DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed 06/22/2026 have been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, the following claims are being examined as Product by Process per MPEP 2113 where patentability depends on the product itself. In the Applicant’s Remarks, “the cited references do not disclose the claimed conversion architecture in which an existing military- grade axle housing is structurally adapted for commercial service through both modified commercial mounting interfaces and a commercially compatible wheel interface configured to directly receive standard commercial wheels.”. The Examiner disagrees, nowhere in the claims is the conversion architecture actually claimed. Claims 21-27 merely recite a structure of a drive axle and vehicle apparatus, with no conversion step or method explained. Therefore, the claims will be analyzed as an apparatus—and not a method of conversion.
Further, the surplus military axle has not been sufficiently described in the specification on how it differs over a standard vehicle axle. Para 0043 of the specification states “a “surplus military drive axle” refers to a drive axle assembly that was originally manufactured, configured, or specified for military use (including for a military-grade vehicle platform and/or to meet military procurement requirements)…” with no further description of what these military requirements are, and how they are different from a personal or commercial vehicle drive axle. Therefore, there is no patentable weight being given to the “surplus military drive axle” and instead, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the “surplus military drive axle” is being interpreted as equivalent to a “drive axle” of a vehicle.
Claims 21-27 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 217944802 U-Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided in present OA) in view of Raymond (US 20150191070 A1) and Pultz (US 20220332185 A1), and Pan (CN 217320494 U Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided in present OA).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang teaches a vehicle, comprising:
[a chassis; and a refurbished steerable drive axle assembly adapted from a surplus military drive axle] (Fig 1) [and mounted to the chassis] (“The utility model belongs to the technical field of steering drive devices, in particular to a transmission and sealing structure of a steering drive axle suitable for water and dry fields.” pg 1 para 1), the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly comprising:
an axle housing 23 (Fig 1) originally configured for a military-grade vehicle, [the axle housing including at least one modified interface feature adapted to couple the axle housing to a mounting system of the commercial vehicle] (“a transmission and sealing structure of a steering drive axle includes a main gearbox housing 23 and a half shaft housing 15 installed at both ends of the main gearbox housing 23…”, pg 3 para 3);
[a differential supported by the axle housing] (“A differential is installed in the main reduction box housing 23, and the differential is provided with a differential side shaft gear 24, the differential side shaft gear 24 is connected to the half shaft 22” pg 3 para 4);
[opposed axle shafts 22 (Figs 1 and 2) coupled to the differential to deliver drive torque to wheel ends of the axle assembly] (“differential side shaft gear 24, the differential side shaft gear 24 is connected to the half shaft 22, and the side shaft housing 15 is connected to the steering knuckle housing 11, The steering knuckle housing 11 is connected to the wheel reducer and the hub 7, the hub 7 is located outside the wheel reducer, and bearings 20 are respectively arranged between the hub, the wheel reducer and the steering knuckle housing.” pg 3 para 4);
[a pair of steerable driven wheel end assemblies supported by the axle housing, each steerable driven wheel end assembly comprising] 1-15 (Figs 1 and 2, “The wheel reducer includes a planetary gear carrier 1, and the planetary gear carrier 1 is installed with a sun gear shaft 3 through the rotation of the self-aligning roller bearing 2.” pg 3 para 6):
[a steering knuckle mounted to the axle housing for rotation about a pivot axis] 11 (Fig 1, “The steering knuckle housing 11 is connected to the wheel reducer and the hub 7, the hub 7 is located outside the wheel reducer, and bearings 20 are respectively arranged between the hub, the wheel reducer and the steering knuckle housing.” Pg 3 para 4);
[at least one bearing or bushing supporting the steering knuckle for rotation about the pivot axis] 20 Figs 1 and 2 (“The steering knuckle housing 11 is connected to the wheel reducer and the hub 7, the hub 7 is located outside the wheel reducer, and bearings 20 are respectively arranged between the hub, the wheel reducer and the steering knuckle housing.” pg 3 para 4);
a wheel hub 7 (Fig 1) coupled to the steering knuckle 11 (Fig 1) .
Zhang does not teach the vehicle is a commercial vehicle, nor a wheel hub and defining a commercially compatible wheel mounting interface configured to mount a standard commercial vehicle wheel, the wheel mounting interface having a selected bolt circle diameter and a selected offset corresponding to a commercial wheel specification, wherein the wheel hub is configured to receive the standard commercial vehicle wheel without a wheel adapter wherein the modified interface feature comprises at least one repositioned or replaced bracket, spring seat, suspension interface, or combination thereof configured to mount the axle housing to the chassis of the commercial vehicle; and
a steering linkage connection feature configured to couple the steering knuckle to a steering mechanism;
a steering mechanism coupled to the steerable driven wheel end assemblies and operable to rotate the steerable driven wheel end assemblies about the pivot axes; and
a corrosion-resistant finish applied to at least a portion of the axle housing; and
at least one steering actuator operably coupled to the steering mechanism to generate steering motion of the steerable driven wheel end assemblies.
Raymond teaches an [equivalent vehicle that is designed as a commercial vehicle with a drive axle that is meant for continuous use for a large heavy vehicle] (“Low-floor commercial vehicles, such as city buses, have rear axles supporting and driving the vehicle…” para 2 and “The rear drive axle of a heavy commercial vehicle significantly increases the challenge” para 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the commercial vehicle of Raymond with the drive axle of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success because the drive axle is designed to withstand continuous use on a heavy vehicle. By using the drive axle on a commercial vehicle, the design of the axle is strengthened overall and can be used on a plurality of heavy vehicles in continuous operations.
Zhang and Raymond teach the vehicle is a commercial vehicle with a drive axle.
Pultz teaches an equivalent drive axle with a wheel hub 30,36 (Figs 1a-1b and Fig 2a) [and defining a commercially compatible wheel mounting interface configured to mount a standard commercial vehicle wheel, the wheel mounting interface having a selected bolt circle diameter and a selected offset corresponding to a commercial wheel specification] (“….to a pair of idler gears 4, to a lower drive gear 8, which, in turn, transfers power a wheel hub (indicated via dashed lines 30 in FIG. 1B), which is attached via bolts 36. In some embodiments, the gear dimensions are selected to provide a 1.19 gear reduction at the hub.” para 0025), [wherein the wheel hub is configured to receive the standard commercial vehicle wheel without a wheel adapter wherein the modified interface feature comprises at least one repositioned or replaced bracket, spring seat, suspension interface, or combination thereof configured to mount the axle housing to the chassis of the commercial vehicle] (“transfers power a wheel hub (indicated via dashed lines 30 in FIG. 1B), which is attached via bolts 36. In some embodiments, the gear dimensions are selected to provide a 1.19 gear reduction at the hub.” Para 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the bolt circle diameter of Pultz with the drive axle of Zhang and Raymond with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a consistent element to connect a wheel to the wheel hub. By using a standardized flange and bolt circle diameter, the design of the axle is simplified and can be used on a plurality of vehicles.
Zhang, Raymond and Pultz teach the drive axle with a standardized bolt circle diameter.
Zhang, Raymond and Pultz do no teach a steering linkage connection feature configured to couple the steering knuckle to a steering mechanism; a steering mechanism coupled to the steerable driven wheel end assemblies and operable to rotate the steerable driven wheel end assemblies about the pivot axes; and a corrosion-resistant finish applied to at least a portion of the axle housing; and at least one steering actuator operably coupled to the steering mechanism to generate steering motion of the steerable driven wheel end assemblies.
Pan teaches an equivalent drive axle (Fig 4) with [ a steering linkage connection feature configured to couple the steering knuckle to a steering mechanism] 14,15 (Fig 4, “The two ends of the drive axle housing 1 are respectively provided with corresponding independent transverse tie rods, which are the left transverse tie rod 14 and the right transverse tie rod 15 respectively” pg 3 para 4) ; a steering mechanism 19,20 and 21 (Fig 4) [coupled to the steerable driven wheel end assemblies and operable to rotate the steerable driven wheel end assemblies about the pivot axes] (“and the steering oil pump 17 is respectively connected with the left hydraulic cylinder 19 and the right hydraulic cylinder 20 arranged on the drive axle housing 1 through two conduits 18, and the ends of the left hydraulic cylinder 19 and the right hydraulic cylinder 20 are provided with The universal joint is connected with the corresponding drive rod 21, and the other end of the drive rod 21 is hinged with the left tie rod 14 and the right tie rod 15 respectively” pg 4 para 1); [and a corrosion-resistant finish applied to at least a portion of the axle housing] (The Examiner takes official notice that the use of a corrosion-resistant finished applied to the axle housing is well known in the art, since vehicles are driven in corrosive environments and a coating would increase the longevity of the housing); [and at least one steering actuator operably coupled to the steering mechanism to generate steering motion of the steerable driven wheel end assemblies] (“The steering oil pump 17 is directly connected, and the steering oil pump 17 is respectively connected with the left hydraulic cylinder 19 and the right hydraulic cylinder 20 arranged on the drive axle housing 1 through two conduits 18, and the ends of the left hydraulic cylinder 19 and the right hydraulic cylinder 20 are provided with The universal joint is connected with the corresponding drive rod 21, and the other end of the drive rod 21 is hinged with the left tie rod 14 and the right tie rod 15 respectively” pg 4 para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the steering mechanism of Pan with the drive axle of Zhang, Raymond and Pultz with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a consistent means to operate both wheel hub assemblies separately or together based on the actuation of the cylinders. By having a steering linkage connected to the wheel hub assembly, the positioning of the wheel hubs can be more easily controlled while the vehicle is moving.
Regarding claim 26, Zhang teaches a refurbished steerable drive axle assembly (Fig 1) for a commercial vehicle comprising:
an axle housing 23 (Fig 1) originally configured for a military-grade vehicle, [the axle housing including at least one modified interface feature adapted to couple the axle housing to a to a commercial vehicle suspension or chassis system] (“a transmission and sealing structure of a steering drive axle includes a main gearbox housing 23 and a half shaft housing 15 installed at both ends of the main gearbox housing 23…”, pg 3 para 3); and the housing has a corrosion resistance finish applied to at least a portion of the axle housing (The Examiner takes official notice that the use of a corrosion-resistant finished applied to the axle housing is well known in the art, since vehicles are driven in corrosive environments and a coating would increase the longevity of the housing);
[a differential supported by the axle housing] (“A differential is installed in the main reduction box housing 23, and the differential is provided with a differential side shaft gear 24, the differential side shaft gear 24 is connected to the half shaft 22” pg 3 para 4);
[opposed axle shafts 22 (Figs 1 and 2) coupled to the differential] (“differential side shaft gear 24, the differential side shaft gear 24 is connected to the half shaft 22, and the side shaft housing 15 is connected to the steering knuckle housing 11, The steering knuckle housing 11 is connected to the wheel reducer and the hub 7, the hub 7 is located outside the wheel reducer, and bearings 20 are respectively arranged between the hub, the wheel reducer and the steering knuckle housing.” pg 3 para 4);
[a pair of steerable driven wheel end assemblies supported by the axle housing, each steerable driven wheel end assembly comprising] 1-15 (Figs 1 and 2, “The wheel reducer includes a planetary gear carrier 1, and the planetary gear carrier 1 is installed with a sun gear shaft 3 through the rotation of the self-aligning roller bearing 2.” pg 3 para 6):
[a steering knuckle mounted for rotation relative to the axle housing about a steering axis] 11 (Fig 1, “The steering knuckle housing 11 is connected to the wheel reducer and the hub 7, the hub 7 is located outside the wheel reducer, and bearings 20 are respectively arranged between the hub, the wheel reducer and the steering knuckle housing.” Pg 3 para 4);
A wheel hub 7 (Fig 1) operably coupled to the steering knuckle 11 (Fig 1) and [configured to receive drive torque from a respective axle shaft] (“The steering knuckle housing 11 is connected to the wheel reducer and the hub 7, the hub 7 is located outside the wheel reducer, and bearings 20 are respectively arranged between the hub, the wheel reducer and the steering knuckle housing.” pg 3 para 4).
Zhang does not teach the vehicle is a commercial vehicle, and that the commercially compatible wheel mounting interface configured to directly receive a standard commercial vehicle wheel, the wheel mounting interface having a selected bolt circle diameter and a selected offset corresponding to a commercial wheel specification, wherein the wheel hub is configured to receive the standard commercial vehicle wheel without a wheel adapter; and
a steering linkage connection feature configured to couple the steering knuckle to a steering actuator.
Raymond teaches an [equivalent vehicle that is designed as a commercial vehicle with a drive axle that is meant for continuous use for a large heavy vehicle] (“Low-floor commercial vehicles, such as city buses, have rear axles supporting and driving the vehicle…” para 2 and “The rear drive axle of a heavy commercial vehicle significantly increases the challenge” para 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the commercial vehicle of Raymond with the drive axle of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success because the drive axle is designed to withstand continuous use on a heavy vehicle. By using the drive axle on a commercial vehicle, the design of the axle is strengthened overall and can be used on a plurality of heavy vehicles in continuous operations.
Zhang and Raymond teach the vehicle is a commercial vehicle with a drive axle.
Pultz teaches an equivalent drive axle with a wheel hub 30,36 (Figs 1a-1b and Fig 2a) [and defining a commercially compatible wheel mounting interface configured to mount a standard commercial vehicle wheel, the wheel mounting interface having a selected bolt circle diameter and a selected offset corresponding to a commercial wheel specification] (“….to a pair of idler gears 4, to a lower drive gear 8, which, in turn, transfers power a wheel hub (indicated via dashed lines 30 in FIG. 1B), which is attached via bolts 36. In some embodiments, the gear dimensions are selected to provide a 1.19 gear reduction at the hub.” para 0025), [wherein the wheel hub is configured to receive the standard commercial vehicle wheel without a wheel adapter] (“…transfers power a wheel hub (indicated via dashed lines 30 in FIG. 1B), which is attached via bolts 36. In some embodiments, the gear dimensions are selected to provide a 1.19 gear reduction at the hub.” Para 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the bolt circle diameter of Pultz with the drive axle of Zhang and Raymond with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a consistent element to connect a wheel to the wheel hub. By using a standardized flange and bolt circle diameter, the design of the axle is simplified and can be used on a plurality of vehicles.
Zhang, Raymond and Pultz teach the drive axle with a standardized bolt circle diameter.
Zhang, Raymond and Pultz do no teach a steering linkage connection feature configured to couple the steering knuckle to a steering actuator.
Pan teaches an equivalent drive axle (Fig 4) with [ a steering linkage connection 14,15 (Fig 4, “The two ends of the drive axle housing 1 are respectively provided with corresponding independent transverse tie rods, which are the left transverse tie rod 14 and the right transverse tie rod 15 respectively” pg 3 para 4) feature configured to couple the steering knuckle to a steering actuator 19-21 Fig 4 (“and the steering oil pump 17 is respectively connected with the left hydraulic cylinder 19 and the right hydraulic cylinder 20 arranged on the drive axle housing 1 through two conduits 18, and the ends of the left hydraulic cylinder 19 and the right hydraulic cylinder 20 are provided with The universal joint is connected with the corresponding drive rod 21, and the other end of the drive rod 21 is hinged with the left tie rod 14 and the right tie rod 15 respectively” pg 4 para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the steering mechanism of Pan with the drive axle of Zhang, Raymond and Pultz with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a consistent means to operate both wheel hub assemblies separately or together based on the actuation of the cylinders. By having a steering linkage connected to the wheel hub assembly, the positioning of the wheel hubs can be more easily controlled while the vehicle is moving.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang , Raymond Pultz and Pan in further view of Agarwal (IN 202221018769 A).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan teach the vehicle of claim 21.
Zhang, Raymond , Pultz and Pan do not teach the vehicle includes a speed monitoring system configured to receive vehicle-speed information:
an electronic control unit configured to progressively reduce rear-steer authority of the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly as vehicle speed increases; and
wherein, upon the vehicle speed reaching or exceeding a designated road-speed threshold, the electronic control unit automatically commands the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly to transition to a centered-and-locked mode in which rear steering movement is inhibited.
Agarwal teaches [a vehicle speed monitoring system configured to receive vehicle-speed information] (Fig 2-step 201, “At step (201), one or more sensors (104) may receive measurements of one or more operating parameters. Further, the measurements of one or more operating parameter is made using various sensors (104) for measuring different vehicle parameters.” Pg 16 para 3) :
[an electronic control unit configured to progressively reduce rear-steer authority of the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly as vehicle speed increases] Step 202 (Fig 2, “At step (202), the control unit (106) compares the rate of change of one or more operating parameters with one or more threshold values. The control unit (106) receives the measurements in real-time and these measurements can be used to determine the rate of change of one or more parameters. For example, the control unit (106) receives inputs on the speed of the vehicle and determines particular actions based on the speed of the vehicle.” Pg 16 para 4); and wherein, [upon the vehicle speed reaching or exceeding a designated road-speed threshold, and the electronic control unit automatically commands the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly to transition to a centered-and-locked mode in which rear steering movement is inhibited] (“At step (202), the control unit (106) compares the rate of change of one or more operating parameters with one or more threshold values. The control unit (106)
receives the measurements in real-time and these measurements can be used to
determine the rate of change of one or more parameters” pg 16 para 4 and “At step (203), the control unit (106) detects the corresponding drive mode engaged from the plurality of driving modes, and finally, at step (204), the control unit (204) selects one or more drive axles based on the comparison and the corresponding engaged drive mode as detected at step (203).” pg 17 para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the vehicle speed monitoring system of Agarwal with the vehicle of Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a central processing system to process the signals of the drive axles and switch to a different driving mode based on a speed threshold. By including a central processing unit for speed control of the axles, the vehicle speed can be automatically controlled based on the measured signals and comparing the signals to a predetermined threshold.
Claims 23-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan in further view of Bachhuber (US 5217083 A).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan teach the vehicle of claim 21.
Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan do not teach the vehicle that includes an all-wheel steering control unit configured to coordinate steering angles of the front axle and the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly and store a plurality of steering profiles defining relationships between front and rear steering angles and rear-steer authority as a function of vehicle speed;
provide a crab steering mode in which the front axle and the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly steer in substantially the same angular direction relative to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle; and
provide an operator-controlled rear steering mode in which an operator independently adjusts a rear steering angle relative to a front steering angle through a driver interface.
Bachhuber teaches a vehicle that includes an all-wheel steering control unit 36 (Fig 1, “The control unit 36, which may be located in the cab of the vehicle, is a central switching point for several of the various components of the steering system of the present invention.” Col 2 line 67-69) [configured to coordinate steering angles of the front axle refurbished steerable drive axle assembly and store a plurality of steering profiles defining relationships between front and rear steering angles and rear-steer authority as a function of vehicle speed] (Fig 2 shows the plurality of steering modes of the vehicle, “A four wheel steering system for a vehicle comprising front and rear pairs of steerable wheels, control means for selecting a plurality of steering modes” claim 1);
[provide a crab steering mode in which the front axle and the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly steer in substantially the same angular direction relative to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle] 16 Fig 1 (“In the "crab" mode 16, movement of the rear wheels is dependent on and in the same direction as movement of the front wheels. Finally, in the "independent" mode 18, movement of the front wheels is controlled with a steering wheel, while movement of the rear wheels is controlled by operation of a joystick (see FIGS. 3 and 6).” Col 2 lines 47-53); and
[provide an operator-controlled rear steering mode in which an operator independently adjusts a rear steering angle relative to a front steering angle through a driver interface] 18 (Fig 1, “Finally, in the "independent" mode 18, movement of the front wheels is controlled with a steering wheel, while movement of the rear wheels is controlled by operation of a joystick (see FIGS. 3 and 6).” Col 2 lines 49-53). Additionally, Bachhuber teaches the vehicle comprising a refuse-collection vehicle configured for repeated stop and go operation in urban environments (The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that vehicles have the ability to drive continuously, or make frequent stops.), and the all-wheel steering control unit stores a refuse-collecting profiles 18 (Fig 1) [configured to maintain a rear steering authority during low-speed collection operations and automatically reduce or disable rear-steer authority when vehicle speed exceeds a designated threshold between collection locations] (“A four wheel steering system for a vehicle comprising front and rear pairs of steerable wheels, control means for selecting a plurality of steering modes, said modes including a first mode in which steering of said rear pair of wheels is generally fixed, a second mode in which movement of said rear pair of wheels is generally opposite to that of said front pair, and a third mode in which movement of said rear pair is generally similar to that of said front pair, and locking means for limiting steering of said rear pair of wheels, said locking means being actuated at a predetermined vehicle speed” claim 1 and “said control means includes means for adjusting the predetermined vehicle speed, at which said locking means is activated.” claim 2). Further, Bachhuber teaches the commercial vehicle wherein the all-wheel steering control unit is configured to:
[store a plurality of application-specific steering profiles respectively associated with different commercial vehicle categories] (Fig 1 shows the different driving modes);
[select one of the application-specific steering profiles based upon at least one of operator input and a vehicle configuration parameter] (“FIG. 5 shows two important switches which are part of the steering control of the present invention. The reset switch 60 is a momentary toggle switch which, when thrown, causes the lock-out 32 to disengage the rear axle in order to allow all-wheel steering. Reset will only disengage the rear axle when two conditions are met, i.e. 1) the vehicle speed is under 20 mph, and 2) the joystick is in the center position. Finally, the rotary switch 62 determines the mode in which the system operates. The four positions correspond to the four modes discussed in FIG. 1.” Col 3 line 62-Col 4 line 4);
control steering operation of the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly in accordance with the selected application-specific steering profile; and
wherein each application-specific steering profile defines at least:
[(i) a relationship between front steering angle and rear steering angle,] (“The four wheel steering system of the present invention has the capability of operating in the four modes shown in FIG. 1. In the "front only" mode 12, the rear wheels are held in the center position, and the front wheels may be steered with a standard steering wheel. In the "coordinated" mode 14, the movement of the rear wheels 28 is controlled by operation of the front wheels. However, movement of the rear wheels is opposite in direction relative to movement of the front wheels. In the "crab" mode 16, movement of the rear wheels is dependent on and in the same direction as movement of the front wheels. Finally, in the "independent" mode 18, movement of the front wheels is controlled with a steering wheel, while movement of the rear wheels is controlled by operation of a joystick (see FIGS. 3 and 6).” Col 2 lines 38-53)
[(ii) a rear-steer authority limit as a function of vehicle speed, and
(iii) a steering transition condition for automatically modifying rear steering operation in response to vehicle operating conditions.] (“Reset will only disengage the rear axle when two conditions are met, i.e. 1) the vehicle speed is under 20 mph, and 2) the joystick is in the center position.”, Coll 3 line 64- Col 4 line 1 ). Additionally, Bachhuber teaches the selected [application-specific steering profile defines a rear-steer authority schedule as a function of vehicle speed and a lockout threshold associated with the selected application- specific steering profile] (“The reset switch 60 is a momentary toggle switch which, when thrown, causes the lock-out 32 to disengage the rear axle in order to allow all-wheel steering. Reset will only disengage the rear axle when two conditions are met, i.e. 1) the vehicle speed is under 20 mph, and 2) the joystick is in the center position. Finally, the rotary switch 62 determines the mode in which the system operates. The four positions correspond to the four modes discussed in FIG. 1.” Col 3 lines 63- Col 4 line 4);
[the all-wheel steering control unit progressively reduces rear-steer authority in accordance with the rear-steer authority schedule as vehicle speed increases] (“In the "coordinated" and "crab" modes, the speed at which the rear wheels move through the range angle should be approximately the same as the speed at which the front wheels move through their range angle. When in the "independent" mode, fast changes of the rear steering angle can be dangerous. Therefore, the steering speed of the rear wheels in the "independent" mode should be approximately half of the speed at which the rear wheels move in the "coordinated" and "crab" modes.” Col 6 lines 16-25 and “The reset switch 60 is a momentary toggle switch which, when thrown, causes the lock-out 32 to disengage the rear axle in order to allow all-wheel steering. Reset will only disengage the rear axle when two conditions are met, i.e. 1) the vehicle speed is under 20 mph, and 2) the joystick is in the center position.” Col 3 line 63- Col 4 line 1-emphasis added);
[the all-wheel steering control unit automatically commands the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly to a centered steering position upon reaching the lockout threshold; and
a steering lock mechanism is engaged only after the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly reaches the centered steering position] (“FIG. 3 shows a lock-out indicator light 40 which, when lit, indicates that the rear axle lock-out 32 is disengaged. When the light 40 is not lit, the rear axle lock-out is engaged. The display 40 is important because steering of the rear wheels of a vehicle at even moderate speeds can be dangerous. As will be explained later, the speed at which the lock-out is automatically engaged should normally be set at 20 m.p.h.” Emphasis added Col 3 lines 9-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the control unit of Bachhuber with the vehicle of Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a central location that controls the different driving modes of the wheels. By having a central control unit operate with a plurality of driving modes, the specific driving modes and signals that correspond to them come from a central location that is easier to service and troubleshoot in the event of a fault or error.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang, Raymond, Pultz Pan and Bachhuber fully teach the commercial vehicle wherein:
the commercial vehicle comprises a refuse-collection vehicle configured for repeated stop-and-go operation in urban environments, and the all-wheel steering control unit stores a refuse-collection steering profile configured to maintain rear-steer authority during low-speed collection operations and automatically reduce or disable rear-steer authority when vehicle speed exceeds a designated threshold between collection locations (See modification of Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan in view of Bachhuber in claim 23 above).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang, Raymond, Pultz Pan and Bachhuber fully teach the commercial vehicle wherein the all-wheel steering control unit is configured to:
store a plurality of application-specific steering profiles respectively associated with different commercial vehicle categories;
select one of the application-specific steering profiles based upon at least one of operator input and a vehicle configuration parameter;
control steering operation of the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly in accordance with the selected application-specific steering profile; and
wherein each application-specific steering profile defines at least:
(i) a relationship between front steering angle and rear steering angle,
(ii) a rear-steer authority limit as a function of vehicle speed, and
(iii) a steering transition condition for automatically modifying rear steering operation in response to vehicle operating conditions (See modification of Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan in view of Bachhuber in claim 23 above).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang, Raymond, Pultz, Pan and Bachhuber fully teach a commercial vehicle of claim 25, wherein the selected application-specific steering profile defines arear-steer authority schedule as a function of vehicle speed and a lockout threshold associated with the selected application- specific steering profile;
the all-wheel steering control unit progressively reduces rear-steer authority in accordance with the rear-steer authority schedule as vehicle speed increases;
the all-wheel steering control unit automatically commands the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly to a centered steering position upon reaching the lockout threshold; and
a steering lock mechanism is engaged only after the refurbished steerable drive axle assembly reaches the centered steering position (See modification of Zhang, Raymond, Pultz and Pan in view of Bachhuber in claim 23 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611