DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CON of 18/853,566 10/02/2024 PAT 12545830; 18/853,566 is a 371 of PCT/US2023/018792 04/17/2023; PCT/US2023/018792 has PRO 63/331,978 04/18/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 01/08/26 has been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 and species amphodiacetate (species), specifically disodium cocoamphodiacetate (subspecies); and reaction product of a dextrin compound and a fatty acid (species), specifically reaction product of maltodextrin and lauric acid (subspecies) in the reply filed on 06/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 11, 17-19 have been withdrawn in an amendment filed on 06/17/26. Claims 1-10, 12-16 are examined in this Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,545,830 in view of Pabalan (US 2015/0183979).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 12, 14-15, Patented claim 1 discloses a composition comprising: an aqueous fluid; a neutral surfactant or a reaction product form thereof; a reaction product of a saccharide polymer and a fatty acid or a fatty ester, the saccharide polymer comprising a dextran, a dextrin compound, or any combination thereof, and the reaction product of the saccharide polymer and the fatty acid or the fatty ester and the reaction product form of the neutral surfactant, if present, being formed in the presence of an aqueous hydroxide base; one or more C.sub.1-4 alkyl alcohols; and one or more zwitterionic surfactants; wherein a volume ratio of the one or more zwitterionic surfactants with respect to a combined volume of the one or more zwitterionic surfactants and the reaction product of the saccharide polymer and the fatty acid or the fatty ester is sufficient to make the composition brine-tolerant; wherein the composition is non-emulsifying toward oleaginous fluids. Patented claim 2, discloses the one or more zwitterionic surfactants comprise at least one amphoacetate, at least one amphodiacetate, or any combination thereof, but patented claims do not disclose the zwitterionic surfactants such as cocoamphodiacetate (elected species).
However, Pabalan discloses brine containing aqueous subterranean treatment fluid comprising zwitterionic surfactants such as cocoamphodiacetate (para [0094], [0641], [0705]-[0726], [0740], [0758]).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patented claims with the aforementioned teachings of Pabalan to provide a composition comprising zwitterionic surfactants such as cocoamphodiacetate in order to use such fluid in subterranean treatment. Since it has been held that it is prima facie obviousness to use a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.06(11) and 2144.07; In re Fout, 675 F2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); Sinclair& Carroll Co v Interchemical Corp, 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc vAg-Bag Corp, 857 F2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed Cir 1988). In the instant case, zwitterionic surfactants such as amphodiacetate for the brine tolerance. Absent evidence to the contrary, one of ordinary skill would have reasonable basis to expect that the zwitterionic surfactants of Pabalan would be effective in the fluid of patented claims.
Dependent claims 6-7, 9, 10, 13 are same as patented claims 3-4, 10-13.
Regarding claim 16, since the composition is obvious over patented claims, the composition can used for any intended purpose such as a personal care product.
Claims 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,545,830 in view of Pabalan (US 2015/0183979) and further in view of Gardner (US 2021/0340429).
Regarding claim 3, patented claims are silent about maltodextrin.
However, Gardner discloses a subterranean treatment fluid composition comprising an aqueous fluid such as brine; a neutral surfactant; a reaction product of a saccharide polymer and a fatty acid or a fatty ester, the saccharide polymer comprising a dextran, a dextrin compound such as maltodextrin, or any combination thereof, and the reaction product of the saccharide polymer and the fatty acid or the fatty ester, being formed in the presence of an aqueous hydroxide base; and one or more zwitterionic surfactants, wherein a reaction product formed from maltodextrin and lauric acid may generate a less dense and more stable foam (para [0018], [0025]-]0033], [0043]-[0044]).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patented claims with the aforementioned teachings of Gardner to provide a composition comprising dextrin such as maltodextrin and fatty acid such as lauric acid. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Gardner that to do so would generate a less dense and more stable foam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner (US 2021/0340429) in view of Pabalan (US 2015/0183979).
Regarding claims 1-4, 14-15, Gardner discloses a subterranean treatment fluid composition comprising an aqueous fluid such as brine; a neutral surfactant; a reaction product of a saccharide polymer and a fatty acid or a fatty ester, the saccharide polymer comprising a dextran, a dextrin compound such as maltodextrin, or any combination thereof, and the reaction product of the saccharide polymer and the fatty acid or the fatty ester, being formed in the presence of an aqueous hydroxide base; and one or more zwitterionic surfactants such as cocamidopropyl betaine (para [0025]-]0033], [0043]-[0044]).
Gardner does not disclose the zwitterionic surfactants such as amphodiacetate, e.g. cocoamphodiacetate (elected species).
However, Pabalan discloses brine containing aqueous subterranean treatment fluid comprising zwitterionic surfactants such as cocamidopropyl betaine and functionally equivalent cocoamphodiacetate (para [0094], [0641], [0705]-[0726], [0740], [0758]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the cocoamphodiacetate of the claims in the composition of Gardner because Pabalan teaches that the claimed cocoamphodiacetate and the cocamidopropyl betaine of Gardner are functionally equivalent and it is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose, see MPEP § 2144.06; In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958).
It has been noted that the aqueous carrier fluid is brine, wherein the carrier fluid contains the neutral surfactants, zwitterionic surfactants and a reaction product of a saccharide polymer and a fatty acid or a fatty ester, the saccharide polymer comprising a dextran, a dextrin compound, or any combination thereof, and the reaction product of the saccharide polymer and the fatty acid or the fatty ester. Hence, Gardner implicitly traches a volume ratio of the one or more zwitterionic surfactants with respect to a combined volume of the one or more zwitterionic surfactants and the reaction product of the saccharide polymer and the fatty acid or the fatty ester is sufficient to make the composition brine-tolerant to some degree and to some extent. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004). MPEP 2111.01.
Regarding claims 5, 8, since the claimed composition is obvious over prior arts, the properties of the composition such as non-emulsifying toward oleaginous fluids (in presence of brine) would necessarily be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Regarding claims 6, 9, Gardner discloses betaine surfactant (para [0031]).
Regarding claims 12, Pabalan discloses composition comprises alcohols such as methanol or ethanol which act as anti-freeze agent (para [0539], [0681]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify Gardner with alcohols such as methanol or ethanol, as taught by Pabalan. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Pabalan that to do so would help to use the composition in freezing conditions.
Regarding claim 13, Gardner discloses the neutral surfactant comprises fatty acid alkanolamide (para [0018]).
Regarding claim 16, Gardner discloses the composition is used as personal care product (para [0773]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10 are declared allowable over the prior art of record and if the obviousness-type double patenting present, supra, is overcome (e.g. by Applicant filing of a Terminal Disclaimer).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 7, 10 require a specified volume ratio of the at least one amphoacetate, the at least one amphodiacetate, or any combination thereof with respect to the combined volume of the one or more zwitterionic surfactants and the reaction product of the saccharide polymer and the fatty acid or the fatty ester. Closest prior arts Gardner and/or Pabalan do not suggest or disclose the features of claims 7, 10.
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766