DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 7 July 2026. Claims 21-44 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claim 1 is an apparatus and claim 33 is its equivalent method claim.
Independent claims 21 and 33 recite “detecting, in the group communication channel, at least one of: within a message of the group communication channel, at least one digital indicator designated to automatically trigger generation of a removable indicator; or a first user interaction with an interactable graphical icon” and “detecting a single user interaction at the graphical removal element, the single user interaction comprising at least one of a clicking action or a touch action”.
The limitations of “detecting, in the group communication channel, at least one of: within a message of the group communication channel, at least one digital indicator designated to automatically trigger generation of a removable indicator; or a first user interaction with an interactable graphical icon” and “detecting a single user interaction at the graphical removal element, the single user interaction comprising at least one of a clicking action or a touch action”, as drafted, are a processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a processor”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “processor” language, detecting in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually viewing actions performed in the graphical user interface. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites three additional elements – using a computer to perform the generating steps. The computer in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer system performing a generic computer function of generating graphical elements in the graphical user interface and detecting interactions with graphical elements in the graphical user interface) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Independent claims 21 and 33 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer system to perform “generating, after the detecting of the at least one digital indicator or the first user interaction, the removable indicator within a second GUI accessible to a subset of the multiple user accounts, wherein the second GUI includes a graphical removal element associated with the removable indicator” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, independent claims 21 and 33 are not patent eligible.
Claims 22-32 and 34-44 do not include elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and are also rejected under the same rational.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosania et al.(Hereinafter, US 2019/0058680 A1) in view of Guerra et al. (Hereinafter, Guerra, US 2024/0004727 A1).
Per claim 21, Rosania discloses a system (e.g., system 100 as shown in Fig. 1 ) for dynamically updating a data structure of a group-based communication system (paragraph [0003], “In general, embodiments of the present invention provided herein include methods, apparatus, and computer program products for facilitating a group-based communication interface.”; paragraph [0076]), comprising:
at least one processor(e.g., processor 210 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0100]); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (e.g., memory 220 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0102]) comprising:
providing access to a group communication channel to multiple user accounts(Abstract, “Provided is a group-based communication interface configured to allow members of the interface to communicate within group-based communication channels …“; paragraph [0044]; paragraph [0063], “Group-based communication system users may join group-based communication channels. Some group-based communication channels may be globally accessible to those users having a particular organizational group identifier associated with their user profile (i.e., users who are members of the organization). Access to some group-based communication channels may be restricted to members of specified groups, whereby the group-based communication channels are accessible to those users having a particular group identifier associated with their user profile. …”), wherein the group communication channel is configured to receive an input from any of the multiple user accounts and is represented within a first graphical user interface (GUI) (e.g., receiving a first messaging communication associated with a selected group-based communication channel 902 and displaying the first messaging communication to the channel messaging pane 904 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0128]; paragraph [0154]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 4 illustrates wherein the group communication channel 400 is configured to receive an input from any of the multiple user accounts and is represented within a first graphical user interface (GUI) );
detecting, in the group communication channel, at least one of: within a message of the group communication channel, at least one digital indicator designated to automatically trigger generation of a removable indicator(paragraph [0135],” In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, the thread indication 502 is bolded and includes “(1)” to indicate that a new thread communication message for the member's attention has been received. The thread indication 502 can be highlighted or marked in various ways to draw the member's attention to the thread. Once the new thread communication message is displayed by the selected group-based communication interface to the member, the bolded font or “(1)” may be removed.”; paragraph [0147]); or a first user interaction with an interactable graphical icon(e e.g., follow/unfollow actuator 426 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0129]; Examiner’s Note: A user can select to unfollow/follow a thread.);
generating, after the detecting of the at least one digital indicator or the first user interaction, the removable indicator within a second GUI accessible to a subset of the multiple user accounts(e.g., step 908 as shown in Fig. 9; thread summary indicator 417C as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0009], “ …The thread summary indicator within the channel messaging pane may be configured to be selectable by any user of the selected group-based communication channel. “; paragraph [0019]; paragraph [0057]).
Rosania does not expressly disclose:
wherein the second GUI is distinct from the first GUI and includes a graphical removal element associated with the removable indicator; and
detecting a single user interaction at the graphical removal element_ included in the second GUI, the single user interaction comprising at least one of a clicking action or a touch action; and
in response to detecting the single user interaction, removing both the removable indicator and the graphical removal element from the second GUI.
Guerra discloses:
wherein the second GUI is distinct from the first GUI (e.g., notification 522 as shown in Figs. 5B and 5C; step 410 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0056], “By contrast, if it is instead determined to notify the user, flow branches “YES” to operation 410, where the notification is presented to the user. For example, the notification may be displayed in association with an application icon, extension icon, service icon, website icon, or other icon for which it was generated (e.g., as may have been determined based on the trigger with which the context was processed).…. “; paragraph [0064]; Examiner’s Note: Guerra discloses generation of a distinct GUI within the messaging interface.) and includes a graphical removal element associated with the removable indicator (e.g., dismiss UI control 532 as shown in Fig. 5C; paragraph [0067], “ … Dismiss UI control 532 includes a visual indication associated with an auto-dismiss timer, which may provide a visual countdown until notification 522 is automatically dismissed. .. “); and
detecting a single user interaction at the graphical removal element_ included in the second GUI, the single user interaction comprising at least one of a clicking action or a touch action (e.g., operation 410 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0057], “Flow may progress to operation 412, where user interaction associated with the notification is received. As discussed above, the user may mouseover, actuate, or otherwise interact with the notification and/or one or more UI controls therein…”) and
in response to detecting the single user interaction, removing both the removable indicator and the graphical removal element from the second GUI(e.g., operation 420 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0061], “Returning again to determination 414, if the user interaction includes actuation of a dismiss UI control or no user interaction is received such that the auto-dismiss timer expires, flow branches “IGNORE/DISMISS” to operation 420, where the notification is hidden…. “ );.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the notification delay of Guerra with the group-based communication interface of Rosania for making user interface interaction less overwhelming as suggested by Guerra (paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 22, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting a selection interaction at a message within the second GUI (Rosania, e.g., step 906 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0128], “… receiving a thread request to create a subsidiary channel-based thread communication associated with the first messaging communication in the selected group-based communication channel 906 … “); and
in response to detecting the selection interaction, displaying the second GUI and the first GUI(Rosania, e.g., step 910 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0128], “… generating a thread communication pane in response to receiving the thread request 910 ... “; paragraph [0155]Examiner’s Note: For example, clicking on “#ANNOUNCEMENTS hashtag in channel list pane 700 causes thread summary pane 730 to be displayed as illustrated in Fig. 7).
Per claim 23, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting a selection interaction at a message within the second GUI (Rosania, paragraph [0173]); and
in response to detecting the selection interaction, displaying only the first GUI(Rosania, paragraph [0173]; Examiner’s Note: Upon detecting a request to share a message to a group communications channel, a message is displayed in a channel list pane such as channel list pane 700 in Fig. 7).
Per claim 24, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21,wherein the interactable graphical icon comprises at least one of: a follow button (Rosania, e.g., follow/unfollow actuator 426 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0129] ), an add button, a slider, a switch, or a checkmark icon (Examiner’s Note: Rosania discloses a follow button 426.).
Per claim 25, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the digital indicator within the message comprises at least one of: a user tag associated with one of the multiple user accounts (Rosania, paragraph [0087], “hashtags “), a group tag associated with the subset of the multiple user accounts(e.g., thread summary indicator 417C as shown in Fig. 4 shows a group tag associated with the subset of the multiple user accounts ), a predefined emoticon, or a predefined emoji (Rosania, paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0089]).
Per claim 26, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting, in a second group communication channel, at least one of: within a message of the second group communication channel, at least one second digital indicator designated to automatically trigger generation of a second removable indicator(Rosania, paragraph [0136], “ …. The thread messaging actuators 535A-535B (e.g., buttons) can be selected by a member and initiate transmission of the respective thread communication message inserted into the thread communication input register 533A-533B to the circuitry 200 for processing. The thread communication message is then displayed in the thread summary communication pane 530. “); or
a second user interaction with a second interactable graphical icon(Rosania, e.g., share actuator 534A-534B as shown in Fig. 5; paragraph [0136]) ; and
in response to detecting the second digital indicator or the second user interaction, generating a second removable indicator within the second GUI accessible to the subset of the multiple user accounts, wherein the second group communication channel is accessible by a set of user accounts different from the multiple user accounts (Rosania, paragraph [0089], “… sharing the message from one group-based communication channel to another group-based communication channel, pinning the message, starring the message, and/or the like ... “; Examiner’s Note: Users can share message from a first group communications channel to a second group communications channel.).
Per claim 27, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting a direct message associated with the subset of the multiple user accounts (Rosania, e.g., messaging communication information 736A-736D as shown in Fig. 7; paragraph [0158], “… The messaging communication information 736A-736D includes a profile identifier and the time and/or date of receipt of the respective group-based messaging communication or thread communication message. The thread summary communication pane 730 may include other identifying information for each thread (e.g., members of communication channel, etc.) ... “); and
generating, after the detecting the direct message, a third removable indicator within the second GUI, wherein the second GUI includes a third graphical removal element associated with the third removable indicator (Rosania, paragraph [0158], “… Each of the selected group-based messaging communications from which the respective thread was created 732A-732B includes a thread summary indicator 737A and 737B. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 7, the thread summary indicators 737A and 737B include the number of thread communication messages received in the thread (e.g., “3 Replies” or “2 Replies”) (i.e., the thread count), a profile identifier (e.g., avatar) for each member who submitted a thread communication message(s), and include a latency indicator (e.g., “11:38 AM” or “10:56 AM”) that indicates the time of receipt for the latest thread communication message in the respective thread. A variety of information can be displayed in the thread summary indicators. “; Examiner’s Note: Summary indicators are generated for new messages to a channel.).
Per claim 28, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein: the interactable graphical icon is associated with a communication thread, and the operations further comprise:
in response to detecting the first user interaction, setting a digital flag associated with the communication thread to active (Rosania, paragraph [0149], In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6, the thread summary communication pane 630 displays a summary of a thread from the “announcements” group-based communication channel and a summary of a thread from the “things-to-know” group-based communication channel. Each of the selected group-based messaging communication from which the respective thread was created 632A-632B and the thread communication messages received in the thread 632C-632D include messaging communication information 636A-636D. The messaging communication information 636A-636D includes a profile identifier and the time and/or date of receipt of the respective group-based messaging communication or thread communication message …. “);
detecting a reply message in the communication thread (Rosania, paragraph [0153], “In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6, notification 636 is displayed in the thread summary communication pane 630. The notification 636 includes the number of new thread communication messages (“2 replies”) and may also include the number of new threads (e.g., “2 new threads”)…. “); and
in response to detecting the reply message in the communication thread, generating a third removable indicator within the second GUI accessible to the subset of the multiple user accounts, wherein the second GUI includes a third graphical removal element associated with the third removable indicator (Rosania, e.g., thread summary indicators 637A and 637B as shown in Fig. 6 are generated; paragraph [0149] ).
Per claim 29, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 28, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting a second reply message in the communication thread (e.g., ‘2 NEW REPLIES’ as shown in Fig. 6); and
before detecting the single user interaction (Rosania, e.g., Fig. 5 illustrates the state before two new replies are received. Thread summary indicator 537A shows 2 Replies and thread summary 537B shows 1 Reply.):
removing the third removable indicator associated with the reply message (e.g., Fig. 6 illustrates removing the third removable indicator associated with the reply message and replacing it with updated thread summaries 637A and 637B); and
generating a fourth removable indicator associated with the second reply message (Rosania, paragraph [0149]; Examiner’s Note: Rosania discloses dynamically updating a data structure of a group-based communication system as replies to a channel are received. ).
Per claim 30, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 28, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting a second user interaction with the interactable graphical icon(Rosania, e.g., follow/unfollow actuator 826 as shown in Fig. 8; paragraph [0170], “The follow/unfollow actuator 826 is also selectable by a member of the group-based communication channel from which the thread was created and initiates a request to either follow the respective thread or unfollow the respective thread…”); and
in response to detecting the second user interaction, setting the digital flag associated with the communication thread to inactive (Rosania, paragraph [0170], “…The follow/unfollow actuator 826 may also be modified to display “unfollow” (as shown in FIG. 8) in response to receiving the follow request. In response to an unfollow request, the group-based communication interface will modify the thread indication in the channel list pane by updating the thread summary communication pane to remove the respective thread.”).
Per claim 31, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the subset of the multiple user accounts includes: only one of the multiple user accounts(Rosania, e.g., Fig. 4 illustrates only one of the multiple user accounts; paragraph [0122]); or one or more of the multiple user accounts associated with particular user credentials (Rosania, e.g., Fig. 5 illustrates one or more of the multiple user accounts associated with particular user credentials; paragraphs [0133-0135]; Examiner’s Note: For example, user Matt can view one or more threads associated with his credentials. ).
Per claim 32, Rosania and Guerra disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the removable indicator includes one or more of: a graphical representation based on the message; graphical emphasis comprising at least one of highlighting, bolding, or marking; a summary of the message; and at least a portion of the message(Rosania, paragraph [0135], “ In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, the thread indication 502 is bolded and includes “(1)” to indicate that a new thread communication message for the member's attention has been received. The thread indication 502 can be highlighted or marked in various ways to draw the member's attention to the thread. Once the new thread communication message is displayed by the selected group-based communication interface to the member, the bolded font or “(1)” may be removed. “; paragraph [0147]).
Per claim 33, Rosania discloses a method for dynamically updating a data structure of a group-based communication system, comprising:
providing access to a group communication channel to multiple user accounts(Abstract, “Provided is a group-based communication interface configured to allow members of the interface to communicate within group-based communication channels …“; paragraph [0044]; paragraph [0063], “Group-based communication system users may join group-based communication channels. Some group-based communication channels may be globally accessible to those users having a particular organizational group identifier associated with their user profile (i.e., users who are members of the organization). Access to some group-based communication channels may be restricted to members of specified groups, whereby the group-based communication channels are accessible to those users having a particular group identifier associated with their user profile. …”), wherein the group communication channel is configured to receive an input from any of the multiple user accounts and is represented within a first graphical user interface (GUI) (e.g., receiving a first messaging communication associated with a selected group-based communication channel 902 and displaying the first messaging communication to the channel messaging pane 904 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0128]; paragraph [0154]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 4 illustrates wherein the group communication channel 400 is configured to receive an input from any of the multiple user accounts and is represented within a first graphical user interface (GUI) );
detecting, in the group communication channel, at least one of: within a message of the group communication channel, at least one digital indicator designated to automatically trigger generation of a removable indicator(paragraph [0135],” In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, the thread indication 502 is bolded and includes “(1)” to indicate that a new thread communication message for the member's attention has been received. The thread indication 502 can be highlighted or marked in various ways to draw the member's attention to the thread. Once the new thread communication message is displayed by the selected group-based communication interface to the member, the bolded font or “(1)” may be removed.”; paragraph [0147]); or a first user interaction with an interactable graphical icon(e e.g., follow/unfollow actuator 426 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0129]; Examiner’s Note: A user can select to unfollow/follow a thread.);
generating, after the detecting of the at least one digital indicator or the first user interaction, the removable indicator within a second GUI accessible to a subset of the multiple user accounts(e.g., step 908 as shown in Fig. 9; thread summary indicator 417C as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0009], “ …The thread summary indicator within the channel messaging pane may be configured to be selectable by any user of the selected group-based communication channel. “; paragraph [0019]; paragraph [0057]).
Rosania does not expressly disclose:
wherein the second GUI is distinct from the first GUI and includes a graphical removal element associated with the removable indicator; and
detecting a single user interaction at the graphical removal element_ included in the second GUI, the single user interaction comprising at least one of a clicking action or a touch action; and
in response to detecting the single user interaction, removing both the removable indicator and the graphical removal element from the second GUI.
Guerra discloses:
wherein the second GUI is distinct from the first GUI (e.g., notification 522 as shown in Figs. 5B and 5C; step 410 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0056], “By contrast, if it is instead determined to notify the user, flow branches “YES” to operation 410, where the notification is presented to the user. For example, the notification may be displayed in association with an application icon, extension icon, service icon, website icon, or other icon for which it was generated (e.g., as may have been determined based on the trigger with which the context was processed).…. “; paragraph [0064]; Examiner’s Note: Guerra discloses generation of a distinct GUI within the messaging interface.) and includes a graphical removal element associated with the removable indicator (e.g., dismiss UI control 532 as shown in Fig. 5C; paragraph [0067], “ … Dismiss UI control 532 includes a visual indication associated with an auto-dismiss timer, which may provide a visual countdown until notification 522 is automatically dismissed. .. “); and
detecting a single user interaction at the graphical removal element_ included in the second GUI, the single user interaction comprising at least one of a clicking action or a touch action (e.g., operation 410 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0057], “Flow may progress to operation 412, where user interaction associated with the notification is received. As discussed above, the user may mouseover, actuate, or otherwise interact with the notification and/or one or more UI controls therein…”) and
in response to detecting the single user interaction, removing both the removable indicator and the graphical removal element from the second GUI(e.g., operation 420 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0061], “Returning again to determination 414, if the user interaction includes actuation of a dismiss UI control or no user interaction is received such that the auto-dismiss timer expires, flow branches “IGNORE/DISMISS” to operation 420, where the notification is hidden…. “ );.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the notification delay of Guerra with the group-based communication interface of Rosania for making user interface interaction less overwhelming as suggested by Guerra (paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 34, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, further comprising:
detecting a selection interaction at a message within the second GUI (Rosania, e.g., step 906 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0128], “… receiving a thread request to create a subsidiary channel-based thread communication associated with the first messaging communication in the selected group-based communication channel 906 … “); and
in response to detecting the selection interaction, displaying the second GUI and the first GUI(Rosania, e.g., step 910 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0128], “… generating a thread communication pane in response to receiving the thread request 910 ... “; paragraph [0155]Examiner’s Note: For example, clicking on “#ANNOUNCEMENTS hashtag in channel list pane 700 causes thread summary pane 730 to be displayed as illustrated in Fig. 7).
Per claim 35, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, further comprising:
detecting a selection interaction at a message within the second GUI (Rosania, paragraph [0173]); and
in response to detecting the selection interaction, displaying only the first GUI(Rosania, paragraph [0173]; Examiner’s Note: Upon detecting a request to share a message to a group communications channel, a message is displayed in a channel list pane such as channel list pane 700 in Fig. 7).
Per claim 36, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, wherein the interactable graphical icon comprises at least one of: a follow button, an add button, a slider, a switch, or a checkmark icon (Rosania, e.g., follow/unfollow actuator 426 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0129] ), an add button, a slider, a switch, or a checkmark icon (Examiner’s Note: Rosania discloses a follow button 426.).
Per claim 37, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, wherein the digital indicator within the message comprises at least one of: a user tag associated with one of the multiple user accounts (Rosania, paragraph [0087], “hashtags “), a group tag associated with the subset of the multiple user accounts(Rosania, e.g., thread summary indicator 417C as shown in Fig. 4 shows a group tag associated with the subset of the multiple user accounts ), a predefined emoticon, or a predefined emoji (Rosania, paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0089]).
Per claim 38, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, further comprising:
detecting, in a second group communication channel, at least one of: within a message of the second group communication channel, at least one second digital indicator designated to automatically trigger generation of a second removable indicator(Rosania, paragraph [0136], “ …. The thread messaging actuators 535A-535B (e.g., buttons) can be selected by a member and initiate transmission of the respective thread communication message inserted into the thread communication input register 533A-533B to the circuitry 200 for processing. The thread communication message is then displayed in the thread summary communication pane 530. “); or
a second user interaction with a second interactable graphical icon(Rosania, e.g., share actuator 534A-534B as shown in Fig. 5; paragraph [0136]) ; and
in response to detecting the second digital indicator or the second user interaction, generating a second removable indicator within the second GUI accessible to the subset of the multiple user accounts, wherein the second group communication channel is accessible by a set of user accounts different from the multiple user accounts (Rosania, paragraph [0089], “… sharing the message from one group-based communication channel to another group-based communication channel, pinning the message, starring the message, and/or the like ... “; Examiner’s Note: Users can share message from a first group communications channel to a second group communications channel.).
Per claim 39, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, further comprising:
detecting a direct message associated with the subset of the multiple user accounts (Rosania, e.g., messaging communication information 736A-736D as shown in Fig. 7; paragraph [0158], “… The messaging communication information 736A-736D includes a profile identifier and the time and/or date of receipt of the respective group-based messaging communication or thread communication message. The thread summary communication pane 730 may include other identifying information for each thread (e.g., members of communication channel, etc.) ... “); and
generating, after the detecting the direct message, a third removable indicator within the second GUI, wherein the second GUI includes a third graphical removal element associated with the third removable indicator (Rosania, paragraph [0158], “… Each of the selected group-based messaging communications from which the respective thread was created 732A-732B includes a thread summary indicator 737A and 737B. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 7, the thread summary indicators 737A and 737B include the number of thread communication messages received in the thread (e.g., “3 Replies” or “2 Replies”) (i.e., the thread count), a profile identifier (e.g., avatar) for each member who submitted a thread communication message(s), and include a latency indicator (e.g., “11:38 AM” or “10:56 AM”) that indicates the time of receipt for the latest thread communication message in the respective thread. A variety of information can be displayed in the thread summary indicators. “; Examiner’s Note: Summary indicators are generated for new messages to a channel.).
Per claim 40, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, wherein: the interactable graphical icon is associated with a communication thread, and the operations further comprise:
in response to detecting the first user interaction, setting a digital flag associated with the communication thread to active (Rosania, paragraph [0149], In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6, the thread summary communication pane 630 displays a summary of a thread from the “announcements” group-based communication channel and a summary of a thread from the “things-to-know” group-based communication channel. Each of the selected group-based messaging communication from which the respective thread was created 632A-632B and the thread communication messages received in the thread 632C-632D include messaging communication information 636A-636D. The messaging communication information 636A-636D includes a profile identifier and the time and/or date of receipt of the respective group-based messaging communication or thread communication message …. “);
detecting a reply message in the communication thread (Rosania, paragraph [0153], “In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6, notification 636 is displayed in the thread summary communication pane 630. The notification 636 includes the number of new thread communication messages (“2 replies”) and may also include the number of new threads (e.g., “2 new threads”)…. “); and
in response to detecting the reply message in the communication thread, generating a third removable indicator within the second GUI accessible to the subset of the multiple user accounts, wherein the second GUI includes a third graphical removal element associated with the third removable indicator (Rosania, e.g., thread summary indicators 637A and 637B as shown in Fig. 6 are generated; paragraph [0149] ).
Per claim 41, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 40, further comprising:
detecting a second reply message in the communication thread (Rosania, e.g., ‘2 NEW REPLIES’ as shown in Fig. 6); and
before detecting the single user interaction (Rosania, e.g., Fig. 5 illustrates the state before two new replies are received. Thread summary indicator 537A shows 2 Replies and thread summary 537B shows 1 Reply.):
removing the third removable indicator associated with the reply message (Rosania, e.g., Fig. 6 illustrates removing the third removable indicator associated with the reply message and replacing it with updated thread summaries 637A and 637B); and
generating a fourth removable indicator associated with the second reply message (Rosania, paragraph [0149]; Examiner’s Note: Rosania discloses dynamically updating a data structure of a group-based communication system as replies to a channel are received. ).
Per claim 42, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 40, further comprising:
detecting a second user interaction with the interactable graphical icon(Rosania, e.g., follow/unfollow actuator 826 as shown in Fig. 8; paragraph [0170], “The follow/unfollow actuator 826 is also selectable by a member of the group-based communication channel from which the thread was created and initiates a request to either follow the respective thread or unfollow the respective thread…”); and
in response to detecting the second user interaction, setting the digital flag associated with the communication thread to inactive (Rosania, paragraph [0170], “…The follow/unfollow actuator 826 may also be modified to display “unfollow” (as shown in FIG. 8) in response to receiving the follow request. In response to an unfollow request, the group-based communication interface will modify the thread indication in the channel list pane by updating the thread summary communication pane to remove the respective thread.”).
Per claim 43, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, wherein the subset of the multiple user accounts includes: only one of the multiple user accounts(Rosania, e.g., Fig. 4 illustrates only one of the multiple user accounts; paragraph [0122]); or one or more of the multiple user accounts associated with particular user credentials (Rosania, e.g., Fig. 5 illustrates one or more of the multiple user accounts associated with particular user credentials; paragraphs [0133-0135]; Examiner’s Note: For example, user Matt can view one or more threads associated with his credentials. ).
Per claim 44, Rosania and Guerra disclose the method of claim 33, wherein the removable indicator includes one or more of: a graphical representation based on the message; graphical emphasis comprising at least one of highlighting, bolding, or marking; a summary of the message; [[and]] at least a portion of the message(Rosania, paragraph [0135], “ In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, the thread indication 502 is bolded and includes “(1)” to indicate that a new thread communication message for the member's attention has been received. The thread indication 502 can be highlighted or marked in various ways to draw the member's attention to the thread. Once the new thread communication message is displayed by the selected group-based communication interface to the member, the bolded font or “(1)” may be removed. “; paragraph [0147]).
Response to Arguments
Summary of Substance of Interview
Examiner acknowledges applicant’s remarks regarding the interview held on July 2, 2026.
Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 101
The Claims Are "Directed to" Judicially Excluded Matter
The Claims Recite a Judicial Exception
On pages 12-13, Applicant argues that “claim 21 as amended does not fall into the category of "mental processes" since “The MPEP states that "[a] [c]laim [w]ith [I]imitation(s) [t]hat [c]annot [p]ractically be [p]erformed in the [h]uman [m]ind [d]oes [n]ot [r]ecite a [m]ental[p]rocess. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A); see also 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Including on Artificial Intelligence, 89 Fed. Reg. 58, (July17, 2024).”
Examiner disagrees since the claim is “directed to” an abstract idea of managing and presenting communication indicators or notifications. The claims amount to the mental steps organizing information in a communications environment --i.e., selecting, receiving, and displaying a standard notification text or data point on a screen. Merely automating the selection and display data is an abstract idea.
The Claims Are Not Integrated into a Practical Application
On pages 13-18, Applicant argues that the limitation of "providing access to a
group communication channel to multiple user accounts, wherein the group
communication channel is configured to receive an input from any of the multiple user
accounts and is represented within a first graphical user interface (GUI)" and "in
response to detecting the single user interaction, removing both the removable indicator "providing access to a group communication channel to multiple user accounts, wherein the group communication channel is configured to receive an input from any of the multiple user accounts and is represented within a first graphical user interface (GUI)" and "in response to detecting the single user interaction, removing both the removable indicator and the graphical removal element from the second GUI" … “integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application and is thus patent-eligible.”
Examiner disagrees with Applicant since the claims amount to a generic hardware performing generic GUI operations. The additional claims describe standard clickable/touchable elements and multiple GUIs that are common to group communications.
B. The Claims Do Not Amount to "Significantly More" than Any Abstract Idea
1. The Claims Do Not Recite Elements Constituting "Significantly More" than Any Abstract Idea
Independent claims 21 and 33 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer system to perform “generating, after the detecting of the at least one digital indicator or the first user interaction, the removable indicator within a second GUI accessible to a subset of the multiple user accounts, wherein the second GUI includes a graphical removal element associated with the removable indicator” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Additionally, the claims describe standard clickable/touchable elements and multiple GUIs that are common to group communications.
Therefore, independent claims 21 and 33 are not patent eligible.
Claims 22-32 and 34-44 do not include elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and are also rejected under the same rational.
Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178