DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 14- 17, and 19-20 in the reply filed on 10/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of species of Group III, claim 15 or claim 18 in the reply filed on 10/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant selects claim 15 with traverse. The Examiner fails to explain why claims 15 and 18 are distinct species necessitating restriction as required by MPEP 808.02
This is not found persuasive because examination is not limited to search. In addition to the search, much of the examination is devoted to determining patentability of claims. Said determination requires the formulation of rejection and responding to applicant’s arguments with regard to the same. The additional search and the determination of patentability for multiple, patentability distinct species would place serious burden on the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the term “about” as a limitation in the claim does not provide an exactitude, but rather a contemplated variation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim recites “..the aqueous medium having a pH less than about 12,…”
When read in light of the specification, applicant appears to be referring to pH less than 12, it would include neutral pH (about 7) and acidic pH below 7. However, the subject matter recited is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey possession of the claimed invention. The specification merely provides on ¶ [0025] that the polymerization system develops a pH below a standard pH for polymerizing a polysialate system, for example less than about 12, such as 9-11, for example about 10, can reduce the polymerization rate to allow time for the spacer fluid to be pumped into the well and displaced to a target location before solidifying. In other words, applicant has not shown possession of an invention in which the pH is below 9 that would also include lower basic pH in addition to neutral and acidic pHs. MEPE 2163.03 states” The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ispsis vergis in the specification. “Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognized what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in the specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement.” Enzo Biochem, Inc v. Gen-Probe, Inc 323 F.3d
MPEP 2163, subsection II, part 2, states, : information which is well known in the art need not be described in detail in the specification. See, e.g. Hybritech, Inc v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc, 802 F. 2d 1397, 1379-80, 231 USPQ 81,90 (Fed. Cir. 1986). However, sufficient information must be provided to show that the inventor had possession of the invention as claimed.” Therefore, a pH lower than 9 has not been established as being well know and so they must be described in detail in the specification in which there are no examples of any such lower pH in the disclosure. The examiner notes(s) that presently, applicant has the burden to demonstrate possession of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2163, subsection II, part A). “[t]he burden was then property shifted to [inventor] to cite to the examiner where adequate written description could be found or to make an amendment to address the deficiently.” Id.; see also Stored Value Solutions, Inc. v. Card Activation Techs., 499 Fed. App’x 5,13-14 (Fed. Cir.)
Claim 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “..a pH less than about 12”. This is a range with unbounded lower limit, and as such, it is unclear as to extent of pH Applicant is intending to seek patent protection of; as such, the claim is rendered indefinite.
Furthermore, claim 14 is also rejected for failing to comply with written description requirement, in which the applicant regards as his invention, making the claim indefinite.
All the claims dependent of claim 14 are also rejected.
The claim recites”… a slurry density of less than about 14 pounds per gallon.”. This is a range with unbounded lower limit, and as such, it is unclear as to extent of density Applicant is intending to seek patent protection of; as such, the claim is rendered indefinite.
The claim recites”… less than about 30 wt.%.”. This is a range with unbounded lower limit, and as such, it is unclear as to extent of concentration Applicant is intending to seek patent protection of; as such, the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-17,19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yakovlev et al. (US 2023/0416592 A1) (“Yakovlev” herein)
(Claims contain only selected species)
Claim 14.
Yakovlev discloses, as best understood based on the indefiniteness above, a spacer fluid for use in a well, the spacer fluid comprising:
an aqueous medium comprising
a polymerization mixture disposed in the aqueous medium,
the aqueous medium having a pH less than about 12, the polymerization mixture
having a controlled reaction rate in the aqueous medium that solidifies the spacer fluid after a predetermined time disposed in the aqueous medium. [0007-0009, 00019-0020, 0024--0027]
Since Yakovlev discloses the same composition comprising an aqueous medium and a polymerization mixture such as an alkaline-reactive raw material, an alkali activator, and a retarder, it would be a polymerization mixture having the aqueous medium having a pH less than about 12, the polymerization mixture having a controlled reaction rate in the aqueous medium that solidifies the spacer fluid after a predetermined time disposed in the aqueous medium.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp v DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
a different interpretation of Yakovlev
Yakovlev discloses, as best understood based on the indefiniteness above, a spacer fluid for use in a well, the spacer fluid comprising:
an aqueous medium comprising
a polymerization mixture disposed in the aqueous medium,
the aqueous medium having a pH less than about 12, the polymerization mixture
having a controlled reaction rate in the aqueous medium that solidifies the spacer fluid after a predetermined time disposed in the aqueous medium. [0007-0009, 00019-0020, 0024--0027]
Yakovlev does not explicitly disclose the terminology as recited within the claimed invention: having a controlled reaction rate in the aqueous medium that solidifies … after a predetermined time disposed in the aqueous medium. However, Yakovlev discloses that Thickening time of the geopolymer slurry formed by adding water to the precursor mixtures described herein can be influenced by adding retarders and accelerators. . The amount of retardation of the polymerization reaction, and the setting of the slurry, depends on the type of raw materials used for the slurry and the type and relative quantity of retarder used. By this means, the same geopolymer precursor could be pumped into different sections of a well and setting time of geopolymer slurry in the different sections can be controlled through addition of a different amount of the retarder solution..[0026] which serves as having a controlled reaction rate in the aqueous medium that solidifies … after a predetermined time disposed in the aqueous medium. Therefore, the Examiner interprets this disclosure to read on the claimed invention.
Since Yakovlev discloses the same composition comprising an aqueous medium and a polymerization mixture such as an alkaline-reactive raw material, an alkali activator, and a retarder, it would be a polymerization mixture having the aqueous medium having a pH less than about 12, the polymerization mixture having a controlled reaction rate in the aqueous medium that solidifies the spacer fluid after a predetermined time disposed in the aqueous medium.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp v DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 15.
The spacer fluid of claim 14, wherein the polymerization mixture comprises an alkaline-reactive raw material, an alkali activator, and a retarder in a concentration of at least about 1 wt.%, based on the weight of the polymerization mixture, and
wherein the spacer fluid has a slurry density of less than about 14 pounds per gallon. [0022-0028]
Claim 16.
The spacer fluid of claim 15, wherein the alkaline-reactive raw material is present in the spacer fluid at a concentration of about 5 wt.% to about 50 wt.% based on the weight of the spacer fluid. [0019,
Claim 17.
The spacer fluid of claim 15, wherein the alkaline-reactive raw material is present in the spacer fluid at a concentration of less than about 30 wt.% based on the weight of the spacer fluid. [0019]
Claim 19.
The spacer fluid of claim 14, further comprising a density control additive, a viscosity modification additive, a foam control agent, a fluid loss control agent, a fiber material for enhanced fluid displacement, a loss circulation material for sealing fractures, an anti-settling agent, a dispersant, a surfactant, or a combination thereof. [0029-0031]
Claim 20.
The spacer fluid of claim 14, wherein the polymerization mixture comprises polymerization raw materials having a particle size distribution selected to provide the controlled reaction rate. [0026-0028]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McDonald et al. (US 9,458,023 B2) Use Of Aqueous Alkali Aluminosilicate For Profile Modification, Water Control And Stabilization, Nguyen (US 2016/0130499 A1) MAGNETIC PROPPANT PARTICULATES FOR USE IN SUBTERRANEAN FORMATION OPERATIONS, and Busby et al. (US 2015/0060072 A1) METHODS OF TREATMENT OF A SUBTERRANEAN FORMATION WITH COMPOSITE POLYMERIC STRUCTURES FORMED IN SITU.
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 10/20/2026