DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I with Species A2, encompassing claims 1, 4-6, and 11-18, in the reply filed on 7/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that that search and examination can be made without serous burden. This is not found persuasive because
(i) the inventions of Group I and Group II are drawn into different classes and each invention requires a different field of search. Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the search for method claims requires the identification of processing steps while the search for apparatus claims requires the identification of structural elements, which introduces additional search burden. Applicants’ arguments that the search of one invention must necessarily result in a search for the other one has been considered, but is not found persuasive in so far as the searches are not co-extensive and additional search would of necessity be required for the combination of inventions, which introduces additional search and examination burden.
(ii) the inventions of different species require a different field of search. Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the species are independent and distinct and the different species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species, which introduces additional search and examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a feedback mechanism …” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis, III (PG-PUB US 2020/0071199, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Lewis III discloses an apparatus for generating nitrogen species using plasma (ABSTRACT), The apparatus comprises
(1) a plasma reactor assembly 101 having a reaction zone 126 for generating reactive nitrogen species by contacting water with the plasma discharge (i.e., a plasma generator…, Figure 2, paragraphs [0111] –[0112]);
(2) monitoring sensors configured for sensing various input signals for the system (i.e., a feedback mechanism…, paragraph [0117]); and
(3) a control unit 201 coupled to the sensors for properly operating the system to generate a solution having high concentration of nitrate (i.e., a control module …, Figure 6, paragraphs [0116] – [0117]).
The limitation of “a feedback mechanism” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The instant specification discloses that “a feedback mechanism” includes one or more sensors (paragraphs [0123] – [0125]).
Lewis III teaches monitoring sensors for sensing various input signals (paragraph [0117]), reading on “a feedback mechanism”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis, III (PG-PUB US 2020/0071199, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lewis III (PG-PUB US 2021/0354105, cited in IDS, referred to Lewis’105 thereafter).
Regarding claim 4, Lewis III does not teach an injector for supplying liquid and gas. However, Lewis’105 discloses an apparatus for generating nitrogen species using plasma (ABSTRACT). Lewis’105 teaches that the apparatus comprises a plasma reactor assembly 105 and an injector 104 for supplying gas 102 and water 103, wherein the injector 104 can generate water droplets 106 having 8 µm to 20 µm for significantly improving efficiency of transferring the reactive nitrogen species in water and is coupled to the control 135 for properly regulating the operation of the system (Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0082], & [0102]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an injector for supplying gas and water droplets having 8 µm to 20 µm as suggested by Lewis’105 in order to improve efficiency of transferring the reactive nitrogen species in water within the device of Lewis.
Regarding claim 5, since the device of Lewis/Lewis’105 comprises substantially the same structures as claimed, the injection is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 6, Lewis’105 teaches that the amounts of gas and water droplet affect the generation of reactive nitrogen species (paragraphs [0112]. One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to optimize the amounts/ratio of gas and water droplet to the reaction zone in order to achieve desired concentration of the reactive nitrogen species within the device of Lewis/Lewis’105.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis, III (PG-PUB US 2020/0071199, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al (PG-PUB US 20170142962).
Regarding claim 11, Lewis III teaches that plasma activated water is generated (paragraph [0135]), but does not teach a condenser downstream of the reaction region or a collection reservoir. However, Tsai et al disclose an apparatus for generating nitrogen species using plasma (ABSTRACT & paragraphs [0038] & [0055]). Tsai teaches that a plasma generator 412 generates plasma activated mist 413 which is condensed in a condenser 415 and the condensed mist is collected in a container 418 for collecting plasma activated liquid 416 (Figure 4, paragraph [0075]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a condenser downstream of the reaction region and a container downstream thereof as suggested by Tsai in order to collect the plasma activated liquid within the device of Lewis III.
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches that the condenser 415 includes coolant surface with coolant input 414 and coolant output 419 (Figure 4, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Lewis III teaches that the contact vessel 504 is sealed (Figure 9, paragraph [0135]). Tsai teaches that the container 418 is coupled to the condenser 415 for collecting the plasma activated liquid 416 (Figure 4, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Lewis III teaches that a recirculation system is coupled to the contact vessel 504 back to the water injection unit (paragraphs [0134] – [0135]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis, III (PG-PUB US 2020/0071199, cited in IDS) and Tsai et al (PG-PUB US 20170142962) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Maloney et al (PG-PUB US 20080308403).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai teaches to utilize a condenser to condense liquid (paragraph [0075]), but Lewis III/Tsai does not teach the condenser having porous packing material. However, Maloney et al disclose a condenser (ABSTRACT). Maloney teaches that a condenser 7 is filled with stainless steel wool for enhancing condensation (Figure 1, paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize stainless steel wool as packing material for a condenser as suggested by Maloney in order to enhance condensation within the device of Lewis III/Tsai with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis, III (PG-PUB US 2020/0071199, cited in IDS) in view of Lewis III (PG-PUB US 2021/0354105, cited in IDS, referred to Lewis’105 thereafter) .
Regarding claim 16, Lewis III discloses an apparatus for generating nitrogen species using plasma (ABSTRACT), The apparatus comprises
(1) a plasma reactor assembly 101 having a reaction zone 126 for generating reactive nitrogen species by contacting water with the plasma discharge (i.e., a plasma generator…, Figure 2, paragraphs [0111] –[0112]);
(2) monitoring sensors configured for sensing various input signals for the system (i.e., a feedback mechanism…, paragraph [0117]); and
(3) a control unit 201 coupled to the sensors for properly operating the system to generate a solution having high concentration of nitrate (i.e., a control module …, Figure 6, paragraphs [0116] – [0117]).
Lewis III does not teach an injector for supplying liquid and gas. However, Lewis’105 discloses an apparatus for generating nitrogen species using plasma (ABSTRACT). Lewis’105 teaches that the apparatus comprises a plasma reactor assembly 105 and an injector 104 for supplying gas 102 and water 103, wherein the injector 104 can generate water droplets 106 having 8 µm to 20 µm for significantly improving efficiency of transferring the reactive nitrogen species in water and is coupled to the control 135 for properly regulating the operation of the system (Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0082], & [0102]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an injector for supplying gas and water droplets having 8 µm to 20 µm as suggested by Lewis’105 in order to improve efficiency of transferring the reactive nitrogen species in water within the device of Lewis.
Regarding claim 18, Lewis’105 teaches that the amounts of gas and water droplet affect the generation of reactive nitrogen species (paragraphs [0112]. One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to optimize the amounts/ration of gas and water droplet to the reaction zone in order to achieve desired concentration of the reactive nitrogen species within the device of Lewis/Lewis’105.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis, III (PG-PUB US 2020/0071199, cited in IDS) and Lewis III (PG-PUB US 2021/0354105, cited in IDS, referred to Lewis’105 thereafter) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Tsai et al (PG-PUB US 20170142962).
Regarding claim 17, Lewis III teaches that plasma activated water is generated (paragraph [0135]), but Lewis III/Lewis’105 does not teach a condenser downstream of the reaction region or a collection reservoir. However, Tsai et al disclose an apparatus for generating nitrogen species using plasma (ABSTRACT & paragraphs [0038] & [0055]). Tsai teaches that a plasma generator 412 generates plasma activated mist 413 which is condensed in a condenser 415 and the condensed mist is collected in a container 418 for collecting plasma activated liquid 416 (Figure 4, paragraph [0075]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a condenser downstream of the reaction region and a container downstream thereof as suggested by Tsai in order to collect the plasma activated liquid within the device of Lewis III/Lewis’105.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,135. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same elements as that of the issued patent.
Claims 1, 4, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,108,516. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same elements as that of the issued patent.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,373. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same elements as that of the issued patent.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4-6, and 11-18 are rejected. Claims 2-3, 7-10, and 19-20 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795