DETAILED ACTION
This is office action on the merits in response to the application filed on 09/11/2026.
Claims 1-20 have been filed by the applicant.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are presently amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Argument
Rejection under 101:
The applicant argues that the claims provide a technical solution to prevent exposure of user PII by a specific architecture and a specific message flow. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim recites a process to receive send/receiver tokens, translating send/receiver tokens for PANs, and using PANs to make transaction. The additional elements are mere generic computer components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea, and not a technological solution. Besides generic computer components, the elements in the claims that facilitate P2P payments to be made using a token PAN are akin to mental activity and/or methods of organizing human activity. Furthermore, the claims recite "receiving" and "communicating" via a payment card rail, which is merely a generic network component used as a path for the claimed data. Moreover, the "payment card rail" can be interpreted as outside the scope of the claims. For example, in claim 1 the "payment card rail" is not necessarily part of the claimed system, and therefore only tangentially related to the structure claimed.
The applicant further argues that the amended limitation "a P2P transfer advice request that does not contain personally identifiable information (PII)" further integrates the purported abstract idea into a practical application. The examiner respectfully disagrees. PII is just data, instead of a specific modification or improvement to the system, the applicant has not shown how “not requiring PII” provides a practical application.
Therefore, 101 rejection is maintained.
Regard claims 1-8, Applicant advised to amend the claim reciting "non-transitory computer readable media” to overcome rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Rejection under 103:
The applicant argues that Kumnick is directed to person-to-merchant payment types which is different from P2P payment type, so one of ordinary skill in the art would not interpret the token in a P2M context to a P2P context. The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Kumnick is not cited to teach send/receiver tokens. Lavender disclose the process of receiving send/receiver tokens and detokenizing send/receiver tokens. Kumnick is cited to teach the arrangement of a standalone token vault. Secondly, Kumnick discloses in [0047] that the system can be applied on both P2M and P2P transaction.
The applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine Kumnick with Lavender because Lavender is directed to P2P but Kumnick is directed to P2M. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Kumnick discloses an embodiment of making transaction with merchant, Kumnick also stated that its system can be applied on P2P transaction. Both Lavender and Kumnick are directed to performing P2P transaction using tokenized PAN to protect data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lavender and Kumnick.
The applicant further argues that the stated rationale does not appear to explain why a person of ordinary skill would modify Lavender with Kumnick. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As both Lavender and Kumnick discloses a P2P transaction, it would have been obvious to combine them to improve efficiency, security and transparency as provided by Kumnick.
The applicant further argues that claims 6 and 14 recite translate both sender and receiver tokens, but Kumnick discloses detokenizing a payment token. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Kumnick is fully capable of processing P2P transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious that Kumnick is capable of detokenize all payment tokens that is included in the transaction, whether it is sender or receiver token.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable media typically covers form of non-transitory tangible medial and transitory propagating signal per se in when specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijted, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed cir 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C 101, Aug 24, 2009; p. 2. 7. Applicant advised to amend the claim reciting "non-transitory computer readable media” to overcome rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
In the instant case, claims 9-16 are directed to a system comprising a memory and a processor, claims 17-20 are directed to a method. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The limitations of independent claim 1, which is representative of independent claims 9 and 17, have been denoted with letters by the Examiner for easy reference. The judicial exceptions recited in claim 1 are identified in bold below:
One or more computer-readable storage media having instructions stored thereon that when executed by a processing system, direct the processing system to:
receive, at a sender account holding institution (AHI) system from a user device associated with a sender, a person-to-person (P2P) transfer request comprising at least a receiver token PAN corresponding to a receiver account of a receiver;
obtain a sender token PAN corresponding to a sender account of the sender;
communicate, to an enhanced processing platform via a payment card rail, a P2P transfer advice request that does not contain personally identifiable information (PII), the P2P transfer advice request comprising at least the sender token PAN and the receiver token PAN;
receive, from the enhanced processing platform, an account authorization message comprising at least a sender account number corresponding to the sender account and a receiver account number corresponding to the receiver account; and
provide, to a receiver account holding institution (AHI) system via the payment card rail, funds to be transferred from the sender account associated with the sender account number to the receiver account associated with the receiver account number
Limitations B-C and F under the broadest reasonable interpretation covers steps or functions that are making transaction. Other than reciting generic computer hardware in limitation A and D-F, nothing in the claim element differentiates the limitation from making transaction. Therefore, limitations B-C and F recite an abstract idea, as highlighted above, that is consistent with the commercial interactions aspects of certain methods of organizing human activities.
Furthermore, limitation D-F recites process of detokenization which is mitigating risks. Therefore, recites an economics interactions aspect of the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, claim 1, and by analogy similar claims 9 and 17, recite at least two abstract ideas and the analysis proceed to Step 2A.2.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional elements in bold below:
One or more computer-readable storage media having instructions stored thereon that when executed by a processing system, direct the processing system to:
receive, at a sender account holding institution (AHI) system from a user device associated with a sender, a person-to-person (P2P) transfer request comprising at least a receiver token PAN corresponding to a receiver account of a receiver;
obtain a sender token PAN corresponding to a sender account of the sender;
communicate, to an enhanced processing platform via a payment card rail, a P2P transfer advice request that does not contain personally identifiable information (PII), the P2P transfer advice request comprising at least the sender token PAN and the receiver token PAN;
receive, from the enhanced processing platform, an account authorization message comprising at least a sender account number corresponding to the sender account and a receiver account number corresponding to the receiver account; and
provide, to a receiver account holding institution (AHI) system via the payment card rail, funds to be transferred from the sender account associated with the sender account number to the receiver account associated with the receiver account number
The additional element(s) in limitation A are recited at a high level of generality (e.g., consistent. The “platform” and “network” elements of limitations D-F merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not recite any additional elements indicative of integration into a practical application. Rather, the claim as whole generally links the judicial exception to a technological environment defined by high level recitations of a computer and the Internet. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea and the analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
The additional elements, both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the outcome of the considerations at Step 2B will be the same when the considerations from Step 2A.2 are reevaluated. As discussed under Step 2A.2, the additional element(s) amount to no more than generally link the abstract idea to a technological environment through “instructions” performed by a generic computer. Because those instructions embody the abstract idea, the claim itself is merely a recitation of the abstract idea and an instruction to “apply it” on a computer. This is not enough to provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claims 1, 9, and 17 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 10 and 18 further recite the receiver token PAN in the P2P request is in a form of QR code which merely describes the data itself and does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional element of QR code generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The additional elements fail to recite a practical application nor significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 3, 11 and 19 further recites the sender token PAN does not contain PII which merely describes the data itself and does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 4, 12 and 20 further recites identifying sender token PAN which further recites the abstract idea of commercial interactions. The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 5 and 13 further recites the P2P request comprises the sender token PAN which further recites the abstract idea of commercial interactions. The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 6 and 14 further recites translating token PAN, which is detokenization, further recites the abstract idea of mitigating risks. The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 7 and 15 further recites authorizing fund transfer from sender account to receiver account which further recites the abstract idea of commercial interactions. The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 8 and 16 further the sender initiated the P2P request which further recites the abstract idea of commercial interactions. The element of “PII secure P2P payment” merely describes the type of the request but does not integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea to a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
In summary, the dependent claims considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender (US 20170272253 A1), and further in view of Judd (US 20030233317 A1) and Kumnick (US 20150319158 A1).
With respect to claim 1, 9 and 17:
Lavender teaches (in italic):
receive, […] from a sender, a person-to-person (P2P) transfer request comprising at least a receiver token PAN corresponding to a receiver account of a receiver; obtain a sender token PAN corresponding to a sender account of the sender. (Peer-to-peer transactions allow individuals to directly exchange information and value. Peer-to-peer transactions can be enabled by intermediary applications, such as a digital wallet provider. A “token” may be a substitute value for a credential. At step S506, the coordination application may cause the sender device 510 to send a payment instruction and associated cryptogram to the coordination computer 515 (which may be a computer that provides digital wallet services). The payment instruction can include the sender token, the amount, the receiver-identifying information (e.g., an alias, contact information, a token, a wallet identifier, or a device identifier), and/or any other suitable information. [0002 0044-0045 0113])
a P2P transfer advice request that does not contain personally identifiable information (PII). (The payment instruction can include the sender token, the amount, the receiver-identifying formation (e.g., a token ), and/or any other suitable information. [0113]). None of which contain PII in the context of Paragraph.
provide, to a receiver account holding institution (AHI) system via the payment card rail, funds to be transferred from the sender account associated with the sender account number to the receiver account associated with the receiver account number. (At step S518, the coordination computer 515 may send the transfer instruction to the interaction processing computer 550. At step S522, the interaction processing computer 550 may de-tokenize the sender's payment token and/or the receiver's payment token. The interaction processing computer 550 can identify a set of sender payment credentials (e.g., a payment account number) associated with the sender's payment token. The interaction processing computer 550 can similarly obtain a set of receiver payment credentials associated with the receiver's payment token. the interaction processing computer 550 may coordinate the transfer of funds from the sender's account at the sending institution computer 560 to the receiver's account at the receiving instituting computer 530. [0122 0128 0129])
Lavender does not expressly disclose that the "receive, at a sender account holding institution (AHI) system from a user device associated with a sender, a person-to-person (P2P) transfer request".
However, the Examiner finds that the hardware/software structure of the "interaction processing computer 550" is at least capable of performing the function at issue, i.e., receive a P2P transfer request from a sender account holding institution (AHI) system (see at least fig. 1). Accordingly, the claim limitation does not distinguish the structure of the claimed system from the structure of Lavender's system.
Nevertheless, Judd also teaches receive, at a sender account holding institution (AHI) system from a user device associated with a sender, a person-to-person (P2P) transfer request (If the sender 485 is using a remote device, such as a computer running on-line banking software provided by the sending institution, the identification information is provided in accordance with the protocols established by the sending financial institution with the software. At block 412, the customer selects a transfer function, such as on the sending financial institution's ATM device or through software, so that information may be provided to generate the transfer request. To generate the transfer request, the customer may identify the sender account at block 416, enter the PAN of the receiver account at block 420, enter the transfer amount at block 424, and perhaps also enter an optional text message to accompany the transfer request at block 428. [0042-0045]).
Therefore, even if Lavender's computer 550 is not capable of the "receive " functionality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Lavender's computer to be capable of receiving a P2P transfer advice request from a sender AHI system, as taught by Judd. One would have been motivated to do so because such modification to computer 550 would allow computer 550 to process transfer requests that originate through a sender AHI.
Lavender in view of Judd does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However,
Kumnick teaches:
communicate, to an enhanced processing platform via a payment card rail, a P2P transfer advice request comprising at least the sender token PAN and the receiver token PAN. (At step S630, the transaction processing network 140 may determine that a payment token is included in the authorization request message. The transaction processing network 140 may send a de-tokenization request to the token vault 110, the de-tokenization request including the payment token, the token code, the domain ID, and/or any other suitable information. [0132])
receive, from the enhanced processing platform via the payment card rail, an account authorization message comprising at least a sender account number corresponding to the sender account and a receiver account number corresponding to the receiver account. (The token vault 110 may confirm that the mobile device 315 is authorized to use the payment token. At step S634, the token vault 110 may identify the payment credentials (e.g., the PAN) that are associated with the payment token in the token database 110C (e.g., via the de-tokenization module 110G). At step S636, the token vault 110 may send a de-tokenization response to the transaction processing network 140, the de-tokenization response including the payment credentials. [0133-0135])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lavender in view of Judd to detokenize the token to get PAN with the technique as disclosed by Kumnick to enhance transaction efficiency, improve transaction security, increase service transparency as Kumnick suggested [0030].
Claim 9, a system with the same scope as claim 1, is rejected.
Claim 17, a method with the same scope as claim 1, is rejected.
With respect to claim 2, 10 and 18:
Kumnick further teaches wherein the receiver token PAN received in the P2P transfer request is received in a form of a QR code. (In one example, the digital wallet application 315F may generate single data element such as an NFC transmission packet or a QR code including the token 315N, the token code 315Q, and the domain ID 315P, and any other suitable information. [0076])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lavender to utilizing QR code with the technique as disclosed by Kumnick to enhance transaction efficiency, improve transaction security, increase service transparency as Kumnick suggested [0030].
Claim 10, a system with the same scope as claim 2, is rejected.
Claim 18, a method with the same scope as claim 2, is rejected.
With respect to claim 3, 11 and 19:
Lavender further teaches wherein the sender token PAN and the receiver token PAN do not contain personally identifiable information. (A “payment token” may include an identifier for a payment account that is a substitute for an account identifier, such as a primary account number (PAN). For example, a token may include a series of alphanumeric characters that may be used as a substitute for an original account identifier. For example, a token “4900 0000 0000 0001” may be used in place of a PAN “4147 0900 0000 1234.” [0045])
Claim 11, a system with the same scope as claim 3, is rejected.
Claim 19, a method with the same scope as claim 3, is rejected.
With respect to claim 4, 12 and 20:
Lavender further teaches wherein the instructions to obtain the sender token PAN further direct the processing system to: identify the sender token PAN corresponding to a sender identifier received in the P2P transfer request. (The payment instruction can include the sender token, the amount, the receiver-identifying information (e.g., an alias, contact information, a token, a wallet identifier, or a device identifier), and/or any other suitable information. [0113])
Claim 12, a system with the same scope as claim 4, is rejected.
Claim 20, a method with the same scope as claim 4, is rejected.
With respect to claim 5 and 13:
Lavender further teaches wherein the P2P transfer request further comprises the sender token PAN. (The payment instruction can include the sender token, the amount, the receiver-identifying information (e.g., an alias, contact information, a token, a wallet identifier, or a device identifier), and/or any other suitable information. [0113])
Claim 13, a system with the same scope as claim 5, is rejected.
With respect to claim 6 and 14:
Kumnick further teaches wherein the P2P transfer advice request is a request to translate the sender token PAN into the corresponding sender account number and the receiver token PAN into the corresponding receiver account number. (At step S630, the transaction processing network 140 may determine that a payment token is included in the authorization request message. The transaction processing network 140 may send a de-tokenization request to the token vault 110, the de-tokenization request including the payment token, the token code, the domain ID, and/or any other suitable information. [0132])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lavender to convert token to PAN with the technique as disclosed by Kumnick to enhance transaction efficiency, improve transaction security, increase service transparency as Kumnick suggested [0030].
Claim 14, a system with the same scope as claim 6, is rejected.
With respect to claim 7 and 15:
Lavender further teaches wherein the account authorization message authorizes funds to be transferred from the sender account associated with the sender account number to the receiver account associated with the receiver account number. (The interaction processing computer 550 can identify a set of sender payment credentials (e.g., a payment account number) associated with the sender's payment token. The interaction processing computer 550 can similarly obtain a set of receiver payment credentials associated with the receiver's payment token. the interaction processing computer 550 may coordinate the transfer of funds from the sender's account at the sending institution computer 560 to the receiver's account at the receiving instituting computer 530. [0122 0128 0129])
Claim 15, a system with the same scope as claim 7, is rejected.
With respect to claim 8 and 16:
Lavender further teaches wherein the P2P transfer request is a request for a sender-initiated (Push) PII secure P2P payment. (At step S506, the coordination application may cause the sender device 510 to send a payment instruction and associated cryptogram to the coordination computer 515 (which may be a computer that provides digital wallet services). The payment instruction can include the sender token, the amount, the receiver-identifying information (e.g., an alias, contact information, a token, a wallet identifier, or a device identifier), and/or any other suitable information. [0113])
Claim 16, a system with the same scope as claim 8, is rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120259782 A1: Embodiments of the present invention are directed generally to systems, methods, and apparatuses for authenticating a cardholder using multiple tokenization authentication. Embodiments of the invention are directed at a method. The method includes receiving at a first entity a first token from a consumer and determining a second token associated with the first token. Once the second token is determined, the second token is sent to a server computer at a second entity. The server computer then determines an account identifier associated with the second token and processes a transaction using the account identifier.
US 20150032627 A1: A network token system provides a platform that can be leveraged by external entities (e.g., third party wallets, e-commerce merchants, payment enablers/payment service providers, etc.) or internal payment processing network systems that have the need to use the tokens to facilitate payment transactions. A token registry vault can provide interfaces for various token requestors (e.g., mobile device, issuers, merchants, mobile wallet providers, etc.), merchants, acquirers, issuers, and payment processing network systems to request generation, use and management of tokens. The network token system further provides services such as card registration, token generation, token issuance, token authentication and activation, token exchange, and token life-cycle management.
US 20160321652 A1: Embodiments are directed to systems and methods for performing consumer authentication in a tokenized transaction. The token in the authentication request may be resolved to corresponding credentials before the consumer authentication process is initiated.
US 20240281777 A1: Systems, methods, and computer-readable storage media for performing a peer-to-peer (P2P) transfer by a third-party, where a method includes receiving transfer information and a first token including sender information of a sender and a second token including receiver information of a receiver, processing the first token and the second token, transmitting a request for a guarantee, receiving an issued guarantee, transferring funds, and transmitting a transfer confirmation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.X./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698