DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsura et al. (JP2012111231).
With respect to claim 1, Matsura et al. teaches a printing screen mesh, comprising a screen (2) and a removable material (3), wherein the removable material (3) is capable of being completely removed under an action of electromagnetic wave energy (5, Paragraphs 0077, 0080, 0090, 0091, 0098), and
the screen (2) comprises a plurality of mesh openings (Paragraph 0011), and the removable material (3) possesses at least one of the following states:
a) being filled within the plurality of mesh openings of the screen (2);
b) forming a removable layer by covering a surface of the screen (2, Paragraph 0010).
With respect to claim 2, wherein the screen is a metal screen (Paragraph 0003, 0021).
With respect to claim 4, Matsura et al. teaches the removable material (3) is a photosensitive resin material (Paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0034, 0036, 0040).
With respect to claim 5, Matsura et al. teaches the electromagnetic energy is laser (Paragraphs 0010, 0031, 0041).
With respect to claim 6, the limitations “a melting point, an ignition point, or a sublimation point of the screen is higher than a melting point, an ignition point, or a sublimation point of the removable material” are not positively recited features and therefore are not part of the structure of the printing mesh.
With respect to claim 7, Matsura et al. teaches the screen (2) has an upper surface and a lower surface which are in communication through the plurality of mesh openings (Paragraph 0011, Figures 1-5), and the removable layer is laminated on at least one of the upper surface or the lower surface (Paragraph 0001, 0011, 0015).
With respect to claim 9, Matsura et al. teaches a printing mesh (Paragraph 0011, Figures 1-5), comprising a screen (2),
a first material (3, Paragraph 0019, 0021, 0025), and
a second material (7, Paragraphs 0025, 0029-0031), wherein the first material is capable of being completely removed under an action of electromagnetic energy, and the screen is capable of being completely or partially retained under the action of the electromagnetic energy (Paragraphs 0011, 0066, 0077, 0095);
the second material (7) is capable of being dissolved by a solvent and covers a surface of the screen, and the first material is laminated on a surface of a layer structure formed by the second material (Paragraph 0011).
With respect to claim 10, Matsura et al. teaches a method for making a screen printing plate, comprising:
placing a printing mesh in a processing area of an energy apparatus (Paragraphs 0011, 0014, 0015, ) wherein the printing mesh comprises a screen (2) and a removable material (3) attached to the screen (Figures 2-6), the removable material (3) is capable of being removed under an action of electromagnetic energy (Paragraphs 0066, 0077) and the screen (2) is capable of being completely or partially retained under the action of the electromagnetic energy; and
controlling an energy head of the energy apparatus to emit the electromagnetic energy onto the printing mesh placed in the processing area (Paragraph 0021, 0077, 0088, 0089, 0096), and moving the energy head along a predetermined movement path on a surface of the printing mesh to remove at least part of the removable material attached to the screen (Paragraphs 0077-0091, 0098), thereby forming a predetermined pattern on the printing mesh (Paragraphs 0011, 0014, 0066, ).
With respect to claim 11, Matsura et al. teaches prior to moving the energy head along the predetermined movement path on the surface of the printing mesh, the method further comprises: obtaining the predetermined pattern via a terminal device connected to the energy apparatus or a storage unit inside the energy apparatus; and generating the movement path based on the predetermined pattern (Paragraph 0066, Paragraphs 0077-0091, 0096, 0100-0104).
With respect to claim 12, Matsura et al. teaches prior to moving the energy head along the predetermined movement path on the surface of the printing mesh, the method further comprises: adjusting an action point of the electromagnetic energy based on at least one of following parameters: a distance between the energy head and the printing mesh; a thickness of the printing mesh, or a thickness of a surface material of the printing mesh (Paragraphs 0077-0091).
With respect to claim 13, Matsura et al. teaches prior to controlling the energy head of the energy apparatus to emit the electromagnetic energy onto the printing mesh placed in the processing area, the method further comprises: providing a screen frame, and tensioning and securing the printing mesh in the screen frame (Paragraphs 0020, 0025, 0031).
With respect to claim 14, Matsura et al. teaches the energy apparatus is a laser processing equipment (YAS), and the energy head is a movable laser processing head (Paragraph 0066, Paragraphs 0077-0091, 0096, 0100-0104).
With respect to claim 15, Matsura et al. teaches the laser processing equipment processes the printing mesh with laser having a wavelength of 400 nm to 10.6 μm (Paragraphs 0066, 0079).
With respect to claim 17, Matsura et al. teaches moving the energy head along the predetermined movement path on the surface of the printing mesh, a movement speed of the laser processing head is greater than 80 mm/s (Paragraphs 0077, 0088, 0089, 0096, 0102).
With respect to claim 19, Matsura et al. teaches the laser processing equipment comprises processing modes of laser planar processing, laser curved surface processing, and laser screen printing plate making; and prior to moving the energy head along the predetermined movement path on the surface of the printing mesh, the method further comprises: selecting a processing mode of the laser planar processing or the laser screen printing plate making to operate the printing mesh (Paragraph 0066, Paragraphs 0077-0091, 0096, 0100-0104).
With respect to claim 20, Matsura et al. The method according to claim 19, wherein after selecting the processing mode of the laser planar processing or the laser screen printing plate making to operate the printing mesh, the method further comprises: configuring power and speed of laser processing based on the processing mode (Paragraph 0066, Paragraphs 0077-0091, 0096, 0100-0104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsura et al. (JP2012111231).
With respect to claim 3, Matsura et al. teaches a screen is a stainless steel screen (Paragraph 0032) and an absorption rate/transmittance, Matsura et al. is silent with the specific absorption rate of less than 40% for light with a wavelength below 10.6 μm at room temperature, and a transmittance approaching 0%.
However, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and In re Kuhle, 526, 188 USPQ 7(CCPA 1975).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized to provide a specific absorption rate and transmittance for the purpose of providing a specific rate as to not hinder processing of the laser beam in the apparatus.
With respect to claims 16 and 18, Matsura et al. teaches a light spot and a power of a laser processing equipment (Paragraphs 0077, 0102, 0104). Matsura et al. does not explicitly disclose the specific size of a light spot formed by the laser processing equipment on the printing mesh does not exceed 0.08 mm² and power of the laser processing equipment is below 100 W.
However, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and In re Kuhle, 526, 188 USPQ 7(CCPA 1975).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized to provide a specific light spot and power for laser processing for the purpose of ensuring the screen is prevented from damage during processing steps.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsura et al. (JP2012111231) in view of Wang et al. (CN221358764).
With respect to claim 8, Matsura et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of an edge-wrapping structure, wherein the edge-wrapping structure wraps an edge of the printing mesh.
Wang et al. teaches an edge-wrapping structure, wherein the edge-wrapping structure (201) wraps an edge of the printing mesh (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention taught by Matsura et al. to provide an edge wrapping structure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the use effect, prolonging the service life and ensuring the longevity of the sealing property.
Conclusion
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852