DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12756898. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated in every aspect by the patented claims.
US Patent
12756898
Instant Application
19/447185
1. A system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
identify one or more event indicators in a live input stream manifest,
wherein the live input stream manifest corresponds to a live output stream;
generate an updated live input stream manifest based at least in part on the one or more event indicators by inserting, into the live input stream manifest, a plurality of media segment references indicated in a programming schedule on which the live output stream is based,
wherein the programming schedule indicates times at which a plurality of media segments,
corresponding to the plurality of media segment references, are to be streamed, and durations for which the plurality of the media segments are to be streamed; and
transmit the updated live input stream manifest to a content delivery network, along with an instruction for the content delivery network to stream the live output stream, based on the updated live input stream manifest, to a client device.
1. A system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
identify one or more event indicators in a live input stream manifest,
wherein the live input stream manifest corresponds to a live output stream; and
generate an updated live input stream manifest based at least in part on the one or more event indicators by inserting, into the live input stream manifest, a plurality of media segment references indicated in a programming schedule on which the live output stream is based,
wherein the programming schedule indicates times at which a plurality of media segments,
corresponding to the plurality of media segment references, are to be streamed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis specific to claim 1 is being presented below. However, the Applicants should please note that the analysis for claims 13 and 20 are similar to that of claim 1 and therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 1 recites: A system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
(a) identify an event indicator associated with a live input stream manifest that corresponds to a live output stream;
(b) generate an updated live input stream manifest based at least in part on the event indicator by inserting, into the live input stream manifest, a plurality of media segment references indicated in a programming schedule associated with the live output stream; and
(c) initiate a presentation of a live output stream at a client device based at least in part on the updated live input stream manifest.
Limitation (a)-(b) are limitations that, as drafted, reasonably constitute a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the human mind/with pen and paper by a human. That is, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind (i.e., writing a list and writing additional data within the list on paper). These limitations, then, are a mental process that falls into the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas.
The claim recites the additional elements of (c), memory, and processors. The elements of memory and processors are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as generic elements performing generic computer functions. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Limitation (c) is a limitation that amounts to no more than adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limit on practicing the abstract idea. Based on the plain meaning of the words in the claim, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 is a system that analyzes data, generates data, and initiates a presentation based on the generated data. Therefore, the claim is ineligible.
Claims 3-4, 6-9, 11-12 and 15-19 recite additional elements that also do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philpott et al. (WO2014/019063, hereinafter Philpott) in view of Ashbacher (US10194177, hereinafter Ashbacher) and O’Malley et al. (US20150271234, hereinafter O’Malley).
Regarding claims 1-2, 12-14 and 20, Philpott discloses a system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
identify an event indicator associated with a live input stream manifest that corresponds to a live output stream (see Philpott, at least at [0052]-[0054], [0058], [0070], [0077], and other related text);
generate an updated live input stream manifest based at least in part on the event indicator by inserting, into the live input stream manifest, a plurality of media segment references (see Philpott, at least at [0029]-[0030], [0052]-[0054], [0058], [0063]-[0064], [0077], and other related text); and
initiate a presentation of a live output stream at a client device based at least in part on the updated live input stream (see Philpott, at least at [0076], and other related text).
Philpott does not specifically generating an updated live input stream manifest based at least in part on the event indicator by inserting, into the live input stream manifest, a plurality of media segment references indicated in a programming schedule associated with the live output stream; and
initiating a presentation of a live output stream at a client device based at least in part on the updated live input stream manifest.
In an analogous art relating to a system for providing media, Ashbacher discloses a system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors (see Ashbacher, at least at Figs. 1-2 and related text) configured to:
identify an event indicator associated with a live input stream manifest that corresponds to a live output stream (see Ashbacher, at least at col 2, lines 10-27, col 3, lines 40-50, col 4, lines 2-43, col 6, lines 11-64, and other related text);
generate an updated live input stream based at least in part on a plurality of media segments indicated in a programming schedule associated with the live output stream (the replacement content of Ashbacher may reasonably be content that is already scheduled to be output and therefore indicated in a programming schedule associated with the live output stream, see Ashbacher, at least at col 2, lines 10-27, col 3, lines 40-50, col 4, lines 2-43, col 6, lines 11-64, and other related text); and
initiate a presentation of a live output stream at a client device based at least in part on the updated live input stream manifest (see Ashbacher, at least at col 2, lines 10-27, col 3, lines 40-50, col 4, lines 2-43, col 6, lines 11-64, and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Philpott to include the limitations as taught by Ashbacher for the advantage of more efficiently assembling and providing media to a user.
Philpott in view of Ashbacher does not specifically disclose generating an updated live input stream manifest by inserting, into the live input stream manifest, a plurality of media segment references; and
initiating a presentation of a live output stream at a client device based at least in part on the updated live input stream manifest.
In an analogous art relating to a system for providing media, O’Malley discloses generating an updated live input stream manifest (see O’Malley, at least at [0014]-[0017], [0042]-[0043], [0054], [0065]-[0071], and other related text) by inserting, into the live input stream manifest, a plurality of media segment references (see O’Malley, at least at [0014]-[0017], [0042]-[0043], [0054], [0065]-[0071], and other related text); and
initiating a presentation of a live output stream at a client device based at least in part on the updated live input stream manifest (see O’Malley, at least at [0070], [0103], [0117, [0121], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Philpott in view of Ashbacher to include the limitations as taught by O’Malley for the advantage of more efficiently assembling and providing media to a user.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses wherein the event indicator corresponds to one of a non-programming content indicator, a programming content indicator, or an overlay indicator (the indicator corresponds to an indication of content insertion, see Philpott, at least at [0029]-[0030], and other related text, and see Ashbacher, at least at col 4, line 28-50, and other related text).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses wherein the event indicator comprises a discontinuity tag (see Philpott, at least at [0033]-[0035], and other related text, and see Ashbacher, at least at col 6, lines 11-64, and other related text).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: initiate a transition of playback based on the event indicator (see Philpott, at least at [0057]-[0061], and other related text), and see Ashbacher, at least at col 6, lines 11-64, and other related text).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses wherein the live input stream manifest comprises at least first media segment references from a first source, and the updated live input stream manifest comprises at least second media segment references from a second source (see Philpott, at least at [0058]-[0063], and see Ashbacher, at least at Figs. 2-3, and other related text).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses wherein the first source comprises a first live input stream and the second source comprises a second live input stream see Ashbacher, at least at col 5, lines 1-25, Figs. 2-3, and other related text).
Regarding claim 8, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate a switching schedule, wherein the switching schedule indicates one or more transition times (see Ashbacher, at least at col 5, lines 1-65, col 6, line 56 – col 7, line 35, and other related text).
Regarding claim 9, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses wherein the switching schedule is based on at least one of: (a) the programming schedule, (b) a defined first transition window and a program end message, or (c) a defined second transition window and a program start message (see Ashbacher, at least at col 5, lines 1-65, col 6, line 56 – col 7, line 35, and other related text).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philpott (previously cited) in view of Ashbacher (previously cited) and O’Malley (previously cited), as applied to claims 21 and 31 above, and further in view of Bagga et al. (US20160142783, hereinafter Bagga).
Regarding claims 10, Philpott in view of Ashbacher and O’Malley discloses responsive to receiving an indication of a selection (see Philpott, at least at [0003], [0017], [0057], see Ashbacher, at least at col 2, lines 10-27, col 3, lines 40-50, col 4, lines 2-43, col 6, lines 11-64, and other related text, and see O’Malley, at least at [0102]-[0103], [0117], and other related text):
providing the live input stream manifest to the client device (see Philpott, at least at [0003], [0017], [0057], see Ashbacher, at least at col 2, lines 10-27, col 3, lines 40-50, col 4, lines 2-43, col 6, lines 11-64, and other related text, and see O’Malley, at least at [0014]-[0017], [0042]-[0043], [0054], [0065]-[0071], [0102]-[0103], [0117], and other related text), but does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
initiate a presentation of a plurality of stream representations respectively corresponding to a plurality of live output streams that comprise the live output stream;
receive an indication of a selection of a representation corresponding to the live output stream; and
responsive to receiving the indication of the selection:
store the indication of the selection in a user preferences repository.
In an analogous art relating to a system for presenting content and information, Bagga discloses one or more processors (see Bagga, at least at [0032], and other related text) further configured to:
initiate a presentation of a plurality of stream representations respectively corresponding to a plurality of output streams that comprise an output stream (see Bagga, at least at [0020], [0061], [0124], Figs. 5-6, and other related text);
receive an indication of a selection of a representation corresponding to the output stream (see Bagga, at least at [0034], and other related text); and
responsive to receiving the indication of the selection:
store the indication of the selection in a user preferences repository (see Bagga, at least at [0018], [0022]-[0023], [0034], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Philpott in view Ashbacher and O’Malley to include the limitations as taught by Bagga for the advantage of more efficiently providing information to a user.
Regarding claim 11, Philpott in view Ashbacher, O’Malley and Bagga discloses wherein the plurality of stream representations is based at least in part on a geographical location of the client device, one or more regional contents rights, one or more media content rights, one or more regional consumer preferences, one or more individual consumer preferences, one or more individual consumer service subscription level data, or an availability of the plurality of live output streams (see Bagga, at least at [0020], [0034], [0061], [0124], Figs. 5-6, and other related text).
Conclusion
/CHENEA DAVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421