DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/03/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 18/515,539 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2022/0217560) in view of Van der Velde et al. (US 2024/0196286).
Regarding Claim 41, Kumar teaches a method for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement configurations ([0071] At 412a, the UE 402 may receive a RAN decodable QoE measurement information configuration from an OAM server for the UE application layer, via the base station 404, which may include triggering/reporting information for one or more QoE measurements of the UE 402. The triggering/reporting information may be received at the UE 402 as an application layer triggering/reporting condition. Alternatively, at 412b, the UE 402 may receive, from the RAN/base station 404, a RAN decodable parameter configuration (e.g., for storing the QoE measurement) and/or an indication of a trigger/reporting condition for reporting the QoE measurement to the base station 404. The information received, at 412b, by the UE 402 may be received for the RRC layer; [0087] The RRC configuration may include, and/or may indicate, a measurement configuration for the application layer (e.g., measConfigAppLayer). The measurement configuration for the application layer may include, and/or may indicate, the QoE configuration information and/or a service type of the application; [0105] As shown by reference number 610, the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC configuration (e.g., RRCConfig, RRCReconfiguration, and/or measConfigAppLayer, among other examples) via the UE AS layer. The RRC configuration may include a QoE configuration and/or an indication of a service type associated with QoE measurements);
receiving an RRC release message indicating transitioning of the UE from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state ([0092] the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC release (e.g., an RRCRelease). The RRC release may indicate that the UE is to enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode; [0109] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station; [0126] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station);
performing, in the RRC inactive state, second QoE measurements based on the at least one second QoE configuration parameter in the one or more QoE measurement configurations ([0094] the UE application layer may continue obtaining the QoE measurements during the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode, based at least in part on the QoE configuration information; [0104] the QoE configuration information may indicate that the UE is to report QoE measurements that are obtained while the UE is in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode);
storing, in the RRC inactive state, one or more QoE measurement reports based on the second QoE measurements ([0099] the UE AS layer may provide, to the UE application layer, an indication to stop sending QoE measurements (e.g., based at least in part on the UE entering RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode). The UE application layer may store the QoE measurements based at least in part on the indication; [0112] the UE (e.g., at the UE application layer) may store the QoE measurements based at least in part on the UE being in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode); and
transmitting, after transitioning from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state, the one or more QoE measurement re orts that are stored during the RRC inactive state ([0099] the UE AS layer may provide, to the UE application layer, an indication to stop sending QoE measurements (e.g., based at least in part on the UE entering RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode). The UE application layer may store the QoE measurements based at least in part on the indication. The UE AS layer may provide (e.g., based at least in part on entering an RRC connected mode) an indication that the UE application layer is to resume sending QoE measurements; [0117] the UE AS layer may transmit, and the base station may receive, a QoE measurement report. The QoE measurement report may include and/or indicate one or more QoE measurements obtained while the UE was in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode).
However, Kumar does not teach wherein the one or more QoE measurement configurations comprise at least one first QoE configuration parameter for an RRC connected state and at least one second QoE configuration parameter for an RRC inactive state; performing, in the RRC connected state, first QoE measurements based on the at least one first QoE configuration parameter in the one or more QoE measurement configurations.
In an analogous art, Van der Velde teaches wherein the one or more QoE measurement configurations comprise at least one first QoE configuration parameter for an RRC connected state and at least one second QoE configuration parameter for an RRC inactive state ([0351] Options provided regarding the logMDT configuration used for QoE information include the following options: [0352] 1. For the purpose of QoE information, the UE supports one logMDT configuration that covers QoE information handling for both connected and idle or inactive modes. I.e. upon state change, the same configuration is used unless network reconfigures the configuration at such time [0353] 2. For the purpose of QoE information, the UE supports two logMDT configurations i.e. one covering QoE information handling in connected mode and another one covering the handling in idle or inactive mode. I.e. upon state transition, the UE switches from one configuration to the other and the network can use a different configuration in the two states, without having to reconfigure upon state transition);
performing, in the RRC connected state, first QoE measurements based on the at least one first QoE configuration parameter in the one or more QoE measurement configurations ([0109] in connected mode, the UE provides assistance information to the network, wherein the assistance information is provided when at least one of: [0110] a) additional QoE information becomes available; [0308] A further embodiment relates to UE initiated transfer in connected (Mode U). In this case, the UE initiates transfer upon arrival of QoE information from upper layers; [0359] 3. In case separate pools are used, the indication of available logMDT results can include the following options: [0360] A common field covering results of both results logged in connected and results logged in idle or inactive mode [0361] Separate fields i.e. one field covering results logged in connected and another field covering results logged in idle or inactive mode; [0363] 4. In case separate pools are used, the retrieval request for logMDT results can include the following options: [0364] A common field covering results of both results logged in connected and results logged in idle/inactive mode [0365] Separate fields i.e. one field covering results logged in connected and another field covering results logged in idle/inactive mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Van der Velde’s method with Kumar’s method so that it permits the general use of network initiated retrieval in connected mode. Some key benefits for such an approach include: 1. One mechanism for idle or inactive and connected, thereby reducing network complexity 2. If used generally, the network can control the retrieval and any further mechanisms to avoid overload by QoE information, such as an additional pause mechanism, can be avoided (Van der Velde [0135]-[0137]).
Regarding Claim 42, the combination of Kumar and Van der Velde, specifically Kumar teaches transitioning from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state in response to receiving the RRC release message ([0092] the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC release (e.g., an RRCRelease). The RRC release may indicate that the UE is to enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode; [0109] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station; [0126] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station).
Regarding Claim 43, the combination of Kumar and Van der Velde, specifically Kumar teaches at least one of the first QoE measurements or the second QoE measurements are application layer measurements associated with one or more service types ([0083] If simultaneous QoE measurements are performed, at 414, both RAN decodable and non-decodable QoE measurement parameters may be maintained at the application layer (e.g., stored at 416). The RAN decodable QoE measurement parameters may include a QoE satisfaction level, application layer throughput, delay, jitter, etc. Separate reporting triggers may be configured for the SA4 container/application layer container (e.g., per service type and/or per trace identifier (ID)/reference ID) for reporting, at 418, the QoE measurement information per service type and/or per reference ID; [0087] The measurement configuration for the application layer may include, and/or may indicate, the QoE configuration information and/or a service type of the application; [0094] the UE application layer may send QoE measurements per service type to the UE AS layer).
Regarding Claim 44, the combination of Kumar and Van der Velde, specifically Kumar teaches transmitting the one or more QoE measurement reports is via one or more RRC messages ([0072] The UE 402 may transmit, at 418, the QoE measurement information to the base station 404 via the application layer or the RRC layer).
Regarding Claim 45, the combination of Kumar and Van der Velde, specifically Kumar teaches the one or more RRC messages are associated with a signaling radio bearer four (SRB4) ([0109] the RRC release may release a signaling radio bearer (SRB) associated with an uplink communication from the UE (e.g., an SRB4). In this way, the UE may be unable to transmit a QoE measurement report; [0113] the UE may be configured with an SRB associated with resources for transmitting a QoE measurement report).
Regarding Claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 41, in addition to the claimed receiving circuitry, performing circuitry, storing circuitry and transmitting circuitry ([0059] each receiver 354 RX ... The TX processor 368 and the RX processor 356 implement layer 1 functionality associated with various signal processing functions ... The data and control signals are then provided to the controller/processor 359, which implements layer 3 and layer 2 functionality; [0060] The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data; [0062] 354TX).
Regarding Claim 47, Kumar teaches a method for a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement configurations ([0071] At 412a, the UE 402 may receive a RAN decodable QoE measurement information configuration from an OAM server for the UE application layer, via the base station 404, which may include triggering/reporting information for one or more QoE measurements of the UE 402. The triggering/reporting information may be received at the UE 402 as an application layer triggering/reporting condition. Alternatively, at 412b, the UE 402 may receive, from the RAN/base station 404, a RAN decodable parameter configuration (e.g., for storing the QoE measurement) and/or an indication of a trigger/reporting condition for reporting the QoE measurement to the base station 404. The information received, at 412b, by the UE 402 may be received for the RRC layer; [0087] The RRC configuration may include, and/or may indicate, a measurement configuration for the application layer (e.g., measConfigAppLayer). The measurement configuration for the application layer may include, and/or may indicate, the QoE configuration information and/or a service type of the application; [0089] the UE application layer may send QoE measurements per service type; [0094] the UE application layer may continue obtaining the QoE measurements during the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode, based at least in part on the QoE configuration information; [0099] the UE AS layer may provide (e.g., based at least in part on entering an RRC connected mode) an indication that the UE application layer is to resume sending QoE measurements; [0104] the QoE configuration information may indicate that the UE is to report QoE measurements that are obtained while the UE is in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode; [0105] As shown by reference number 610, the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC configuration (e.g., RRCConfig, RRCReconfiguration, and/or measConfigAppLayer, among other examples) via the UE AS layer. The RRC configuration may include a QoE configuration and/or an indication of a service type associated with QoE measurements; [0106] the UE may collect and report QoE measurements while in RRC connected mode);
transmitting an RRC release message indicating transitioning of the UE from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state ([0092] the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC release (e.g., an RRCRelease). The RRC release may indicate that the UE is to enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode; [0109] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station; [0126] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station); and
receiving, after transitioning of the UE from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state, one or more QoE measurement reports that are stored by the UE during the RRC inactive state ([0099] the UE AS layer may provide, to the UE application layer, an indication to stop sending QoE measurements (e.g., based at least in part on the UE entering RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode). The UE application layer may store the QoE measurements based at least in part on the indication. The UE AS layer may provide (e.g., based at least in part on entering an RRC connected mode) an indication that the UE application layer is to resume sending QoE measurements; [0117] the UE AS layer may transmit, and the base station may receive, a QoE measurement report. The QoE measurement report may include and/or indicate one or more QoE measurements obtained while the UE was in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode).
However, Kumar does not teach wherein the one or more QoE measurement configurations comprise at least one first QoE configuration parameter for a user equipment (UE) to use for first QoE measurements in an RRC connected state and at least one second QoE configuration parameter for the UE to use for second QoE measurements in an RRC inactive state.
In an analogous art, Van der Velde teaches wherein the one or more QoE measurement configurations comprise at least one first QoE configuration parameter for a user equipment (UE) to use for first QoE measurements in an RRC connected state and at least one second QoE configuration parameter for the UE to use for second QoE measurements in an RRC inactive state ([0351] Options provided regarding the logMDT configuration used for QoE information include the following options: [0352] 1. For the purpose of QoE information, the UE supports one logMDT configuration that covers QoE information handling for both connected and idle or inactive modes. I.e. upon state change, the same configuration is used unless network reconfigures the configuration at such time [0353] 2. For the purpose of QoE information, the UE supports two logMDT configurations i.e. one covering QoE information handling in connected mode and another one covering the handling in idle or inactive mode. I.e. upon state transition, the UE switches from one configuration to the other and the network can use a different configuration in the two states, without having to reconfigure upon state transition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Van der Velde’s method with Kumar’s method so that it permits the general use of network initiated retrieval in connected mode. Some key benefits for such an approach include: 1. One mechanism for idle or inactive and connected, thereby reducing network complexity 2. If used generally, the network can control the retrieval and any further mechanisms to avoid overload by QoE information, such as an additional pause mechanism, can be avoided (Van der Velde [0135]-[0137]).
Regarding Claim 48, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 47, in addition to the claimed transmitting circuitry and receiving circuitry ([0058] transmit (TX) processor 316 and the receive (RX) processor 370; [0058] 318 TX; [0063] 318RX).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413