DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant is advised the instant application is only entitled to priority as of the filing date of the instant application, 8/13/2024, as opposed to the filing dates of the multiple parent applications for which the instant application seeks priority since neither of the parent applications disclose the subject matter claimed in the instant application (please see the 35 USC 112 rejections below).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/433,106 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,653 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,657 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,660 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,665 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,724 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,727 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,729 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,732 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5, and 6 recite the limitation “wherein the region is related to an object included in the filtered image”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose these limitations. The examiner notes [0143] of the applicant’s originally filed specification distinguishes block -based encoding from object-based encoding, thus differentiating an object (i.e. such as a physical object which is detected in an image) from a block (i.e. a prediction unit (PU block), a coding unit (CU block), a transform unit (TU block) or any combination of such blocks or units such as partitions, slices, and/or regions).
Claims 2-4 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein a size of the filtered image is smaller than a size of an image indicated by encoding information”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “based on a value of a flag obtained from the bitstream, the information related to the regions is determined depending on information included in a previous SEI message”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claims 1, 5, and 6 recite the limitation “obtaining information indicating a position of a region in the filtered image from a bitstream (claim 1)” and “identifying a region in the filtered image (claims 5 and 6)”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (Choi) (US 2020/0236377).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a method of decoding an image, comprising:
predicting blocks in the image to generate prediction blocks of the blocks ([0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
generating residual blocks of blocks of the image ([0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
reconstructing the image based on the prediction blocks and the residual blocks ([0058], [0064], [0115], the image is reconstructed using stored prediction blocks; [0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
filtering the reconstructed image to generate a filtered image ([0065] loop filtering is applied to the image which is reconstructed at adder 355);
obtaining information indicating a position of a region in the filtered image from a bitstream ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0122], tile position information is signaled; please see the 35 USC 112a rejection regarding this limitation above); and
identifying the region based on the information ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0122], tile position information is signaled),
wherein the region is related to an object ([0115], i.e. a tile in an image; please see the 35 USC 112(a) rejection regarding interpretation of the word “objects” above; [0133], tile groups (regions) are generated based on detected objects such as walls in an image) included in the filtered image (FIG. 7, [0115], the decoder generates tile groups based on tile characteristic information signaled by the encoder; FIG. 8, step 802, the tile group is reconstructed after filter 356).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses wherein the information indicating the number of the objects and the information related to the regions are obtained from a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message of the bitstream ([0058], syntax is signaled in a SEI).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses a method of encoding an image, comprising:
predicting blocks in the image to generate prediction blocks of the blocks ([0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
generating residual blocks of blocks of the image ([0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
reconstructing the image based on the prediction blocks and the residual blocks ([0058], [0064], [0115], the image is reconstructed using stored prediction blocks; [0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
filtering the reconstructed image to generate a filtered image ([0065] loop filtering is applied to the image which is reconstructed at adder 355);
identifying a region in the filtered image ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0122], tile position information is signaled; please see the 35 USC 112a rejection regarding this limitation above); and
generating information indicating a position of the identified region please see the 35 USC 112a rejection regarding this limitation above,
wherein the region is related to an object (FIG. 7, [0115], the decoder generates tile groups based on tile characteristic information signaled by the encoder; FIG. 8, step 802, the tile group is reconstructed after filter 356) included in the filtered image (FIG. 8, step 802, the tile group is reconstructed after filter 356).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above. Choi further discloses transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 4, the bitstream is transmitted via channel 460).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (Choi) (US 2020/0236377) in view of Seregin et al. (Seregin) (US 2021/0051341).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Choi is silent about wherein a size of the filtered image is smaller than a size of an image indicated by encoding information.
Seregin from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a size of the filtered image (FIG. 9, filter unit 91 filters the output image) is smaller than a size of an image indicated by encoding information ([0128], [0163], a size of a current image and a desired different output image size is signaled where the output picture size is determined by a signaled conformance window size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Seregin into the teachings of Choi for adapting an image size to a desired image size.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ratner et al. (Ratner) (US 2017/0078664) ([0028]-[0030], [0033], objects are counted to generate a mask and the frame is partitioned based on the generated mask).
Park et al. (Park) (US 2018/0139453) ([0147], split direction information is signaled; [0152], [0157], partition location and size information is signaled).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488