Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavez-Badiola (US 2024/0426812) in view of Lapham (US 2021/0396776).
As to claim 1, Chavez-Badiola discloses a system for automated, artificial-intelligence-based oocyte identification and processing, the system comprising:
an imaging system positioned in proximity to a biological sample containing a candidate cumulus-oocyte-complex (COC), wherein the imaging system is configured to identify and locate the candidate COC within the biological sample (para. 0005, 0017);
a set of robotic arms (para 0230, 0611) configured to:
move the biological sample between one or more stations (para. 0125, 0137, 0183-0197), and
denude the candidate COC from the biological sample (para. 0272-0073, 0368); and
a control system configured to control at least one of: the imaging system, the set of robotic arms, or the set of stations (para. 0136, 0176).
Chavez-Badiola is silent regarding a set of stations, wherein each station of the set of stations is configured to receive the biological sample;
Lapham teaches a set of stations, wherein each station of the set of stations is configured to receive the biological sample (para. 0054, 0111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Laphamr’s teachings into Chavez-Badiola since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and provide high throughput sample processing.
As to claim 10, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the biological sample includes a plurality of candidate COCs (Chavez-Badiola, para. 0005, 0017).
As to claim 11, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the set of robotic arms is configured to receive a pipette (Chavez-Badiola, para. 0119, 0230, 0241).
As to claim 12, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 11 wherein the pipette is configured to collect the biological sample (Chavez-Badiola, para. 0119, 0230, 0241).
As to claim 13, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the control system includes an artificial intelligence/machine learning system (AI/ML system) (Chavez-Badiola, abstract, para. 0176).
As to claim 14, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the set of robotic arms includes a grabber configured to move a culture container between the set of stations (Chavez-Badiola, para. 0111, 0119, 0158, 0953).
As to claim 15, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses
15. The system of claim 14 wherein the biological sample is contained within the culture container (Chavez-Badiola, para. 0111, 0119, 0158, 0953).
As to claim 16, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the set of stations includes at least one of: an incubation station, a viewing station, or a working station (Chavez-Badiola, para. 0125, 0129, 0145, 0154).
As to claim 17, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 16 wherein: the set of stations includes the incubation station, and the incubation station includes a first incubation station and a second incubation station (Chavez-Badiola, para. 0125, 0129, 0145, 0154; Lapham, para. 0054, 0111).
As to claim 18, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the set of robotic arms includes a first robotic arm and a second robotic arm (Chavez-Badiola, para 0230, 0611).
As to claim 19, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 wherein each robotic arm of the set of robotic arms is movable in six degrees of freedom (Chavez-Badiola, para 0161, 0176).
As to claim 20, the combination of Chavez-Badiola and Lapham discloses the system of claim 1 further comprising a transfer bay configured to receive the biological sample (Chavez-Badiola, para 0113, 0114, 0255, 0256).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art discloses the claim limitations discussed above, but fails to disclose the combined features required by dependent claim 2.
Conclusion
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668