19442235DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12545395. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1-3 are anticipated by patent claim 1. Patent claim 1 of ‘395 recites all of the limitations of claims 1-3. The following claims are similarly anticipated by Patent ‘395 as outlined below:
Claim 4 is anticipated by patent claim 4.
Claim 5 is anticipated by patent claim 5.
Claim 6 is anticipated by patent claim 6.
Claim 7 is anticipated by patent claim 7.
Claim 10 is anticipated by patent claim 8.
Claim 11 is anticipated by patent claim 9.
Claim 12 is anticipated by patent claim 10.
Claim 13 is anticipated by patent claim 11.
Claim 14 is anticipated by patent claim 12.
Claim 15 is anticipated by patent claim 13.
Claim 16 is anticipated by patent claim 14.
Claim 17 is anticipated by patent claim 15.
Claim 18 is anticipated by patent claim 16.
Claim 21 is anticipated by patent claim 17.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Para. [0049]: #8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the outer skin panel". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as “an outer skin panel”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the tip region". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as “a tip region”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-15, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hernandez et al. (ES 2277715 B1), hereafter Hernandez.
Regarding Claim 1, Hernandez discloses an aircraft assembly (Fig. 7) comprising:
an aircraft structure (5 and 2, Fig. 7);
a flexible panel (1, Fig. 7) having a supported end fixedly attached to the aircraft structure (1b, Figs. 6-7), wherein the flexible panel is configured to bend about the supported end relative to the aircraft structure (as depicted in Figs. 7-8);
a rigid stopper extending from and fixedly attached to the aircraft structure (pointed extension on right end of 5, from 5a to the distal end, Fig. 7);
wherein the rigid stopper is configured to restrict bending of the flexible panel about the supported end in a first direction (as depicted in Fig. 8) and permit bending of the flexible panel in a second direction opposing the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 7),
wherein the flexible panel has a first deformed configuration in which the flexible panel is bent towards the rigid stopper in the first direction and abuts the rigid stopper such that the rigid stopper restricts bending of the flexible panel in the first direction (configuration of Fig. 8, examiner notes 1 is capable of this function), and wherein the flexible panel has a second deformed configuration in which the flexible panel is bent away from the rigid stopper in the second direction and the flexible panel is spaced from the rigid stopper in the second direction (configuration of Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the aircraft structure is an outer aerodynamic skin panel, (outer panel 5, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 6, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the flexible panel forms a substantially continuous aerodynamic surface with the outer skin panel (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the flexible panel has an undeformed configuration in which a tip region of the flexible panel opposite to the supported end is spaced from the rigid stopper (Fig. 7, tip of 1 is spaced from right extension of 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 7, wherein the tip region of the flexible panel is spaced apart from the rigid stopper in the second direction when the flexible panel is in the undeformed configuration (Fig. 7, tip of 1 is spaced from right extension of 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 7, wherein portions of the flexible panel away from the supported end of the flexible panel are spaced from the rigid stopper such that a gap is provided therebetween when the flexible panel is in the undeformed configuration (Fig. 7, tip of 1 is spaced from right extension of 5, and there is a gap between the two elements at reference #7, for example).
Regarding Claim 10, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein a distal portion of the flexible panel extends beyond the rigid stopper so as to be unconstrained by the rigid stopper (Figs. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 11, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the rigid stopper is attached to the flexible panel (attached via fasteners 10, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 12, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the rigid stopper is fastened to the aircraft structure using a plurality of fasteners (fasteners 10, Fig. 7).
Regarding Clam 13, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the flexible panel is fastened to the aircraft structure using a plurality of fasteners (fasteners 10, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 14, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the flexible panel and rigid stopper are fastened to the aircraft structure using a plurality of fasteners, each fastener extending through the flexible panel and rigid stopper (fasteners 10, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 13, wherein each fastener has a fastener head that abuts a surface of the rigid stopper (top heads of fasteners 10, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 18, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1wherein the flexible panel decreases in thickness in a direction extending from the supported end of the flexible panel to a tip region of the flexible panel opposing the supported end (shape of 1, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 19, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein the rigid stopper comprises an abutment surface arranged to abut the flexible panel in the first deformed configuration (angled right edge of 5 is capable of this function, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 20, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1, wherein, in the second configuration the flexible panel is spaced from a tip region of the rigid stopper (configuration of Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 21, Hernandez discloses an aircraft comprising the aircraft assembly of claim 1 (aircraft of Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leon-Dufour et al. (DE 602005002761 T2), hereafter Leon-Dufour.
Regarding Claim 16, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1.
Hernandez is silent about wherein the rigid stopper comprises one or more reinforcement ribs extending in a direction aligned with a bending axis of the flexible panel that extends from the supported end of the flexible panel to the tip region of the flexible panel.
Leon-Dufour teaches one or more reinforcement ribs (2, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the rigid sopper of Hernandez with the one or more reinforcement ribs as taught by Leon-Dufour, whereby Leon-Dufour’s reinforcement ribs extend in a direction aligned with a bending axis of Hernandez’s flexible panel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reinforce the strength of the rigid stopper.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Balzer et al. (US 10501166 B2), hereafter Balzer.
Regarding Claim 17, Hernandez discloses the aircraft assembly of claim 1.
Hernandez is silent about wherein the rigid stopper has a width that increases in a direction extending from the supported end of the flexible panel to a tip region of the flexible panel opposing the supported end.
Balzer teaches a similar rigid stopper has a width that increases in a direction extending from the supported end of the flexible panel to a tip region of the flexible panel opposing the supported end (rub block 2102 increases in width from left to right, for example, Fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rigid stopper of Hernandez so the width increases in a direction extended from the supported end of the flexible panel to a tip region of the flexible panel as taught by Balzer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate different aircraft structure shapes and ensure sufficient strength of the rigid stopper. Additionally, there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record, individually or in combination, do not disclose or render obvious the combined limitations of Claims 2-4. The closest prior art of record is Hernandez (ES 2277715 B1), which teaches the combined limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding Claims 2-4, while Hernandez discloses a moveable device (12, Fig. 7) which contacts the flexible panel to form a seal therebetween in a retracted configuration (Fig. 7), Hernandez’s moveable device is not spaced from the flexible panel in a deployed configuration (Fig. 8), and it would not be obvious to combine or modify the prior arts of record to teach the invention as claimed in claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hirai et al. (US 20100084508 A1) teaches an aircraft structure (4); a flexible panel (12); and a rigid stopper (underside of 9, for example).
/ANNA L. GORDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642