DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/26 have been fully read and considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding lines 25-27 on page 4 of Applicant's remarks about claims 1, 6 and 12, Applicant asserts that Chen does not disclose "wherein the OMI related message is associated with only one primary layer among the plurality of layers". The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [347], Chen discloses that omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] specifies a specific primary layer with a specific that message applies for that specific primary picture layer, meaning that each omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] has an individual OMI SEI individual message based on the specific individual ith primary picture layer, wherein i = 0, 1, 2, etcetera, and thus, Chen discloses that there is one-on-one correspondence for each specific individual ith primary picture layer with a corresponding specific OMI SEI individual message, like omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1] has an individual OMI SEI individual message, and omi_primary_pic_layer_id[2] has another individual OMI SEI individual message that is different from the OMI SEI individual message for omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1], and so on. And in paragraph [67], Chen discloses the “current picture” or current primary picture layer is processed by decoding stage 302 based on received image information data including the encoded bitstream that includes OMI related message, prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etcetera, wherein paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information. Thus, Chen discloses "wherein the OMI related message is associated with only one primary layer among the plurality of layers".
Regarding lines 18-21 on page 6 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Chen does not address or disclose the one-on-one structural restriction of the claims with the relationship between an OMI SEI message and a primary picture layer. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [347], Chen discloses that omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] specifies a specific primary layer with a specific that message applies for that specific primary picture layer, meaning that each omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] has an individual OMI SEI individual message based on the specific individual ith primary picture layer, wherein i = 0, 1, 2, etcetera, and thus, Chen discloses that there is one-on-one correspondence for each specific individual ith primary picture layer with a corresponding specific OMI SEI individual message, like omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1] has an individual OMI SEI individual message, and omi_primary_pic_layer_id[2] has another individual OMI SEI individual message that is different from the OMI SEI individual message for omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1], and so on. And in paragraph [67], Chen discloses the “current picture” or current primary picture layer is processed by decoding stage 302 based on received image information data including the encoded bitstream that includes OMI related message, prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etcetera, wherein paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information. Thus, Chen discloses the one-on-one structural restriction of the claims with the relationship between an OMI SEI message and a primary picture layer.
Regarding lines 24-25 on page 6 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Chen does not disclose or suggests the one-on-one mapping recited in the claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously stated above and in the rejection below, in paragraph [347], Chen discloses that omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] specifies a specific primary layer with a specific that message applies for that specific primary picture layer, meaning that each omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] has an individual OMI SEI individual message based on the specific individual ith primary picture layer, wherein i = 0, 1, 2, etcetera, and thus, Chen discloses that there is one-on-one correspondence for each specific individual ith primary picture layer with a corresponding specific OMI SEI individual message, like omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1] has an individual OMI SEI individual message, and omi_primary_pic_layer_id[2] has another individual OMI SEI individual message that is different from the OMI SEI individual message for omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1], and so on. And in paragraph [67], Chen discloses the “current picture” or current primary picture layer is processed by decoding stage 302 based on received image information data including the encoded bitstream that includes OMI related message, prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etcetera, wherein paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information. Thus, Chen discloses the one-on-one mapping recited in the claims.
Regarding lines 26-28 on page 6 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Chen teaches away from the one-on-one structural restriction recited in the claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously stated above and in the rejection below, in paragraph [347], Chen discloses that omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] specifies a specific primary layer with a specific that message applies for that specific primary picture layer, meaning that each omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] has an individual OMI SEI individual message based on the specific individual ith primary picture layer, wherein i = 0, 1, 2, etcetera, and thus, Chen discloses that there is one-on-one correspondence for each specific individual ith primary picture layer with a corresponding specific OMI SEI individual message, like omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1] has an individual OMI SEI individual message, and omi_primary_pic_layer_id[2] has another individual OMI SEI individual message that is different from the OMI SEI individual message for omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1], and so on. And in paragraph [67], Chen discloses the “current picture” or current primary picture layer is processed by decoding stage 302 based on received image information data including the encoded bitstream that includes OMI related message, prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etcetera, wherein paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information. Thus, Chen discloses the one-on-one structural restriction recited in the claims.
Thus, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/11/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2024/0357179).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for decoding image information (paragraph [28], fig.1, Chen discloses a destination device 140 comprises an image decoder 144 for decoding encoded bitstream 162; paragraph [66], fig.3B, Chen discloses a decoder for executing a method of decoding image data), the method comprising:
obtaining the image information including a plurality of layers (paragraph [67], fig.3B, Chen discloses a decoder for executing a method of decoding image data, in that element 302 is decoding stage 302 for receives an encoded bitstream that comprises image information including prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etc.; and paragraph [132], Chen discloses that, in H.265/HEVC and H.266/VVC video encoding standards, image information can comprise plurality of layers, and paragraph [197], Chen discloses that in VVC video encoding standard, there can be multiple primary picture layers and multiple auxiliary picture layers) and an object mask information (OMI) related message (paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information); and
obtaining object mask information based on the OMI related message (paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information),
wherein the OMI related message is associated with only one primary layer among the plurality of layers (paragraph [347], Chen discloses that omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] specifies a specific primary layer with a specific OMI message that applies for that specific primary picture layer, meaning that each omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] has an individual OMI SEI individual message based on the specific individual ith primary picture layer, wherein i = 0, 1, 2, etcetera, and thus, Chen discloses that there is one-on-one correspondence for each specific individual ith primary picture layer with a corresponding specific OMI SEI individual message, like omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1] has an individual OMI SEI individual message, and omi_primary_pic_layer_id[2] has another individual OMI SEI individual message that is different from the OMI SEI individual message for omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1], and so on; paragraph [67], Chen discloses the “current picture” or current primary picture layer is processed by decoding stage 302 based on received image information data including the encoded bitstream that includes OMI related message, prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etc.; paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses a method for encoding image information (paragraph [28], fig.1, Chen discloses a source device 120 that comprises an image encoder 124 for generating an encoding bitstream to be sent to a video decoder 144; paragraph [51], fig.2B, Chen discloses an encoder for executing a method of encoding image data), the method comprising:
generating an object mask information (OMI) related message including object mask information (paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information); and
encoding the image information including a plurality of layers (paragraph [67], fig.3B, Chen discloses a decoder for executing a method of decoding image data, in that element 302 is decoding stage 302 for receives an encoded bitstream that comprises image information including prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etc.; and paragraph [132], Chen discloses that, in H.265/HEVC and H.266/VVC video encoding standards, image information can comprise plurality of layers, and paragraph [197], Chen discloses that in VVC video encoding standard, there can be multiple primary picture layers and multiple auxiliary picture layers) and the OMI related message (paragraph [61], fig.2B, Chen discloses the coding stage 226 for compressing the generated bitstream that comprises image information including coding prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, motion information, quantized residual coefficients, etc. into an encoded bitstream to be outputted and sent to a decoder for decompressing the encoded bitstream, and paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information),
wherein the OMI related message is associated with only one primary layer among the plurality of layers (paragraph [347], Chen discloses that omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] specifies a specific primary layer with a specific OMI message that applies for that specific primary picture layer, meaning that each omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] has an individual OMI SEI individual message based on the specific individual ith primary picture layer, wherein i = 0, 1, 2, etcetera, and thus, Chen discloses that there is one-on-one correspondence for each specific individual ith primary picture layer with a corresponding specific OMI SEI individual message, like omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1] has an individual OMI SEI individual message, and omi_primary_pic_layer_id[2] has another individual OMI SEI individual message that is different from the OMI SEI individual message for omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1], and so on; paragraph [67], Chen discloses the “current picture” or current primary picture layer is processed by decoding stage 302 based on received image information data including the encoded bitstream that includes OMI related message, prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etc.; paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses a method for a bitstream of image information (paragraph [28], fig.1, Chen discloses a source device 120 that comprises an image encoder 124 for generating an encoding bitstream to be sent to a video decoder 144; paragraph [51], fig.2B, Chen discloses an encoder for executing a method of encoding image data, and paragraph [66], fig.3B, Chen discloses a decoder for executing a method of decoding image data), the method comprising:
generating an object mask information (OMI) related message including object mask information (paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information);
generating the bitstream for the image information including a plurality of layers (paragraph [67], fig.3B, Chen discloses a decoder for executing a method of decoding image data, in that element 302 is decoding stage 302 for receives an encoded bitstream that comprises image information including prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etc.; and paragraph [132], Chen discloses that, in H.265/HEVC and H.266/VVC video encoding standards, image information can comprise plurality of layers, and paragraph [197], Chen discloses that in VVC video encoding standard, there can be multiple primary picture layers and multiple auxiliary picture layers) and the OMI related message (paragraph [61], fig.2B, Chen discloses the coding stage 226 for compressing the generated bitstream that comprises image information including coding prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, motion information, quantized residual coefficients, etc. into an encoded bitstream to be outputted and sent to a decoder for decompressing the encoded bitstream, and paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information); and
transmitting the bitstream (paragraph [28], fig.1, Chen discloses a source device 120 that comprises an image encoder 124 for generating an encoding bitstream 162 to be sent to a destination device 140 that includes a video decoder 144 for decoding the encoded bitstream 162 over a communication medium 160, thus Chen discloses the transmittal of the bitstream);
wherein the OMI related message is associated with only one primary layer among the plurality of layers (paragraph [347], Chen discloses that omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] specifies a specific primary layer with a specific OMI message that applies for that specific primary picture layer, meaning that each omi_primary_pic_layer_id[i] has an individual OMI SEI individual message based on the specific individual ith primary picture layer, wherein i = 0, 1, 2, etcetera, and thus, Chen discloses that there is one-on-one correspondence for each specific individual ith primary picture layer with a corresponding specific OMI SEI individual message, like omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1] has an individual OMI SEI individual message, and omi_primary_pic_layer_id[2] has another individual OMI SEI individual message that is different from the OMI SEI individual message for omi_primary_pic_layer_id[1], and so on; paragraph [67], Chen discloses the “current picture” or current primary picture layer is processed by decoding stage 302 based on received image information data including the encoded bitstream that includes OMI related message, prediction mode, parameters of prediction operation, transform type, quantization parameters, etc.; paragraph [134], Chen discloses a syntax chart of the object mask information SEI message, and paragraph [142], Chen discloses object mask information (OMI) related SEI (supplemental enhancement information) messages associated with the at least one primary picture layer such as the omi_cancel_flag for indicating whether the persistence is canceled for any previous object mask information related SEI message, similar to Applicant’s specification on page 58, paragraph [276], where Applicant discloses OMI related messages include SEI message, and Applicant’s specification on page 59, paragraph [278] in that Applicant discloses OMI messages include OMI cancellation flag information).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488