DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 19/439,680 on January 5, 2026. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 5, 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4-7, 14 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites aspects of an offset factor based on the rectangular arrays. This level of detail is not taught by the prior art. Claims 5-7 depend from Claim 4.
Claim 14 recites similar aspects to Claim 4, i.e. on the offsets, and the above reasoning is applicable here as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-3, 8-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waldern et al. ( US 2020/0386947 A1 ).
Waldern teaches in Claim 1:
A waveguide for an augmented reality or virtual reality display ( [0002] discloses waveguide devices, notably holographic waveguide displays ), the waveguide comprising:
an output region to:
receive image-bearing light propagating within the waveguide under total internal reflection (TIR) ( Figure 3, [0087] discloses details of total internal reflection ); and
outcouple the image-bearing light in multiple different directions toward a viewer through diffractive interactions ( Figure 3, [0010] discloses expanding and extracting towards a viewer. Figures 3 and 5 disclose multiple/different directions for output of light ),
wherein the output region comprises a plurality of zones ( Figure 3 shows various indices/zones, such as 301-307 ), each zone having optical structures with diffraction efficiencies ( [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20 ) to:
outcouple light propagating in a first direction; and outcouple light propagating in a second direction different from the first direction ( Figure 3, for example, shows different directions for expansion and reflecting the light ), wherein the diffraction efficiencies of the optical structures of at least two of the plurality of zones differ from each other to reduce rainbow artifacts visible to a viewer. ( [0047] discloses the concept of multiplexed reflection and transmission can reduce banding and other illumination artifacts occurring in waveguides )
Waldern teaches in Claim 2:
The waveguide of claim 1, wherein:
each of the at least two of the plurality of zones has a non-zero diffraction efficiency for:
a first interaction outcoupling the light propagating in the first direction; and a second interaction outcoupling the light propagating in the second direction ( Figure 3 shows the output in at least two directions for at least two of the areas. In light of Figures 18 and 20, it is clear that this is a non-zero efficiency ),
such that the light outcoupled by the first interaction and the second interaction in each of the at least two zones is non-evanescent. ( Respectfully, the light is output at some efficiency to the viewer, meaning it is non-evanescent, i.e. not disappearing, etc. )
Waldern teaches in Claim 3:
The waveguide of claim 1, wherein:
each of the at least two of the plurality of zones comprises:
a first rectangular periodic array of optical structures arranged on a plane defined by the first and second directions, a period of the first rectangular periodic array being defined by a spacing between neighboring optical structures of the first rectangular periodic array, the first rectangular periodic array forming a first 2D lattice with rectangular symmetry ( Figure 3 shows two different directions of layout, namely horizontally and vertically and the areas are rectangular shaped and formed in two dimensions, as shown ); and
a second rectangular periodic array of optical structures arranged on the plane, a period of the second rectangular periodic array being defined by a spacing between neighboring optical structures of the second rectangular periodic array, the second rectangular periodic array forming a second 2D lattice with rectangular symmetry ( The same reasoning above is also applied here as well for other shown elements in Figure 3, namely arranged in the other of the horizontal and vertical directions. These are also rectangular in shape and formed in two dimensions ); and
the first rectangular periodic array is overlaid on the second rectangular periodic array in the plane such that the arrays are spatially offset from one another on the plane. ( Figure 3 shows the horizontally and vertically aligned elements being offset from each other )
Waldern teaches in Claim 8:
The waveguide of claim 1, wherein: the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction. ( Figure 3 shows the perpendicular output of the two directions )
Waldern teaches in Claim 9:
The waveguide of claim 1, wherein:
the optical structures of each of the at least two of the plurality of zones diffracts at least a portion of light to turn such that it is caused to propagate under TIR within the waveguide in a direction that is different from a direction in which it is propagating prior to the turning. ( Figure 3, [0048], [0069] discloses details of diffraction within the waveguide and how it is different based on the elements 301-307. The different diffraction aspects impacts the outcoupling as well as the efficiency of the light being output in direction as well )
Waldern teaches in Claim 10:
The waveguide of claim 9, wherein:
the turning turns the light to propagate in a direction that is perpendicular to the direction in which it is propagating prior to the turning. ( [0050]-[0055] disclose aspects of the vectors and this is based on the gratings 306/303 (or 302/303) which are separated by each other horizontally and vertically. To clarify, please note 304 and 305 and note how it is perpendicular to the element it outputs from )
Waldern teaches in Claim 11:
The waveguide of claim 9, wherein:
the plurality of zones further comprises a third zone in addition to the at least two zones;
the third zone receives light propagating under TIR within the waveguide before interacting with either of the at least two zones, the third zone having a diffraction efficiency for the turning that is higher than the diffraction efficiency of the third zone of both the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction and the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction; the third zone is located in the first direction from a first zone of the at least two zones; and the first zone has a diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction that is greater than a diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction of the third zone. ( Respectfully, Figure 3 shows multiple areas 301-307, clearly indicative of a claimed third zone. Furthermore, there are at least two such areas which propagate in the same direction. Furthermore, each area has its own diffraction gratings, resulting in different efficiencies )
Waldern teaches in Claim 12:
The waveguide of claim 11, wherein: the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction in a second zone of the at least two zones is greater than: the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction in the first zone; and the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction in the third zone. ( From Claim 1: [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20. To expand on this, the regions 301-307 have different grating aspects which result in different efficiencies (as shown in Figueres 18 and 20) and it clear some regions of 301-307 will have less and greater efficiency than others )
Waldern teaches in Claim 13:
The waveguide of claim 11, wherein: the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction in a second zone of the at least two zones is greater than: the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction in the first zone; and the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction in the third zone. ( From Claim 1: [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20. To expand on this, the regions 301-307 have different grating aspects which result in different efficiencies (as shown in Figueres 18 and 20) and it clear some regions of 301-307 will have less and greater efficiency than others )
Waldern teaches in Claim 16:
The waveguide of claim 1, wherein:
the at least two zones comprises a first zone and a second zone;
the second zone has a diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction that is greater than the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction in the second zone; and the second zone has a diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction that is less than the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction in the first zone. ( From Claim 1: [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20. To expand on this, the regions 301-307 have different grating aspects which result in different efficiencies (as shown in Figueres 18 and 20) and it clear some regions of 301-307 will have less and greater efficiency than others )
Waldern teaches in Claim 17:
The waveguide of claim 1, wherein:
a first zone of the at least two zones has a diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction on that is greater than the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction in the first zone ( From Claim 1: [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20. To expand on this, the regions 301-307 have different grating aspects which result in different efficiencies (as shown in Figueres 18 and 20) and it clear some regions of 301-307 will have less and greater efficiency than others ); and
the first zone comprises optical structures that are continuous along the second direction. ( Figure 3 shows the regions 301-307. [0022], etc, disclose Bragg gratings, and other optical elements which make up (read as continuous) through each of the regions )
Waldern teaches in Claim 18:
The waveguide of claim 1, wherein:
a first zone of the at least two zones has a diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the second direction that is greater than the diffraction efficiency of the outcoupling of light propagating in the first direction in the first zone ( From Claim 1: [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20. To expand on this, the regions 301-307 have different grating aspects which result in different efficiencies (as shown in Figueres 18 and 20) and it clear some regions of 301-307 will have less and greater efficiency than others ); and
the first zone comprises optical structures that are continuous along the first direction. ( Figure 3 shows the regions 301-307. [0022], etc, disclose Bragg gratings, and other optical elements which make up (read as continuous) through each of the regions )
Waldern teaches in Claim 19:
An augmented reality or virtual reality display comprising a waveguide ( [0002] discloses waveguide devices, notably holographic waveguide displays ), the waveguide comprising an output region to:
receive image-bearing light propagating within the waveguide under total internal reflection (TIR) ( Figure 3, [0087] discloses details of total internal reflection ); and
outcouple the image-bearing light in multiple different directions toward a viewer through diffractive interactions ( Figure 3, [0010] discloses expanding and extracting towards a viewer. Figures 3 and 5 disclose multiple/different directions for output of light ),
wherein the output region comprises a plurality of zones ( Figure 3 shows various indices/zones, such as 301-307 ), each zone having optical structures with diffraction efficiencies ( [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20 ) to:
outcouple light propagating in a first direction; and outcouple light propagating in a second direction different from the first direction ( Figure 3, for example, shows different directions for expansion and reflecting the light ),
wherein the diffraction efficiencies of the optical structures of at least two of the plurality of zones differ from each other to reduce rainbow artifacts visible to a viewer. ( [0047] discloses the concept of multiplexed reflection and transmission can reduce banding and other illumination artifacts occurring in waveguides )
Waldern teaches in Claim 20:
A method ( [0002] discloses waveguide devices, notably holographic waveguide displays ) comprising:
receiving image-bearing light propagating under total internal reflection (TIR) within a waveguide ( Figure 3, [0087] discloses details of total internal reflection ) at a plurality of zones of an output region of the waveguide ( Figure 3 shows various indices/zones, such as 301-307 ); and
outcoupling the image-bearing light in multiple different directions toward a viewer through diffractive interactions ( Figure 3, [0010] discloses expanding and extracting towards a viewer. Figures 3 and 5 disclose multiple/different directions for output of light ),
wherein each zone of the plurality of zones has optical structures with diffraction efficiencies ( [0055], [0051] disclose efficiency for various gratings and various configurations. Depending on the given application, gratings of various designs/efficiencies (affected by different prescriptions) result in different output aspects, such as efficiency, as shown in Figures 18 and 20 ) to:
outcouple light propagating in a first direction; and outcouple light propagating in a second direction different from the first direction ( Figure 3, for example, shows different directions for expansion and reflecting the light ),
wherein the diffraction efficiencies of the optical structures of at least two of the plurality of zones differ from each other to reduce rainbow artifacts visible to a viewer. ( [0047] discloses the concept of multiplexed reflection and transmission can reduce banding and other illumination artifacts occurring in waveguides )
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621