DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 1, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of stations- - in lines 3, 8, 10 and “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of self-propelled shuttles- - in lines 4, 6, 7, 11, 20-22 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the objects" in lines 11, 12, 13, 15 and 21, “the indicia” in line 14, 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
With respect to claim 2, “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of self-propelled shuttles- - in line 2 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
With respect to claim 3, “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of self-propelled shuttles- - in line 1 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the shuttle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With respect to claim 4, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of stations- - in line 2 and “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of self-propelled shuttles- - in line 4 and 5 and in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the objects" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the objects". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 7 and 10 recites the limitation "the objects" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
With respect to claims 7, 9 and 10, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of stations- - in line 1 and in claim 10 “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - - the plurality of shuttles- - in line 3 in in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the objects" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
With respect to claim 11, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of stations- - in lines 3, 4, 7, 8 and 16 and in claim 10 “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - - the plurality of shuttles- - in lines 6, 7 and 15 in in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the indicia" in lines 11, 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
With respect to claim 12, “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of self-propelled shuttles- - in line 1 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the shuttle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With respect to claim 13, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of stations- - in line 2 and “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - - the plurality of shuttles- - in lines 4 and 5 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the objects" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
With respect to claims 15 and 16, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the plurality of stations- - in line 1 and in claim 16 “the shuttles” should be deleted and replaced with - - the plurality of shuttles- - in lines 3 and 4 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
With respect to claim 17, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the multiple stations- - in lines 5-12 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, “the stations” should be deleted and replaced with - -the multiple stations- - in line 2 in order to use consistent terminology throughout the claim language.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Diverter in claims 7 and 15
Therefore, every feature must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maher US Publication 2023/0191802).
With respect to claim 17, Maher teaches a printing system (100) comprising:
loading golf balls objects to be printed upon into the printing system (Paragraphs 0020, 0021, 0023-0025),
independently or separately move the golf balls between or among the stations (Figure 1, Paragraphs 0019, 0026, 0031, 0032, 0036)
printing indicia on the golf balls (112, Paragraphs 0025, 0026, 0028, 0032 and many references throughout the prior art) at a pad printing station of the stations,
curing the indicia printed on the objects (Paragraphs 0028, 0033),
inspecting (136) the indicia printed on the objects (Paragraphs 0029, Page 6, Claim 9),
re-orienting the objects (Paragraphs 0026, 0029, 0036), or
unloading the objects from the printing system (Paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0036).
Claims 1-6 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher US Publication 2023/0191802) in view of Shibahara (JP 2010265066) and Litinov et al. (US Publication 2017/0066232).
With respect to claim 1, Maher et al. teaches a printing system comprising:
a plurality of stations (110, 112, 114);
a conveyance assembly (116, 120) extending between the stations (Figure 1A), the conveyance assembly (116, 120) including a path and a plurality of self-propelled shuttles (128), each of the shuttles (128) configured to carry an object along the path (Paragraph 0024); and
a controller (130) in communication with the shuttles (Abstract, Paragraphs 0024, 0025 and many references throughout the prior art), wherein the stations include:
a loading station (110, 124) configured to load the objects onto the shuttles (Paragraphs 0022, 0026, 0027);
a pad-printing station (112, 134) configured to print indicia on the objects while the objects are rotated about an axis at the pad-printing station (Paragraphs 0025, 0029);
a curing station including an energy source for curing the indicia printed on the objects (Paragraph 0029, 0034);
an inspection station (136) including an imaging device arranged to acquire an image of the indicia on the object, the inspection station configured to output an inspection signal based on the image (Paragraphs 0029, Page 6, Claim 9); and
at least one of a re-orienting station or an unloading station (Paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0036); and
wherein independent movement of the shuttles commanded by the controller (130) enables simultaneous processing of different ones of objects at different ones of the stations (Paragraphs 0019, 0026, 0031, 0032, 0036).
Maher does not explicitly disclose self-propelled shuttles and a controller that individually controls movement of each of the shuttles such that different ones of the shuttles travel between successive ones of the stations over one or both of different distances or at different speeds.
Shibahara et al. teaches an article sorting device with article carrier (functions as a shuttle) that carries objects are moved by self-propelled article carriers (Paragraph 0027, article carrier functions as a shuttle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the shuttle taught by Maher since it would require obvious substitution of a known shuttle with a self-propelled shuttle as taught by Shibahara et al. for the purpose of providing improves consistency, minimizes errors and speeds up conveyance at high quality.
However, Shibahara et al. does not explicitly disclose a controller that individually controls movement of each of the shuttles such that different ones of the shuttles travel between successive ones of the stations over one or both of different distances or at different speeds.
Litinov et al. teaches a controller that individually controls movement of each of the shuttles such that different ones of the shuttles travel between successive ones of the stations over one or both of different distances or at different speeds (Paragraphs 0124, 0173, 0230, 0231).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the controller and inspection device taught by Maher since it would require obvious substitution of a known controller with a controller that individually control shuttles travel over one or both of different distances or at different speeds as taught by Litinov et al. for the purpose of providing flexibility of different ball types or designs and avoiding bottlenecks.
With respect to claim 2, Maher teaches the path (116) forms a closed-loop racetrack (Figures 1A, 1B, 3) along which the shuttles (128) move.
With respect to claim 3, Maher teaches each of the shuttles (128) includes a body (146) having internal voids or cutouts that reduce a mass of the shuttle relative to a solid body of equal external dimensions (Figures 5-10).
With respect to claim 4, Maher teaches a counter support (140, 142) mounted at one or more of the stations (110, 112, 114), the counter support including an annular body with one or more rollers (Paragraph 0039), the counter support (140, 142) positioned to engage the shuttles (128) while an external force is applied to the objects (128) carried by the shuttles.
With respect to claim 5, Maher teaches the pad-printing station (134) comprises a carousel carrying at least five transfer pads (Figure 3) each cooperable with a respective cliché plate inked with a different colored pad-printing ink (Figure 3).
With respect to claim 6, Maher teaches the objects are golf balls (148).
With respect to claim 11, Maher teaches a printing system comprising:
a plurality of stations (110, 112, 114, Figure 1);
a conveyance assembly (116) extending between the stations, the conveyance assembly including shuttles (128) that carry golf balls (148) between the stations (116, Paragraphs 0024-0026); and
wherein the stations include:
a pad-printing station configured to print indicia on the golf balls (148) while the golf balls (148) are rotated about an axis at the pad-printing station (Paragraphs 0025, 0029 and Figure 3);
a curing station including an energy source for curing the indicia printed on the objects (Paragraphs 0029, 0034);
an inspection station (136) configured to acquire images of the indicia on the golf balls (148) and to output quality signals based on the image (Paragraphs 0024, 0027, 0029);
wherein the controller independently moves the shuttles (124) to simultaneously process the golf balls (148) at different ones of the stations (Paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0036).
Maher does not explicitly disclose self-propelled shuttles and a controller configured to individually control movement of the shuttles such the shuttles travel different distances or at different speeds between stations. Shibahara et al. teaches an article sorting device with article carrier (functions as a shuttle) that carries objects are moved by self-propelled article carriers (Paragraph 0027, article carrier functions as a shuttle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the shuttle taught by Maher since it would require obvious substitution of a known shuttle with a self-propelled shuttle as taught by Shibahara et al. for the purpose of providing improves consistency, minimizes errors and speeds up conveyance at high quality.
However, Shibahara et al. does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to individually control movement of the shuttles such the shuttles travel different distances or at different speeds between stations.
Litinov et al. a controller configured to individually control movement of the shuttles such the shuttles travel different distances or at different speeds between stations (Paragraphs 0124, 0173, 0230, 0231).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the controller and inspection device taught by Maher since it would require obvious substitution of a known controller with a controller that individually control shuttles travel over one or both of different distances or at different speeds as taught by Litinov et al. for the purpose of providing flexibility of different ball types or designs and avoiding bottlenecks.
With respect to claim 12, Maher teaches each of the shuttles (128) include a body (146) having internal voids or cutouts that reduce a mass of the shuttle relative to a solid body of equal external dimensions (Figures 5-10).
With respect to claim 13, Maher teaches a counter support (140, 140A, 140B, 142) mounted at one or more of the stations (Paragraphs 0039, 0041), the counter support (140, 140A, 140B, 142) including an annular body with one or more rollers (Paragraph 0039), the counter support (140, 140A, 140B, 142) positioned to engage the shuttles (128) while an external force is applied to the objects carried by the shuttles (128, Figures 5, 6).
With respect to claim 14, Maher teaches the pad-printing station (134) comprises a carousel carrying at least five transfer pads (Figure 3) each cooperable with a respective cliché plate inked with a different colored pad-printing ink (Figure 3).
6. Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher US Publication 2023/0191802) in view of Shibahara (JP 2010265066) and Litinov et al. (US Publication 2017/0066232), as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Leonard (US Patent 3,419,128).
With respect to claims 7 and 15, Maher, as modified, teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the stations including a sorting station downstream of the inspection station, the sorting station including a diverter operable in response to the quality signals to direct the golf balls into an output chute or a rejection chute based on the inspection signals.
Leonard teaches a sorting station downstream of the inspection station, the sorting station including a diverter operable in response to the quality signals to direct the golf balls into an output chute or a rejection chute based on the inspection signals (Column 1, Lines 46-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the invention taught by Maher, as modified, to provide a sorting station including a diverter as taught by Leonard for the purpose of ensuring the medium is properly sorted to the proper station.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher US Publication 2023/0191802) in view of Shibahara (JP 2010265066) and Litinov et al. (US Publication 2017/0066232), as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Gipson (US Publication 2013/0326959).
With respect to claim 8, Maher teaches a manual loading apparatus configured to
receive one or more of the objects that are manually loaded into the printing system
(Paragraph 0002), however, Maher does not explicitly disclose the manual loading
apparatus having a chute terminating above the path and a pivotable gate having a counterweight and downwardly inclined outer portion.
Gipson teaches a manual loading apparatus having a chute (100) terminating above a path (Figure 1) and a pivotable gate (210) having a counterweight (220) and downwardly inclined outer portion (Figures 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present
invention was made to further modify the apparatus taught by Maher, as modified, to provide a chute and pivoting gate with a counterweight as taught by Gipson for the purpose of assisting to move the objects of a more smooth conveyance.
Claims 9 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher US Publication 2023/0191802) in view of Shibahara (JP 2010265066) and Litinov et al. (US Publication 2017/0066232) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Hulchanski (US Publication 2008/0101911).
With respect to claims 9 and 16, Maher, as modified, teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the stations include the re-orienting station, and the re-orienting station includes a rotary arm having a vacuum gripping head configured to pick the objects from the shuttles, rotate the objects about a re-orientation axis, and return the objects to the shuttles.
Hulchanski teaches a conveying system with an orienting device (24, note: orienting device functions as a re-orienting device, and the re-orienting station includes a rotary arm having a vacuum gripping head configured to pick the objects, rotate the objects about a re-orientation axis, and return the objects (Paragraphs 0017, 0021, 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the re-orienting device taught by Maher, as modified, since it would require obvious substitution of a known re-orienting device with a re-orienting device including a rotary arm having a vacuum gripping head as taught by Hulchanski for the purpose of effectively providing a device that conforms to an object thereby making it easier to pick up objects.
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher US Publication 2023/0191802) in view of Shibahara (JP 2010265066) and Litinov et al. (US Publication 2017/0066232) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Oas et al. (US Patent 5,910,326).
With respect to claim 10, Maher teaches stations that includes an unloading station (Paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0036) however does not explicitly disclose the unloading station includes an actuator-driven arm configured to transfer the objects from the shuttles into an external receptacle.
Oas et al teaches a conveying apparatus unloading station includes an actuator-driven arm (250, 254, 258) configured to transfer the objects from the shuttles into an external receptacle (Figures 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the unloading station taught by Maher, as modified, since it would require obvious substitution of a known unloading station with a unloading station including an actuator-driven arm as taught by Oas et al. for the purpose of providing careful and reliable grapping and releasing of the medium thereby minimizing defects.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher US Publication 2023/0191802) in view of Litinov et al. (US Publication 2017/0066232).
With respect to claim 18, Maher does not explicitly disclose the golf balls are moved different distances between stations at a same time and moved different distances between stations at a same time.
Litinov et al. teaches the golf balls are moved different distances between stations at a same time (Paragraphs 0124, 0173, 0230, 0231) and moved different distances between stations at a same time (Paragraphs 0124, 0173, 0230, 0231).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Maher to provide golf balls that are moved different distances between stations at a same time as taught by Litinov et al. for the purpose of providing flexibility of different ball types or designs and avoiding bottlenecks.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher US Publication 2023/0191802) in view of Shibahara (JP 2010265066).
With respect to claim 20, Maher teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the golf balls are moved by self-propelled shuttles.
Shibahara et al. teaches an article sorting device with article carrier (functions as a shuttle) that carries objects that are moved by self-propelled article carriers (Paragraph 0027, article carrier functions as a shuttle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the shuttle taught by Maher since it would require obvious substitution of a known shuttle with a self-propelled shuttle as taught by Shibahara et al. for the purpose of providing improves consistency, minimizes errors and speeds up conveyance at high quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bielmeier et al. (DE102020120295), Moylan (US Patent 10,611,181) and Cofler et al. (WO 2015/177599) teaches printing conveying systems.
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852