DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger et al. (20160169153) in view of Scharp (20070209614). Burger et al. discloses (claim 1) a piston head assembly comprising a piston head comprising an upper portion 102 comprising an outer wall 112, and an inner wall 117 disposed radially inward of the outer wall 112, wherein a cooling gallery 130 is at least partially defined between the outer wall 112 and the inner wall 117, and a lower portion 104 extending downward from the upper portion 102, the lower portion 104 comprising an upper surface, and a skirt 105 extending from the upper surface (not numbered), the skirt 105 defining a pin bore 106 centered around a pin bore center axis, a portion of the skirt 105 between the pin bore center axis and a skirt reference axis having a curved vertical profile (Fig 2, vertical view of the curved vertical profile), the skirt reference axis intersecting the pin bore center axis (Fig. 2), and a lock plate 134 coupled to the upper portion 102, the lock plate 134 extending between the outer wall 112 and the inner wall 117, wherein the cooling gallery 130 is defined between the outer wall 112, the inner wall 117, and the lock plate 134. Burger et al. does not disclose a plurality of lock plates.
Scharp teaches for a piston head assembly comprising a piston head comprising an upper portion comprising an outer wall 13, and an inner wall 14 disposed radially inward of the outer wall 13, wherein a cooling gallery 20 is at least partially defined between the outer wall 13 and the inner wall 14, and that (claim 1) there are a plurality of lock plates 2,3 coupled to the upper portion, each of the lock plates 2,3 extending between the outer wall 13 and the inner wall 14 for the purposes of more easily assembling and disassembling the lock plates and avoiding damage due radially directed forces during piston operation. See Scharp paragraph [0004].
Since Burger et al. and Scharp are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Scharp would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Burger et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the lock plate of Burger et al. to be a plurality of lock plates for the purposes of more easily assembling and disassembling the lock plates and avoiding damage due radially directed forces during piston operation.
Regarding claim 2, Scharp teaches that the lock plates 2,3 comprises a first lock plate 2 and a second lock plate 3, the first lock plate 2 and the second lock plate 3 ending up parallel to the upper surface of the lower portion of Burger et al.
Regarding claim 4, Scharp teaches that each of the lock plates 2, 3 comprises a first edge; a second edge opposite and coaxial with the first edge, the first edge and the second edge extending along a first plate reference axis, and a tab 4,5 disposed between the first edge and the second edge at a nonzero angle relative to a second plate reference axis, the second plate reference axis being orthogonal to the first plate reference axis and parallel to the upper surface of the lower portion, the tab 4,5 configured to engage with the outer wall.
Regarding claim 5, Scharp teaches that the nonzero angle extends in a circumferential direction from the second plate reference axis towards the first edge (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Scharp teaches that the second plate reference axis would be parallel to the pin bore center axis (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Scharp teaches that the first plate reference axis would be parallel to the skirt reference axis.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other piston head assemblies with upper portions, lower portions, cooling galleries, and lock plates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvements comprise that (claim 3) each lock plate has an outlet configured to receive the cooling fluid from the cooling gallery and release the cooling fluid out of the cooling gallery, the outlet defining an outlet open area smaller than the inlet open area, and the upper surface of the lower portion defines at least one inlet port configured to receive the cooling fluid and communicate the cooling fluid to the inlet of a corresponding lock plate of the plurality of lock plates, and at least one outlet port configured to receive the cooling fluid from the outlet of the corresponding lock plate, (claim 6) each of the lock plates defines an inlet between the tab and the second edge, the inlet configured to receive cooling fluid and communicate the cooling fluid to the cooling gallery, and an outlet between the tab and the first edge, the outlet configured to receive the cooling fluid from the cooling gallery and release the cooling fluid out of the cooling gallery, and (claim 7) the nonzero angle is greater than 0 degrees and less than or equal to 10 degrees.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
September 5, 2026