DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Degner (US 2016/0103496 A1, hereinafter referred as “Degner”).
Regarding claim 16, Degner discloses an input device (¶0035 discloses electronic device 100 may be a laptop computer and the input surface may be a track pad) comprising:
an operation panel that includes an input area for receiving touch input from an operating body (¶0041 discloses input surface 200 may provide space for or form an input area 202 on contact portion 104 of electronic device 100, as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B) and a non-input area not for receiving the touch input (Fig. 6A and ¶0065 disclose portions of input surface 200 positioned outside of input area 202 may be deactivated or temporarily inoperable, such that a user may not interact with input surface 200 when touching or forming contact point(s) outside of boundary lines 232);
a touch sensor that detects a position touched by the operating body, the position being located in the input area on the operation panel (¶0046 discloses user touch and the force (F) may be applied to contact portion 104 of electronic device 100 in an input area 202 for a user to provide input and/or to interact with electronic device 100);
a vibrator (¶0058 discloses haptic actuator(s) 227); and
a control circuit that controls the vibrator (¶0058 discloses Haptic feedback module 226 may also be in communication with haptic actuator(s) 227 positioned at least partially within or adjacent to input area 202), wherein the input area includes a first input area and a second input area that is located closer to the non-input area than the first input area is (¶0059 and ¶0065 disclose interior portion of the input area 202 as the first input area and the input area 202 adjacent the boundary lines 232 as the second input area which is closer to the portions outside the boundary line 232 than interior portion 202; ¶0065 discloses portions of input surface 200 positioned outside of input area 202 may be deactivated or temporarily inoperable), and the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area by controlling the vibrator when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area (¶0059 discloses haptic feedback module 226 may recognize when a user's touch is adjacent, proximate or on a boundary line of input area 202 for input surface 200, and may subsequently provide a haptic signals to notify the user that they may be moving outside of input area 202) with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0060 discloses touch detection module 228 may detect a user touching input area 202 of input surface 200 with a single fingertip to form a contact point with input surface 200. Additionally, touch detection module 228 may also detect the contact point is continuously moving in a first direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al. (US 2014/0118127 A1, hereinafter referred as “Kono”) in view of Ujii et al. (US 2013/0038558 A1, hereinafter referred as “Ujii”).
Regarding claim 1, Kono discloses an input device (Fig. 1 and ¶0038 discloses an input apparatus 1) comprising:
an operation panel that includes an input area (¶0048 discloses the ‘predetermined region’ is an area of the touch sensor 11 corresponding to a position of the display unit 14 displaying the input object such as the keys and the buttons to receive an input) for receiving touch input from an operating body (¶0039 discloses a touch sensor 11 detects a pressing input (contact) to a key and a button displayed on the display unit 14 by an operator's finger or the like) and a non-input area (¶0060 discloses position of the contact… outside the key region)…;
a touch sensor that detects a position touched by the operating body, the position being located in the input area on the operation panel (¶0048 discloses when the pressure load satisfying the predetermined standard is detected at step S12, the control unit 15 determines whether a position of the contact detected by the touch sensor 11 is inside the predetermined region);
a vibrator (¶0039 discloses the tactile sensation providing unit 13 vibrates the touch sensor 11 and may include, for example, a piezoelectric vibrator); and
a control circuit (15) that causes the vibrator to vibrate… by controlling the vibrator (¶0043 and ¶0063 disclose when the position of the contact moves out of the key region at step S22, the control unit 15… drives the tactile sensation providing unit 13 with the predetermined drive signal and provides the tactile sensation (step S24)) when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area (¶0060 discloses the control unit 15 determines whether the position of the contact moves from inside the key region to outside the key region while the pressure load satisfies the predetermined standard) with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0060 discloses operator's motion to move (slide) the position of the contact from the position corresponding to the input object such as the key and the like to the position not corresponding thereto on the touch sensor 11 while applying the pressure load satisfying the predetermined standard to the touch sensor 11).
Kono doesn’t disclose a non-input area not for receiving the touch input; and the vibrator to vibrate at least the non-input area on the operation panel by controlling the vibrator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ujii discloses a non-input area (E1) not for receiving the touch input (Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029 disclose an electronic device X1… includes an operation area E0 and a non-operation area E1 which is located outside the operation area E0… The non-operation area E1 is an area in which a user cannot perform an input operation); and the vibrator to vibrate (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is a member that serves to cause flexural vibration of the touch panel 3, upon detecting a predetermined input operation by a user) at least the non-input area (E1) on the operation panel (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is provided on the second principal surface 3b of the touch panel 3 corresponding to the non-operation area E1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kono for the purpose of reducing the possibility that a vibrator is visually observed by a user (¶0004 and ¶0006).
Regarding claim 20, Kono discloses a control method (¶0056 discloses the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 4 is the operation performed when the position of the contact in the key region moves out of the key region) for controlling an input device (Fig. 1 and ¶0038 discloses an input apparatus 1) comprising:
an operation panel that includes an input area (¶0048 discloses the ‘predetermined region’ is an area of the touch sensor 11 corresponding to a position of the display unit 14 displaying the input object such as the keys and the buttons to receive an input) for receiving touch input from an operating body (¶0039 discloses a touch sensor 11 detects a pressing input (contact) to a key and a button displayed on the display unit 14 by an operator's finger or the like) and a non-input area (¶0060 discloses position of the contact… outside the key region)…; a touch sensor that detects a position touched by the operating body, the position being located in the input area on the operation panel (¶0048 discloses when the pressure load satisfying the predetermined standard is detected at step S12, the control unit 15 determines whether a position of the contact detected by the touch sensor 11 is inside the predetermined region); a vibrator (¶0039 discloses the tactile sensation providing unit 13 vibrates the touch sensor 11 and may include, for example, a piezoelectric vibrator); and the control method comprising:
the vibrator to vibrate… by controlling the vibrator (¶0043 and ¶0063 disclose when the position of the contact moves out of the key region at step S22, the control unit 15… drives the tactile sensation providing unit 13 with the predetermined drive signal and provides the tactile sensation (step S24)) when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area (¶0060 discloses the control unit 15 determines whether the position of the contact moves from inside the key region to outside the key region while the pressure load satisfies the predetermined standard) with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0060 discloses operator's motion to move (slide) the position of the contact from the position corresponding to the input object such as the key and the like to the position not corresponding thereto on the touch sensor 11 while applying the pressure load satisfying the predetermined standard to the touch sensor 11).
Kono doesn’t disclose a non-input area not for receiving the touch input; and the vibrator to vibrate at least the non-input area on the operation panel by controlling the vibrator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ujii discloses a non-input area (E1) not for receiving the touch input (Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029 disclose an electronic device X1… includes an operation area E0 and a non-operation area E1 which is located outside the operation area E0… The non-operation area E1 is an area in which a user cannot perform an input operation); and the vibrator to vibrate (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is a member that serves to cause flexural vibration of the touch panel 3, upon detecting a predetermined input operation by a user) at least the non-input area (E1) on the operation panel (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is provided on the second principal surface 3b of the touch panel 3 corresponding to the non-operation area E1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kono for the purpose of reducing the possibility that a vibrator is visually observed by a user (¶0004 and ¶0006).
6. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono in view of Ujii and in further view of Levesque et al. (US 2014/0118127 A1, hereinafter referred as “Levesque”).
Regarding claim 2, Kono discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to: vibrate (¶0043 and ¶0063 disclose when the position of the contact moves out of the key region at step S22, the control unit 15… drives the tactile sensation providing unit 13 with the predetermined drive signal and provides the tactile sensation (step S24))… when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area (¶0060 discloses the control unit 15 determines whether the position of the contact moves from inside the key region to outside the key region while the pressure load satisfies the predetermined standard) with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0060 discloses operator's motion to move (slide) the position of the contact from the position corresponding to the input object such as the key and the like to the position not corresponding thereto on the touch sensor 11 while applying the pressure load satisfying the predetermined standard to the touch sensor 11).
Kono doesn’t disclose vibrate at least the non-input area on the operation panel; and stop vibrating when the touch sensor detects a touch by the operating body in the input area before a first predetermined period elapses after the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area, or when the first predetermined period has elapsed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ujii discloses vibrate (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is a member that serves to cause flexural vibration of the touch panel 3, upon detecting a predetermined input operation by a user) at least the non-input area (E1) on the operation panel (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is provided on the second principal surface 3b of the touch panel 3 corresponding to the non-operation area E1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kono for the purpose of reducing the possibility that a vibrator is visually observed by a user (¶0004 and ¶0006).
Kono as modified doesn’t disclose stop vibrating when the touch sensor detects a touch by the operating body in the input area before a first predetermined period elapses after the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area, or when the first predetermined period has elapsed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Levesque discloses stop vibrating when the touch sensor detects a touch by the operating body in the input area before a first predetermined period elapses after the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area, or when the first predetermined period has elapsed (Fig. 3A and ¶0044 discloses as an object is detected to be at or to cross x0 on surface 110, the haptic effect may be generated to simulate crossing of an edge or detent located at x0. The localized haptic effect may cease once the object moves away from x0 or after a predetermined amount of time has passed since the object passed position x0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kono for the purpose of providing a discrete tactile indication associated with the boundary crossing event rather than an indefinitely continuing vibration.
7. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono in view of Ujii and in further view of Dabic et al. (US 2017/0220118 A1, hereinafter referred as “Dabic”).
Regarding claim 3, Kono discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate (¶0062 discloses when the position of the contact moves out of the key region at step S22,… drives the tactile sensation providing unit 13 with the predetermined drive signal and provides the tactile sensation (step S24))… when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0060 discloses the control unit 15 determines whether the position of the contact moves from inside the key region to outside the key region while the pressure load satisfies the predetermined standard)...
Kono doesn’t disclose vibrate the non-input area at a vibration intensity that is based on a movement speed,… the movement speed being a speed at which the position touched by the operating body moves.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ujii discloses vibrate (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is a member that serves to cause flexural vibration of the touch panel 3, upon detecting a predetermined input operation by a user) the non-input area (E1) (¶0037 discloses the vibrator 4 is provided on the second principal surface 3b of the touch panel 3 corresponding to the non-operation area E1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kono for the purpose of reducing the possibility that a vibrator is visually observed by a user (¶0004 and ¶0006).
Kono as modified doesn’t disclose …at a vibration intensity that is based on a movement speed,… the movement speed being a speed at which the position touched by the operating body moves.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dabic discloses …at a vibration intensity (¶0049 discloses parameter of the haptic feedback can be chosen from the intensity of the acceleration, the frequency, the amplitude, the duration, the duration between two identical signals, the phase) that is based on a movement speed,… the movement speed being a speed at which the position touched by the operating body moves (¶0058 discloses a parameter of the haptic and/or audio feedback to vary with the speed of movement of the finger on the touch surface 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kono so that a simulation of perception of a particular texture is strengthened (¶0058).
8. Claim(s) 4-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono in view of Ujii, in further view of Levesque and still in further view of Bennemann et al. (DE-102021103100-A1, hereinafter referred as “Bennemann”).
Regarding claim 4, Kono as modified doesn’t disclose the input device according to claim 2, wherein the input area includes a first input area and a second input area that is located closer to the non-input area than the first input area is, and the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennemann discloses wherein the input area includes a first input area (¶0011 discloses a central area of the operating area) and a second input area that is located closer to the non-input area than the first input area is (this predefined edge area 28 can be specified with a predefined distance at the outer edge of the operating area 22, for example), and the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0011 discloses if the detection device determines that the operating action penetrates into the predefined edge area of the operating area, one or more stronger vibration pulses can be output by the warning signal device in order to warn the user and to signal the input limit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kono so that the input limits can be intuitively signaled to the user.
Regarding claim 5, Kono as modified doesn’t disclose the input device according to claim 4, wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area with a vibration of the second input area intensified as the position touched by the operating body approaches the non-input area when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennemann discloses wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area with a vibration of the second input area intensified (¶0011 discloses signaling, for example vibrating, can preferably be carried out more strongly the closer the operating location approaches the input limit of the operating area) as the position touched by the operating body approaches the non-input area when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0037 discloses when the operating area 22 is operated, a haptic signal is output continuously, which increases when the predefined edge area 28 is approached and, for example, reaches its maximum within the predefined edge area 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kono so that impending boundary crossing is increasing perceptible to the user.
Regarding claim 11, Kono discloses the input device according to claim 4, …the first vibration intensity being a vibration intensity used for a case where the position touched by the operating body has moved from the input area to the non-input area with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0060 discloses the control unit 15 determines whether the position of the contact moves from inside the key region to outside the key region while the pressure load satisfies the predetermined standard).
Kono doesn’t disclose wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the input area at a second vibration intensity that is weaker than a first vibration intensity when the touch sensor detects a touch by the operating body in the input area...
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennemann discloses wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the input area at a second vibration intensity that is weaker than a first vibration intensity when the touch sensor detects a touch by the operating body in the input area (¶0011 discloses the detection device can be used to monitor the respective position of a finger or an input pen when entering letters, with such an input preferably being able to be confirmed by a slight vibration permanently or in predetermined vibration patterns or sequences if the input takes place in a central area of the operating area. If the detection device determines that the operating action penetrates into the predefined edge area of the operating area, one or more stronger vibration pulses can be output by the warning signal device in order to warn the user and to signal the input limit)...
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kono in order to distinguish whether the input remains within the operating area or is approaching the limit, thereby improving operation of the input device.
Regarding claim 12, Kono as modified doesn’t disclose the input device according to claim 11, wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the first input area at the second vibration intensity when the touch sensor detects a touch by the operating body in the first input area out of the first input area and the second input area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennemann discloses wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the first input area at the second vibration intensity when the touch sensor detects a touch by the operating body in the first input area out of the first input area and the second input area (¶0011 discloses the detection device can be used to monitor the respective position of a finger or an input pen when entering letters, with such an input preferably being able to be confirmed by a slight vibration permanently or in predetermined vibration patterns or sequences if the input takes place in a central area of the operating area. If the detection device determines that the operating action penetrates into the predefined edge area of the operating area, one or more stronger vibration pulses can be output by the warning signal device in order to warn the user and to signal the input limit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kono in order to distinguish whether the input remains within the operating area or is approaching the limit, thereby improving operation of the input device.
9. Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono in view of Ujii, in further view of Levesque, still in further view of Bennemann and still in further view of Dabic.
Regarding claim 7, Kono as modified doesn’t disclose the input device according to claim 4, wherein when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel, the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area based on a movement speed (i) with a vibration of the second input area intensified as the position touched by the operating body approaches the non-input area or (ii) for a second predetermined period that is shorter than the first predetermined period, the movement speed being a speed at which the position touched by the operating body moves.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennemann discloses a vibration of the second input area intensified as the position touched by the operating body approaches the non-input area (¶0011 discloses signaling, for example vibrating, can preferably be carried out more strongly the closer the operating location approaches the input limit of the operating area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kono so that impending boundary crossing is increasing perceptible to the user.
Kono as modified still doesn’t disclose wherein when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel, the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area based on a movement speed...
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dabic discloses wherein when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel, the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area based on a movement speed (¶0058 discloses a parameter of the haptic and/or audio feedback to vary with the speed of movement of the finger on the touch surface 2)...
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to still further modify Kono so that the tactile warning remains perceptible and appropriately responsive as the user’s rate of approach to the boundary varies.
Regarding claim 10, Kono as modified doesn’t disclose the input device according to claim 4, wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area at a vibration intensity that is based on a movement speed when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel, the movement speed being a speed at which the position touched by the operating body moves.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennemann discloses the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0037 discloses when the operating area 22 is operated, a haptic signal is output continuously, which increases when the predefined edge area 28 is approached and, for example, reaches its maximum within the predefined edge area 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kono so that the input limits can be intuitively signaled to the user.
Kono as modified still doesn’t disclose wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area at a vibration intensity that is based on a movement speed…, the movement speed being a speed at which the position touched by the operating body moves.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dabic discloses wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area at a vibration intensity (¶0049 discloses parameter of the haptic feedback can be chosen from the intensity of the acceleration, the frequency, the amplitude, the duration, the duration between two identical signals, the phase) that is based on a movement speed…, the movement speed being a speed at which the position touched by the operating body moves (¶0058 discloses a parameter of the haptic and/or audio feedback to vary with the speed of movement of the finger on the touch surface 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to still further modify Kono for the purpose of providing a warning whose intensity better corresponds to the manner in which the user’s finger is moving.
10. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono in view of Ujii, in further view of Levesque, still in further view of Bennemann and still in further view of Takashima et al. (US 2012/0154316 A1, hereinafter referred as “Takashima”).
Regarding claim 13, Kono as modified doesn’t disclose the input device according to claim 11, wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to stop vibrating when the touch sensor detects a movement of the position touched by the operating body after detecting a touch by the operating body in the first input area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takashima discloses wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to stop vibrating when the touch sensor detects a movement of the position touched by the operating body after detecting a touch by the operating body in the first input area (¶0180 discloses if the operator's finger 30a is slid from its input position P1 toward the arrow direction, the actuator A once stops vibrating thereof and, when the next input position P2 is reached, vibrates the input operation face PR based on a vibration pattern having fx=200 Hz, Ax=10 .mu.m, and Nx=1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to still further modify Kono in order to improve convenience and certainty of the haptic input function (¶0173).
11. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degner in view of Dabic.
Regarding claim 17, Degener discloses the input device according to claim 16, …when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0060 discloses touch detection module 228 may detect a user touching input area 202 of input surface 200 with a single fingertip to form a contact point with input surface 200. Additionally, touch detection module 228 may also detect the contact point is continuously moving in a first direction).
Degner doesn’t disclose wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area at a vibration intensity that is based on a movement speed…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dabic discloses wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area at a vibration intensity (¶0049 discloses parameter of the haptic feedback can be chosen from the intensity of the acceleration, the frequency, the amplitude, the duration, the duration between two identical signals, the phase) that is based on a movement speed (¶0058 discloses a parameter of the haptic and/or audio feedback to vary with the speed of movement of the finger on the touch surface 2)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Degner so that a simulation of perception of a particular texture is strengthened (¶0058).
12. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degner in view of Bennemann.
Regarding claim 18, Degener discloses the input device according to claim 16, wherein the control circuit causes the vibrator to vibrate the second input area with a vibration of the second input area… as the position touched by the operating body approaches the non-input area when the position touched by the operating body has moved from the first input area to the second input area with the operating body touching the operation panel (¶0059 discloses haptic feedback module 226 may recognize when a user's touch is adjacent, proximate or on a boundary line of input area 202 for input surface 200, and may subsequently provide a haptic signals to notify the user that they may be moving outside of input area 202; and ¶0060 discloses touch detection module 228 may detect a user touching input area 202 of input surface 200 with a single fingertip to form a contact point with input surface 200. Additionally, touch detection module 228 may also detect the contact point is continuously moving in a first direction).
Degner doesn’t disclose vibration of the second input area intensified.
However in the same field of endeavor, Bennemann discloses vibration of the second input area intensified (¶0011 discloses if the detection device determines that the operating action penetrates into the predefined edge area of the operating area, one or more stronger vibration pulses can be output by the warning signal device in order to warn the user and to signal the input limit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Degner so that impending boundary crossing is increasing perceptible to the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 6, 8-9, 14-15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PRIYANK J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626