CLAIMS 1-20 ARE PRESENTED FOR EXAMINATION
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements filed January 07, 2026 have been received and entered into the application. As reflected by the attached, completed copies of form PTO/SB/08, the cited references have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 12-20 recites a physiological result which follows the
administration of minoxidil as per the method of claim 1. However, such a result does not
equate to a further limitation of the patient population, minoxidil dosage form or the step of
administration as recited in claim 1 and thus the supposed further limited metes and bounds of
the subject matter of these claims as compared to claim 1 would be unclear to one of ordinary
skill in the art.
For example, with respect to claim 13, the phrase "no tachycardia is observed in the
patient" makes the claim indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably
determine the metes and bounds of this limitation. Specifically, it is not clear how this limitation
in claim 13 further limits either the patient population of patients in need of hair loss treatment,
the minoxidil dosage form, or the method step of administration, or adds some of functional-
descriptive limitation to the claim.
The specification uses the term "tachycardia" on nine specific instances (see paragraphs
0031, 0033, 0034, 0151, 0153, 0369, 0372, 0466, and 0472). However, none of the appearances
of the limitation in claim 13 in the specification explains how a treatment method without
tachycardia is achieved.
Paragraphs 0151 and 0152 of the Specification state:
"In some embodiments of the method described herein, administering results in
substantially no cardiac effects. In some embodiments, the cardiac effects are selected from
tachycardia, hypotension, premature ventricular contractions, and other tachyarrhythmias.
In some embodiments of the method described herein, administering results in hair regrowth
with substantially no clinically significant hemodynamic changes in blood pressure. In some
embodiments, administering results in hair regrowth with substantially no cardiac effects. In
some embodiments, the daily dose of minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof
results in substantially no cardiac effects or hemodynamic effects as compared to administration
of an immediate-release oral minoxidil or a pharmaceutically".
Paragraph 0466 of the Specification demonstrates a clinical trial using 5 mg that 1 patient
developed tachycardia, which appears contrary to claim 13's intended result of the functional
descriptive claim language.
Taken as a whole, it is still not clear how the disputed limitation of claim 13 further limits
claim 1, and is therefore indefinite. The same rationale can be applied to the supposed limitations
of claims 12-20 resulting in the same conclusion that one of ordinary skill in the art
would be unable to reasonably ascertain the supposed further limiting metes and bounds of the
claimed subject matter.
Accordingly, the claims are deemed properly rejected.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha, (U.S. 2024/0474594, (effective 09/29/21), in view of Reynolds et al.,
"Investigation of the Effect of Tablet Surface Area/Volume on Drug Release from Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose Controlled-Release Matrix Tablets", Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, 28(4), 457-466 (2002), (hereinafter “Reynolds”, cited by Applicant), Jordan et al., (US 6,448,323, cited by the Examiner) and Shapiro, (US 2011/0256239; cited by the Examiner).
Sinha teaches a method of treating hair loss, comprising orally administering a dosage form to a human patient experiencing hair loss, wherein the dosage form comprises “about 5 mg to about 10 mg” of minoxidil, (which dosage range is seen to read each dosage amount between 5 and 10 mg and thus read on the presently claimed dosage of “about 4.5 mg; see at least the abstract, [0013], [0012] and (claims 10 and 16 of Sinha). Also, a 5-alpha reductase inhibitor such as finasteride may be present as a co-active ingredient, [0034])-([0035]). The dosage form, which may be provided as a tablet, ([0042]), may provide delayed, sustained or enteric release, [0043], and contain one or more diluents, carriers, excipients, fillers, disintegrants, solubilizing agents, dispersing agents, lubricants, binders, release aids, coatings etc.,([0042] and [0046]-[0047]). The oral dosage form may provide for delayed release, sustained release, or enteric release, ([0042]).
The differences between the above and the claimed subject matter lie in that Sinha fails to teach (a) hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as being present in the oral dosage form; (b) a dosage frequency of once or twice daily and proportioning of carrier/auxiliary agents, (c) the lack of detection of the claimed cardiac, cardiovascular or hirsutism effects; (d) polyvinyl alcohol as the coating material; and (e) that the patient has renal impairment.
However, the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because (a) Sinha explicitly teaches; extended release dosage forms, [0043]; that among the auxiliary agents present, carriers/excipients may be used, (e.g., [0046]); that the compositions he teaches may be produced in accordance with general practice in the pharmaceutical industry, ([0045]); and that large macromolecules such as polysaccharides can be used as carrier compounds for the compositions, ([0049]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as an extended release carrier in the compositions of Sinha because Reynolds teaches that “hydrophilic polymers, such as hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), are commonly used as rate-controlling polymers for controlled drug release from matrix-type dosage forms”. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the determination of the optimum dosage frequency to employ is considered to have been a routine matter well within the purview of the artisan having ordinary skill. The determination of the dosing of active agents in the pharmaceutical/medical arts is a primary concern when considering an effective therapeutic regimen for a given patient or patient group.
Regarding difference (c) above, Sinha is silent with regard to any hirsutism, cardiovascular or cardiac effect produced because of the minoxidil administration, whether detected by the patient or a second party who is interested in measuring for such effect thus reading on the claimed subject matter.
Also, as noted above, Sinha teaches coatings in general for the pharmaceutical dosage forms, such as tablets, and polyvinyl alcohol would have been one choice of various coatings available to one of ordinary skill in the art, (see Jordan at the abstract, for example, where an example of a polyvinyl alcohol-containing film coating for pharmaceutical tablets is disclosed). In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the selection of any particular coating from those known would have been a routine matter in the and well within the scope and spirit of the invention disclosed by Sinha.
Finally, among the types of hair loss taught by Sinha and encompassed by the present claims is that caused by a condition called telogen effluvium, ([0022]). From this, it would have been obvious that the patient being treated could have a renal impairment because as taught by Shapiro at [0063], end-stage renal disease was a known etiology of telogen effluvium.
Accordingly, for the above reasons, the claims are deemed properly rejected.
Double Patenting
Provisional
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-20, (unless otherwise specified), of copending Application
Nos. (reference applications): 19/094,716; 19/253,703; 19/253,708; 19/255,878; 19/230,047,
(claims 1-21); 19/230,054, (claims 1-21); 19/258,817; 19/260,035; 19/267,447; 19/267,464;
19/308,124; 19/315,454, (claims 1-19); 19/328,077, (claims 1-19); 19/329,494, (claims 1-19) or 19/402,798 in view of Shapiro, (US 2011/0256239; cited by the Examiner).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims in each application are directed to either treating hair loss in general or to specific types of hair loss encompassed by the present claims. The presently claimed dosage amount of “about 4.5 mg” of minoxidil, dosage frequency, other non-active agents and lack of hirsutism or a cardiac effect resulting from the administration are either recited in or else, where such hirsutism or a cardiac effect is not recited, reads on the presently claimed requirement where no such effect is detected as are the pharmacokinetic parameters required by the present claims.
Finally, among the types of hair loss encompassed by the copending claims and encompassed by the present claims is that caused by a condition called telogen effluvium, ([0022]). From this, it would have been obvious that the patient being treated could have a renal impairment because as taught by Shapiro at [0063], end-stage renal disease was a known etiology of telogen effluvium.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,688, (cited by Applicant) in view of Shapiro, (as cited above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each
other because the minoxidil formulations of the patented are species of the presently claimed dosage form which is orally administered. The carrier ingredient amounts are either broadly provided for in the patented/soon to be patented claims or else specified and are encompassed by the present percentages. The blood concentration ranges and other pharmacokinetic parameters of the patented claims would also be within the scope of the presently claimed subject matter. Also, the patented claims which are silent as to a cardiac effect, cardiovascular effect or hirsutism being caused by the practice of the invention would read on the present claims requiring no such effects occurring in the subject.
Finally, among the types of hair loss of the patented claims and encompassed by the present claims is that caused by a condition called telogen effluvium, ([0022]). From this, it would have been obvious that the patient being treated could have a renal impairment because as taught by Shapiro at [0063], end-stage renal disease was a known etiology of telogen effluvium.
Accordingly, the claims are deemed properly rejected and none are currently in condition for allowance.
/RAYMOND J HENLEY III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629
July 21, 2026