DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figures 1-5 and Claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 06/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12522420; claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12286286; and claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11718464 in view of Sollie et al. (US 2020/0148453 A1; hereinafter Sollie). U.S. Patents 12522420, 12286286, and 11718464 each claim an insulation wrap and blank for making; said blank comprising a hinged inner and outer portion with a ledge portion connecting therebetween. U.S. Patents 12522420, 12286286, and 11718464 lack teaching of an insulating plug (i.e. lid) for an outer box. Sollie teaches an insulated box assembly and temperature-regulating lid therefor comprising an insulated plug (i.e. lid; see Figures 18-33) comprising an outer panel (2120) and an insulated plug portion (2502); wherein the insulated plug portion is positioned within the insulated cavity of the insulation wrap and a portion of the outer panel is positioned on the top ledge of the insulation wrap (see Fig. 33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify U.S. Patents 12522420, 12286286, and 11718464 to have an insulated plug type lid in order to further provide insulating characteristics to the shipping box (Sollie; Par. 0005-0008).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sollie et al. (US 2020/0148453 A1; hereinafter Sollie).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-11, Sollie discloses an insulated box assembly and temperature-regulating lid comprising an insulation wrap (610) comprising a top ledge (see Fig. 8; Examiner considers the top 616 of the wrap to define a ledge) defining a top opening of an insulated cavity defined by the insulation wrap (see Fig. 8); and an insulated plug (i.e. lid; see Figures 18-33) comprising an outer panel (2120) and an insulated plug portion (2502); wherein the insulated plug portion is positioned within the insulated cavity of the insulation wrap and a portion of the outer panel is positioned on the top ledge of the insulation wrap (see Fig. 33).
Regarding claim 2, Sollie discloses a box wherein the insulated plug portion comprises an insulation batt (see Par. 0142).
Regarding claim 3, Sollie discloses a box wherein the insulated plug further comprises an inner panel (2130) and the insulation batt is positioned between the outer panel and the inner panel (see Figures 25-29).
Regarding claim 4, Sollie discloses a box wherein the insulated plug further comprises a pair of opposed end panels (2138/2136) and a pair of opposed side panels (2140/2150), the end panels and the side panels (2140/2150) extending from the outer panel to the inner panel so that the insulation portion is enclosed in the insulated plug portion.
Regarding claim 5, Sollie discloses a box wherein the outer panel comprises a pair of opposed wing portions (2126/218) and the wing portions extend radially outward beyond the top ledge of the insulation wrap.
Regarding claim 6, Sollie discloses a box wherein each wing portion defines a finger notch (2629).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734