DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The indicated allowability of claim 8 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to CHANG et al. (US 2025/0167862). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Title of the Invention
The amendment regarding a new title of the invention has been accepted and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, the claims recite the limitation “wherein the CSI report comprises information for determining a target SSB index”. The claim limitation is indefinite given that the claim limitation describes an intended purpose, i.e., “determining a target SSB index”, of the information carried in the CSI report, but does not positively recite the step of determining a target SSB index, and thus it is unclear if the step of determining a target SSB index is performed and an SSB is transmitted with the determined target SSB index.
Claim 1 further recites the terms “an SSB” in line 4 and “a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block (SSB)” in lines 7-8. It is uncertain whether both terms refer to the same SSB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN (US 2021/0111851) in view of CHANG et al. (US 2025/0167862).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a method for wireless communications, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, second information based on first information (p. [0036], lines 1-12; p. [0037]; p. [0053]; the base station sends to the UE a transmission configuration indication (TCI) (i.e., first information) that indicates an SSB index (i.e., second information)), wherein the first information is associated with direction (p. [0036]; p. [0037]; the TCI is associated with a SSB index (i.e., direction) that corresponds to the selected Tx beam to the UE), and the second information is associated with a reception direction of a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block (SSB) (p. [0036], lines 5-end; p. [0033]-[0034], [0060]; the SSB index (i.e., second information) corresponds to the Rx beam the UE can use for reception of the signal/SSB).
But, Lin does not particularly disclose transmitting, by a terminal device, a channel state information (CSI) report to a network device, wherein the CSI report comprises information for determining a target SSB index, and an index of an SSB transmitted by the network device is the target SSB index.
However, Chang teaches transmitting, by a terminal device, a channel state information (CSI) report to a network device (p.[0014]; the UE receives SSB transmissions, performs beam strength measurements and transmit a report (i.e., CSI report) to the base station indicating the best beam), wherein the CSI report comprises information for determining a target SSB index (p. [0014]; the report indicates the best beam , e.g., SSB index (i.e., target index)), and an index of an SSB transmitted by the network device is the target SSB index (p. [0014]; the report enables the base station to apply a beam direction for transmission to the reporting UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin with the teachings of Chang, since such a modification would allow the base station to determine and apply the best beam for communications with the reporting terminal.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 1, Lin discloses wherein the second information comprises at least one of: the reception direction of the SSB; or an SSB index of the SSB (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index (i.e., second information)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 1, Lin discloses wherein the first information comprises a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state (i.e., first information) is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index (i.e., second information)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 1, Chang discloses wherein the first information comprises channel state information (CSI)
(p. [0012], [0014]; channel state information CSI is used for a beam refinement process that enables determining the best beam (e.g., SSB index)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin with the teachings of Chang, since the channel state information provides current channel conditions that allows determining the best beam/direction for communication between the UE and base station.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 3, Chang discloses wherein the second information comprises a direction corresponding to a channel having an optimal channel state as indicated by the CSI (p. [0012], [0014]; channel state information CSI is used for a beam refinement process that enables determining the best beam (e.g., SSB index) based on beam strength measurements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin with the teachings of Chang, since the channel state information provides current channel conditions that allows determining the best beam/direction for communication between the UE and base station.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 5, Lin discloses wherein the second information is determined based on direction information carried in the TCI state (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state (i.e., first information) is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index (i.e., second information/direction information)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 6, Lin discloses wherein the direction information carried in the TCI state comprises one or more of: an SSB index; direction information of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); beam information; or antenna port information (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses a method for wireless communications, comprising:
transmitting a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block (SSB) to a terminal device (p. [0060]; the UE performs reception of the SSB transmitted by the network, the SSB captured can be that indicated by the TCI state (i.e., first information)), wherein a reception direction of the SSB is associated with second information (p. [0060]; the Rx beam (i.e., reception direction) used by the UE for reception of the SSB can be determined based on the TCI state (i.e., first information), the TCI state can provide an SSB index (i.e., second information) that corresponds to the Rx beam for reception of the signal- p. [0036], lines 7-end), the second information is determined based on first information (p. [0036], lines 7-end; the TCI state (i.e., first information) indicates the SSB index (i.e., second information)), and the first information is associated with direction (p. [0036], lines 7-end; the TCI state (i.e., first information) indicates the SSB index (i.e., second information/direction information)).
But, Lin does not particularly disclose receiving, by a network device, a channel state information (CSI) report from a terminal device, wherein the CSI report comprises information for determining a target synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block (SSB) index, and an index of an SSB transmitted by the network device is the target SSB index.
However, Chang teaches receiving, by a network device, a channel state information (CSI) report from a terminal device (p.[0014]; the UE receives SSB transmissions, performs beam strength measurements and transmit a report (i.e., CSI report) to the base station indicating the best beam), wherein the CSI report comprises information for determining a target synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block (SSB) index (p. [0014]; the report indicates the best beam , e.g., SSB index (i.e., target index)) and an index of an SSB transmitted by the network device is the target SSB index (p. [0014]; the report enables the base station to apply a beam direction for transmission to the reporting UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin with the teachings of Chang, since such a modification would allow the base station to determine and apply the best beam for communications with the reporting terminal.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 13, Lin discloses wherein the second information comprises at least one of: the reception direction of the SSB; or an SSB index of the SSB (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index (i.e., second information)).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 13, Chang discloses wherein the first information comprises channel state information (CSI)(p. [0012], [0014]; channel state information CSI is used for a beam refinement process that enables determining the best beam (e.g., SSB index)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin with the teachings of Chang, since the channel state information provides current channel conditions that allows determining the best beam/direction for communication between the UE and base station.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 15, Chang discloses wherein the second information comprises a direction corresponding to a channel having an optimal channel state as indicated by the CSI (p. [0012], [0014]; channel state information CSI is used for a beam refinement process that enables determining the best beam (e.g., SSB index) based on beam strength measurements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin with the teachings of Chang, since the channel state information provides current channel conditions that allows determining the best beam/direction for communication between the UE and base station.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 15, Lin discloses wherein the first information comprises a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state (i.e., first information) is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index (i.e., second information)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 17, Lin discloses wherein the second information is determined based on direction information carried in the TCI state (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state (i.e., first information) is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index (i.e., second information/direction information)).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 18, Lin discloses wherein the direction information carried in the TCI state comprises one or more of: an SSB index; direction information of a channel state information-reference signal CSI-RS; beam information; or antenna port information (p. [0036]-[0037]; TCI state is signaled to the UE to indicate an SSB in form of an SSB index).
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 7 shows apparatus including processing circuitry and memory to store programming instructions), wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
determining second information based on first information (p. [0036], lines 1-12; p. [0037]; p. [0053]; the base station sends to the UE a transmission configuration indication (TCI) (i.e., first information) that indicates an SSB index (i.e., second information)), wherein the first information is associated with direction (p. [0036]; p. [0037]; the TCI is associated with a SSB index (i.e., direction) that corresponds to the selected Tx beam to the UE), and the second information indicates a reception direction of a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block (SSB) (p. [0036], lines 5-end; p. [0033]-[0034], [0060]; the SSB index (i.e., second information) corresponds to the Rx beam the UE can use for reception of the signal/SSB).
But, Lin does not particularly disclose transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report to a network device, wherein the CSI report comprises information for determining a target SSB index, and an index of an SSB transmitted by the network device is the target SSB index.
However, Chang teaches transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report to a network device (p.[0014]; the UE receives SSB transmissions, performs beam strength measurements and transmit a report (i.e., CSI report) to the base station indicating the best beam), wherein the CSI report comprises information for determining a target SSB index (p. [0014]; the report indicates the best beam , e.g., SSB index (i.e., target index)), and an index of an SSB transmitted by the network device is the target SSB index (p. [0014]; the report enables the base station to apply a beam direction for transmission to the reporting UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin with the teachings of Chang, since such a modification would allow the base station to determine and apply the best beam for communications with the reporting terminal.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN in views of CHANG et al., and TIAN (US 2022/0312353).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 1, but does not particularly disclose further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, information on candidate SSB indexes from a network device, wherein the reception direction corresponds to one or more indexes from the candidate SSB indexes.
However, Tian teaches receiving, by the terminal device, information on candidate SSB indexes from a network device, wherein the reception direction corresponds to one or more indexes from the candidate SSB indexes (p. [0076], [0080]-[0081]; the terminal device may receive configuration information from the network device, first information in the configuration information may include a configured SSB candidate index…a plurality of SSB candidate positions may be set to provide more SSB transmission opportunities…each candidate position has a corresponding index). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Lin and Chang with the teachings of Tian, since such a modification would inform the terminal about the SSB transmission opportunities that the terminal may detect the SSB.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lin, Chang, and Tian disclose the method according to claim 10, Tian discloses wherein the information on the candidate SSB indexes is carried in one or more of the: configuration information of an SSB from the network device; activation information of an SSB from the network device; configuration information of a secondary cell from the network device; or activation information of a secondary cell from the network device (p. [0076], [0080]-[0081]; the terminal device may receive configuration information from the network device, first information in the configuration information may include a configured SSB candidate index…a plurality of SSB candidate positions may be set to provide more SSB transmission opportunities…each candidate position has a corresponding index). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Lin and Chang with the teachings of Tian, since such a modification would inform the terminal about the SSB transmission opportunities that the terminal may detect the SSB.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN in views of CHANG et al., and RAGHAVAN et al. (US 2022/0022145).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lin and Chang disclose the method according to claim 1, but does not particularly disclose further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, a correspondence between SSB indexes and reception directions of an SSB from a network device, wherein the correspondence is used to determine an SSB index corresponding to a respective reception direction.
However, Raghavan teaches receiving, by the terminal device, a correspondence between SSB indexes and reception directions of an SSB from a network device, wherein the correspondence is used to determine an SSB index corresponding to a respective reception direction (p. [0096]; a UE may receive mapping information that may include an association between operating frequencies and parameters (e.g., SSB indices)…in some aspects, the mapping may indicate a reference frequency with respect to beam directions; p. [0097]; the UE may identify and select SSB indices corresponding to combination of beam direction, operating frequency and array gain performance…the UE may determine or select a beam direction and accordingly select a corresponding SSB index for receiving an SSB, the UE may monitor for the SSB based on the SSB index). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Lin and Chang with the teachings of Raghavan, in order for the terminal to utilize the correspondence information to select a beam direction (i.e., reception direction) and accordingly select a corresponding SSB index for monitoring and receiving the SSB.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and further to overcome the 112 rejections.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643