DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
There is there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the pressure wave motion” in the 3rd paragraph. It is unclear what is being referred to.
It is unclear what is intended by “the pressure/pulse wave” in the 4th paragraph. It is unclear if the slash is intended to mean “and”, “or”, “and/or”, or something else.
It is unclear how the method is a “method of measuring pulse wave velocity ("PWV")”, as the claimed method does not include any steps of measuring PWV. The preamble is thus disembodied from the method steps, which renders the scope unclear. Does the method measure PWV or not?
Claim 2 is indefinite because there is unclear antecedent basis for “displacement
information”. It is unclear if this is the displacement information in claim 1. Consequently, it is unclear if the ‘extracting’ is the ‘extraction’ referred to in claim 1, or if these are two different ‘extracting’ steps.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear what is intended by “wall expansion signal/differential signal” and “pressure/pulse wave”. It is unclear if the slash is intended to mean “and”, “or”, “and/or”, or something else.
Claims 4 and 5 are indefinite because it is unclear what is intended by “reference point/kernel”. It is unclear if the slash is intended to mean “and”, “or”, “and/or”, or something else.
Claim 6 is indefinite because it is unclear what is intended by “resampling of slow-time signals/motion compensation”. It is unclear if the slash is intended to mean “and”, “or”, “and/or”, or something else.
Claims 7 - 8 are indefinite by virtue of dependency.
Claim 9 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “the ultrasound pulses are at a frame rate of over 100 Hz”. Those of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a frame rate is the rate at which image frames are captured. However, the ultrasound pulses are the pulses that are transmitted into the tissue, rather than image frames. It is unclear how ultrasound pulses that are transmitted into the tissue may have a ”frame rate”, as they do not possess a frame.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,551,196. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to methods of measuring pulse wave velocity (“PWV”) in an arterial wall of a blood vessel utilizing ultrasound imaging (reference claim 1), comprising: placing of an ultrasound probe on an exterior tissue above the blood vessel (reference claim 1); transmitting ultrasound pulses from the ultrasound probe into the tissue, and receiving echo signals containing the pressure wave motion on the blood vessel wall (reference claim 1); tracking of longitudinal motion of the arterial wall as the pressure/pulse wave transits through the arterial wall (reference claim 1); and suppressing of longitudinal wall movement of the arterial wall on successive beamformed image frames of the arterial wall while extracting displacement information of the arterial wall (reference claim 1). Specifically:
Claim 1 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Claim 2 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Claim 3 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Claim 4 is suggested by reference claim 2.
Claim 5 is suggested by reference claim 3.
Claim 6 is suggested by reference claim 4.
Claim 7 is suggested by reference claim 5.
Claim 8 is suggested by reference claim 6.
Claim 9 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rouet et al. (US 2022/0096048).
Regarding claim 1, Rouet shows a method comprising:
placing of an ultrasound probe on an exterior tissue above the blood vessel (non-invasive measure of blood vessel rigidity, abstract);
transmitting ultrasound pulses from the ultrasound probe into the tissue, and receiving echo signals containing the pressure wave motion on the blood vessel wall (ultrasound data acquisitions, [0122] and steps 110, 120 in fig. 2);
tracking of longitudinal motion of the arterial wall as the pressure/pulse wave transits through the arterial wall (motion of the blood vessel is determined, [0125] and step 130 in fig. 2; longitudinal tracking, [0140]); and
suppressing of longitudinal wall movement of the arterial wall (correct for any longitudinal motion occurring during the cardiac cycle, [0140]) on successive beamformed image frames of the arterial wall (tracking algorithm is applied to the cineloop, [0137]) while extracting displacement information of the arterial wall (blood vessel wall displacement over time is determined, [0141]).
The method is interpreted as being ‘of measuring pulse wave velocity ("PWV")’, lacking any positive recitation in the claim of a step of measuring the PWV.
Regarding claim 2, Rouet discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Rouet further shows suppressing of undulating motion of the arterial wall on successive beamformed image frames of the arterial wall while extracting displacement information of the arterial wall ([0140] - the axial tracking and/or longitudinal tracking and subsequent motion correction would provide at least partial suppression of motion that includes at least some ‘undulation’).
Regarding claim 3, Rouet discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Rouet further shows enhancing of a wall expansion signal/differential signal of the arterial wall due to the pressure/pulse wave ([0140] - the correction for longitudinal motion provides enhancement of any wall expansion signal by virtue of the correction).
Regarding claim 8, Rouet discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Rouet further shows the tracking is of multiphasic and bidirectional longitudinal displacements of anterior and posterior walls of the arterial wall during a cardiac cycle wall ([0140] - the longitudinal tracking would provide tracking that is of at least some ‘multiphasic and bidirectional longitudinal displacements’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouet in view of Isla Garcia (US 2023/0277157 ).
Regarding claim 4, Rouet discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Rouet further shows the tracking comprises mapping pixel coordinates on the successive beamformed image frames of the arterial wall (“initial vessel boarder may be propagated automatically onto all the of the ultrasound image frames of the cineloop”, [0140]).
Rouet is not specific to the pixel coordinates having a reference point/kernel centered thereon.
Isla Garcia discloses generating microvessel images from image data acquired with an ultrasound system. Isla Garcia teaches pixel coordinates having a reference point/kernel centered thereon ([0026]; centroid of all of the tracking windows, [0057]; [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Rouet to include the pixel coordinates having a reference point/kernel centered thereon, as taught by Isla Garcia, in order to utilize parallelizable, convex constraints, as suggested by Isla Garcia ([0060]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouet in view of Alizad (US 2022/0087651).
Regarding claim 9, Rouet discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Rouet fails to show a frame rate of over 100 Hz.
Alizad discloses generating microvessel images from image data acquired with an ultrasound system. Alizad teaches a frame rate of over 100 Hz (‘frame rate associated with an acquisition pulse repetition frequency (“PRF”) of at least 100 Hz’, [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Rouet to include a frame rate of over 100 Hz, as taught by Alizad, in order to achieve a high frame rate, as suggested by Alizad ([0100]).
Conclusion
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798