DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds of “low” are unclear.
In claim 10 it is unclear how an AM metal member can be sized and shaped to correspond to a coupon opening in a body, when the claim is merely drawn to a metal coupon and does not positively require an undefined opening in a body. For purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 11-12, 14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sercombe et al. (US2021/0114110A1) (hereafter Sercombe).
With respect to claim 1, Sercombe teaches a metal coupon for repairing a component (merely intended use) the metal coupon comprising: an additive manufactured (AM) metal member (additively fabricated metal member) having at least two porous regions and a braze material (infiltrate melt) infiltration barrier (infiltration barrier 402/504) positioned between the at least two porous regions, wherein the braze material infiltration barrier has a lower porosity than the at least two porous regions (figures 4B-4C and 5; and paragraphs 54-61). Note that paragraph 61 of Sercombe explicitly teaches that the infiltration barrier is sintered to a density >80%.
With respect to claims 2 and 11, Sercombe teaches wherein the at least two porous regions (501/502) each have a different porosity (figure 5; and paragraph 54). Note the regions have a different porosity after infiltration.
With respect to claims 3 and 12, Sercombe teaches wherein the at least two porous regions each include a different material (figure 5; and paragraph 54). Note the regions have a different material after infiltration.
With respect to claims 5 and 14, Sercombe teaches wherein the braze material infiltration barrier includes a different material than at least one of the at least two porous regions (paragraph 54).
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Sercombe teaches wherein the braze material infiltration barrier includes a low (broadest reasonable interpretation) porosity material (figures 4B-4C and 5; and paragraphs 54-61).
With respect to claim 10, Sercombe teaches a metal coupon configured for repair of a component (underlined portions are merely intended use), the metal coupon comprising: an additively manufactured (AM) metal member (additively fabricated metal member) sized and shaped to correspond to a coupon opening in a body (figures 4B-4C and 5; and paragraphs 54-61); at least two porous regions of the AM metal member, wherein at least one of the at least two porous regions is configured to be infiltrated by a braze material for coupling the AM metal coupon in the coupon opening (figures 4B-4C and 5; and paragraphs 54-61); and a braze material (infiltrate melt) infiltration barrier (infiltration barrier 402/504) positioned between two porous regions of the at least two porous regions, wherein the braze material infiltration barrier has a lower porosity than the two porous regions of the at least two porous regions, and wherein the braze material infiltration barrier separates the braze material in the at least one of the at least two porous regions from at least one other of the at least two porous regions (figures 4B-4C and 5; and paragraphs 54-61).
With respect to claim 16, Sercombe teaches wherein the braze material (infiltrate melt) is not in the braze material infiltration barrier (figures 4B-4C and 5; and paragraphs 54-61).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gibson et al. (US2018/0305266A1) (hereafter Gibson).
With respect to claim 1, Gibson teaches a metal coupon for repairing a component (merely intended use) the metal coupon comprising: an additive manufactured (AM) metal member (metal member additively manufactured) having at least two porous regions and a braze material (melted metal) infiltration barrier (infiltration/infiltrant barrier) positioned between the at least two porous regions, wherein the braze material infiltration barrier has a lower porosity than the at least two porous regions (figure 7; and paragraphs 40-41, 44, 71, 167, 172, 183, 191, 210, 225, 254, 321, 325, 331, 334, and 337-338).
With respect to claim 10, Gibson teaches a metal coupon configured for repair of a component (underlined portions are merely intended use), the metal coupon comprising: an additively manufactured (AM) metal member (metal member additively manufactured) sized and shaped to correspond to a coupon opening in a body (figure 7, paragraphs 40-41, 44, 71, 167, 172, 183, 191, 210, 225, 254, 321, 325, 331, 334, and 337-338); at least two porous regions of the AM metal member, wherein at least one of the at least two porous regions is configured to be infiltrated by a braze material for coupling the AM metal coupon in the coupon opening (figure 7, paragraphs 40-41, 44, 71, 167, 172, 183, 191, 210, 225, 254, 321, 325, 331, 334, and 337-338); and a braze material (melted metal) infiltration barrier (infiltration/infiltrant barrier) positioned between two porous regions of the at least two porous regions, wherein the braze material infiltration barrier has a lower porosity than the two porous regions of the at least two porous regions, and wherein the braze material infiltration barrier separates the braze material in the at least one of the at least two porous regions from at least one other of the at least two porous regions (figure 7; and paragraphs 40-41, 44, 71, 167, 172, 183, 191, 210, 225, 254, 321, 325, 331, 334, and 337-338).
With respect to claims 4 and 13, Gibson teaches wherein the braze material infiltration barrier includes an alloy of the different materials (paragraph 183).
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Gibson teaches wherein the braze material infiltration barrier includes a same material as at least one of the at least two porous regions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735