DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al (US Pub. 20240211034).
Regarding claim 1, Ye discloses:
A method for enabling a user to interact with a graphical user interface using gaze information of the user, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 11. Describes user interaction with a pointing device on a display screen may be assisted by input from eye gaze information) the method comprising:
At an electronic device in communication with a display component and a gaze tracking device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 61, 64. Describes the computing system 100 may be used to execute instructions for gaze assisted pointing device interaction. Para. 64, describes: The computing system 100 may include an input/output (I/O) interface 104, which may enable interfacing with an input device 106 and/or an output device 114):
Detecting an initiation request to initiate gaze based navigation, the initiation request being an input from the user, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 75. Describes the activation signal 315 is provided to the gaze assisted interaction system 300 to initiate a gaze assist operation. In examples, the activation input 315 may be triggered using an input device, for example, as a delimiter operation. In examples, the delimiter operation may be caused by a device input (e.g., a mouse click, a keyboard, among others), an audio input (e.g., a voice command), a gesture input (e.g., a mid-air gesture or body movement, etc.));
In response to the request to initiate gaze based navigation from the user, displaying, via the display component, an animation of a plurality of selectable elements, (at least refer to fig. 2-3 and paragraph 76. Describes in response to receiving the activation signal 315, the gaze assisted interaction system 300 may initiate a gaze assist operation. In examples, a gaze assist operation may include receiving an initial cursor location 215 of the pointing device 110, extracting a gaze region 325 of an application window 205 corresponding to a user's point of gaze (POG) 240 and at least one GUI object 230 in the application window 205);
Determining by the gaze tracking device, after obtaining gaze information of the user, that the user's gaze is associated with a desired one of the selectable elements, (at least refer to fig. 2-3 and paragraph 77. Describes in response to receiving the activation signal 315, the gaze region extractor 320 of the gaze assisted interaction system 300 may receive the POG 240 and may generate a gaze region 325. In examples, the gaze region 325 may be configured as a single layered window having dimensions (w*h) that captures an image of a portion of the display contents encompassing the POG 240. In examples, the gaze region 325 may overlay the application window 205 or any other open application windows);
Informing, via the animation, the user of the association with the desired selectable element, (at least refer to fig. 3-4 and paragraphs 80, 82. Describes the gaze region 325 may be input to a magnifier 330 and the size of the gaze region 325 window and corresponding window image may be enlarged to generate an enlarged gaze region 335 having dimensions (s*t). In examples, the enlarged gaze region 335 may then be input to a transposer 340 to position the enlarged gaze region 335 on the display 116 based on the initial cursor location 215, generating an interaction region 345. Para. 82, describes: the interaction region 345 may be a transparent window having a window image showing a portion of the display contents corresponding to the user's gaze);
Detecting a termination request to end the gaze based navigation, the termination request being another input from the user, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraphs 96, 75. Describes at step 612, a cancel input may be received, for example, as a delimiter operation, for ending the gaze assist operation and removing the interaction region 345 from the display 116. In examples, a user may choose to end the gaze assist operation if the interaction region 345 has incorrectly captured the POG 240 or if the user decides to interact with a different region of the display 116, among others. Para. 75, describes: In examples, the delimiter operation may be caused by a device input (e.g., a mouse click, a keyboard, among others), an audio input (e.g., a voice command), a gesture input (e.g., a mid-air gesture or body movement, etc.)); and
In response to the termination request, displaying via the display component, a user interface associated with the desired selectable element, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraphs 96, 92. Describes In examples, following step 612, if a cancel input is received, the method may return to step 602. Para. 92, describes: prior to receiving the activation input 315, a user may be viewing a display 116 and interacting with a display contents of an application window 205, wherein the user's eyes may be fixated on a desired content on the display 116).
Regarding claim 2, Ye discloses:
Wherein the method further comprises implicitly calibrating the user's gaze to the gaze tracking device during the animation such that the user does not need to perform an explicit calibration, (at least refer to fig. 3-4, 6 and paragraphs 94-95. Describes a portion of the display contents may be extracted as a gaze region 325, based on the POG 240 on the display 116. In examples, the gaze region 325 may be configured as a single layered window having dimensions (w*h) that captures an image of a portion of the display contents encompassing the POG 240. Para. 95, describes: an interaction region 345 may be generated based on the gaze region 325 and the first cursor location 215. In examples, the interaction region 345 may be an enlarged copy of the gaze region 325, for example, configured as a single layered window having dimensions (s*t) that captures a magnified image of a portion of the display contents encompassing the POG 240).
Regarding claim 3, Ye discloses:
Wherein implicitly calibrating the user's gaze to the gaze tracking device comprises: displaying, via the display component, a passive calibration animation, wherein the passive calibration animation comprises includes one or more of: the selectable elements traveling in a predefined path to attract the gaze of the user, and adjusting the appearance of one or more of the selectable elements to attract the gaze of the user, (at least refer to fig. 3-6 and paragraphs 95, 97-98. Describes an interaction region 345 may be generated based on the gaze region 325 and the first cursor location 215. In examples, the interaction region 345 may be an enlarged copy of the gaze region 325, for example, configured as a single layered window having dimensions (s*t) that captures a magnified image of a portion of the display contents encompassing the POG 240. Para. 97, describes: an interaction event 350 corresponding to the interaction region 345 may be received at a second cursor location (e.g., secondary cursor location 270) on the display 116. Para. 98, describes: in response to receiving the interaction event 350 at the second cursor location, a replacement mapped interaction event 370 may be generated in a system hook for passing to the application 124. In examples, the system hook may intercept the interaction event 350, and may handle the interaction event 350 using its own subroutines in order to replace the coordinates associated with the interaction event 350 based on an interaction mapping 355, before passing to the application 124).
Regarding claim 5, Ye discloses:
Wherein the user is informed of the desired selectable element by the desired selectable elements being highlighted and/or enlarged, (at least refer to fig. 3-6 and paragraph 95. Describes an interaction region 345 may be generated based on the gaze region 325 and the first cursor location 215. In examples, the interaction region 345 may be an enlarged copy of the gaze region 325, for example, configured as a single layered window having dimensions (s*t) that captures a magnified image of a portion of the display contents encompassing the POG 240).
Regarding claim 10, Ye discloses:
Wherein the desired selectable element is determined at least in part by head posture and/or hand gesture information of the user, (at least refer to fig. 3, 6 and paragraph 75. Describes the activation signal 315 may be triggered by a gesture input performed by a user that is captured by a camera 108 and processed by the gaze tracking system 310, for example, a hand gesture, a facial expression, an eye blink, a head nod, or a combination of gesture inputs).
Regarding claim 11, Ye discloses:
Wherein selecting the desired selectable element generates another animation of a plurality of additional selectable elements, (at least refer to fig. 3-4 and paragraph 80. Describes the enlarged gaze region 335 may then be input to a transposer 340 to position the enlarged gaze region 335 on the display 116 based on the initial cursor location 215, generating an interaction region 345. In examples, the interaction region 345 may be a single layered window having a window image representative of a portion of the display contents having dimensions (s*t) and encompassing the POG 240. In examples, the interaction region 345 may overlay the application window 205 or any other open application windows).
Regarding claim 12, Ye discloses:
Wherein the input from the user is a mechanical input, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 75. Describes the activation signal 315 is provided to the gaze assisted interaction system 300 to initiate a gaze assist operation. In examples, the activation input 315 may be triggered using an input device, for example, as a delimiter operation. In examples, the delimiter operation may be caused by a device input (e.g., a mouse click, a keyboard, among others), an audio input (e.g., a voice command), a gesture input (e.g., a mid-air gesture or body movement, etc.)).
Regarding claim 13, Ye discloses:
Wherein the mechanical input is the pressing of a button by the user, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraphs 75, 83. Describes the activation signal 315 is provided to the gaze assisted interaction system 300 to initiate a gaze assist operation. In examples, the activation input 315 may be triggered using an input device, for example, as a delimiter operation. In examples, the delimiter operation may be caused by a device input (e.g., a mouse click, a keyboard, among others), an audio input (e.g., a voice command), a gesture input (e.g., a mid-air gesture or body movement, etc.). Para. 83, describes: a user may interact with the pointing device 110 associated with the cursor 210 to initiate an interaction event 350 at the secondary cursor location 270, for example, by clicking a mouse button or engaging with the pointing device 110 in another way to initiate an interaction event 350).
Regarding claim 14, Ye discloses:
Wherein the button is a key on a keyboard in communication with the electronic device, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 75. Describes in examples, the activation input 315 may be triggered using an input device, for example, as a delimiter operation. In examples, the delimiter operation may be caused by a device input (e.g., a mouse click, a keyboard, among others), an audio input (e.g., a voice command), a gesture input (e.g., a mid-air gesture or body movement, etc.)).
Regarding claim 15, Ye discloses:
Wherein the input is a hand gesture, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 75. Describes in examples, the activation input 315 may be triggered using an input device, for example, as a delimiter operation. In examples, the delimiter operation may be caused by a device input (e.g., a mouse click, a keyboard, among others), an audio input (e.g., a voice command), a gesture input (e.g., a mid-air gesture or body movement, etc.)).
Regarding claim 16, Ye discloses:
Wherein the input is the voice of the user, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 75. Describes in examples, the activation input 315 may be triggered using an input device, for example, as a delimiter operation. In examples, the delimiter operation may be caused by a device input (e.g., a mouse click, a keyboard, among others), an audio input (e.g., a voice command), a gesture input (e.g., a mid-air gesture or body movement, etc.)).
Regarding claim 17, Ye discloses:
An electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for carrying out the method, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 66. Describes the computing system 100 may include one or more memories 120 (collectively referred to as “memory 120”), which may include a volatile or non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash memory, a random access memory (RAM), and/or a read-only memory (ROM)). The non-transitory memory 120 may store instructions for execution by the processor 102, such as to carry out examples described in the present disclosure. For example, the memory 120 may store instructions for implementing any of the networks and methods disclosed herein. The memory 120 may include other software instructions, such as for implementing an operating system (OS) and other applications 124 or functions) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Ye discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to carry out the method, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 66. Describes the computing system 100 may include one or more memories 120 (collectively referred to as “memory 120”), which may include a volatile or non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash memory, a random access memory (RAM), and/or a read-only memory (ROM)). The non-transitory memory 120 may store instructions for execution by the processor 102, such as to carry out examples described in the present disclosure. For example, the memory 120 may store instructions for implementing any of the networks and methods disclosed herein. The memory 120 may include other software instructions, such as for implementing an operating system (OS) and other applications 124 or functions) of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al (US Pub. 20240211034) in view of LV et al (CN 202310212372 as US Pub. 20250373579).
Regarding claim 4, Ye does not disclose:
Wherein the animation displays the plurality of selectable elements in at least: a first configuration; a second configuration in which the selectable elements are more clustered than in the first configuration; and a third configuration in which the selectable elements are more scattered than in the first configuration, wherein the selectable elements are visible to the user during transition between configurations.
LV teaches:
Wherein the animation displays the plurality of selectable elements in at least: a first configuration; a second configuration in which the selectable elements are more clustered than in the first configuration; and a third configuration in which the selectable elements are more scattered than in the first configuration, wherein the selectable elements are visible to the user during transition between configurations, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 152. Describes for example, the first guide interface may display guide text information: Gaze, until the interface displays that eye movement calibration is completed, at calibration circles sequentially displayed on a screen. Then, in the second guide interface displayed by the electronic device, a calibration circle 1, a calibration circle 2, a calibration circle 3, a calibration circle 4, and a calibration circle 5 shown in (a) in FIG. 7 may be sequentially displayed in a preset order. For another example, the first guide interface may display guide text information: All calibration circles are displayed on the screen. Keep eyes, until all the calibration circles turn green, on white circles. Then, the second guide interface displayed by the electronic device may display a calibration circle 1, a calibration circle 2, a calibration circle 3, a calibration circle 4, a calibration circle 5, a calibration circle 6, a calibration circle 7, a calibration circle 8, and a calibration circle 9 that have no fill colors).
The two references are analogous art because they both relate with the same field of invention of gaze assisted computer interaction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate elements having calibration patterns as taught by LV with the gaze assistance interacting system as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine the LV reference is to ensure accurate recognition on eye movement based on the eye movement calibration result thereby avoiding error.
Regarding claim 6, Ye discloses:
if the implicit calibration is unsuccessful, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraph 96. Describes a user may choose to end the gaze assist operation if the interaction region 345 has incorrectly captured the POG 240).
Ye does not disclose:
Wherein the method further comprises prompting the user to perform an explicit calibration if the implicit calibration is unsuccessful.
LV teaches:
Wherein the method further comprises prompting the user to perform an explicit calibration if the implicit calibration is unsuccessful, (at least refer to fig. 4 and paragraph 104. Describes in response to a user operation of enabling the intelligent awareness function in the Settings application, the electronic device may display a guide interface for eye movement calibration. The guide interface may include guide text information and a guide image or symbol that are used to guide the user to complete an eye movement calibration process, so that the user is guided to complete a specified eye movement action based on the guide text information and the guide image or symbol in the guide interface).
Regarding the rejection of claim 6, refer to the motivation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Ye does not disclose:
Wherein the selectable elements are arranged in a 2×3 array.
LV teaches:
Wherein the selectable elements are arranged in a 2×3 array, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 152. Describes for example, the first guide interface may display guide text information: Gaze, until the interface displays that eye movement calibration is completed, at calibration circles sequentially displayed on a screen. Then, in the second guide interface displayed by the electronic device, a calibration circle 1, a calibration circle 2, a calibration circle 3, a calibration circle 4, and a calibration circle 5 shown in (a) in FIG. 7 may be sequentially displayed in a preset order).
Regarding the rejection of claim 7, refer to the motivation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Ye does not disclose:
Wherein the selectable elements are arranged in a 3×4 array.
LV teaches:
Wherein the selectable elements are arranged in a 3×4 array, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 152. Describes For another example, the first guide interface may display guide text information: All calibration circles are displayed on the screen. Keep eyes, until all the calibration circles turn green, on white circles. Then, the second guide interface displayed by the electronic device may display a calibration circle 1, a calibration circle 2, a calibration circle 3, a calibration circle 4, a calibration circle 5, a calibration circle 6, a calibration circle 7, a calibration circle 8, and a calibration circle 9 that have no fill colors).
LV does not teach:
a 3×4 array
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Regarding claim 9, Ye does not disclose:
Wherein the selectable elements are arranged in a circular pattern.
LV teaches:
Wherein the selectable elements are in a circular pattern, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 152. Describes calibration circles corresponding to a guide text and a guide image or symbol are displayed on a second guide interface displayed by the electronic device).
LV does not teach:
selectable elements are arranged in a circular pattern.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Conclusion
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 10/16/2026