NOTE: Prior to the mailing of this office action the examiner and applicant’s representative discussed the claim amendments, prior art, and remarks filed. Please see Response to Arguments below and the attached interview summary for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claims 14 and 23, it is unclear if the “common tether line” (claim 14, last two paragraphs; claim 23, lines 6 and 8) is the same as or in addition to the “tether line” claimed in the beginning of each claim (claim 14, line 4; claim 23, line 3). Currently, as written, the “common tether line” and the “tether line” can be two different/separate connections. While neither the tether line or common tether line are positively claimed, the “configured to” limitations in the claims associated with lines can be interpreted differently depending on if there is one or two different lines for connection.
Claim 30 recites the limitation “independently adjustable support regions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rises to a level of indefiniteness because it is not clear if the applicant meant to refer to the bridge lines as “independently adjustable” (as they are claimed in claim 23), or if the applicant intends to claim the support regions are also independently adjustable.
Dependent claims not directly named are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 13-15, 18-19, 22-27 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schindler (2026/0102640; filed Oct. 11, 2024).
Schindler discloses:
1. A tree saddle assembly (figure 5), comprising:
a saddle (50, figure 3) configured support a user while tethered to a tree (figure 6);
a bridge line assembly (figure 5, see below) including at least a first bridge line (unnumbered, see annotated figure 5 below) connected to left and right sides of a first portion of the saddle (figure 5, lower portion of saddle and lower set of D-rings, see below);
and at least a second bridge line (40; 42a, 42b, figure 2) connected to left and right sides of a second portion of the saddle (@ upper D-rings 50a, 50b, figs 5 & 7; see below);
wherein the first and second bridge lines (as identified in annotated image below) are independently adjustable in effective length (via their independent cam assemblies; i.e. 70, figure 2);
wherein the first and second bridge lines are configured to be connected with a common tether line in use (just as they are configured to be connected with a common supporting pole/anchor point in figure 5); and
wherein, when connected with the common tether line (note: the tether line is not actually claimed, only bridge lines configured to be connected to), the first and second bridge lines are slidable relative to one another and relative to the common tether line during length adjustment and slidable relative to the common tether line when the user leans to either side while tethered to the tree (just as they are configured to be slidably adjusted relative to one another when supported by the common supporting pole/anchor point in figure 5).
2. The assembly of claim 1, wherein when in use the first and second bridge lines (as identified above) are each configured to support a fractional load of the user's weight which is balanced between the first and second bridge lines (when suspended and liens the adjusted to a point where the weight is shared), and wherein the weight load balance can be adjusted by adjusting the effective length of either or both of the bridge line loops (via the cams 70 as noted above).
3. The assembly of claim 2, wherein the first and second bridge lines are slidable relative to one another at respective apexes thereof (via their adjustable lengths/connections).
5. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the saddle (lower portion that first bridge line connects to) is a lower portion (figure 7) that supports the upper thigh region of the user's body (figure 7) and the second portion of the saddle (upper portion to which second bridge line connects) is an upper portion that supports the lower back region of the user's body (figure 6).
6. The assembly of claim 5, wherein the saddle comprises one or more interconnected panels of flexible material (upper and lower portions of saddle best seen in figure 7).
7. The assembly of claim 1, each of the first and second bridge lines (as identified in annotated figure 5 above) is fixed against adjustment (@44, figure 2) at one of the left and right sides of the saddle to which the respective bridge line is connected and includes a length adjustment device (cam 70, figure 2) provided at the other end of the left and right sides of the saddle to which the respective bridge lines is connected (figure 5).
13. The assembly of claim 1, including a belt line (belt, figure 6) attachable about the waist of the user separately from the first and second bridge lines (figure 6).
22. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first and second bridge lines (as identified above) are formed from two separate lengths of line (figure 5).
14. A tree saddle assembly (figure 5), comprising:
a saddle (50) fabricated of one or more interconnected panels of flexible material configured to wrap behind the body of a user (figure 7) to provide weighted support to the user while tethered in the tree by a tether line (figure 7), the saddle (50) having at least an upper section (upper belt, figure 7) and a lower section (lower belt, figure 7) and extending between left (figure 7) and right (figure 5) sides that are presented on left (figure 7) and right (figure 5) sides of the user, respectively, when in use (figure 6);
at least two bridge lines (42a, 42b, and unnumbered first/lower line; see below) for connecting the saddle (50) to the tether line (30 connected to 40 and connectable to lower line) when in use (figure 4), comprising an upper bridge line (second bridge line 42a, 42b) connected to the left and right sides of the upper section of the saddle (figure 5) and extending forward of the saddle in an upper bridge line loop connectable at an apex thereof to the tether line when in use (figure 5), and a lower bridge line (first bridge line; see below) connected to left and right sides of the lower section of the saddle and extending forward of the saddle in a lower bridge line loop (figure 5) connectable at an apex thereof to the tether line (configure and capable of connection to 30);
wherein the upper and lower bridge line loops are adjustable in effective length independently of one another (via cams 70);
wherein the upper and lower bridge line loops are configured to be connected with a common tether line in use (just as they are configured to be connected with a common supporting pole/anchor point in figure 5); and
wherein, when connected with the common tether line (note: the tether line is not actually claimed, only bridge lines configured to be connected to), the upper and lower bridge line loops are slidable relative to one another and relative to the common tether line during length adjustment (just as they are configured to be slidably adjusted relative to one another when supported by the common supporting pole/anchor point in figure 5), and slidable relative to the common tether line in response to the user leaning to either side while tethered to the tree (just as the lines would slide about the pole when a user shifts about the pole).
15. The assembly of claim 14, wherein the upper loop includes an upper length adjustment device (upper cam 70) and the lower loop includes a lower adjustment device (lower cam 70).
18. The assembly of claim 15, wherein the upper loop is fixed against adjustment on either the left (@ 44e; figure 2) or right side of the upper section of the saddle (figure 2) and is adjustable on the other of the left and right (@ 70; figure 2) sides of the upper section of the saddle (figure 2); and wherein the lower loop is fixed against adjustment on either the left (@ 44e of lower loop) or right side of the lower section of the saddle and is adjustable on the other of the left and right (@ 70 of lower loop) sides of the lower section of the saddle (figure 2).
19. The assembly of claim 15, wherein the upper section of the saddle includes left (50b; figure 7) and right (50a, figure 5) anchor loops connected to the upper loop (figures 5 and 7) and the lower section of the saddle includes left and right anchor loops (lower D-rings on lower belt) connected to the lower loop (figures 5 & 7); and wherein the upper and lower loops are adjustable from the one side of the saddle and fixed against adjustment on the other side of the saddle (figure 2).
23. A saddle assembly (figure 5), comprising:
a body-supporting saddle (50, figure 3) having multiple support regions (upper and lower portions of saddle best seen in figures 5 and 7, see below) configured to support the load of a user while suspended from a tether line (figures 5-7);
a plurality of load-bearing bridge lines (as identified in annotated figure 5 below), each bridge line connected to a different one of the support regions of the saddle (figure 5) and forming a respective bridge loop (figures 5-7); wherein each bridge line of the plurality of bridge lines is configured for slidable connection with a common tether line (just as they are configured to for slidable connection with the common supporting pole/anchor point in figure 5);
wherein each bridge line (as identified below) is independently adjustable in effective length (via their respective cam assemblies 70; figure 5) relative to the remaining bridge lines (figure 5) while connected to the common tether line (not claimed; capable of/configured for connection) to change the distribution of the user's suspended load among the respective support regions of the saddle (figure 5).
24. The assembly of claim 23, wherein the plurality of bridge lines comprise at least first and second bridge lines associated with upper and lower support regions of the saddle (see above).
25. The assembly of claim 23, wherein each bridge line supports only a portion of the user's suspended load (as there is more than one line, as shown in figure 5, the weight is distributed between all parts), and wherein adjustment of the effective length of one bridge line changes the proportion of load carried by that bridge line relative to at least one other bridge line (basic function and operation of a supporting harness and line system seen in figures 5-7).
26. The assembly of claim 23, wherein the support regions of the saddle (upper and lower sections of saddle; figures 5 and 7) collectively provide substantially continuous support to the user while suspended while permitting distribution of the user's suspended load to be varied among the multiple support regions through adjustment of one or more of the bridge lines (basic function and operation of a supporting harness and line system seen in figures 5-7).
27. The assembly of claim 23, wherein each bridge line possesses sufficient structural strength to support the full load of the user (function of the support lines).
29. The assembly of claim 23, wherein each bridge line [is] freely movable relative to the common tether line when connected and independently movable relative to one another while connected with the common tether line (just as the lines are configured to be freely movable relative the common supporting pole/anchor point in figure 5).
30. The assembly of claim 23, wherein the number of bridge lines corresponds to the number of independently adjustable support regions of the saddle (as best understood, the number of independently adjustable bridge lines, as identified above, corresponds to the number of support regions- upper and lower lines and upper and lower support regions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler as applied to claims 1, 7 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Leach et al. (US 11,771,931).
Re: claim 8, Schindler does not disclose wherein the adjustment device for each of the first and second bridge line comprises a friction hitch fixed to the saddle and wrapped about the respective bridge line to firmly engage and hold the respective bridge line against sliding relative to the friction hitch when constricted and to enable sliding adjustment of the respective bridge line when loosened. However, Leach et al. teach wherein the adjustment device for each of the bridge lines comprises a friction hitch (figure 1, unnumbered hitch at ends of bridge line 40 connecting bridge line to side loops 32, 34) fixed to the saddle (figure 1) and wrapped about the respective bridge line (formed by 40) to firmly engage and hold the respective bridge line against sliding relative to the friction hitch when constricted and to enable sliding adjustment of the respective bridge line when loosened (function and operation of hitch). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the bridge line adjustment sections of Schindler with hitches as taught by Leach et al., so as provide an adjustable end of the line, while still securing it to the saddle, to avoid unwanted dragging of excess line that could cause a user to trip or become entangled.
Re: claim 9, the combination of Schindler modified by Leach, as taught above, would result in wherein the adjustment device for each of the bridge lines further comprises a tender (Schindler, cams 70) anchored with respect to the saddle (Schindler figure 5) and interacting with a tag end of the associated bridge line (free end of bridge lines in Schindler; figure 5) extending from the friction hitch (as the hitch taught by Leach et al is positioned at the end of the lines) for selectively engaging and loosening the friction hitch in response to the user bodily lifting the tag end and sliding the tender into compressive loosening engagement with the friction hitch to effect shortening of the associated bridge line (function and operation of hitch).
Re: claim 10, Schindler discloses wherein the tender comprises a roller cam having a roller wheel (rotating component 82 of cam assembly 70).
Re: claim 11, and the hitch, Leach et al. teach wherein the tag ends of the bridge line comprise either individual loose ends or where the ends are united (Leach et al. figure 1).
Re: claim 16, the combination of Schindler modified by Leach, as taught above, would result in wherein the adjustment device for each of the bridge lines, wherein the upper adjustment device comprises an upper friction hitch and the lower adjustment device comprises a lower friction hitch (as the hitch connection taught by Leach et al. is for adjustment of a bridge line and Schindler discloses two adjustable bridge lines, upper and lower).
17. The assembly of claim 16, wherein the upper adjustment device further comprises an upper roller cam tender having a roller wheel and the lower adjustment device further comprises a lower roller cam tender including a roller wheel (roller wheels 82 of upper and lower roller cam assemblies 70 of Schindler).
Claim(s) 1,12, 23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyt (US 2,254,179) in view of Schindler (US 2026/0102640).
Re: claims 1 and 12:
Hoyt discloses:
1. A tree saddle assembly (figure 1), comprising:
a saddle (figure 3) configured to support a user (figure 1) while tethered to a tree (figure 1);
a bridge line assembly including at least a first bridge line (2, figure 3) connected to left and right sides of a first portion of the saddle (figure 3)
and at least a second bridge line (5, figure 3) connected to left and right sides of a first portion of the saddle (figure 3);
wherein the first (2) and second (5) bridge lines are configured to be connected with a common tether line (6) in use (figure 1);
wherein, when connected with the common tether line (figure 1), the first (2) and second (5) bridge lines are slidable relative to one another and relative to the common tether line (when clamping of 15 is loosened) during length adjustment and slidable relative to the common tether line (when clamping of 15 is loosened) when the user leans to either side while tethered to the tree (note that a user can be tethered to the tree but not suspended, i.e. standing on the ground, tethered to the tree with tether line 6, and adjusting lines 2 and 5 prior to climbing).
Hoyt does not disclose the first and second bridge lines are independently adjustable in effective length.
However, Schindler teaches: the first (unnumbered lower bridge line; figure 5) and second (40,42a,42b; figure 5) bridge lines are independently adjustable in effective length (via their independent adjuster cams 70; figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the bridge line assembly of Hoyt, with independently adjustable bridge lines, as taught by Schindler, so as to provide a more versatile tree saddle assembly, more readily adaptable to different body sizes, shapes and needs.
Re: claim 12, Hoyt further discloses: wherein the first (2) and second (5) bridge lines include respective apexes (figure 3) and an external connector (15, figure 3, see above) that holds the first and second bridge lines in close proximity to one another in the region of the apexes (figure 3).
Re Claims 23 and 28:
Hoyt discloses:
23. A saddle assembly (figure 1), comprising:
a body-supporting saddle (figure 3) having multiple support regions (belt 4 and seat 1) configured to support the load of a user while suspended from a tether line (figure 1);
a plurality of load-bearing bridge lines (2, 5; figure 3), each bridge line connected to a different one of the support regions of the saddle (bridge line 2 connected to seat 1, bridge line 5 connected to belt 4; figure 3) and forming a respective bridge loop (figure 3); wherein each bridge line of the plurality of bridge lines is configured for slidable connection with a common tether line (6 is slidable along 15 which houses bridge lines 2 and 5).
Hoyt does not disclose the first and second bridge lines are independently adjustable in effective length.
However, Schindler teaches: wherein each bridge line (unnumbered lower bridge line seen in figure 5 and second bridge line composed of 40,42a,42b; figure 5) is independently adjustable in effective length (via their independent adjuster cams 70; figure 5) relative to the remaining bridge lines (figure 5) while connected to the common tether line (capable of/configured for connection) to change the distribution of the user's suspended load among the respective support regions of the saddle (figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the bridge line assembly of Hoyt, with independently adjustable bridge lines, as taught by Schindler, so as to provide a more versatile tree saddle assembly, more readily adaptable to different body sizes, shapes and needs.
Re: claim 28, Hoyt further discloses: 28. including a coupling (15) that gathers the plurality of bridge lines (2, 5; figure 3) adjacent their respective apexes for connection with the common tether line (6, figure 1) while permitting the bridge lines to slide relative to the coupling and each other (when clamping of 15 is loosened).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 11, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks are primarily focused on the intended use of the claimed tree saddle assembly, specifically that the first and second bridge lines are configured to be connected with a common tether line in use, and that the primary reference of Schindler does not disclose bridge lines in use with a tether. These arguments are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
While Schindler does not expressly disclose use with a tether, the examiner again notes that the tether is not positively recited in the claims, and the prior art is certainly capable of and configured for connection with a tether as claimed. Prior to this office action examiner questioned the applicant’s representative if they intended to claim the tether line, noting that the amendments only expanded the “configured to” language, but still did not positively include the tether. Applicant’s representative confirmed that they did not intend to claim the tether, and they intentionally kept with “configured to” limitations. Applicant further pointed to MPEP 2114, arguing that the configured to language is more than just intended use limitation, and that the structure must be present.
The first and second bridge lines, as identified above in prior art of Schindler, are configured to be connected with a common tether line, in the same way that they are configured to be connected with a common anchor point, or tree or pole, as seen in figure 5. The first and second bridge lines in Schindler are both connected to and anchored about the pole 19 (figure 5); they extend forward from the saddle, toward their common anchoring point, in the same manner as the applicant’s. Whether the anchoring point is a pole, a tree, a safety anchor, a scaffolding pole, another lanyard or a carabiner, the configuration for connection to a common point is present in the structure and therefore anticipates the claim language.
With respect to the secondary reference of Leach, and the hitch configuration of claims 8-9, the applicant argues that Leach only teaches one bridge line, unlike the applicant two bridge lines. Examiner notes that first of all Schindler, not Leach, is cited for teaching first and second bridge lines; and secondly the rejection addressed the application of applying the hitch arrangement at the end of each bridge line provided.
As for the argument against the reasons for combining, examiner notes that there can be more than one reason to combine prior art features, and they do not need to be the same reasons as the applicants.
As for the amendments in claim 10 that now include the “roller wheel”, examiner notes that this feature is anticipated by the rolling cam pivotally mounted on the cam assembly.
Lastly, applicant argues against the reference of Hoyt, specifically against the spreader 15 and that it does not allow for sliding of the bridge lines relative the sliding assembly when in its use condition. These arguments are not persuasive for couple of reasons. First of all, yes the spreader 15 does lately claim the lines 2 and 5, but only when the ferrules numeral 16 are secured to the ends of 15 by screws 17. The construction of spreader 15 is intentionally modular, such that a user and assemble and disassemble as needed for clamping of the lines. Anyone of ordinary skill in the art would understand that unclamping 15 allows for adjusting/sliding of the lines relative to one another, and/or the position of 15 along the lines. Additionally, applicant seems to be applying a narrower interpretation of the claim language that actually cited. For example the applicant seems to assume there is only one “in use” position. As explained in the rejection a user can be tethered to the tree but not suspended, i.e. standing on the ground, tethered to the tree with tether line 6, and adjusting lines 2 and 5 prior to climbing.
For at least these reasons applicant’s remarks have not been found persuasive in the claims remain rejected as advanced above.
NOTE: Should applicant like to discuss additional amendments to the claims they can reach out to the examiner to schedule an after final interview. Due to the fact that the latest interview request was not granted until after receiving formerly filed amendments and remarks, the examiner will grant an after-final interview for further discussion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634