DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application 19/440,869 filed 08/15/2024, which is a continuation of application 18/806,060 now U.S. Patent No. 12/542,090, in which claims 1-27 are presented for examination.
Currently claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-10, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/019332 A1 in view of Hong U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0217763 A1 hereinafter Hong and further in view of Jeong et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0043427 A1 hereinafter Jeong.
Consider Claim 1:
Park discloses a display apparatus, comprising: (Park, See Abstract.)
a display panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels, a first power line shared by the plurality of sub-pixels, and a second power line shared by the plurality of sub-pixels; (Park, [0048], “A plurality of data lines 14A, a plurality of sensing lines 14B, and a plurality of scan lines 154 are arranged in the display panel 150. Sub-pixels SP are disposed at intersections of the data lines 14A, the sensing lines 14B, and the scan lines 15.”)
a power management circuit configured to apply a high potential power voltage to the first power line and apply a low potential power voltage to the second power line; and (Park, [0051], “The power supply 180 generates a high-level voltage EVDD and a low-level voltage EVSS based on an external input voltage and outputs the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS to the display panel 150. In the display mode, the sub-pixels SP of the display panel 150 can emit light in response to the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS. The power supply 180 can generate and output voltages (e.g., a high scan voltage and a low scan voltage) necessary for operation of the scan driver 130 or voltages (e.g., drain voltage and half drain voltage) necessary for operation of the data driver 140 as well as the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS.”)
a sensing circuit configured to sense electrical characteristics of at least one sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels through the second power line to output sensing data in a sensing mode, (Park, [0073], “The sensor 144 senses a current Ids flowing between the source and the drain of the driving TFT DT when the driving TFT DT operates in the switch mode. Accordingly, the sensor 144 can include a current integrator CI that senses and samples the current Ids of the driving TFT DT and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) that converts a sensing voltage sampled by the current integrator CI into a digital sensing value and outputs the digital sensing value.”)
wherein the power management circuit is configured to apply a first low potential power voltage to the second power line in a display mode, and a second low potential power voltage higher than the first low potential power voltage to the second power line in the sensing mode, (Park, [0079], “The low-level voltage EVSS is applied as the low-level voltage EVSS_High higher than a voltage supplied in the display mode in the first period t1 and the second period t2 such that current can be prevented from being applied to the OLED. The low-level voltage EVSS is electrically floating in the third period t3 and the fourth period t4 such that the low-level voltage EVSS can be prevented from being applied to the sensing line 14B.”)
Park however does not appear to suggest wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels is configured to operate in one of a first viewing angle mode or a second viewing angle mode, wherein the sensing mode comprises a first viewing angle mode sensing period and a second viewing angle mode sensing period, and wherein each of the first viewing angle mode sensing period and the second viewing angle mode sensing period comprises: a first color sensing period sensing first color sub-pixels in the sensing area; a second color sensing period sensing second color sub-pixels in the sensing area; and a third color sensing period sensing third color sub-pixels in the sensing area.
Shin however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to have wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels is configured to operate in one of a first viewing angle mode or a second viewing angle mode, wherein the sensing mode comprises a first viewing angle mode sensing period and a second viewing angle mode sensing period. (Shin, [0014-0021] [0021], “Further, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a direction of light emitting from the light-emitting layer may be controlled by adjusting a refractive index of each of the lenses in the wide-angle area and the narrow-angle area. Thus, a viewing angle may be adjusted based on the controlled light direction.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide multiple light emitting elements within a pixel as this was a known technique in view of Shin and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of prevention of upward light leakage as required for privacy or LCF (Light Control Film) during operation of the pixels in the narrow-angle area. (Shin, [0027])
Park in view of Shin however do not appear to suggest wherein each of the first viewing angle mode sensing period and the second viewing angle mode sensing period comprises: a first color sensing period sensing first color sub-pixels in the sensing area; a second color sensing period sensing second color sub-pixels in the sensing area; and a third color sensing period sensing third color sub-pixels in the sensing area.
Jeong however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a driving scheme wherein each of the first viewing angle mode sensing period and the second viewing angle mode sensing period comprises: a first color sensing period sensing first color sub-pixels in the sensing area; a second color sensing period sensing second color sub-pixels in the sensing area; and a third color sensing period sensing third color sub-pixels in the sensing area. (Jeong, [0101-0111], [0103], “The timing controller 230 outputs the first vertical sync signal Vsync1, the horizontal sync signal Hsync, the first data enable signal DE1, and the digital video data DATA in the third driving mode. The digital video data DATA may include second display video data VDATA2 and third sensing video data. The third sensing video data may include red sensing data SRD, green sensing data SGD, blue sensing data SBD, and white sensing data SWD. The second display video data VDATA2 may be black data for initializing the gate electrode of the driving transistor before sensing the source voltage of the driving transistor. The third sensing video data denotes data which is to be supplied to each of the pixels so as to compensate for the threshold voltage of the driving transistor.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a driving scheme where each of the colors are sensed in their own respective period as taught in view of Jeong and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of providing means for compensating for digital video data which is to be supplied to the pixel, based on the sensing data. (Jeong, [0006])
Consider Claim 3:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises: a first emitting element; a second emitting element; a first lens overlapping the first emitting element; and a second lens overlapping the second emitting element, wherein the first lens has a half-cylindrical shape and the second lens has a half-spherical lens shape. (Shin, [0129-0138], [0015], “Further, the inventors of the present disclosure have invented a display panel in which a unit pixel is divided into a wide-angle area and a narrow-angle area in which sub-pixels of the unit pixel are arranged, and a color of the sub-pixels in the wide-angle area is output through a semi-cylindrical lens or a color of the sub-pixels in the narrow-angle area is output through a semi-spherical lens, according to the user's choice when viewing the display device.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises: a pixel circuit configured to drive the first emitting element and the second emitting element in a time-division manner; wherein the pixel circuit is configured to drive the first emitting element in the first viewing angle mode and drive the second emitting element in the second viewing angle mode. (Shin, [0228-0255], [0265], “Therefore, the first light-emitting diode OLED1 disposed in the wide-angle area WAA and the second light-emitting diode OLED2 disposed in the narrow-angle area NAA perform light-emitting operations at different times. Thus, in order to control these different switching operations, the first light-emission control signal application line EM2 and the second light-emission control signal application line EM3 are spaced from each other.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first lens is configured to provide light having a first viewing angle; and the second lens is configured to provide light having a second viewing angle different from the first viewing angle. (Shin, [0014], “To solve the above-described problems in the OLED display device, the inventors of the present disclosure have invented a display panel in which a unit pixel is divided into a wide-angle area and a narrow-angle area in which sub-pixels are arranged, and the sub-pixels in the wide-angle area and the sub-pixels in the narrow-angle area are selectively activated.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein a size of the first emitting element is different from a size of the second emitting element in each of the plurality of sub-pixels. (Shin, [0127-0138], [0129], “Referring to FIG. 3, in the unit pixel 110 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the first lens Lz1 may be a semi-cylindrical lens, and the second lens Lz2 may be a semi-spherical lens.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels include a first color sub-pixel, a second color sub-pixel, and a third color sub-pixel, each including the first emitting element and the second emitting element, and wherein sizes of the first emitting elements of at least two of the first color sub-pixel, the second color sub-pixel, or the third color sub-pixel are different from each other, and wherein sizes of the second emitting elements of at least two of the first color sub-pixel, the second color sub-pixel, or the third color sub-pixel are different from each other, or a number of light emitting areas of the second emitting elements of at least two of the first color sub-pixel, the second color sub-pixel, or the third color sub-pixel are different from each other. (Shin, [0078], [0076], “In one example, the pixel P in accordance with the present disclosure includes at least one sub-pixel SP. The sub-pixel SP may mean a unit in which a color filter of a specific one type is formed or a color filter is not formed and an organic light-emitting element emits a special color. A color rendered in the sub-pixel may include red (R), green (G), blue (B) and optionally white (W), but may not be limited thereto.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second power line is connected to the sensing circuit via a second power supply line through a circuit film, and wherein the sensing circuit is configured to sense the electrical characteristics of the at least one sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels by detecting a voltage at an end of the second power supply line using a set current flowing through the at least one sub-pixel. (Park, [0074], [0062], “The sensor 144 senses characteristics of elements included in the sub-pixels SP through the sensing lines 14B. The sensor 144 can sense a sensing node defined between the source electrode of the driving TFT and the cathode of an OLED (organic light emitting diode) included in each sub-pixel SP. The sensor 144 senses and samples the sensing node of each sub-pixel SP, converts a sampling result through an analog-to-digital converter (ADC), and outputs the converted sampling result to the timing controller 120.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Park discloses a display apparatus, comprising: (Park, See Abstract.)
a display panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels, a first power line shared by the plurality of sub-pixels, and a second power line shared by the plurality of sub-pixels, (Park, [0052], [0051], “The power supply 180 generates a high-level voltage EVDD and a low-level voltage EVSS based on an external input voltage and outputs the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS to the display panel 150. In the display mode, the sub-pixels SP of the display panel 150 can emit light in response to the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS. The power supply 180 can generate and output voltages (e.g., a high scan voltage and a low scan voltage) necessary for operation of the scan driver 130 or voltages (e.g., drain voltage and half drain voltage) necessary for operation of the data driver 140 as well as the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS.”)”)
the plurality of sub-pixels each having a first emitting element and a second emitting element;
a sensing circuit configured to sense electrical characteristics of a sensing area of the display panel through the second power line to output sensing data; and (Park, [0073], “The sensor 144 senses a current Ids flowing between the source and the drain of the driving TFT DT when the driving TFT DT operates in the switch mode. Accordingly, the sensor 144 can include a current integrator CI that senses and samples the current Ids of the driving TFT DT and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) that converts a sensing voltage sampled by the current integrator CI into a digital sensing value and outputs the digital sensing value.”)
a power management circuit configured to apply a high potential power voltage and a set current to the first power line in a sensing mode and apply a low potential power voltage for the sensing mode to the second power line in the sensing mode, (Park, [0051], “The power supply 180 generates a high-level voltage EVDD and a low-level voltage EVSS based on an external input voltage and outputs the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS to the display panel 150. In the display mode, the sub-pixels SP of the display panel 150 can emit light in response to the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS. The power supply 180 can generate and output voltages (e.g., a high scan voltage and a low scan voltage) necessary for operation of the scan driver 130 or voltages (e.g., drain voltage and half drain voltage) necessary for operation of the data driver 140 as well as the high-level voltage EVDD and the low-level voltage EVSS.”)
wherein the power management circuit is configured to apply a positive voltage higher than a low potential power voltage for a display mode as the low potential power voltage for the sensing mode, (Park, [0079], “The low-level voltage EVSS is applied as the low-level voltage EVSS_High higher than a voltage supplied in the display mode in the first period t1 and the second period t2 such that current can be prevented from being applied to the OLED. The low-level voltage EVSS is electrically floating in the third period t3 and the fourth period t4 such that the low-level voltage EVSS can be prevented from being applied to the sensing line 14B.”)
Park however does not appear to expressly suggest wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprise a pixel circuit configured to drive the first emitting element in a first viewing angle mode and drive the second emitting in a second viewing angle mode, and wherein the sensing mode comprises a first viewing angle mode sensing period and a second viewing angle mode sensing period, and wherein each of the first viewing angle mode sensing period and the second viewing angle mode sensing period comprises: a first color sensing period sensing first color sub-pixels in the sensing area; a second color sensing period sensing second color sub-pixels in the sensing area; and a third color sensing period sensing third color sub-pixels in the sensing area.
Shin however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to have wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprise a pixel circuit configured to drive the first emitting element in a first viewing angle mode and drive the second emitting in a second viewing angle mode, and wherein the sensing mode comprises a first viewing angle mode sensing period and a second viewing angle mode sensing period. (Shin, [0014-0021] [0021], “Further, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a direction of light emitting from the light-emitting layer may be controlled by adjusting a refractive index of each of the lenses in the wide-angle area and the narrow-angle area. Thus, a viewing angle may be adjusted based on the controlled light direction.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide multiple light emitting elements within a pixel as this was a known technique in view of Shin and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of prevention of upward light leakage as required for privacy or LCF (Light Control Film) during operation of the pixels in the narrow-angle area. (Shin, [0027])
Park in view of Shin do not appear to expressly suggest wherein each of the first viewing angle mode sensing period and the second viewing angle mode sensing period comprises: a first color sensing period sensing first color sub-pixels in the sensing area; a second color sensing period sensing second color sub-pixels in the sensing area; and a third color sensing period sensing third color sub-pixels in the sensing area.
Jeong however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a driving scheme wherein each of the first viewing angle mode sensing period and the second viewing angle mode sensing period comprises: a first color sensing period sensing first color sub-pixels in the sensing area; a second color sensing period sensing second color sub-pixels in the sensing area; and a third color sensing period sensing third color sub-pixels in the sensing area. (Jeong, [0101-0111], [0103], “The timing controller 230 outputs the first vertical sync signal Vsync1, the horizontal sync signal Hsync, the first data enable signal DE1, and the digital video data DATA in the third driving mode. The digital video data DATA may include second display video data VDATA2 and third sensing video data. The third sensing video data may include red sensing data SRD, green sensing data SGD, blue sensing data SBD, and white sensing data SWD. The second display video data VDATA2 may be black data for initializing the gate electrode of the driving transistor before sensing the source voltage of the driving transistor. The third sensing video data denotes data which is to be supplied to each of the pixels so as to compensate for the threshold voltage of the driving transistor.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a driving scheme where each of the colors are sensed in their own respective period as taught in view of Jeong and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of providing means for compensating for digital video data which is to be supplied to the pixel, based on the sensing data. (Jeong, [0006])
Consider Claim 19:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises: a first lens overlapping on the first emitting element to provide light having a first viewing angle; and a second lens overlapping on the second emitting element to provide light having a second viewing angle narrower than the first viewing angle, wherein the first lens has a half-cylindrical shape and the second lens has a half-spherical lens shape. (Shin, [0129-0138], [0015], “Further, the inventors of the present disclosure have invented a display panel in which a unit pixel is divided into a wide-angle area and a narrow-angle area in which sub-pixels of the unit pixel are arranged, and a color of the sub-pixels in the wide-angle area is output through a semi-cylindrical lens or a color of the sub-pixels in the narrow-angle area is output through a semi-spherical lens, according to the user's choice when viewing the display device.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/019332 A1 in view of Hong U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0217763 A1 in view of Jeong et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0043427 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0153459 hereinafter Chun.
Consider Claim 11:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, and teaches driver configured to drive the display panel, wherein, in the sensing mode, however does not appear to further suggest the driver is configured to display maximum grayscale data in a sensing area of the display panel and displays minimum grayscale data in a non-sensing area of the display panel.
Chun however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide a driver configured to drive the display panel, (Chun, [0057], “Referring to FIG. 1, the display device 10 may include a display panel 100, a scan driver 200 (or a gate driver), an emission driver 300, a data driver 400 (or a source driver), a timing controller 500 (or a processor), and a sensing driver 600 (or a sensing unit). In FIG. 1, the sensing driver 600 is shown separately from the timing controller 500, but the sensing driver 600 may be integrated with the timing controller 500 according to an embodiment. According to an embodiment, the sensing driver 600 may be integrated with the data driver 400.”)
the driver is configured to display maximum grayscale data in a sensing area of the display panel and displays minimum grayscale data in a non-sensing area of the display panel. (Chun, [0073], “In an embodiment, the data driver 400 may provide the sensor data signal to the sensor data line TDL. For example, the data driver 400 may provide a sensor data signal having a reference voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL during a driving period (or in a first mode), and may provide a sensor data signal having a specific voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to an arbitrary grayscale within a grayscale range of a minimum grayscale to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL in a sensing period (or in a second mode). For example, the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS may include a grayscale value (and timing information for the driving/sensing period) for the sensor pixel TPX, and the data driver 400 may generate the sensor data signal based on the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS. During the driving period, the sensor pixel TPX may be deteriorated in response to the sensor data signal of the reference voltage level. In the sensing period, the deterioration degree of the sensor pixel TPX for a specific grayscale (or for each grayscale), for example, sensing information SI, may be obtained.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide max and minimum grayscale data to the display panel in the sensing mode as this was a known technique in view of Chun and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of obtaining sensing information of the display such that a lifespan (or a deterioration amount) of the pixel by can be obtained by calculating a luminance amount totally emitted by the pixel, and compensate for data (for example, a grayscale value) based on the calculated lifespan, and the pixel (or the light emitting element) may emit light with a desired luminance based on the compensated data. (Chun, [0004])
Consider Claim 12:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a driver configured to drive the display panel, wherein, in the sensing mode, however does not specify that the driver is configured to display maximum grayscale data on the sub-pixels sensed in a sensing area of the display panel, and to display minimum grayscale data on the sub-pixels not sensed in the sensing area of the display panel and on sub-pixels in a non-sensing area of the display panel.
Chun however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide a driver configured to drive the display panel,
display maximum grayscale data on the sub-pixels sensed in a sensing area of the display panel, and to display minimum grayscale data on the sub-pixels not sensed in the sensing area of the display panel and on sub-pixels in a non-sensing area of the display panel. (Chun, [0073], “In an embodiment, the data driver 400 may provide the sensor data signal to the sensor data line TDL. For example, the data driver 400 may provide a sensor data signal having a reference voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL during a driving period (or in a first mode), and may provide a sensor data signal having a specific voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to an arbitrary grayscale within a grayscale range of a minimum grayscale to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL in a sensing period (or in a second mode). For example, the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS may include a grayscale value (and timing information for the driving/sensing period) for the sensor pixel TPX, and the data driver 400 may generate the sensor data signal based on the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS. During the driving period, the sensor pixel TPX may be deteriorated in response to the sensor data signal of the reference voltage level. In the sensing period, the deterioration degree of the sensor pixel TPX for a specific grayscale (or for each grayscale), for example, sensing information SI, may be obtained.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide max and minimum grayscale data to the display panel in the sensing mode as this was a known technique in view of Chun and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of obtaining sensing information of the display such that a lifespan (or a deterioration amount) of the pixel by can be obtained by calculating a luminance amount totally emitted by the pixel, and compensate for data (for example, a grayscale value) based on the calculated lifespan, and the pixel (or the light emitting element) may emit light with a desired luminance based on the compensated data. (Chun, [0004])
Consider Claim 13:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong in view of Chun disclose the display apparatus of claim 11, wherein the sensing area is an area predicted to be a maximum deterioration area in the display panel using accumulated results of an image data, and including a plurality of sub-pixels. (Chun, [0077], “In an embodiment, the timing controller 500 may generate the image data DATA1 by compensating for the input image data IDATA based on sensing data SDATA. The sensing data SDATA may be provided from the sensing driver 600. For example, the timing controller 500 may calculate a stress (or an accumulated stress) of the pixel PX by accumulating the input image data IDATA, predict a deterioration characteristic (for example, a deterioration characteristic according to the stress) of the pixel PX based on the sensing data SDATA (or the sensing information SI for the sensor pixel TPX), and compensate for the input image data IDATA based on the deterioration characteristic of the pixel PX. For example, in case that the sensor data signal corresponding to the maximum grayscale is continuously applied to the sensor pixel TPX, the sensor pixel TPX may be deteriorated faster than the pixel PX, and the deterioration characteristics (for example, a deterioration degree for each stress or a compensation value based thereon) applicable to the pixel PX (or all pixels) may be obtained from the sensing information SI of the sensor pixel TPX. For example, the sensing information SI may be representatively obtained from the sensor pixel TPX instead of each pixel PX, and data compensation may be performed based on the stress of the pixel PX and the sensing information SI.”)
Consider Claim 22:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein in the sensing mode, the sub-pixels sensed in the sensing area of the display panel are configured to display maximum grayscale data, the sub-pixels not sensed in the sensing area and the sub-pixels in a non-sensing area are configured to display minimum grayscale data.
Chun however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide in the sensing mode, the sub-pixels sensed in the sensing area of the display panel are configured to display maximum grayscale data, the sub-pixels not sensed in the sensing area and the sub-pixels in a non-sensing area are configured to display minimum grayscale data. (Chun, [0073], “In an embodiment, the data driver 400 may provide the sensor data signal to the sensor data line TDL. For example, the data driver 400 may provide a sensor data signal having a reference voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL during a driving period (or in a first mode), and may provide a sensor data signal having a specific voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to an arbitrary grayscale within a grayscale range of a minimum grayscale to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL in a sensing period (or in a second mode). For example, the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS may include a grayscale value (and timing information for the driving/sensing period) for the sensor pixel TPX, and the data driver 400 may generate the sensor data signal based on the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS. During the driving period, the sensor pixel TPX may be deteriorated in response to the sensor data signal of the reference voltage level. In the sensing period, the deterioration degree of the sensor pixel TPX for a specific grayscale (or for each grayscale), for example, sensing information SI, may be obtained.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide max and minimum grayscale data to the display panel in the sensing mode as this was a known technique in view of Chun and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of obtaining sensing information of the display such that a lifespan (or a deterioration amount) of the pixel by can be obtained by calculating a luminance amount totally emitted by the pixel, and compensate for data (for example, a grayscale value) based on the calculated lifespan, and the pixel (or the light emitting element) may emit light with a desired luminance based on the compensated data. (Chun, [0004])
Consider Claim 23:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein a minimum grayscale current, which flows to the sub-pixels displaying the minimum grayscale data by the low potential power voltage for the sensing mode is less than a minimum grayscale current caused by the low potential power voltage for the display mode.
Chun however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide a minimum grayscale current, which flows to the sub-pixels displaying the minimum grayscale data by the low potential power voltage for the sensing mode is less than a minimum grayscale current caused by the low potential power voltage for the display mode. (Chun, [0073], “In an embodiment, the data driver 400 may provide the sensor data signal to the sensor data line TDL. For example, the data driver 400 may provide a sensor data signal having a reference voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL during a driving period (or in a first mode), and may provide a sensor data signal having a specific voltage level (for example, a voltage level corresponding to an arbitrary grayscale within a grayscale range of a minimum grayscale to a maximum grayscale) to the sensor data line TDL in a sensing period (or in a second mode). For example, the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS may include a grayscale value (and timing information for the driving/sensing period) for the sensor pixel TPX, and the data driver 400 may generate the sensor data signal based on the image data DATA1 or the data driving signal DCS. During the driving period, the sensor pixel TPX may be deteriorated in response to the sensor data signal of the reference voltage level. In the sensing period, the deterioration degree of the sensor pixel TPX for a specific grayscale (or for each grayscale), for example, sensing information SI, may be obtained.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide max and minimum grayscale data to the display panel in the sensing mode as this was a known technique in view of Chun and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of obtaining sensing information of the display such that a lifespan (or a deterioration amount) of the pixel by can be obtained by calculating a luminance amount totally emitted by the pixel, and compensate for data (for example, a grayscale value) based on the calculated lifespan, and the pixel (or the light emitting element) may emit light with a desired luminance based on the compensated data. (Chun, [0004])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/019332 A1 in view of Hong U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0217763 A1 in view of Jeong et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0043427 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yabuta et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0070004 hereinafter Yabuta.
Consider Claim 16:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, however do not appear to specify wherein the second low potential power voltage for the sensing mode is set to a voltage greater than or equal to 2V and smaller than or equal to 4V.
Yabuta however teaches that it was a known technique in the art to provide the particular voltage range set to a voltage greater than or equal to 2V and smaller than or equal to 4V. (Yabuta, [0087], “In the case of normally-white, a voltage of approximately 2V to 3V (voltage that is close to the voltage applied during the wide viewing-angle mode) is applied to the liquid crystal layer 22 during the narrow viewing-angle mode.” [0088], “On the other hand, in the case of normally-black, a voltage of approximately 3V to 4V (voltage that is proximate to the voltage applied during the wide viewing-angle mode) is applied to the liquid crystal layer 22 in order to execute the narrow viewing-angle mode.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a range of voltages as taught by Yabuta as this was a known technique and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of controlling the view angle. The Office notes that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Consider Claim 24:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong in view of Chun disclose the display apparatus of claim 23, however do not specify wherein the low potential power voltage for the sensing mode is set to a voltage greater than or equal to 2V and smaller than or equal to 4V.
Yabuta however teaches that it was a known technique in the art to provide the particular voltage range set to a voltage greater than or equal to 2V and smaller than or equal to 4V. (Yabuta, [0087], “In the case of normally-white, a voltage of approximately 2V to 3V (voltage that is close to the voltage applied during the wide viewing-angle mode) is applied to the liquid crystal layer 22 during the narrow viewing-angle mode.” [0088], “On the other hand, in the case of normally-black, a voltage of approximately 3V to 4V (voltage that is proximate to the voltage applied during the wide viewing-angle mode) is applied to the liquid crystal layer 22 in order to execute the narrow viewing-angle mode.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a range of voltages as taught by Yabuta as this was a known technique and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of controlling the view angle. The Office notes that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/019332 A1 in view of Hong U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0217763 A1 in view of Jeong et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0043427 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0217763 A1 hereinafter Hong.
Consider Claim 25:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong disclose the do not expressly suggest use within a vehicle, however do teach, as seen above, the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Hong however teaches that those of skill in the art would have been a known technique to apply the display apparatus to use in a vehicle as and thus teaches use in a vehicle. (Hong, [0005], “Specifically, the OLED display device may be used in a dashboard of a vehicle. Related to use of OLEDs in vehicles, a viewing angle switchable OLED display device has been researched and developed so that a driver and a passenger can selectively watch an image.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide use within a vehicle as this was a known technique in view of Hong and would have been used for the purpose so that a driver and a passenger can selectively watch an image. (Hong, [0005])
Consider Claim 26:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong in view of Hong disclose the vehicle of claim 25, wherein the display apparatus is applied in a co-driver display of the vehicle. (Hong, [0005], “Specifically, the OLED display device may be used in a dashboard of a vehicle. Related to use of OLEDs in vehicles, a viewing angle switchable OLED display device has been researched and developed so that a driver and a passenger can selectively watch an image.”)
Consider Claim 27:
Park in view of Shin in view of Jeong in view of Hong disclose the vehicle of claim 26, wherein the display apparatus is configured to be operated in the first viewing angle mode when a driver is not driving, and is configured to be operated in the second viewing angle mode when the driver is driving. (Hong, [0005], “Specifically, the OLED display device may be used in a dashboard of a vehicle. Related to use of OLEDs in vehicles, a viewing angle switchable OLED display device has been researched and developed so that a driver and a passenger can selectively watch an image.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-7, 14-15, 18, and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626