DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-11 and claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. Claim 6 and dependents thereof recite(s) providing one or more modules and modulating neuronal tissues to increase or decrease electrical fields within the neuronal tissues, wherein an electrical field within the neuronal tissues affects the relaxation of nuclei of the neuronal tissues via nuclear quadrupole resonance and is measured with radiofrequency antenna, while claim 12 recites “controlling at least two electropermanent magnets” so that the resulting magnetic field has a particular characteristic (which is a known natural phenomenon). The claim(s) amount to stimulating (“modulating”, see at least [0025] of the instant disclosure indicating that “modulating” as claimed is merely applying stimulation) and then measuring the result, where the result (“wherein an electrical field within the neuronal tissues affects the relaxation of nuclei of the neuronal tissues via nuclear quadrupole resonance”) appears to be nothing more than a natural phenomenon. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it does not present an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or improvement to a technical field; there is no application of a particular prophylaxis or treatment; there is no particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim; there is no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and there is no application or use of the judicial exception in any meaningful way beyond generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. It is noted that while the claim includes “providing one or more modules having at least one electropermanent magnet, at least one radiofrequency antenna, and a means of neuromodulation,” but 1) the machine is not presented with sufficient specificity (e.g. merely a list of parts without a specific arrangement related to the function) and 2) the method is not linked to the structure of the machine. At most, the measurement is performed “with radiofrequency antenna” but it’s not even made clear that it is the radiofrequency antenna of the provided device.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the remainder of the claim(s) provides only further definition of the natural phenomena or steps that amount to mere instructions to perform the measurement.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the control system controls the at least one electropermanent magnet so that the magnetic field applied by the at least one electropermanent magnet creates a spinning magic angle effect.” It is noted that “at least one” includes a scenario with only one electropermanent magnet. It is further noted that while claim 1 recites “one or more modules having at least one electropermanent magnet,” “one or more” also includes a scenario where there is only a single module (having only a single magnet). The disclosure provides that the “spinning magic angle effect” is achieved by actuating multiple magnets at different times to create a spinning magnetic field (see [0022] of the instant disclosure). There is no disclosure of how this function could be performed using only a single electropermanent magnet as claimed. Therefore, this subject matter is not considered to have been disclosed in such a way as to reasonably convey to one having skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, and all dependent claims thereof, recites the limitation “…and is measured with radiofrequency antenna.” With no preceding article, it is unclear whether “radiofrequency antenna” is the same as or distinct from the “at least one radiofrequency antenna” provided with the one or more modules. Therefore, this limitation lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the radiofrequency transmitted into neuronal tissues... .” However, no step of transmitting radiofrequency has been set forth, nor has any other recitation of transmitting radiofrequency. Therefore, “the radiofrequency transmitted” lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the images yield functional magnetic resonance images.” First, it is unclear how images would “yield” other images. It is unclear whether “the images” and “functional magnetic resonance images” are meant to refer to the same or distinct elements. Second, no step of generating images has been set forth. The parent claim, claim 9, recites only collecting data “that may be used to create images.” The images are never generated, so there are no images to “yield” other images. For the purposes of further examination, this claim will be interpreted to be the intended use of the acquired data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weinberg (US 20220020518 A1, Jan. 20, 2022) (hereinafter “Weinberg”).
Regarding claim 1: Weinberg discloses an apparatus for collecting data used to create images of electrical fields in neuronal tissues comprising: one or more modules having at least one electropermanent magnet, at least one radiofrequency antenna (fig. 1, [0009], control sub-module 120, sub-module 160; [0010], [0016]), and a means of neuromodulation ([0021] - "A device containing one or more modules 100 may therefore be used to perform multiple tasks within moving sample 180. Such tasks may include magnetoencephalography, magnetic resonance imaging, magnetic particle imaging, and transcranial magnetic stimulation. "; if the device having one or more modules 100 can be used to perform transcranial stimulation ("modulation") then it has "a means for modulation"); and a control system to control each of the one or more modules by using the nuclear quadrupole resonance phenomenon of the neuronal tissues to modulate and to image electrical field activity in the neuronal tissues (fig. 1, [0009], control sub-module 120; it is noted that “to control” is merely the intended use of the control system and does not require any particular configuration or structure).
Regarding claim 2: Weinberg discloses the apparatus as in claim 1, wherein the means of neuromodulation is a current-carrying structure (the device 100 is "a current-carrying structure").
Regarding claim 4: Weinberg discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control system controls a radiofrequency transmitted into neuronal tissues ([0010]). The remainder of the limitations, “… to primarily affect protons, and an imaging contrast is obtained through excitation of nuclei with spin greater than one-half,” are merely the intended use (“to primarily affect”) and a natural phenomenon resulting from the interaction between transmitted radiofrequency and the tissue. There is no link between these functions and the structure of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claim 6: Weinberg discloses a method for collecting data used to create images of electrical fields in neuronal tissues, the method comprising: providing one or more modules having at least one electropermanent magnet, at least one radiofrequency antenna, and a means of neuromodulation (fig. 1, [0009], control sub-module 120, sub-module 160; [0010], [0016], [0021] - "A device containing one or more modules 100 may therefore be used to perform multiple tasks within moving sample 180. Such tasks may include magnetoencephalography, magnetic resonance imaging, magnetic particle imaging, and transcranial magnetic stimulation. "); modulating neuronal tissues to increase or decrease electrical fields within the neuronal tissues ([0021] - "A device containing one or more modules 100 may therefore be used to perform multiple tasks within moving sample 180. Such tasks may include magnetoencephalography, magnetic resonance imaging, magnetic particle imaging, and transcranial magnetic stimulation. "). Regarding the remaining limitation, “wherein an electrical field within the neuronal tissues affects the relaxation of nuclei of the neuronal tissues via nuclear quadrupole resonance and is measured with radiofrequency antenna,” this appears to be merely a description of the result of applying modulation to the tissue. In the absence of any more specific limitations regarding the nature of the modulation, it is assumed that any modulation applied by a structure comprising at least one electropermanent magnet, an RF antenna, and a means of neuromodulation would achieve this effect.
Regarding claim 7: Weinberg discloses transmitting radiofrequency into neuronal tissues ([0010]). The remaining limitations, “…primarily affects protons, and imaging contrast is obtained through excitation of the protons and subsequent transfer of magnetization from nuclei with spin greater than one-half to the protons,” appear to be merely a description of the natural result of the interaction between transmitted radiofrequency and the tissue. In the absence of any more specific limitations regarding the nature of the modulation, it is assumed that any radiofrequency applied by a structure comprising at least one electropermanent magnet, an RF antenna, and a means of neuromodulation would achieve this effect.
Regarding claim 8: Weinberg discloses transmitting radiofrequency into neuronal tissues ([0010]). The remaining limitations, “primarily affects protons, and an imaging contrast is obtained through excitation of nuclei with spin greater than one-half,” appear to be merely a description of the natural result of the interaction between transmitted radiofrequency and the tissue. In the absence of any more specific limitations regarding the nature of the modulation, it is assumed that any radiofrequency applied by a structure comprising at least one electropermanent magnet, an RF antenna, and a means of neuromodulation would achieve this effect.
Regarding claims 9 and 10: Weinberg discloses wherein the modulating is applied before collecting data that may be used to create images of the electrical field of neurons of the neuronal tissues and wherein the modulating is applied after collecting data that may be used to create images of the electrical field of the neurons of the neuronal tissues (fig. 2 - there is a feedback loop, such that if the loop is executed more than once the modulation could be applied before and after the measurement; [0010], [0021]).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood based on limitations which are indefinite: Since there is no step of actually creating any images, the data acquired by the method of Weinberg is considered to be capable of being used to perform this function.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alonso Otamendi et al. (WO 2020/144389 A2, Jul. 16, 2020) (hereinafter “Alonso Otamendi”).
Regarding claim 12: Alonso Otamendi discloses a method for collecting data used to create images comprising: controlling at least two electropermanent magnets so that the magnetic field applied by the at least two electropermanent magnets creates a spinning magic angle effect without the need to physically spin the object of interest ([0014], [0018], [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinberg in view of Weinberg (US 2024/0131353 A1, Apr. 25, 2024) (hereinafter “Weinberg ‘353”).
Regarding claim 3: Weinberg discloses the apparatus as in claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the means of neuromodulation is a generator of ultrasound.
Weinberg ‘353, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an apparatus for combined MRI data collection and ultrasonic neuromodulation ([0004]-[0005], [0012]). Weinberg ‘353 further discloses that having an MRI and ultrasound-generating system in the same device is convenient to users and that the near simultaneous application of magnetic and sonic fields may have synergistic effectiveness at neuromodulation ([0019]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the apparatus of Weinberg using ultrasound as the means of neuromodulation as taught by Weineberg ‘353 in order to improve convenience and effectiveness of the neuromodulation in view of the further teachings of Weinberg ‘353.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinberg in view of Alonso Otamendi et al. (WO 2020/144389 A2, Jul. 16, 2020) (hereinafter “Alonso Otamendi”).
Regarding claim 5: Weinberg discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the control system controls the at least one electropermanent magnet so that the magnetic field applied by the at least one electropermanent magnet creates a spinning magic angle effect.
Alonso Otamendi, in the same problem solving area of magnetic resonance data collection, discloses a control system that controls at least one electropermanent magnet so that the magnetic field applied by the at least one electropermanent magnet creates a spinning magic angle effect ([0014], [0017]-[0018], [0032]). Alonso Otamendi further discloses that magic angle spinning (MAS) can be used to suppress dipole-dipole interactions and improve the intensity and lifetime of MRI signals emitted by solids ([0010]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the control system of Weinberg such that it controls the at least one electropermanent magnet so that the magnetic field applied by the at least one electropermanent magnet creates a spinning magic angle effect as taught by Alonso Otamendi in order to achieve the advantages of suppressed dipole-dipole interactions and improved intensity and lifetime of MRI signals in view of the further teachings of Alonso Otamendi.
Conclusion
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799