DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Noda et al. (US Patent 9,859,528 B2).
As to claim 1, Noda discloses A display apparatus (i.e. the light emitting device as seen in figure 6 which is said to be an OLED color display) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10, Lines 1-25) comprising:
a light-emitting device (i.e. the OLED device 1 as seen in figure 2 and 6) (see Fig. 2 and 6); and
a first electrode (i.e. electrode 14 is the first electrode) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10), wherein the light-emitting device comprises:
a pixel electrode (i.e. the pixel electrode is the electrode 16 which is directly facing the organic emissive layer 15) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10);
a facing electrode opposite to the pixel electrode (i.e. the facing electrode is the electrode 1D which is opposite of pixel electrode 16) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10); and
an emission layer (i.e. element 15) (see Fig. 6) between the pixel electrode (16) and the facing electrode (i.e. the emissive layer 15 is between the pixel electrode 16 and the facing electrode 1D) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10), and wherein the pixel electrode of the light-emitting device and the first electrode are in a same layer (i.e. as seen in figure 2-6 the 14 and 16 electrode are the same layer forming the OLED assembly unit around the 15 organic layer) (see Fig. 2-6, Col. 8-10) and spaced apart each other (i.e. they are spaced apart by the emission layer 15) (see Fig. 6), and wherein an opening defined in the facing electrode of the light-emitting device overlaps the first electrode in a plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 6 the facing electrode 1D of the OLED device overlaps the first electrode 14 in plan view) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10).
As to claim 14, Noda teaches A display apparatus (i.e. the light emitting device as seen in figure 6 which is said to be an OLED color display) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10, Lines 1-25) comprising:
a pixel circuit (i.e. as seen in figure 6 the pixel circuit is the element around 10 which form the image area where light emission takes place) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10);
a sensing circuit around the pixel circuit (i.e. the sensing circuit is the electronic circuit Tr1 and Tr2 which senses electrical charge from the controlling element which applies direction field control to manipulate the output of the pixel circuit) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10);
a light-emitting device connected to the pixel circuit (i.e. the actual light emitting layer 15 is seen to be connected to the surrounding pixel circuit 10 area) (see Fig. 6); and
a first electrode connected to the sensing circuit (i.e. as seen in figure 6 the first electrode 14 is connected to the surrounding sensing circuit Tr1 and Tr2 via the metal materials) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10), wherein the light-emitting device comprises:
a pixel electrode (i.e. the pixel electrode is the electrode 16 which is directly facing the organic emissive layer 15) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10);
a facing electrode opposite to the pixel electrode (i.e. the facing electrode is the electrode 1D which is opposite of pixel electrode 16) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10); and
an emission layer between the pixel electrode and the facing electrode (i.e. the emissive layer 15 is between the pixel electrode 16 and the facing electrode 1D) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10), and wherein the pixel electrode of the light-emitting device and the first electrode are in a same layer and spaced apart each other, and wherein an opening defined in the facing electrode of the light-emitting device overlaps the first electrode in a plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 6 the facing electrode 1D of the OLED device overlaps the first electrode 14 in plan view) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10).
As to claim 2, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a thin film transistor connected to the first electrode (i.e. the Tr1 and Tr2 are said to be a TFT type transistor which is seen to be at least indirectly connected to the first electrode 14) (see Fig 6, Col. 10).
As to claim 3, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein a plurality of openings are defined in the facing electrode of the light-emitting device and the plurality of openings are overlaps the first electrode in the plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 2-6, the plurality of opening is the light opening for the emissive light to reach outside which is seen in element 10 where the facing electrode 1D overlaps the opening area for the effective display area) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10).
As to claim 9, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electrode extends along peripheries of a plurality of pixel electrodes of a plurality of light-emitting devices in the plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 3 the plurality of pixel electrode of the device are indeed extending along peripheries as the formation of the display matrix demonstrates such structures) (see Fig. 3).
As to claim 10, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a black matrix overlapping the first electrode in the plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 7 embodiment Noda further teaches the 29B black matrix which overlaps the first electrode 14 at least in the boundary areas) (see Fig. 7, Col. 10-11).
As to claim 11, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a thin film transistor connected to the pixel electrode of the light-emitting device (i.e. as seen in figure 6 the TFT structure is the Tr1 and Tr2 which is connected to the pixel electrode indirectly) (see Fig 6, Col. 10).
As to claim 12, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a capacitor overlapping the thin film transistor (i.e. as seen in figure 3 the capacitor is shown to at least overlap the TFT device in part as the circuitry design requires) (see Fig. 3).
As to claim 13, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an encapsulation layer on the light-emitting device (i.e. as seen in figure 6 the encapsulation layer is the sealing layer 17 which surrounds the light-emitting device) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10).
As to claim 15, Noda teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, wherein a plurality of openings are defined in the facing electrode of the light-emitting device and the plurality of openings are overlaps the first electrode in a plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 2-6, the plurality of opening is the light opening for the emissive light to reach outside which is seen in element 10 where the facing electrode 1D overlaps the opening area for the effective display area) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10).
As to claim 16, Noda teaches display apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first electrode extends along periphery of the pixel electrode of the light-emitting device in the plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 3 the plurality of pixel electrode of the device are indeed extending along peripheries as the formation of the display matrix demonstrates such structures) (see Fig. 3).
As to claim 19, Noda display apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a black matrix overlapping the first electrode in the plan view (i.e. as seen in figure 7 embodiment Noda further teaches the 29B black matrix which overlaps the first electrode 14 at least in the boundary areas) (see Fig. 7, Col. 10-11).
As to claim 20, Noda display apparatus of claim 14, further comprising an encapsulation layer on the light-emitting device (i.e. as seen in figure 6 the encapsulation layer is the sealing layer 17 which surrounds the light-emitting device) (see Fig. 6, Col. 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art Hsieh et al. (US Pub: 2011/0291982 A1) is cited to teach another type touch display system with multiple layered design figures 1-7 embodiments.
/CALVIN C MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 September 19, 2026