DETAILED ACTION
The final action (6/22/2026) is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 10, 13-14, 17-20, 23-24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 20250097862 A1).
Considering claim 1, Takahashi teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving (3), by a terminal device (1) (Fig., 9-10), first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates a first resource that is used for receiving a reference signal for synchronization ([0008] a receiver configured to receive a system information block including first information in a first cell), wherein the first resource comprises a frequency resource, and the frequency resource is determined based on an absolute frequency value for transmitting the reference signal (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008] receiver receives the synchronization signal block at the specified frequency location, [0038] frequency location for the location of the point A may be expressed as ARFCN…);
receiving, by the terminal device (Fig.1, 9-10), the reference signal for synchronization from a first cell by using the first resource ([0008], [0193] terminal apparatus 1 receives an SIB1 (which may be another SIB) including first information/parameter indicating a frequency location and bandwidth…); and
performing, based on the reference signal, synchronization (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008] a controller configured to specify a frequency location of a synchronization signal block based on the first information, wherein the receiver receives the synchronization signal block at the specified frequency location, [0038]).
Considering claim 19, Takahashi teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: transmitting, by a network device to a terminal device (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008]), first indication information ([0008] a receiver configured to receive a system information block including first information in a first cell), wherein the first indication information indicates a first resource (Fig.1, 9-10), and the first resource is used for transmitting a reference signal for synchronization ([0008], [0193]), wherein the first resource comprises a frequency resource (specified frequency location), and the frequency resource is determined based on an absolute frequency value for transmitting the reference signal (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008] receiver receives the synchronization signal block at the specified frequency location, [0038] frequency location for the location of the point A may be expressed as ARFCN…).
Considering claim 20, Takahashi teaches a terminal device, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the terminal device to perform operations comprising:
receiving (1) first indication information from a network device (Fig.1, 9-10), wherein the first indication information indicates a first resource that is used for receiving a reference signal for synchronization ([0008] a receiver configured to receive a system information block including first information in a first cell), wherein the first resource comprises a frequency resource, and the frequency resource is determined based on an absolute frequency value for transmitting the reference signal (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008] receiver receives the synchronization signal block at the specified frequency location, [0038] frequency location for the location of the point A may be expressed as ARFCN…);
receiving the reference signal for synchronization from a first cell by using the first resource (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008], [0193] terminal apparatus 1 receives an SIB1 (which may be another SIB) including first information/parameter indicating a frequency location and bandwidth…); and
performing, based on the reference signal, at least one of synchronization, synchronization (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008] a controller configured to specify a frequency location of a synchronization signal block based on the first information, wherein the receiver receives the synchronization signal block at the specified frequency location, [0038]).
Considering claims 6, 23, Takahashi teaches wherein the first resource comprises a time resource, and the first indication information indicated one or more of following: a transmission period of the reference signal (Fig.2, [0035] transmission period), a start instant of transmitting the reference signal, an end instant of transmitting the reference signal, a time unit in which the reference signal is located, a location of the reference signal in a time unit, a quantity of times of transmitting the reference signal, or duration for transmitting the reference signal.
Considering claims 7, 24, Takahashi teaches wherein the time unit comprises a system frame number of a primary cell ([0054]-[0055] System Frame Number (SFN)).
Considering claims 10, 26, Takahashi teaches wherein a reference frequency for transmitting the reference signal is a center frequency ([0180] center frequency).
Considering claims 13, 27, Takahashi teaches wherein the method further comprises: transmitting, by the terminal device, a first request message, wherein the first request message is used for requesting the first cell to transmit the reference signal, and the first request message is transmitted by the terminal device to the network device (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008], [0193]), or the first request message is transmitted by the terminal device to the first cell.
Considering claim 14, Takahashi teaches wherein the first request message comprises sixth indication information, the sixth indication information indicates a cell that is required to transmit the reference signal, and the cell that is required to transmit the reference signal comprises the first cell (Fig.1, 9-10, [0008], [0193]).
Considering claims 17, 28, Takahashi teaches wherein the reference signal comprises a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) ([0008], [0054], [0178] SSB).
Considering claims 18, 29, Takahashi teaches wherein a primary cell is co- located with the first cell (Fig.1, [0032] one primary cell and one or multiple secondary cells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 15, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 20250097862 A1) in view of ZEINEDDINE KHALID (EP 4604412 A1).
Considering claims 11, 25, Takahashi teaches wherein the reference signal for synchronization is received via a plurality of beams, and the method further comprises: transmitting, by the terminal device (Fig.1, 9-10), fourth indication information to a primary cell ([0032] terminal apparatus 1 can transmit control information in the uplink…Pcell and Scells),
Takahashi does not clearly teach wherein the indication information indicates a target beam in the plurality of beams, and the target beam is a beam with an optimal signal measurement result in the plurality of beams.
Zeineddine teach wherein the indication information indicates a target beam in the plurality of beams (beam management report), and the target beam is a beam with an optimal signal measurement result in the plurality of beams (Fig.4, 9, [0006], [0175]-[0176]).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Zeineddine to Takahashi, in order to maintaining an optimal DL beam for the UE.
Considering claim 15, Takahashi teaches wherein the transmitting, by the terminal device, the first request message comprises: transmitting, by the terminal device, the first request message when a second condition is satisfied (Fig.1, [0032]), wherein the second condition comprises one or more of following: a signal measurement result for the first cell being less than or equal to a second threshold; or the terminal device being unable to determine downlink subframe boundary information of the first cell.
Takahashi does not clearly teach a signal measurement result for the first cell being less than or equal to a second threshold; or the terminal device being unable to determine downlink subframe boundary information of the first cell.
Zeineddine teach a signal measurement result for the first cell being less than or equal to a second threshold; or the terminal device being unable to determine downlink subframe boundary information of the first cell (Fig.4, 9, [0006], [0175]-[0176] a flag indicating that the quality of the downlink signal reception is bad).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Zeineddine to Takahashi, in order to maintaining an optimal DL beam for the UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641