Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites “optimized geometry” in line 1 without sufficiently detailing how one would go about determining what would constitute this optimization. Examiner requests clarification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,523,130. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘130 teaches all material aspects of the claims in 1-5 and 7-8.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,523,130 in view of Mahoney (10,962,028).
Re claim 6: ‘130 is not explicit about the sparger head is manufactured using a metal additive manufacturing technique to achieve precise internal geometries. However, similarly functioning venturi heads are well known to be manufactured using a metal additive manufacturing technique to achieve precise internal geometries (see Fig. 2A/2B in Mahoney). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a additive manufacturing as taught by Mahoney into the apparatus of ‘130 to save on costs and time of manufacture (see paragraphs 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whiteside (US 9,902,630).
Claim 1: Whiteside discloses a gas sparger head (Fig. 20), comprising a venturi shaped passage extending through the gas sparger head (note passage within 1371); and a bubble orifice comprising a plurality of gas orifices (note small diameter passages of 1375) radially spaced about a narrow portion of the venturi shaped passage, each of the plurality of gas orifices having a corresponding resonant chamber (note 4 large chambers of 1375 for incoming compressed gas) through which compressed gas is provided (Fig. 20).
Claim 4: Whiteside further discloses that the compressed gas is provided to the plurality of gas orifices with an even distribution of pressure (as there is not prioritization of the gas provided to each of the passageways of 175, there will be an even distribution of pressure amongst them).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteside (US 9,902,630).
Claim 3: Whiteside discloses the previous limitations. While not explicit about an optimized geometry adjacent to or within the resonant chambers acts to control resonance of bubble release from the sparger head, such omission is immaterial as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the geometry around the resonant chambers, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 167 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteside (US 9,902,630) in view of Mahoney (10,962,028).
Claim 6: Whiteside discloses the previous limitations. Whiteside is not explicit about the sparger head is manufactured using a metal additive manufacturing technique to achieve precise internal geometries. However, similarly functioning venturi heads are well known to be manufactured using a metal additive manufacturing technique to achieve precise internal geometries (see Fig. 2A/2B in Mahoney). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a additive manufacturing as taught by Mahoney into the apparatus of Whiteside to save on costs and time of manufacture (see paragraphs 2-3).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteside (US 9,902,630) in view of Lembcke (US20060076145A1).
Claim 5: Whiteside discloses the previous limitations. Whiteside is not explicit about an orifice plate used to control the resonance release of the bubbles from the sparger. However, Lembcke teaches an air lift device that includes an orifice plate (note annular plate encircling 183/186 in Fig. 3 in which gas input towards resonant chamber 186 is controlled). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize an orifice plate as taught by Lembcke into the apparatus of Whiteside so as to situate gas control elements such as inlet valves such as 183 which will prevent backflow).
Claim 7: Whiteside discloses the previous limitations. Whiteside is not explicit about a linear string of spargers along a central pipe to distribute the compressed gas to each of the plurality of gas orifices through the corresponding resonant chamber, the idea of using a plurality of gas lift devices along a central pipe to distribute the compressed gas is well known as shown by Lembcke (see Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a plurality of gas lift devices / spargers as taught by Lembcke into the apparatus of Whiteside in order to increase bubble generation and the upward liquid flow.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteside (US 9,902,630) in view of Stirling (US0857768A).
Claim 8: Whiteside discloses the previous limitations. Whiteside is not explicit about the gas sparger head comprises a threaded or welded connection at top and bottom. However, Stirling teaches a gas sparger head which comprises a threaded or welded connection at top and bottom (see, e.g., Fig. 4, noting threads at top and bottom of g’). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize threaded connections in order to easily connect or remove the head to inlet outlet piping, simplifying assembly/disassembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the corresponding resonant chambers are spherical.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746