Claims 1-17 are currently under review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 13, 2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-9 and 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: typographic errors. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 5: “[[the]]a time of activating the screen of the first display unit.”
Claim 8, line 4: “[[the]]a time of actuating the screen of the first display unit.”
Claim 9, line 3: “with a smaller amount of information at [[the]]a time of actuating the screen of”
Claim 15, line 5: “illuminance at [[the]]a time of activating the screen of the first display unit.”
Claim 16, line 4: “when it is raining at [[the]]a time of actuating the screen of the first display unit.”
Claim 17, line 3: “display a screen with a smaller amount of information at [[the]]a time of”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizobata (Pub. No.: US 2020/0238826 A1) in view of Kaburlasos (Pub. No.: US 2025/0224911 A1) and in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0253687 A1) hereinafter referred to as Wang.
With respect to Claim 1, Mizobata teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1, item 12: vehicle; ¶29) comprising a display device (fig. 1, item 10), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 11) configured to output information via the display device (¶44), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 1, items 22 and 24) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle (¶32, “A display panel 18 protrudes from the instrument panel 16 toward the vehicle rear side”; ¶48, “the second display section 22 and the third display section 24 are oriented toward the driving seat”), are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel while protruding rearward of an instrument unit disposed in front of the steering wheel (fig. 1; ¶34, “the second display section 22 is disposed at a position offset toward the vehicle left side and vehicle lower side with respect to the first display section 20”; ¶37, “the third display section 24 is disposed at a position offset toward the vehicle right side and vehicle lower side with respect to the first display section 20”; ¶48; item 22 is to the left of the steering wheel, item 24 is to the right of the steering wheel, items 22 and 24 protrude rearward since they are oriented toward the driving seat and disposed in front of the steering wheel/between the windshield and steering wheel), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 2, item 11; ¶41).
Mizobata does not mention the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied; detecting a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle by a sensor when the screens of the pair of display units are turned off; identifying a first display unit located in the line-of-sight direction of the driver of the vehicle from among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off; and outputting information for activating a screen of the first display unit to the display device.
Kaburlasos teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 2, item 200; ¶41) comprising a display device (fig. 2, items 208, 210, and 212; ¶45), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 202 and fig. 6, item 600; ¶41; ¶72) configured to output information via the display device (¶48; ¶50), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 2, items 210 and 212) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle (¶45, “The displays 208, 210, 212 can be any of: a vehicle display, a windshield display, a dashboard display, an instrument cluster display, a steering wheel display”), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 2, item 202) configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied (¶57; ¶60); detecting a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle by a sensor (fig. 2, item 204: focus detector; ¶43-44) when the screens of the pair of display units are turned off (¶60); identifying a first display unit located in the line-of-sight direction of the driver of the vehicle from among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off (¶57-58; ¶59, “By reducing the quality of rendered images on displays 304, 306, 308, 310 which the user 312 is not focused upon, or stopping such rendering altogether, power dissipation can be reduced”); and outputting information for activating a screen of the first display unit to the display device (¶58).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the in-vehicle system of Mizobata, such that the information processing apparatus comprises a controller configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied; detecting a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle by a sensor when the screens of the pair of display units are turned off; identifying a first display unit located in the line-of-sight direction of the driver of the vehicle from among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off; and outputting information for activating a screen of the first display unit to the display device, as taught by Kaburlasos so as to reduce power dissipation, which would help improve thermal behavior of various circuits embedded into the vehicle, help extend the vehicle's battery range, and/or free up vehicle network bandwidth for other tasks (¶59).
Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention the display device comprising a pair of display units, have touch panels.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, such that the display device comprising a pair of display units, have touch panels, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality and convenience.
With respect to Claim 2, Mizobata teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1, item 12: vehicle; ¶29) comprising a display device (fig. 1, item 10), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 11) configured to output information via the display device (¶44), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 1, items 22 and 24) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle (¶32, “A display panel 18 protrudes from the instrument panel 16 toward the vehicle rear side”; ¶48, “the second display section 22 and the third display section 24 are oriented toward the driving seat”), are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel while protruding rearward of an instrument unit disposed in front of the steering wheel (fig. 1; ¶34, “the second display section 22 is disposed at a position offset toward the vehicle left side and vehicle lower side with respect to the first display section 20”; ¶37, “the third display section 24 is disposed at a position offset toward the vehicle right side and vehicle lower side with respect to the first display section 20”; ¶48; item 22 is to the left of the steering wheel, item 24 is to the right of the steering wheel, items 22 and 24 protrude rearward since they are oriented toward the driving seat and disposed in front of the steering wheel/between the windshield and steering wheel), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 2, item 11; ¶41).
Mizobata does not mention the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied; and outputting, to the display device, information for activating a screen of a first display unit corresponding to a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off.
Kaburlasos teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 2, item 200; ¶41) comprising a display device (fig. 2, items 208, 210, and 212; ¶45), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 202 and fig. 6, item 600; ¶41; ¶72) configured to output information via the display device (¶48; ¶50), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 2, items 210 and 212) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle (¶45, “The displays 208, 210, 212 can be any of: a vehicle display, a windshield display, a dashboard display, an instrument cluster display, a steering wheel display”), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 2, item 202) configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied (¶57; ¶60); and outputting, to the display device, information for activating a screen of a first display unit corresponding to a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off (fig. 4, item 404; ¶57-59; ¶62).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the in-vehicle system of Mizobata, such that the information processing apparatus comprises a controller configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied; and outputting, to the display device, information for activating a screen of a first display unit corresponding to a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off, as taught by Kaburlasos so as to reduce power dissipation, which would help improve thermal behavior of various circuits embedded into the vehicle, help extend the vehicle's battery range, and/or free up vehicle network bandwidth for other tasks (¶59).
Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention the display device comprising a pair of display units, have touch panels.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, such that the display device comprising a pair of display units, have touch panels, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality and convenience.
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the pair of display units are disposed on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel in a front and rear direction of the vehicle.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148); wherein the pair of display units are disposed on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel in a front (fig. 4, items 402 are disposed adjacent to the steering wheel and therefore on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel) and rear direction of the vehicle (fig. 4, items 402 are attached to a central part of the steering wheel which is then attached to a steering wheel spoke 401(c) which is towards a rear direction of the vehicle).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the pair of display units are disposed on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel in a front and rear direction of the vehicle, as taught by Wang so as to provide display unit mounting preference and convenience.
With respect to Claim 5, claim 2 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the controller is configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition, when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition (fig. 6; ¶224-230; ¶258), when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit (¶258).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the controller is configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition, when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
With respect to Claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the predetermined display condition includes a condition outside the vehicle or a condition related to traveling of the vehicle.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition (fig. 6; ¶224-230; ¶258), when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit (¶258); wherein the predetermined display condition includes a condition outside the vehicle or a condition related to traveling of the vehicle (¶38; ¶233; ¶239).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the predetermined display condition includes a condition outside the vehicle or a condition related to traveling of the vehicle, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 2 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for headlights on the screen of the first display unit, when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for headlights on the screen of the first display unit (fig. 6; ¶26; ¶224-230; ¶239’ ¶249, “Light system status information, for example, may include a turn signal status, a hazard warning signal status, a clearance lamp status, a headlamp status”; ¶258 – when the weather information of low brightness occurs an obvious operation interface is to display a headlight adjustment interface), when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit (¶38, “When the environment information changes, a more suitable operation interface may be provided”; ¶233; ¶239, “the environment information may further include the weather information, the accident information, and the like. The weather information may include: a temperature, humidity, brightness, rainfall, an air pollution level, and the like”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for headlights on the screen of the first display unit, when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
With respect to Claim 8, claim 2 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for wipers on the screen of the first display unit, when it is raining at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for wipers on the screen of the first display unit, when it is raining at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit (fig. 6; ¶26; ¶224-230; ¶239, “the environment information may further include the weather information, the accident information, and the like. The weather information may include: a temperature, humidity, brightness, rainfall, an air pollution level, and the like”; ¶258 – when the weather information of rainfall occurs an obvious operation interface is to display a wipers interface), when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit (¶38, “When the environment information changes, a more suitable operation interface may be provided”; ¶233; ¶239, “the environment information may further include the weather information, the accident information, and the like. The weather information may include: a temperature, humidity, brightness, rainfall, an air pollution level, and the like”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for wipers on the screen of the first display unit, when it is raining at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
With respect to Claim 10, Mizobata teaches an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 11) configured to output information via a display device (fig. 1, item 10: display device; ¶44), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 1, items 22 and 24) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle (¶32, “A display panel 18 protrudes from the instrument panel 16 toward the vehicle rear side”; ¶48, “the second display section 22 and the third display section 24 are oriented toward the driving seat”), are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel while protruding rearward of an instrument unit disposed in front of the steering wheel (fig. 1; ¶34, “the second display section 22 is disposed at a position offset toward the vehicle left side and vehicle lower side with respect to the first display section 20”; ¶37, “the third display section 24 is disposed at a position offset toward the vehicle right side and vehicle lower side with respect to the first display section 20”; ¶48; item 22 is to the left of the steering wheel, item 24 is to the right of the steering wheel, items 22 and 24 protrude rearward since they are oriented toward the driving seat and disposed in front of the steering wheel/between the windshield and steering wheel), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 2, item 11; ¶41).
Mizobata does not mention the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied; and outputting, to the display device, information for activating a screen of a first display unit corresponding to a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off.
Kaburlasos teaches an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 202 and fig. 6, item 600; ¶41; ¶72) configured to output information via a display device (fig. 2, items 208, 210, and 212: display device; ¶45; ¶48; ¶50), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 2, items 210 and 212) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle (¶45, “The displays 208, 210, 212 can be any of: a vehicle display, a windshield display, a dashboard display, an instrument cluster display, a steering wheel display”), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 2, item 202) configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied (¶57; ¶60); and outputting, to the display device, information for activating a screen of a first display unit corresponding to a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off (fig. 4, item 404; ¶57-59; ¶62).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the information processing apparatus of Mizobata, such that the information processing apparatus comprises a controller configured to execute: turning off screens of the pair of display units in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied; and outputting, to the display device, information for activating a screen of a first display unit corresponding to a line-of-sight direction of a driver of the vehicle among the pair of display units whose screens are turned off, as taught by Kaburlasos so as to reduce power dissipation, which would help improve thermal behavior of various circuits embedded into the vehicle, help extend the vehicle's battery range, and/or free up vehicle network bandwidth for other tasks (¶59).
Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention the display device comprising a pair of display units, have touch panels.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, such that the display device comprising a pair of display units, have touch panels, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality and convenience.
With respect to Claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the pair of display units are disposed on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel in a front and rear direction of the vehicle.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148); wherein the pair of display units are disposed on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel in a front (fig. 4, items 402 are disposed adjacent to the steering wheel and therefore on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel) and rear direction of the vehicle (fig. 4, items 402 are attached to a central part of the steering wheel which is then attached to a steering wheel spoke 401(c) which is towards a rear direction of the vehicle).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the pair of display units are disposed on a vehicle front side of a grip portion of the steering wheel in a front and rear direction of the vehicle, as taught by Wang so as to provide display unit mounting preference and convenience.
With respect to Claim 13, claim 10 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the controller is configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition, when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition (fig. 6; ¶224-230; ¶258), when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit (¶258).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the controller is configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition, when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the predetermined display condition includes a condition outside the vehicle or a condition related to traveling of the vehicle.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to set contents to be displayed on the screen of the first display unit according to a predetermined display condition (fig. 6; ¶224-230; ¶258), when outputting the information for activating the screen of the first display unit (¶258); wherein the predetermined display condition includes a condition outside the vehicle or a condition related to traveling of the vehicle (¶38; ¶233; ¶239).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the predetermined display condition includes a condition outside the vehicle or a condition related to traveling of the vehicle, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 10 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for headlights on the screen of the first display unit, when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for headlights on the screen of the first display unit (fig. 6; ¶26; ¶224-230; ¶239’ ¶249, “Light system status information, for example, may include a turn signal status, a hazard warning signal status, a clearance lamp status, a headlamp status”; ¶258 – when the weather information of low brightness occurs an obvious operation interface is to display a headlight adjustment interface), when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit (¶38, “When the environment information changes, a more suitable operation interface may be provided”; ¶233; ¶239, “the environment information may further include the weather information, the accident information, and the like. The weather information may include: a temperature, humidity, brightness, rainfall, an air pollution level, and the like”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for headlights on the screen of the first display unit, when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
With respect to Claim 16, claim 10 is incorporated, Mizobata and Kaburlasos combined do not mention wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for wipers on the screen of the first display unit, when it is raining at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit.
Wang teaches an in-vehicle system (fig. 1; ¶118) comprising a display device (fig. 4, item 402), and an information processing apparatus (fig. 3-a/3-b, item iDVP; ¶148; ¶149) configured to output information via a display device, the display device comprising a pair of display units (fig. 3; fig. 4, item 402; ¶153-154) that are provided in a forward portion of a driver's seat in a passenger compartment of a vehicle, are disposed at positions on both sides of a steering wheel, and have touch panels (¶148), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for wipers on the screen of the first display unit, when it is raining at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit (fig. 6; ¶26; ¶224-230; ¶239, “the environment information may further include the weather information, the accident information, and the like. The weather information may include: a temperature, humidity, brightness, rainfall, an air pollution level, and the like”; ¶258 – when the weather information of rainfall occurs an obvious operation interface is to display a wipers interface), when an illuminance outside the vehicle is less than a predetermined illuminance at the time of activating the screen of the first display unit (¶38, “When the environment information changes, a more suitable operation interface may be provided”; ¶233; ¶239, “the environment information may further include the weather information, the accident information, and the like. The weather information may include: a temperature, humidity, brightness, rainfall, an air pollution level, and the like”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata and Kaburlasos, wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a setting screen for wipers on the screen of the first display unit, when it is raining at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, as taught by Wang so as to provide additional functionality, convenience, and improved user experience (¶14).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang as applied to claims 2 and 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0165133 A1) hereinafter referred to as Kim.
With respect to Claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated, Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang combined do not explicitly mention wherein the information processing apparatus comprises a storage configured to store information about screens displayed immediately before the screens of the pair of display units are turned off, in response to the predetermined condition being satisfied.
Kim teaches an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 100; ¶56) configured to output information via a display device (fig. 2, item 120; ¶64), the display device comprising a display unit (fig. 2, item 120; ¶64), the information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 100; ¶56) comprising a processor (fig. 2, item 130; ¶65-67); wherein the information processing apparatus comprises a storage (fig. 2, item 140; ¶99-102) configured to store information about screen displayed immediately before the screen of the display unit is turned off, in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied (fig. 13; ¶167-169, the predetermined condition is what causes the display to turn off).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang, wherein the information processing apparatus comprises a storage configured to store information about screens displayed immediately before the screens of the pair of display units are turned off, in response to the predetermined condition being satisfied, as taught by Kim so as to improve user experience.
With respect to Claim 12, claim 10 is incorporated, Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang combined do not explicitly mention wherein the information processing apparatus comprises a storage configured to store information about screens displayed immediately before the screens of the pair of display units are turned off, in response to the predetermined condition being satisfied.
Kim teaches an information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 100; ¶56) configured to output information via a display device (fig. 2, item 120; ¶64), the display device comprising a display unit (fig. 2, item 120; ¶64), the information processing apparatus (fig. 2, item 100; ¶56) comprising a processor (fig. 2, item 130; ¶65-67); wherein the information processing apparatus comprises a storage (fig. 2, item 140; ¶99-102) configured to store information about screen displayed immediately before the screen of the display unit is turned off, in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied (fig. 13; ¶167-169, the predetermined condition is what causes the display to turn off).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang, wherein the information processing apparatus comprises a storage configured to store information about screens displayed immediately before the screens of the pair of display units are turned off, in response to the predetermined condition being satisfied, as taught by Kim so as to improve user experience.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang as applied to claims 2 and 10 above, and further in view of Tin (Pub. No.: US 2024/0066986 A1).
With respect to Claim 9, claim 2 is incorporated, Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang combined do not teach wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a screen with a smaller amount of information at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, when a speed of the vehicle is high than when it is low.
Tin teaches an information processing apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶33) configured to output information via a display device (¶38, head-up display), the display device comprising a display unit (¶38, head-up display), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 1, item 110; ¶34) configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a screen with a smaller amount of information at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, when a speed of the vehicle is high than when it is low (¶51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined in-vehicle system of Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang, wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a screen with a smaller amount of information at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, when a speed of the vehicle is high than when it is low, as taught by Tin.
With respect to Claim 17, claim 10 is incorporated, Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang combined do not teach wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a screen with a smaller amount of information at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, when a speed of the vehicle is high than when it is low.
Tin teaches an information processing apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶33) configured to output information via a display device (¶38, head-up display), the display device comprising a display unit (¶38, head-up display), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (fig. 1, item 110; ¶34) configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a screen with a smaller amount of information at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, when a speed of the vehicle is high than when it is low (¶51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined information processing apparatus of Mizobata, Kaburlasos, and Wang, wherein the controller is configured to output, to the display device, a command to display a screen with a smaller amount of information at the time of actuating the screen of the first display unit, when a speed of the vehicle is high than when it is low, as taught by Tin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tshimhoni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2026/0084529 A1) see figure 3
Segawa (Pub. No.: US 2017/0249923 A1) see figure 1
/DONNA V Bocar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621