Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/2/26 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims filed 8/2/26 have been considered as follows.
35 USC 102/103 Rejections of the claims:
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein the first OPFE is the first optical path folding element encountered by light propagating from the object through the two or more lens elements toward the image sensor” should be “wherein no optical path folding element is on the object side of the first OPFE”.
Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of the examination of the above claim(s), the above suggested correction(s) will be used by the examiner to interpret the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,16-19,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KATSURAGI (US 20240134168).
Regarding claim 1, KATSURAGI teaches (Tables 10-12, Fig. 7) A camera module, comprising:
a lens with N lens elements Li 1≤ i ≤ N (L1w-L4) and having an effective focal length (EFL), an aperture having an aperture diameter (DA) and an f-number (f/#) = EFL/DA, wherein each lens element has a respective focal length (fi) and wherein a first lens element (Li) faces an object side and a last lens element (LN) faces an image side;
a first optical path folding element (OPFE) (331) for folding a first optical path (OP 1) (OA1) to a second optical path (OP2) (as seen in Fig. 7); and
an image sensor (23) having a full sensor diagonal (SD),
wherein the camera module is a folded digital camera module, wherein two or more lens elements are located at an object side of the first OPFE, wherein the EFL is in a range of 8mm<EFL<50mm (fw=15), wherein the camera module has a minimum camera module length MLM measured along an axis perpendicular to OP1, wherein MLM (the diameter of L3, perpendicular to the diagram in Fig. 7) accounts for optically operative regions of components included in the camera module, wherein EFL > 1.1 MLM, (15>1.1x~6.7) wherein f/#< 3.25 (2.74), and wherein the first OPFE is the first optical path folding element encountered by light propagating from the object through the two or more lens elements toward the image sensor
Regarding claim 2, KATSURAGI further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein f/# < 3 (2.74).
Regarding claim 3, KATSURAGI further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein f/# < 2.9 (2.74).
Regarding claim 4, KATSURAGI further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein f/# < 2.8 (2.74).
Regarding claim 5, KATSURAGI further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein EFL > 1.2MLM (15>1.2x~6.7).
Regarding claim 6, KATSURAGI further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein EFL > 1.3MLM (15>1.3x~6.7).
Regarding claim 16, KATSURAGI further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein 0.3 < SD/EFL < 0.7 (4.7/15).
Regarding claim 17, KATSURAGI further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein the lens has a total track length (TTL), and wherein EFL/TTL < 1.2 (15/16.57).
Regarding claim 18, mutatis mutandis, KATSURAGI teaches in Tables 28-30 and Fig. 15 all the limitations as stated in claim 1 rejection above, and further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein 16mm < EFL < 25mm (22).
Regarding claim 19, KATSURAGI further teaches ([93], “mobile phones”) A mobile device including the camera module of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, KATSURAGI further teaches ([93], “mobile phones” considered as smartphones) The mobile device of claim 19, wherein the mobile device is a smartphone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Lu (US 20240134169, of record), as evidenced by Seo (US 20240126054).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches (Table 1, Fig. 3) A camera module, comprising:
a lens with N lens elements Li 1≤ i ≤ N (L1-L6) and having an effective focal length (EFL), an aperture having an aperture diameter (DA) and an f-number (f/#) = EFL/DA, wherein each lens element has a respective focal length (fi) and wherein a first lens element (Li) faces an object side and a last lens element (LN) faces an image side;
a first optical path folding element (OPFE) (12) for folding a first optical path (OP 1) (0 in Fig. 3) to a second optical path (OP2) (optical path for 01 or 03); and
an image sensor (2 in Fig. 3) having a full sensor diagonal (SD),
wherein the camera module is a folded digital camera module, wherein two or more lens elements are located at an object side of the first OPFE, wherein the EFL is in a range of 8mm<EFL<50mm (16.85), wherein the camera module has a minimum camera module length MLM measured along an axis perpendicular to OP1, wherein MLM accounts for optically operative regions of components included in the camera module, wherein EFL > 1.1 MLM, (16.85>1.1x(O1+O3)=1.1x7.58) and wherein f/#< 3.25 (1.79).
Lu does not teach the first OPFE is the first optical path folding element encountered by light propagating from the object through the two or more lens elements toward the image sensor. The difference between the claimed invention and the prior art teaching is there is no prism 11 to bend the optical path.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having no prism 11 to bend the optical path would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Seo (Figs. 1 and 4, which are equivalent to each other with Fig. 4 with optical path folding element and Fig. 1 without) for the purposes of design choices.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lu by having no prism 11 to bend the optical path for the purposes of design choices.
Regarding claim 7, Lu further teaches The camera module of claim 1, wherein the lens is located at an object side of the first OPFE (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Lu further teaches The camera module of claim 7, wherein N ≥ 4 (6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234