DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant is advised the instant application is only entitled to priority as of the filing date of the instant application, 8/13/2024, as opposed to the filing dates of the multiple parent applications for which the instant application seeks priority since neither of the parent applications disclose the subject matter claimed in the instant application (please see the 35 USC 112 rejections below).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/433,106 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,653 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,660 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,662 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,665 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,724 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,727 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,729 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,732 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 recite the limitation “wherein the region is related to an object included in the image”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose these limitations. The examiner notes [0143] of the applicant’s originally filed specification distinguishes block -based encoding from object-based encoding, thus differentiating an object from a block (i.e. a prediction unit (PU block), a coding unit (CU block), a transform unit (TU block) or any combination of such blocks or units such as partitions, slices, and/or regions).
Claims 2-4 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein a size of the filtered image is smaller than a size of an image indicated by encoding information”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “based on a value of a flag obtained from the bitstream, the information related to the regions is determined depending on information included in a previous SEI message”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (Choi) (US 2020/0236377).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a method of decoding an image, comprising:
predicting blocks in the image to generate prediction blocks of the blocks ([0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated and stored);
reconstructing the image based on the prediction blocks ([0058], [0064], [0115], the image is reconstructed using stored prediction blocks); and
identifying a region in the reconstructed image based on information indicating a position of the region ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0122], tile position information is signaled),
wherein the region is related to an object ([0115], i.e. a tile in an image; please see the 35 USC 112(a) rejection regarding interpretation of the word “objects” above) included in the reconstructed image (FIG. 7, [0115], the decoder generates tile groups based on tile characteristic information signaled by the encoder; FIG. 8, step 802, the tile group is reconstructed).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses wherein the information indicating the number of the objects and the information related to the regions are obtained from a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message of the bitstream ([0058], syntax is signaled in a SEI).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses a method of encoding an image, comprising:
predicting blocks in the image to generate prediction blocks of the blocks ([0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated and stored);
reconstructing the image based on the prediction blocks ([0058], [0064], [0115], the image is reconstructed using stored prediction blocks); and
identifying a region in the reconstructed image ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0122], tile position information is signaled); and
generating information indicating a position of the identified region ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0122], tile position information is signaled),
wherein the region is related to an object ([0115], i.e. a tile in an image; please see the 35 USC 112(a) rejection regarding interpretation of the word “objects” above) included in the reconstructed image (FIG. 7, [0115], the decoder generates tile groups based on tile characteristic information signaled by the encoder; FIG. 8, step 802, the tile group is reconstructed).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above. Choi further discloses transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 4, the bitstream is transmitted via channel 460).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ratner et al. (Ratner) (US 2017/0078664) ([0028]-[0030], [0033], objects are counted to generate a mask and the frame is partitioned based on the generated mask).
Park et al. (Park) (US 2018/0139453) ([0147], split direction information is signaled; [0152], [0157], partition location and size information is signaled).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488