Detailed Office action
Applicant’s amendments/arguments and the Affidavit dated 9/4/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1 and 10 are amended. Claims 12 and 14 are cancelled. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-11, 13, and 15-20 remain pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112(b) and 112(d) rejections previously set forth in the non-final office action of 6/5/2026. These rejections are withdrawn. Regarding the limitation of the hardness of the roller in the independent claims 1 and 10, and as detailed by the Applicant, this hardness is interpreted to be the hardness of the outer sleeve.
Applicant’s and Affiant’s arguments that the primary art of ASER is non-analogous art and not pertinent to the particular problem, have been fully considered and found not to be persuasive.
The primary art of ASER discloses a pressure roller appropriate for heat pressuring a thermoplastic resin. The instant invention discloses a pressure roller for pressuring hot thermoplastic resin. These are close analogous arts.
It appears that Applicant’s argument regarding non-analogous art refers to the method in which the ASER’s pressure roller that the instant invention’s pressure roller are employed. The Examiner notes that the instant claims are apparatus claims and not method claims. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); also, see MPEP 2114 (II). The apparatus of ASER reads on the claimed apparatus.
Regarding the argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have referred to ASER in the first place, the Examiner notes that it has been held that “[K]nown work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art” (emphasis added by the Examiner); also see MPEP 2143 (I)(F). Therefore, even if arguendo, ASER is not in the same field of endeavor (which it is), it is permissible to use the ASER’s structure in a different field.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the secondary references of KLAUS (regarding hardness of the outer sleeve) and LASSON (regarding thickness of the outer sleeve) are persuasive and those rejections are withdrawn. Upon further search and consideration, new rejections over two new secondary arts are made in this office action and presented below in their relevant sections. As the result, this office action is a second non-final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASER (US 3,435,500; of record), hereinafter ASER, in view of ANDERSON (US 4,258,089), hereinafter ANDERSON, as evidenced by HARRIS (US-2025/0145811), hereinafter HARRIS. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, ASER discloses A roller configured for contact with an extruded polymer melt {[abstract] note that the preamble limitation reciting the contact with extruded polymer melt is merely a statement on the purpose or the intended use of the roller and does not limit the claim, see MPEP 2111.02 (II)}, the roller comprising:
a core comprising a steel base {[C3, L7]};
an intermediate layer comprising rubber {[C3, L7-8]};
an outer sleeve comprising fluorinated ethylene polymer (FEP) or perfluoroalkoxy alkane (PFA) {[C3, L8-9]}.
ASER, however, is silent on the hardness of the outer sleeve.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller for plastic material, ANDERSON discloses wherein the roller comprises a hardness in a range of from 55 to 95, as measured by ASTM D2240 according to the Shore A scale {[C3, L35-36]/[C7, L62-63] note as evidenced by HARRS in [0071] use of this ASTM method for determining hardness is known}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of ANDERSON in the roller of ASER and have chosen the disclosed hardness for the outer sleeve or roller. As disclosed by ANDERSON, this hardness is appropriate for a pressure roller with an outer sleeve made of fluorocarbon polymer for various applications {[abstract]}.
Regarding claim 2, ASER discloses wherein the outer sleeve extends in a single piece along at least 50% of the length of the roller {[FIG. 2] note sleeve 17 completely covers the roller}.
Regarding claim 4, ANDERSON discloses wherein an exposed surface of the outer sleeve is polished {[C1, L65-66] note highly smooth finish that indicates polishing in certain cases}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of ANDERSON in the modified roller of ASER and have polished the outer sleeve, so that the coated plastic obtains a highly smooth surface. As disclosed by ANDERSON, this smoothness is appropriate for a pressure roller with an outer sleeve made of fluorocarbon polymer for various applications {[abstract]}.
Regarding claim 7, ASER discloses wherein the rubber is a chlorosulfonated polyethylene synthetic rubber or a silicone based rubber {[abstract]}.
Regarding claim 9, ASER discloses wherein the intermediate layer is in direct contact with each of the core and the outer sleeve {[FIG. 2] 11 (core), 12 (intermediate layer), and 17 (outer sleeve) are in direct contact}.
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of ASER and ANDERSON as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LASSON (EP-3804988-A1; of record), hereinafter LASSON, as evidenced by HARRIS. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of ASER and ANDERSON discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the hardness of the intermediate rubber layer.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller, LASSON discloses wherein the intermediate layer comprises a hardness in a range of from 40 to 70, as measured by ASTM D2240 according to the Shore A scale {[0034] note hardness of 14b that is an intermediate layer, note as evidenced by HARRS in [0071] use of this ASTM method for determining hardness is known}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of LASSON in the combination roller of ASER and ANDERSON and have chosen the disclosed hardness for the intermediate layer. As disclosed by LASSON, this hardness results in improved lamination {[0019]}.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of ASER and ANDERSON discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the diameter of the core.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller, LASSON discloses wherein the core has a diameter in a range of from 6 inches to 7.5 inches (15.24 cm to 19.05 cm) {[0034]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of LASSON in the combination roller of ASER and ANDERSON and have chosen the disclosed diameter for the core. As disclosed by LASSON, this is a suitable dimension {[0034]}.
The Examiner notes that the disclosed diameter is outside the claimed range but close. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when the claimed range and the prior art range do not overlap but are close enough such that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same [or similar] properties. Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329, citing Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d at 783, MPEP 2131.03 (III).
The Examiner also notes that the diameter or size of the core of the roller also depends on the size and capacity of the production process. It is well within the skill of an artisan to have determined appropriate size of the core of a pressure roller based on the production capacity and size of the sheets that are being produced.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of ASER and ANDERSON as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of CHEN (US-2007/0298217), hereinafter CHEN. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of ASER and ANDERSON discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 4 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the roughness of the exposed surface of the outer sleeve layer.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller, CHEN discloses wherein the exposed surface has an average roughness (Ra) in a range of from 5 Ra (microns) to 10 Ra (microns) {[0063]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of CHEN in the combination roller of ASER and ANDERSON and have chosen the disclosed roughness for the exposed surface of the outer sleeve. As disclosed by CHEN, this is a suitable roughness to prevent adhesion of the outer surface of the roller to the film that is being pressed {[0008]}.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of ASER and ANDERSON as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHAPMAN (US 4,325,998), hereinafter CHAPMAN. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of ASER and ANDERSON discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the outer sleeve radial thickness.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller with fluorinated polymer for outer sleeve, CHAPMAN discloses wherein the outer sleeve has a radial thickness in a range of from 0.020 to 0.060 inches (0.51 to 1.52 mm) {[C4, L64-66]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of CHAPMAN in the combination roller of ASER and ANDERSON and have chosen the disclosed radial thickness for the outer sleeve. As disclosed by CHAPMAN, this is usually the range of thickness for fluorinated outer sleeve of pressure roller {[C3, L39-49]}.
Additionally, CHAPMAN discloses that thickness of the outer sleeve depends on the overall diameter of the pressure rollers and for smaller rollers, a relatively thicker sleeve can be used {[C3, L10-15]}. Therefore, CHAPMAN recognizes the radial thickness of the outer sleeve as a result-effective variable that depends on the overall sizes of the pressure rollers.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of size of the roller on outer sleeve thickness) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized this radial thickness which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the optimum thickness for a roller that in certain cases meets the sizes that are claimed.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASER, in view of ANDERSON, CHEN, and CHAPMAN, as evidenced by HARRIS. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 10, ASER discloses A roller configured for contact with an extruded polymer melt {[abstract] note that the preamble limitation reciting the contact with extruded polymer melt is merely a statement on the purpose or the intended use of the roller and does not limit the claim, see MPEP 2111.02 (II)}, the roller comprising:
a core comprising a steel base {[C3, L7]};
an intermediate layer comprising rubber selected from chlorosulfonated polyethylene synthetic rubber or silicone-based rubber {[abstract], [C3, L7-8]};
an outer sleeve comprising fluorinated ethylene polymer (FEP) or perfluoroalkoxy alkane (PFA) {[C3, L8-9]},
extending in a single piece along at least 50% of the length of the roller {[FIG. 2] note sleeve 17 completely covers the roller},
and the intermediate layer is in direct contact with both the core and the outer sleeve {[FIG. 2] 11 (core), 12 (intermediate layer), and 17 (outer sleeve) are in direct contact}.
ASER, however, is silent on the hardness of outer sleeve and that it is polished.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller for plastic material, ANDERSON discloses wherein the roller has a hardness in a range of from 55 to 95, as measured by ASTM D2240 according to the Shore A scale {[C3, L35-36]/[C7, L62-63] note as evidenced by HARRS in [0071] use of this ASTM method for determining hardness is known},
the outer sleeve comprising a polished exposed surface {[C1, L65-66] note highly smooth finish that indicates polishing in certain cases}.
Regarding the hardness, and at the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of ANDERSON in the roller of ASER and have chosen the disclosed hardness for the outer sleeve. As disclosed by ANDERSON, this hardness is appropriate for a pressure roller with an outer sleeve made of fluorocarbon polymer for various applications {[abstract]}.
Regarding the polished surface, and at the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of ANDERSON in the modified roller of ASER and have polished the outer sleeve, so that the coated plastic obtains a highly smooth surface. As disclosed by ANDERSON, this smoothness is appropriate for a pressure roller with an outer sleeve made of fluorocarbon polymer for various applications {[abstract]}.
The combination of ASER and ANDERSON, however, is silent on the roughness of the exposed surface of the outer sleeve layer.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller, CHEN discloses exposed surface with an average roughness in a range of from 5 to 10 Ra (microns) {[0063]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of CHEN in the combination roller of ASER and ANDERSON and have chosen the disclosed roughness for the exposed surface of the outer sleeve. As disclosed by CHEN, this is a suitable roughness to prevent adhesion of the outer surface of the roller to the film that is being pressed {[0008]}.
Combination of ASER, ANDERSON, and CHEN, however, is silent on the outer sleeve radial thickness or the last limitation of claim 10.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller with fluorinated polymer for outer sleeve, CHAPMAN discloses wherein the outer sleeve comprises a radial thickness in a range of from 0.020 to 0.060 inches (0.51 to 1.52 mm) {[C4, L64-66]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of CHAPMAN in the combination roller of ASER and ANDERSON and have chosen the disclosed radial thickness for the outer sleeve. As disclosed by CHAPMAN, this is usually the range of thickness for fluorinated outer sleeve of pressure rollers {[C3, L39-49]}.
Additionally, CHAPMAN discloses that the thickness of the outer sleeve depends on the overall diameter of the pressure rollers and for smaller rollers, a relatively thicker sleeve can be used {[C3, L10-15]}. Therefore, CHAPMAN recognizes the radial thickness of the outer sleeve as a result-effective variable that depends on the overall sizes of the pressure rollers.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of size of the roller on outer sleeve thickness) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized this radial thickness which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the optimum thickness for a roller that in certain cases meets the sizes that are claimed.
Regarding claim 15, ASER discloses wherein the outer sleeve extends along substantially the entire length of the roller {[FIG. 2] note sleeve 17 completely covers the roller}.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of ASER, ANDERSON, CHEN, and CHAPMAN as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of LASSON, as evidenced by HARRIS. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of ASER, ANDERSON, CHEN, and CHAPMAN discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the hardness of the intermediate rubber layer.
In the same filed of endeavor that is related to pressure roller, LASSON discloses wherein the intermediate layer comprises a hardness in a range of from 40 to 70, as measured by ASTM D2240 according to the Shore A scale {[0034] note hardness of 14b that is an intermediate layer, note as evidenced by HARRS in [0071] use of this ASTM method for determining hardness is known}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of LASSON in the combination roller of ASER, ANDERSON, CHEN, and CHAPMAN and have chosen the disclosed hardness for the intermediate layer. As disclosed by LASSON, this hardness results in improved lamination {[0019]}.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of ASER, ANDERSON, CHEN, and CHAPMAN discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the diameter of the core.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to pressure roller, LASSON discloses wherein the core has a diameter in a range of from 6 inches to 7.5 inches (15.24 cm to 19.05 cm) {[0034]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of LASSON in the combination roller of ASER, ANDERSON, CHEN, and CHAPMAN, and have chosen the disclosed diameter for the core. As disclosed by LASSON, this is a suitable dimension {[0034]}.
The Examiner notes that the disclosed diameter is outside the claimed range but close. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when the claimed range and the prior art range do not overlap but are close enough such that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same [or similar] properties. Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329, citing Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d at 783, MPEP 2131.03 (III).
The Examiner also note that the diameter or size of the core of the roller also depends on the size and capacity of the production process. It is well within the skill of an artisan to determine appropriate size of the core of a pressure roller based on the production capacity and size of the sheets that are being produced.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748