DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed May 22, 2026. Currently, claims 1, 3, 4, 6-22, 24-28 are pending.
Priority
This application claim priority:
The provisional application does not teach separating fragmented adapter-ligated nucleic acid based on fragment size.
The provisional application does not teach allele frequency below 0.5% to create profiles.
The provisional application does not teach fragmentation by ultrasonic, restriction enzymes, for example.
The provisional application does not teach fragmentation for nucleic acids greater than 1,000 to fragments of 500-600bp or nucleic acids 5,000-10,000 to fragments of 500-600bp.
Thus, the instant claims receive the benefit of October 11, 2016 filing date.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
New Matter
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-22, 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With regard to Claim 1, 25, 27, reference to an allele frequency below 0.5% to create a profile of multiple DNA bladder cancer markers has been added. The specification does not describe or discuss an allele frequency below 0.5% to create a profile of multiple DNA bladder cancer markers.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-22, 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Question 1
The claimed invention is directed to a process that involves a natural principle and a judicial exception.
Question 2A Prong I
The claims are taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a law of nature and a natural phenomenon.
Claim 1 is directed to “a method ….wherein detection of mutation or epigenetic alterations in the biomarkers provides a profile that when compared with a profile from a healthy subject is indicative of bladder cancer in the subject”.
Claim 19 is similarly directed to a mutation or epigenetic alteration is indicative of a presence of nucleic acid from a bladder cancer cell in urine.
Claims 25 and 27 are further directed to detecting DNA mutations or epigenetic alterations associated with bladder cancer.
Claim 1 is directed to a process that involves the judicial exceptions of an abstract idea (i.e. the abstract steps of “compared with a profile from a healthy subject”) and a law of nature/natural phenomenon (i.e. the natural correlation between the mutations or epigenetic alterations and bladder cancer).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons that follow.
Herein, claim 1 involves the patent-ineligible concept of an abstract process. Claim 1 recites a comparison between the mutation or epigenetic alteration profile and a healthy subject that is deemed an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A); • claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 763, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1246 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Applicant’s attention is directed to the Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP) and ACLU v. USPTO and Myriad Genetics (Fed. Cir. 2012)) wherein it is stated at 56-57:
We renew our conclusion that Myriad’s claims to “comparing” or “analyzing” two gene sequences fall out-side the scope of § 101 because they claim only abstract mental processes. See Benson, 409 U.S. at 67 (“Phenomena of nature, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.”). The claims recite, for example, a “method for screening a tumor sample,” by “comparing” a first BRCA1 sequence from a tumor sample and a second BRCA1 sequence from a nontumor sample, wherein a difference in sequence indicates an alteration in the tumor sample. ’001 patent claim 1. This claim thus recites nothing more than the abstract mental steps necessary to compare two different nucleotide sequences: one looks at the first position in a first sequence; determines the nucleotide sequence at that first position; looks at the first position in a second sequence; determines the nucleotide sequence at that first position; determines if the nucleotide at the first position in the first sequence and the first position in the second sequence are the same or different, wherein the latter indicates an alteration; and repeats the process for the next position.
Additionally, in University of Utah Res. Foundation v. Ambry Genetics Corp.(Fe6 Cir, 2014), the Court held that:
Having determined that the comparison steps of claims 7 and 8 are abstract ideas, we move to the second step of Alice and ask whether the particular mechanism for the comparisons added by claims 7 or 8 renders the claims patent-eligible. For this step, Alice dictates that we ask whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the other non-patent-ineligible elements, are sufficient to ‘“transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297). There must be a further inventive concept to take the claim into the realm of patent-eligibility. Id. at 2355. The second paragraph of claim 7 describes the way in which the sequences are compared: they are compared by 1) hybridizing a BRCA gene probe and 2) detecting the presence of a hybridization product. Similarly, claim 8 requires 1) amplification of the BRCA1 gene and 2) sequencing of the amplified nucleic acids. The non-patent-ineligible elements of claims 7 and 8 do not add “enough” to make the claims as a whole patent- eligible.
A correlation that preexists in the human is an unpatentable phenomenon. The association between epigenetic alteration and bladder cancer is a law of nature/natural phenomenon. The wherein clause which tells users of the process to predict bladder cancer in the sample, amounts to no more than an "instruction to apply the natural law". This wherein clause is no more than a mental step. Even if the clause requires something more such as to verbalize the discovery of the natural law, this mere verbalization is not an application of the law of nature to a new and useful end. The wherein clause does not require the process user to do anything in light of the correlation. The wherein clause fails to provide the “practical assurance” sought by the Prometheus Court that the “process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself.”
Question 2A Prong II
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. While the claim recites tagging urine DNA, amplifying, enriching and sequencing, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, these elements are data gathering required to perform the method. Thus, the claim is “directed to” the exception.
Question 2B
The second step of Alice involves determining whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the other non patent ineligible elements, are sufficient to “’transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent eligible application” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
The claims are not sufficiently defined to provide a method which is significantly more from a statement of a natural principle for at least these reasons:
The claims do not include applying the judicial exception, or by use of, a particular machine. The claims do not tie the steps to a “particular machine" and therefore do not meet the machine or transformation test on these grounds. The use of machines generally does not impose a meaningful limit on claim scope.
The claims also do not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. The tagging urine DNA, amplifying, enriching and sequencing are mere data gathering step that amounts to extra solution activity to the judicial exception. It merely tells the users of the method to determine the biomarkers of a sample without further specification as to how the sample should be analyzed. The claim does not recite a new, innovative method for such determination. The determining step essentially tells users to determine the markers through whatever known processes they wish to use.
The steps of tagging urine DNA, amplifying, enriching and sequencing was well known in the art at the time the invention was made. The steps are recited at a high level of generality. The claim does not require the use of any particular non-conventional reagents. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation that distinguishes this step from well understood, routine and conventional activities engaged in by scientists prior to applicant’s invention and at the time the application was filed.
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For these reasons the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-22, 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is directed to sequencing the enriched tagged urine DNA to detect a mutation or an epigenetic alteration in the genomic biomarkers associated with bladder cancer at an allele frequency below 0.5% to create a profile of multiple DNA bladder cancer biomarkers. It is unclear whether the mere sequencing of the enriched tagged urine DNA detects mutations or epigenetic alterations that are associated with bladder cancer at an allele frequency below 0.5% or whether further analysis is required to determine which mutations/alterations are at a frequency below 0.5%. The claim appears to merely recite sequencing the enriched tagged urine DNA accomplishes this however it is unclear how only alleles with frequency below 0.5% are sequenced. Clarification is required.
The phrase "at least about" is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the invention are not clear. As the CAFC noted, and affirmed, regarding the district court determination of this phrase in Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd. (CA FC) 18 USPQ2d 1016 at page 1031 "the court held the "at least about" claims to be invalid for indefiniteness." Here too, the situation is that there is close prior art, applied as a 102(a)(1) for a lower limit value, and the claim is indefinite with regard to the values encompassed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 is directed to a mutation or epigenetic alteration is indicative of a presence of nucleic acid from a bladder cancer cell in urine. This limitation does not appear to limit Claim 1 in any way since Claim 1 also requires the mutation or epigenetic markers are indicative of bladder cancer. The claims are identical in scope. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 19, 22, 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Millholland et al. (Research and Reports in Urology, Vol. 4, pages 33-40, 2012).
Millholland teaches preparing nucleic acid from urine. Urine samples were collected and stabilized with ethylenediamine tetra-acetic acid (ETA), a preservation buffer. Millholland teaches urine samples were stabilized with 25mM ETDA (page 34, col. 1). With respect to Claim 13, EDTA is a preservative. DNA is isolated using the QIAamp MinElute virus vacuum kit (page 34, col. 2). The isolated DNA is then amplified using chimeric primers that include a library key and 10 base pair barcode sequences (page 35, col. 2). The primers of Millholland contain specific adapters for unidirectional sequencing on the Roche GS junior platform (pages 35, col. 2). The amplicons are fixed to DNA capture beads and sequencing is carried out (i.e. a hybrid capture) (pages 36, col. 2). The ultradeep amplicon sequencing technology that relies upon DNA capture beads in a water in oil emulsion PCR detected low levels of mutant DNA (page 36, col. 2). Millholland teaches analysis of FGFR3 mutations for bladder cancer using next generation ultra deep sequencing (limitations of Claim 25-26). Figure 3 demonstrates the % mutant detected was below 0.5%, namely Exon 7 detected 8 positive mutation reads for % mutant detected of 0.02%.
With respect to Claims 19 and 22 the wherein clauses do not require any further method steps but merely states a property of the mutations. However, Millholland teaches mutations are indicative of bladder cancer cells.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 19, 22, 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ward et al. (PLOS, DOI:10.1371, February 22, 2016).
As noted above, the instant claims receive benefit of the October 11, 2016 priority date.
Ward teaches extracting DNA from urine cell pellets and amplifying the regions of genes that are frequently mutated in bladder cancer. Specifically, urine was collected and DNA was extracted from the pellets using urine DNA isolation kits. Ward teaches 10bp barcodes were added to the PCR products. Ward teaches using a Miseq 500 cycle flow-cell (page 3). Ward teaches PCR amplification to amplify 16 amplicons of genes (page 3). The PCR products were barcoded, pooled and sequenced on an Illumina MiSeq, a hybrid capture method (page 1). Ward teaches raw trace files were processed with cutadapt in paired end mode to remove adapter sequence (thus, adapters were added) prior to analysis and sequencing. Ward teaches the non-invasive surveillance of patients is cost-effective. Ward specifically suggests extra markers could be added to develop a highly sensitive diagnostic test for bladder cancer (page 2, para 1). Ward teaches deep sequencing should reliably detect even very low levels of tumor DNA in large excess of non-tumor DNA (page 2, para 5). Ward teaches detection mutations at TERT promoter mutations, PIK3CA and FGFR3 (page 4-5) (limitations of Claims 25-26).
With respect to Claims 19 and 22 the wherein clauses do not require any further method steps but merely states a property of the mutations. However, Ward teaches mutations are indicative of bladder cancer cells.
With respect to Claim 24, Ward teaches using next generation sequencing of multiplex PCR products giving an average of 6000 reads per amplicon (page 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millholland et al. (Research and Reports in Urology, Vol. 4, pages 33-40, 2012) or Ward et al. (PLOS, DOI:10.1371, February 22, 2016) in view of van Dijk (Trends in Genetics, Vol. 30, No. 9, pages 418-426, September 14, 2014) in view of Fang et al. (WO2015/185427, December 10, 2015).
Millholland, Ward and vanDijk do not teach identifying molecular clonal families or distinguishing errors in the next generation sequencing method.
However, Fang et al. teaches optimization of DNA amplification reactions including next generation sequencing. Fang teaches the next generation sequencing process may include clonal amplification steps to secure DNA sequencing templates that are free of potential contamination PCR products. Fang teaches clonal amplification may be performed with either emulsion PCR or bridge amplification (see para 69). The methods efficiently avoid sequencing errors in NGS processes (see para 72).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed clonal amplification in the next generation sequencing methods of Millholland, Ward and vanDijk to identify clonal families and distinguish and eliminate errors in sequencing. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have performed the additional steps to ensure sequencing errors were avoided.
Claim(s) 7, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millholland et al. (Research and Reports in Urology, Vol. 4, pages 33-40, 2012) or Ward et al. (PLOS, DOI:10.1371, February 22, 2016) in view of van Dijk (Trends in Genetics, Vol. 30, No. 9, pages 418-426, September 14, 2014).
As noted above, the instant claims receive benefit of the October 11, 2016 priority date.
Millholland teaches preparing nucleic acid from urine. Urine samples were collected and stabilized with ethylenediamine tetra-acetic acid (ETA), a preservation buffer. Millholland teaches urine samples were stabilized with 25mM ETDA (page 34, col. 1). With respect to Claim 13, EDTA is a preservative. DNA is isolated using the QIAamp MinElute virus vacuum kit (page 34, col. 2). The isolated DNA is then amplified using chimeric primers that include a library key and 10 base pair barcode sequences (page 35, col. 2). The primers of Millholland contain specific adapters for unidirectional sequencing on the Roche GS junior platform (pages 35, col. 2). The amplicons are fixed to DNA capture beads and sequencing is carried out (i.e. a hybrid capture)(pages 36, col. 2). The ultradeep amplicon sequencing technology that relies upon DNA capture beads in a water in oil emulsion PCR detected low levels of mutant DNA (page 36, col. 2). Millholland teaches analysis of FGFR3 mutations for bladder cancer using next generation deep sequencing (see limitations of Claim 25). Figure 3 demonstrates the % mutant detected was below 0.5%, namely Exon 7 detected 8 positive mutation reads for % mutant detected of 0.02%.
Ward also teaches extracting DNA from urine cell pellets and amplifying the regions of genes that are frequently mutated in bladder cancer. Specifically, urine was collected and DNA was extracted from the pellets using urine DNA isolation kits. Ward teaches 10bp barcodes were added to the PCR products (limitations of Claim 19). Ward teaches using a Miseq 500 cycle flow-cell (page 3). Ward teaches PCR amplification to amplify 16 amplicons of genes (page 3). The PCR products were barcoded, pooled and sequenced on an Illumina MiSeq, a hybrid capture method (page 1). Ward teaches raw trace files were processed with cutadapt in paired end mode to remove adapter sequence (thus, adapters were added) prior to analysis and sequencing. Ward teaches the non-invasive surveillance of patients is cost-effective. Ward specifically suggests extra markers could be added to develop a highly sensitive diagnostic test for bladder cancer (page 2, para 1). Ward teaches deep sequencing should reliably detect even very low levels of tumor DNA in large excess of non-tumor DNA (page 2, para 5).
Millholland and Ward do not teach performing nucleic acid fragmentation prior to ligation of sequencing adapters in the next generation methods.
However, vanDijk teaches next generation sequencing technology relies upon fragmentation. Box 3 of VanDijk illustrates fragmentation of DNA molecules into a size of 50-500 nucleotides followed by adapter addition. A size selection step is usually performed to enrich further for molecules of the desired size and to eliminate free adapters. PCR is then performed to select for molecules containing adapters at both ends and to generate sufficient quantities for sequencing. vanDijk teaches NGS fragments genomic DNA, i.e. nucleic acids great than 1,000bp into fragments of 200-400 (see Figure 1 A, read length)(limitations of Claims 14-17).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a fragmentation step and separation of fragmented adapter-ligated nucleic acid based on the fragment size because vanDijk teaches this was a hallmark of NGS library preparation. Although Millholland and Ward did not specifically teach performing the steps of fragmentation and separation, vanDijk teaches these are basic and elementary steps of NGS workflow to generate a sequencing library.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millholland et al. (Research and Reports in Urology, Vol. 4, pages 33-40, 2012) or Ward et al. (PLOS, DOI:10.1371, February 22, 2016) in view of van Dijk (Trends in Genetics, Vol. 30, No. 9, pages 418-426, September 14, 2014) as applied to Claims 7, 10-12 above and further in view of Knierim et al. (PLOS, Vol. 6, No. 11, e28240, November 2011).
Millholland, Ward and vanDijk do not teach fragmentation using ultrasonication or enzyme based fragmentation the next generation sequencing method.
However, Knierim teaches next generation sequencing (NGS) technologies rely on fragmentation of DNA for preparation of template libraries. Knierim teaches nebulization, sonication and random enzymatic digestion for producing high-quality sequencing libraries. Knierim teaches overall performance of all three methods was equal with only minor differences, a fragmentation method can be chosen solely according to lab facilities, feasibility and experimental design.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed fragmentation in the next generation sequencing methods of Millholland, Ward and vanDijk to generate fragments for generation of the next generation library. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have performed fragmentation using known methods for fragmenting DNA using ultra-sonication or enzyme based methods. Knierim specifically teaches that the method for fragmentation generates the same results with only minor differences and the fragmentation method selected can be chose based upon experimental design, feasibility or lab facilities.
Claim(s) 13-18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millholland et al. (Research and Reports in Urology, Vol. 4, pages 33-40, 2012) or Ward et al. (PLOS, DOI:10.1371, February 22, 2016) in view of Hovsep et al. (WO 2006/089203, August 24, 2006).
As noted above, the instant claims receive benefit of the October 11, 2016 priority date.
Millholland teaches preparing nucleic acid from urine. Urine samples were collected and stabilized with ethylenediamine tetra-acetic acid (ETA), a preservation buffer. Millholland teaches urine samples were stabilized with 25mM ETDA (page 34, col. 1). With respect to Claim 13, EDTA is a preservative. DNA is isolated using the QIAamp MinElute virus vacuum kit (page 34, col. 2). The isolated DNA is then amplified using chimeric primers that include a library key and 10 base pair barcode sequences (page 35, col. 2). The primers of Millholland contain specific adapters for unidirectional sequencing on the Roche GS junior platform (pages 35, col. 2). The amplicons are fixed to DNA capture beads and sequencing is carried out (i.e. a hybrid capture)(pages 36, col. 2). The ultradeep amplicon sequencing technology that relies upon DNA capture beads in a water in oil emulsion PCR detected low levels of mutant DNA (page 36, col. 2). Millholland teaches analysis of FGFR3 mutations for bladder cancer using next generation deep sequencing (see limitations of Claim 25). Figure 3 demonstrates the % mutant detected was below 0.5%, namely Exon 7 detected 8 positive mutation reads for % mutant detected of 0.02%.
Ward also teaches extracting DNA from urine cell pellets and amplifying the regions of genes that are frequently mutated in bladder cancer. Specifically, urine was collected and DNA was extracted from the pellets using urine DNA isolation kits. Ward teaches 10bp barcodes were added to the PCR products (limitations of Claim 19). Ward teaches using a Miseq 500 cycle flow-cell (page 3). Ward teaches PCR amplification to amplify 16 amplicons of genes (page 3). The PCR products were barcoded, pooled and sequenced on an Illumina MiSeq, a hybrid capture method (page 1). Ward teaches raw trace files were processed with cutadapt in paired end mode to remove adapter sequence (thus, adapters were added) prior to analysis and sequencing. Ward teaches the non-invasive surveillance of patients is cost-effective. Ward specifically suggests extra markers could be added to develop a highly sensitive diagnostic test for bladder cancer (page 2, para 1). Ward teaches deep sequencing should reliably detect even very low levels of tumor DNA in large excess of non-tumor DNA (page 2, para 5).
Millholland and Ward do not teach contacting a urine sample with a preservation buffer at room temperatures comprising a microbial static agent, a nucleic acid hydration modifier, a DNAse/RNAse inhibitor and a buffering reagent.
However, Hovsep teaches adding agents to urine samples to inhibit the degradation of the nucleic acids (see claims 14-16 of Hovsep, for example). Hovsep teaches ion-chelating agents, denaturing agents and ionic detergents may be added (see Summary of Invention). These agents include EDTA, guanidine isothiocyanate and sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS). Hovsep teaches pretreatment of the urine sample with these reagents is at room temperature (page 12, line 8). Hovsep teaches EDTA and Tris-HCI were added to inhibit the nucleases that might be present in urine samples (Example 1, page 17).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a pretreatment of urine step, as taught by Hovsep. Hovsep teaches urine should be pretreated to protect nucleic acids. Although Millholland and Ward teach using urine and preservation, Millholland and Ward do not provides a preservation buffer comprising EDTA, SDS and Tris, for example.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682 June 9, 2026