DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/06/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
Claim 15, spring is labeled but not detailed
Must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, it is unclear based on the wording of the claim what the applicant directly means. The examiner is interpreting the claim to mean the firing pin block is rigid enough that only the hammer with the force from the spring can move the engagement surface from one position to another.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim recites the limitation “extends obliquely from the longitudinal axis” then recites with an or statement “is curved so that a plate tangent to the hammer engagement surface is oblique to the longitudinal axis”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 15 and 16 will be examined as best as possible with the specification and drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-9,12-14,16,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fluhr (US 6145234). Regarding claim 1, Fluhr teaches a firing pin block (Fig. 1, 21) comprising: a first end (23) portion configured to couple to a slide of a firearm (25); an arm extending from the first end portion along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1), wherein the arm comprises a distal end portion (Fig 1; Col. 4, lines 30-33), wherein the arm is resiliently flexible to permit displacement of the distal end portion along a second axis that is transverse to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 3), wherein the distal end portion comprises a hammer engagement surface (Fig. 1, 35), wherein the hammer engagement surface is configured to contact a hammer to effect displacement of the distal end portion (Fig. 3); and a protrusion extending downwardly from the arm along the second axis (Fig. 1, 29), wherein the protrusion is positioned between the first end portion and the hammer engagement surface along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Fluhr teaches the arm has a pair of lateral edges spaced along a transverse axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal and second axes, wherein the protrusion is positioned between the pair of lateral edges (Col. 6, lines 49-63).
Regarding claim 4, Fluhr teaches the firing pin block is unitarily formed from sheet metal (Col. 6, lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 5, Fluhr teaches the hammer engagement surface (Fig. 1, 35) extends obliquely to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Fluhr teaches the hammer engagement surface is planar (Fig. 1, 35).
Regarding claim 8, Fluhr teaches A firearm comprising: a slide; a firing pin block as in claim 1, wherein the firing pin block is coupled to the slide, wherein the distal end portion of the firing pin block is displaceable from a first position (Fig. 1) to a second position (Fig. 3), wherein the protrusion comprises a rear surface; a firing pin that is movable relative to the slide along the longitudinal axis, wherein the firing pin defines a radially extending surface that is configured to contact the protrusion when the distal end portion of the firing pin block is in the first position; and a hammer that is configured to contact the hammer engagement surface of the distal end portion to bias the distal end portion toward the second position, wherein, when the distal end portion is in the second position, the protrusion is spaced from the radially extending surface along the second axis to permit movement of the firing pin so that the radially extending surface passes the rear surface of the protrusion along the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 9, Fluhr teaches the slide defines a recess, wherein the firing pin block is at least partly received within the recess of the slide (Fig. 1, 19;25).
Regarding claim 12, Fluhr teaches the firing pin (Fig. 1, 7) comprises an annular ridge (11), wherein the annular ridge defines the radially extending surface.
Regarding claim 13, Fluhr teaches a firing pin stop coupled to the slide (Fig. 1, 13), wherein the firing pin stop comprises a stop surface that is configured to contact the firing pin (Fig. 1) to inhibit further rearward movement of the firing pin.
Regarding claim 14, Fluhr teaches the firing pin (Fig. 1, 7) comprises an annular ridge (11) and a rear end portion that extends rearwardly from the annular ridge (Fig. 1), wherein the annular ridge is configured to contact the stop surface of the firing pin stop (13), wherein the firing pin stop defines an opening that is configured to receive the rear end portion of the firing pin therethrough (Fig. 1, 15).
Regarding claims 16 and 18-20, Fluhr teaches the firing pin block and firearm as previously shown, as such the same rejections apply here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,10,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fluhr (US 6145234) in view of Scott (US 4192236).
Regarding claims 2,10,17 Fluhr teaches all the elements of the current invention as stated above except the wherein the firing pin block is connected to the firearm with a fastener (screw). Scott teaches the firing pin block uses a screw (Fig. 9, 53) to hold it in place. Scott teaches a screw to hold the spring in place and affect alignment length-wise (Col. 4, lines 11-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fluhr to incorporate the teachings of Scott to provide the firing pin block with a screw. Doing so would hold the spring in place and affect alignment length-wise, as recognized by Scott.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Fluhr (US 6145234) in view of Gagne (US 11913740)
Regarding claim 7, Fluhr teaches all the elements of the current invention as stated above except wherein the hammer engagement surface is curved. Gagne teaches the hammer engagement surface is curved (Fig. 1, 136). Gagne traches a curved hammer engagement surface allows for increased strength to the spring (Col. 4, lines 32-33)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fluhr to incorporate the teachings of Gagne to provide a curved hammer engagement surface to the firing pin block. Doing so would increase the strength of the spring of the firing pin block, as recognized by Gagne.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Fluhr (US 6145234).
Regarding claim 15, Fluhr teaches the firing pin block is moved by the hammer. Fluhr does not teach the hammer has a spring that imparts enough force to move the rigid firing pin block. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to use a firing pin block that is rigid with the only thing that can move it being the hammer with enough force imparted to it from a spring. Doing so increases safety of the device as it prevents actuation of the device in the event the hammer becomes disengaged from the spring and sear without the trigger being pulled.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached list of references.
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641
/L.W.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3641