DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claims 26-27, rod side sealing structure which uses the generic placeholder “structure” coupled with the function “plays a role in preventing an introduction of the liquefied gas from the cylinder side and in preventing the introduction of air and impurities at the coupled part of the drive shaft and the piston”. The rod side sealing structure is interpreted as the structure in Fig 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mikulski US 20170227002.
Mikulski discloses:
28. (New) A liquefied gas compression device to compress and discharge liquefied gas by a linear reciprocating motion of a piston 106, wherein the piston is configured to linearly reciprocate in a cylinder 102, and wherein a cylinder side where the piston is embedded in the cylinder and reciprocates and a rod side which is the other end of the piston, are respectively provided with a cylinder side sealing structure 122 and a rod side sealing structure 124.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikulski US 20170227002 in view of Post US 4556371.
Regarding claim 1, Mikulski discloses a liquefied gas compression device (see e.g. Fig 10A) to compress and discharge liquefied gas by a linear reciprocating motion of the piston 106, wherein a cylinder side where the piston is embedded in the cylinder and reciprocates, and a rod side which is the other end of the piston, are respectively provided with a cylinder side sealing structure (comprising 122) and a rod side sealing structure (comprising 124).
Mikulski does not disclose a rotatable camshaft; a plurality of cam noses arranged at regular intervals along a lengthwise direction of the camshaft, wherein the cam noses are eccentric from a center of the camshaft; a cam roller in close contact with each cam nose; a drive shaft and a piston adjacent to each other on one side of the cam roller.
Post discloses a rotatable camshaft 14; a plurality of cam noses (16, 18, 20) arranged at regular intervals along a lengthwise direction of the camshaft, wherein the cam noses are eccentric from a center of the camshaft; a cam roller 28 in close contact with each cam nose; a drive shaft 36 and a piston (22, 24, 26) adjacent to each other on one side of the cam roller (see e.g. Fig 2).
A simple substitution of one known pump drive for another with the predictable result of driving pump pistons has been held obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a camshaft drive as taught by Post as a simple substitution for the drive of Mikulski to gain the benefit of using a drive known to be used for piston pumps.
Mikulski as modified above does not provide any details of the piston sealing structure and thus does not disclose the limitations of claims 22-24.
Nguyen discloses:
Claim 22: wherein the cylinder side sealing structure includes a spring member seating groove (groove in which 21 is located or groove in which 33 is located in 25) and a guide ring seating groove spatially connected to the circumference of the piston portion (groove in which 20 is located or groove in which 25 is located between 24 and the portion of the piston which axially engages 25), an band-shaped spring member (21 or 33) having an elastic property is mounted in the spring member seating groove, and a band-shaped plate type guide ring (20 or 25) is mounted in the guide ring seating groove.
Claim 23: wherein the cylinder side sealing structure is configured to a combination of the guide ring and the spring member is repeated a plurality of times along the lengthwise
direction of the piston (see 21 and 20 repeated in e.g. Figs 1-2).
Claim 24: wherein a width of the spring member 33 seated in the spring member seating groove is smaller than a width of the guide ring 25 seated in the guide ring seating groove (see e.g. Fig 2).
Claim 25: wherein the guide ring plays a role in guiding the movement of the piston during the reciprocating motion of the piston in the cylinder (see e.g. Fig 2), and the spring member which is in contact with the guide ring and seated in the spring member seating groove plays a role in damping the force applied to the guide ring during the movement of the piston (see e.g. Fig 2).
A simple substitution of one known piston sealing structure for another with the predictable result of sealing a piston in a cylinder has been held obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the piston sealing structure as taught by Nguyen as a simple substitution for the piston sealing structure of Mikulski to gain the benefit of using a piston sealing structure known to be used for piston pumps that provides long service life as taught by Nguyen in col 5 lines 9-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: given the claim interpretations above, no reference of record discloses the structure shown in Fig 12 of a structure that is so structurally similar as to be considered equivalent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be seen in form PTO-892 including:
Tonge discloses a piston sealing structure including a spring.
Brenneke discloses a piston sealing structure including a spring.
/Thomas Fink/Examiner, Art Unit 3746