Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ting et al. (US 8,162,147).
Regarding claim 1, Ting discloses a tray module (See Fig. 1), comprising: a bottom portion (bottom of 200); a plurality of flow prevention patterns (at B in Fig. 1 – shown in detail in Fig. 2) that protrude from the bottom portion in a cross-sectional view and that have a square shape in a plan view (as shown in Fig. 2 below); and a wall portion (at 220 in Fig. 1) that extends in a direction upward from the bottom portion in the cross-sectional view and surrounds the bottom portion in a plan view.
Regarding claim 2, Ting discloses a distance between each of the plurality of flow prevention patterns is constant (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Ting discloses the distance (distance at “W” in Fig. 2 corresponds to the distance between the flow prevention patterns) between each of the plurality of flow prevention patterns is greater than or equal to about 3 mm and less than or equal to about 5 mm (See column 3, lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 4, Ting discloses each of the plurality of flow prevention patterns has a same width (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Ting discloses the distance between each of the plurality of flow prevention patterns and the width of each of the plurality of flow prevention patterns are a same (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Ting discloses the width of each of the plurality of flow prevention patterns is greater than or equal to about 3 mm and less than or equal to about 5 mm (See column 3, lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 7, Ting discloses a height of each of the plurality of flow prevention patterns are equal to each other (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Ting discloses each of the bottom portion, the plurality of flow prevention patterns, and the wall portion are integrally formed (See Fig. 1 which shows all of the parts of the tray module formed as a single, integral unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al. (US 8,162,147) as applied to claim 1 above. Ting discloses the claimed invention except for the specific height of the flow prevention patterns. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height of the flow prevention patterns of Ting to be any height such as about 0.15mm to 0.25mm in order to provide the desired gap between contents and the pad bottom wall. Furthermore, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al. (US 8,162,147) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0097946). As described above, Ting discloses the claimed invention except for the specific material of the pad. However, Kim teaches a tray module (See Fig. 1) formed from an elastomer for the purpose of having excellent flexibility, durability and abrasion resistance ([0079]-[0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray module of Ting to be formed from an elastomer as taught by Kim in order to have excellent flexibility, durability and abrasion resistance. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735