to unfold ([0064], user unfolds the device) into an inflatable structure capable of being transformed by a foam material into a support or load bearing structure of a predefined shape and size ([0059] to [0063], Fig. 6, step 612, bag fills with foam; [0045], during the reaction the foam fills the interior cavity of the flexible bags which inflatable structure 700 includes and is thus capable of being transformed by a foam material into a support or a load bearing structure as an immobilizing device is a support).
Though it is implied that the folded compact inflatable structure of an embodiment of Fig. 7 of Anders is capable of being transformed by a foam material into a support or load bearing structure of a predefined shape and size it is not explicitly indicated in this embodiment.
Anders teaches in an embodiment of Fig. 21 an analogous compact inflatable structure (2100) ([0084]) comprising an analogous structure having one or more chambers (2104) containing one or more members ([0083], [0084]) wherein the one or more chambers and the one or more members are capable of being transformed by a foam material into a support or load bearing structure of a predefined shape and size ([0083]; [0084], immobilization of any body part including arm thus it is a support of a predefined shape and size as seen in Fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the folded compact inflatable structure of Anders in an embodiment of Fig. 7 that is capable of being transformed by a foam material is capable of being transformed by a foam material into a support of load bearing structure of a predefined shape and size, as taught by Anders in an embodiment of Fig. 21, in order to provide an improved folded compact inflatable structure that provides immobilization of an arm (Anders, [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, Anders as combined discloses the invention as described above.
Anders as combined further discloses provided in a kit of elements (NOTE: Anders discloses all the claimed elements together thus it is considered to be a kit), wherein the kit comprises the folded structure (Fig. 7), including the one or more chambers ([0060], flexible bags) and the one or more members ([0061], reactant container)), and means for inflating the structure with the foam material ([0045], Abstract; capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 13, Anders as combined discloses the invention as described above.
The combination further discloses wherein in the unfolded inflated state ([0084], in an embodiment of Fig. 21, foam producing chemicals are combined thus inflating the object; [0059] to [0063], in the embodiment of Fig. 7 and method of Fig. 6, the structure is unfolded) the structure is a support structure designed to provide a mechanical support to an object ([0084], an arm is an object).
Regarding claim 14, Anders as combined discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 13.
The combination further discloses wherein in the unfolded inflated state ([0084], in an embodiment of Fig. 21, foam producing chemicals are combined thus inflating the object; [0059] to [0063], in the embodiment of Fig. 7 and method of Fig. 6, the structure is unfolded) the support structure is shaped as a pillar (Fig. 21, each of 2104 resembles a pillar and is thus pillar shaped), a frame (Fig. 21 for an arm), a structural skeleton, or a modular unit (Fig. 21, two units of 2104 are joined together).
Regarding claim 15, Anders as combined discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 13.
The combination further discloses wherein in the unfolded inflated state ([0084], in an embodiment of Fig. 21, foam producing chemicals are combined thus inflating the object; [0059] to [0063], in the embodiment of Fig. 7 and method of Fig. 6, the structure is unfolded) the support structure is an orthopedic member or brace (Fig. 21; [0084]).
Regarding claim 16, Anders as combined discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 11.
The combination further discloses being a support (embodiment of Fig. 21 is a support for an arm) or a load bearing structure ([0084], bears the load of an arm) having a folded non-inflated state (Fig. 7 structure is folded and non inflated) and an unfolded inflated state ([0084], in an embodiment of Fig. 21, foam producing chemicals are combined thus inflating the object; [0059] to [0063], in the embodiment of Fig. 7 and method of Fig. 6, the structure is unfolded), wherein the structure comprises the one or more chambers provided with the one or more members (see description of claim 11), such that in the folded non-inflated state both the one or more chambers and the one or more members are folded (Fig. 7, [0060] to [0061], the device includes the flexible bag [chamber] and the foam precursor package [member] and the bag and the foam precursor package are folded and non-inflated); and wherein the folded non-inflated state is transformable into the unfolded inflated state by unfolding ([0059] to [0063], in the embodiment of Fig. 7 and method of Fig. 6, the structure is unfolded) and causing the one or more metallic to extend along an axis of the chambers ([0059] to [0063], in the embodiment of Fig. 7 and method of Fig. 6, the structure is unfolded; NOTE: as the foam precursor package [member] is unfolded it would extend along an axis of the bag [chamber] as it is disposed within the bag) and causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate with the foam material ([0059 to [0061]; Fig. 6, step 612, fill bags with foam).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders (US 2005/0033207) in view of Chen (US 2021/0004054).
Regarding claim 19, Anders discloses a method of operating ([0059]) an inflatable structure (700) ([0061], immobilizing device in a folded position having a foam precursor package; [0069]; Fig. 6, [0084]; foam precursor package inflates the bag) having a folded non-inflated state (Fig. 7) and an unfolded inflated state ([0064], user unfolds the device and per Fig. 6, 612 a step of fill bags with foam is disclosed thus inflating with foam is disclosed), and comprising one or more chambers provided with one or more members ([0042], valve), the method comprising unfolding the structure in the folded non-inflated state (Fig, 7, [0064]); and causing an interior of the one or more chambers to inflate with a foam material to transform into a support structure or a load bearing structure ([0064], Fig. 6, step 612 is fill bags with foam; capable of intended use).
Anders does not disclose unfolding the structure causing the one or more members to snap and extend along an axis of the unfolded chambers.
Chen teaches an analogous method of operating an inflatable structure ([0021]) comprising one or more chambers (14a, 14b) provided with one or members (15a, 131), the method comprising unfolding the structure causing the one or more members to snap and extend along an axis of the unfolded chambers (Applicant’s specification at [0012], indicates When the structure is unfolded, the flexible metal member snaps into a predetermined or predefined shape, position or orientation, and Applicant’s specification at [0041], indicate that “to snap into position” means causing the one or more metallic members to extend a long an axis of the one or more chamber; [0005], When the flexible display screen is in a completely unfolded state, the switching valve is opened in such a manner that the inflating device inflates each of the plurality of supporting airbags [0021], when the device is in a completely unfolded state the switching valve and the airbag valve are in the opened state; NOTE: here, the one or more member [one or more valves] are in or connected to a chamber and are caused to open/rapidly assume a predetermined shape, position or orientation of being opened allowing flow and the valve extends along an axis of the unfolded chambers thus the unfolding causes the valve/member to snap).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that in the method of operating an inflatable structure of Anders unfolding the structure in the folded non-inflated state is causing the one or more members to snap and extend along an axis of the unfolded chambers, as taught by Chen, in order to provide an improve method that facilitates operating more than one chamber (Chen, [0021]).
Regarding claim 20, Anders in view of Chen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 19.
Anders further discloses wherein the structure is an orthopedic brace (2200) and the unfolding comprises positioning the unfolded non-inflated structure around a body part (Fig. 22) and allowing the structure to fill with the foam material to take shape around the body part ([0084]; [0071], the foam fills and inflates while causing the bags to contour around the back and/or sides of the body part; capable of intended use).
Conclusion
/G.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786