DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo (US 2015/0023033).
With regards to Claim 1, Kuo discloses a bike pedal assembly, comprising: a bike pedal (see paragraph 1), including: a first lateral portion defining a first slot (comprising a first slot [14] on a first lateral portion of the bike pedal, see paragraph 28 and Figure 2); and a second lateral portion defining a second slot (comprising a second slot [14] on a second lateral portion of the bike pedal, see paragraph 28 and Figure 2); and an illumination assembly [2] (see paragraph 29 and Figure 2) removably couplable to the bike pedal (see paragraphs 31 and 32 and Figure 2), wherein the illumination assembly [2] comprises: a body, including: a front portion [23] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2); a first arm (comprising an arm [238] on a first side of the body aligned with the first slot [14], see paragraph 29 and Figure 2) extending from a first lateral side of the front portion [23] and extendable through the first slot [14] (see paragraph 29 and Figures 2 and 4); and a second arm (comprising an arm [238] on a second side of the body aligned with the second slot [14], see paragraph 29 and Figure 2) extending from a second lateral side of the front portion [23] and extendable through the second slot [14] (see paragraph 29 and Figures 2 and 4); and a light source [2381] coupled to the body (see paragraph 29 and Figure 2).
With regards to Claim 2, Kuo discloses the bike pedal assembly as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kuo further discloses the bike pedal further includes: a first flange (comprising a first flange forming slot [15], see paragraph 28 and Figure 2) extending laterally from the first lateral portion and defining a first flange slot [15] (see paragraph 28 and Figure 2); and a second flange (comprising a second flange forming a second slot [15], see paragraph 28 and Figure 2) extending laterally from the second lateral portion and defining a second flange slot [15] (see paragraph 28 and Figure 2).
With regards to Claim 5, Kuo discloses the bike pedal assembly as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kuo further discloses a lens [151] couplable to the body to cover the light source [2381] (see paragraph 28 and Figures 1 and 4).
With regards to Claim 14, Kuo discloses the bike pedal assembly as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kuo further discloses the illumination assembly [2] exhibits a U-shape (see Figure 2; the illumination assembly [2] substantially includes a U-shape).
With regards to Claim 15, Kuo discloses the bike pedal assembly as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kuo further discloses the bike pedal further includes a central portion between the first and second lateral portions and that defines a channel [111] therethrough (see paragraph 28 and Figures 2 and 4), and wherein the bike pedal assembly further includes a shaft assembly [3] removably extendable within the channel [111] and couplable a crank arm of a bike (see paragraphs 30 and 32 and Figures 2 and 4).
With regards to Claim 16, Kuo discloses an illumination assembly [2], comprising: a body, including: a front portion [23] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2); a first arm (comprising an arm [238] on a first side of the body aligned with the first slot [14], see paragraph 29 and Figure 2) extending from a first lateral side of the front portion [23] and extendable through a first slot [14] of a bike pedal (see paragraph 29 and Figures 2 and 4); and a second arm (comprising an arm [238] on a second side of the body [23] aligned with the second slot [14], see paragraph 29 and Figure 2) extending from a second lateral side of the front portion [23] and extendable through a second slot [14] of a bike pedal (see paragraph 29 and Figures 2 and 4); and a light source[2381] coupled to the body (see paragraph 29 and Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo (US 2015/0023033) in view of Chiu (US 2003/0035295).
With regards to Claim 13, Kuo discloses the bike pedal assembly as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kuo does not explicitly disclose the light source comprises a light emitting diode (LED).
Chiu teaches the light source [33] comprises a light emitting diode (LED) (see paragraph 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Kuo to comprise a light emitting diode (LED), as taught by Chiu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to utilize an energy efficient light source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6-12, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to Claims 3 and 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the body further includes: a first extension extending from the first lateral side of the front portion and alongside the first arm; and a second extension extending from the first lateral side of the front portion and alongside the second arm, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims from which Claim 3 depends.
With regards to Claim 6 and claims depending therefrom, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the body defines a recess and the illumination assembly further comprises a power source positionable in the recess and couplable to the light source, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims from which Claim 3 depends.
With regards to Claim 17, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the body further includes: a first extension extending from the first lateral side of the front portion and alongside the first arm, the first tab includes a first tab extendable through a first flange slot of the bike pedal; and a second extension extending from the first lateral side of the front portion and alongside the second arm, and the second extension includes a second tab extendable through a second flange slot of the bike pedal, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim from which it depends.
With regards to Claim 18 and claims depending therefrom, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the body defines a recess and the illumination assembly further comprises: a power source positionable in the recess and couplable to the light source; a controller positionable in the recess and couplable to the light source and the power source, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim from which Claim 18 depends.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references de Brun (US 2024/0025504), which discloses at least a bike pedal assembly including a bike pedal having a first lateral portion with a first slot, a second lateral portion with a second slot, and a center portion with a channel extending therethrough, an illumination assembly including a first arm and a second arm, and a light source coupled to the body, Chang (US 2002/0152835), which discloses at least a bike pedal assembly including a bike pedal having a first lateral portion with a first slot, a second lateral portion with a second slot, and a center portion with a channel extending therethrough, an illumination assembly including a first arm and a second arm, and a light source coupled to the body, a lens disposed to cover the light source, Chia-Li (US 2010/0214792), which discloses at least a bike pedal assembly including a bike pedal having a first lateral portion with a first slot, a second lateral portion with a second slot, and a center portion with a channel extending therethrough, an illumination assembly including a body having a front portion, a first arm, and a second arm, and a light source coupled to the body, Xie (CN 210455045), which discloses at least a bike pedal assembly including a bike pedal and illumination assembly coupled to the bike pedal and having a U-shape formed by a front portion, and two arm portions and a light source disposed on the illumination assembly body, and Huang (CN 104973200), which discloses at least a bike pedal assembly including a bike pedal having a first lateral portion with a first slot, a second lateral portion with a second slot, and a center portion with a channel extending therethrough, an illumination assembly including a front portion, a first arm, and a second arm, and a light source coupled to the body.
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875