DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 1/6/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated
by whites et al. (US 20240323648) hereinafter (White).
With regard to claim 9, White discloses a method of indicating a status of a hydraulic tool (100), comprising: providing a hydraulic tool (100) having a housing (120), a working head (114) coupled to the housing, and an indicator system (192) including a lens with a non-RGB LED and an RGB LED ([0036]) arranged underneath the lens; performing a work operation on a work piece using the working head (114); determining whether the work operation satisfies a predetermined criterion; and causing the RGB LED ([0036]) to emit light through the lens in a first color ([0044]) when the work operation satisfies the predetermined criterion and in a second color (illuminate in two distinct colors, such as red and green ([0044]), different from the first color, when the work operation does not satisfy the predetermined criterion.
With regard to claim 10, White discloses the method, further comprising: emitting light ([0044]) from the non-RGB LED through the lens to illuminate the work piece during the work operation.
With regard to claim 11, White discloses the method, wherein the non-RGB LED and the RGB LED emit light ([0044]) simultaneously through the lens during the work operation.
With regard to claim 14, White discloses the method, wherein the indicator system (192) further includes a second lens positioned on an opposing side of the housing from the lens, and wherein the method further includes: emitting light ([0044[) from a second RGB LED through the second lens simultaneously with the RGB LED emitting light through the lens.
With regard to claim 15, White discloses the method, further comprising: causing the RGB LED to flash, pulse, or emit light ([0044[) in a predetermined pattern to indicate a status of the hydraulic tool (100) to an operator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are allowed.
The combination of the structural elements recited in claims 1-8 and 16-20 is what make the claimed subject matter allowable over the prior arts of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 1, White does not disclose the indicator system including: a first portion, the first portion including a lens extending through the first bezel of the pedestal; and a printed circuit board having a non-RGB LED and an RGB LED arranged underneath the same lens, the non-RGB LED and the RGB LED arranged to emit light through the same lens.
With respect to claim 16, White does not disclose a first bezel facing a working head of the hydraulic tool and a second bezel facing away from the working head; a first lens extending through the first bezel; a second lens extending through the second bezel; a first printed circuit board positioned beneath the first lens, the first printed circuit board having a non-RGB LED emitting light through the first lens to illuminate a work piece and a first RGB LED emitting light through the first lens to indicate a status of the hydraulic tool; and a second printed circuit board positioned beneath the second lens, the second printed circuit board having a second RGB LED emitting light through the second lens to indicate the status of the hydraulic tool.
Claims 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 12, White fails to disclose or teach in combination, the method, wherein the housing includes a pedestal extending from the housing, the pedestal defined by a first bezel and a second bezel on opposing sides of the pedestal, and wherein the lens extends through the first bezel.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
8/18/2026