DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,6-11,13-18, and 20, 21 of U.S. Patent No.US 12,518,296 in view of Lee et al. (US 2006/0155763). Claims 1, 8 and 15 recites receiving a replacement object from an object serve, identifying a layer based on metadata, and replacing the current object in the identified layer. Lee teaches at [0057] updating a loop by replacing existing content with modified content. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the current and replacement objects of the patented method as selectable objects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 - 8, 12 - 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2006/0155763) in view of Leskela et al. (US 2011/0246916) in further view of Billmaier et al. (US 2004/0181804)
Claims 1,8, and 15: Lee discloses computer-implemented method for dynamically adjusting a screensaver while in a display loop on a display device, comprising:
initiating, by at least one computer processor of a media device in communication with the display device, the screensaver in a display loop on the display device, wherein the screensaver and wherein the display loop comprises horizontally scrolling the screensaver on the display device; ([0028], he client 102 has a media engine 104 coupled to the client 102 for creating and/or generating at least one loop 106. The media engine 104 may also play the loop 106. A loop player comprises the graphical representation of the media engine 104. The media engine 104 may be installed onto the client 102 by a single input. [0030] In one embodiment, the loop 106 scrolls, or is otherwise played, across a display associated with the client 102. In some embodiments, the loop 106 may be manipulated by a user of the client 102 to stop, speed up, or slow down the scrolling of the loop 106, and/or any other type of manipulation. The client 102 may have more than one loop 106 that scrolls across the display at one time[0120], that scrolls across a display device, as a miniature version of the loop(s) 106, as a screen saver for a computing device)
displaying, during a first loop of the display loop, a first portion of the screensaver on the
display device; ([0120], that scrolls across a display device, as a miniature version of the loop(s) 106, as a screen saver for a computing device) But does not explicitly disclose
displaying, during the first loop of the display loop, a second portion of the screensaver on the display device such that the first portion of the screensaver is positioned off-screen of the display device; transmitting an object request to an object server while the second portion of the screensaver is displayed during the first loop of the display loop, and wherein the object request includes a request for a replacement object; identifying, based on metadata of the replacement object, an object type and a layer in the plurality of layers for inserting the replacement object, identifying, based on the object type, an object to be replaced in the identified layer;
replacing, while the second portion of the screensaver is displayed during the first loop, the
object to be replaced with the replacement object; and displaying, during a second loop of the display loop, the first portion of the screensaver with the replacement object.
However Leskela disclose comprises a plurality of layers including a background layer, a middle layer, and a foreground layer, wherein the identified layer comprises one of the background layer, the middle layer, or the foreground layer; ([0079], bring a semi-transparent user interface layer to the foreground (e.g., overlying a second user interface layer), send a semi-transparent user interface layer to the background (e.g., underlying a second user interface layer) [0081], , the interface control circuitry 120 may be configured to cause a semi-transparent user interface layer to be displayed in the middle of a stack of user interface layers. As another example, the interface control circuitry 120 may be configured to cause display of a semi-transparent user interface layer in between a stack of two or more displayed windows.)
identifying, based on metadata of the replacement object, an object type and a layer in the plurality of layers for inserting the replacement object, identifying, based on the object type, an object to be replaced in the identified layer; ([0071] a user may view metadata or other more descriptive data associated with the content item without fully opening or consuming the content item in the second user interface layer (e.g., main user interface layer).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Lee to include a plurality of layers including a background layer, a middle layer, and a foreground layer, wherein the identified layer comprises one of the background layer, the middle layer, or the foreground layer; identifying, based on metadata of the replacement object, an object type and a layer in the plurality of layers for inserting the replacement object, identifying, based on the object type, an object to be replaced in the identified layer; in order to display additional content concurrently without interfering with content displayed in another layer . ([0003],Leskela) Lee and Leskelaut do not explicitly disclose displaying, during the first loop of the display loop, a second portion of the screensaver on the display device such that the first portion of the screensaver is positioned off-screen of the display device; transmitting an object request to an object server while the second portion of the screensaver is displayed during the first loop of the display loop, and wherein the object request includes a request for a replacement object; However Billmaier discloses displaying, during the first loop of the display loop, a second portion of the screensaver on the display device such that the first portion of the screensaver is positioned off-screen of the display device; ([0042] Typically, one or more cards 200 in a sequence 300 are not displayed. These off-screen or hidden cards may be dynamically changed, replaced, or updated during navigation, e.g., a card 200 representing an advertisement may change from one sponsor to another.) transmitting an object request to an object server while the second portion of the screensaver is displayed during the first loop of the display loop, and wherein the object request includes a request for a replacement object; replacing, while the second portion of the screensaver is displayed during the first loop, the
object to be replaced with the replacement object; [0042 and 0043]and
displaying, during a second loop of the display loop, the first portion of the screensaver with the replacement object. ([0033] In response to a single user action, the cards 200 in a sequence 300 are successively displayed within the focus area 302. Where the sequence 300 is circular, the successive display of cards 200 may continue indefinitely until halted by the user by a subsequent action, as described more fully below.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Lee and Leskelaut to include a displaying, during the first loop of the display loop, a second portion of the screensaver on the display device such that the first portion of the screensaver is positioned off-screen of the display device; displaying, during a second loop of the display loop, the first portion of the screensaver with the replacement object, in order to update replace content while that content is outside the displayed portion ([0042], Billmaire)
Claims 5, 12, 19: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the replacement object is a replacement interactive object, wherein the object to be replaced comprises an interactive component, and wherein replacing the object to be replaced further comprises: [0075]
replacing the interactive component with the replacement interactive object, wherein the
replacement interactive object is configured to be user-selectable; [0082]and
displaying additional content associated with the replacement interactive object responsive to receiving a user selection of the replacement interactive object. [0083 and 0084]
Claims 6, 13, 20: Lee discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the metadata further comprises a user personalization parameter, and wherein identifying the object to be placed further comprises:
identifying, based on the object type and the user personalization parameter, the object to be replaced in the identified layer. [0088]
Claims 7, 14: Lee discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the user personalization parameter comprises at least one of user browser history, user viewing history, user purchasing history, and user settings associated with the media device. [0084]
Claim(s) 2 - 4, 9 - 11, and 16 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2006/0155763) in view of Leskela et al. (US 2011/0246916) in further view of Billmaier et al. (US 2004/0181804) in further view of Park-Ekecs et al. (US 2014/0215383) hereinafter referred to as Park.
Claims 2, 9, 16: Lee discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the first portion of the screensaver comprises displaying the background layer at a first scrolling speed, the middle layer at a second scrolling speed, and the foreground layer at a third scrolling speed. However, Park discloses wherein displaying the first portion of the screensaver comprises displaying the background layer at a first scrolling speed, the middle layer at a second scrolling speed, and the foreground layer at a third scrolling speed. [0033]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Lee, Leskela, Billmaier to include a wherein displaying the first portion of the screensaver comprises displaying the background layer at a first scrolling speed, the middle layer at a second scrolling speed, and the foreground layer at a third scrolling speed, in order to create the illusion of depth and increase visual immersion.
Claims 3, 10, 17: Lee discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first scrolling speed, the second scrolling speed, and the third scrolling speed are different from each other. However, Park discloses wherein the first scrolling speed, the second scrolling speed, and the third scrolling speed are different from each other. [0033]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Lee, Leskela, Billmaier to include wherein the first scrolling speed, the second scrolling speed, and the third scrolling speed are different from each other i in order to create the illusion of depth and increase visual immersion.
Claims 4,11, 18: Lee discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, but explicitly does not disclose wherein at least two of the first scrolling speed, the second scrolling speed, and the third scrolling speed are equal. However, Park discloses wherein at least two of the first scrolling speed, the second scrolling speed, and the third scrolling speed are equal. [0035]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Lee, Leskela, Billmaier to include wherein at least two of the first scrolling speed, the second scrolling speed, and the third scrolling speed are equal in order to create the illusion of depth and increase visual immersion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berry et al. (US 2015/0245111) - A system for using metadata from a video signal to associate advertisements therewith, comprising (i) a segmentation system to divide the video signal into video clips, (ii) a digitizing system for digitizing the video clips, (iii) a feature extraction system for extracting audio and video features from each video clip, associating each audio feature with respective video clips, associating each video feature with respective video clips, and saving the audio and video features into an associated metadata file, (iv) a web interface to the feature extraction system for receiving the video clips, and (v) a database, wherein video signals and associated metadata files are stored and indexed, wherein the associated metadata file is provided when a video player requests the corresponding video signal, enabling selection of a relevant advertisement for presentment in conjunction with respective video clips based on the associated audio and video features of the respective video clip.
/D.A.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3622
/ILANA L SPAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3622